Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Atlantic Cod in Canada

Habitat

Habitat requirements

Knowledge of the habitat requirements of Atlantic cod is rather poor.  Despite the paucity of data, it is reasonable to predict that habitat requirements change significantly with age in this species.  With the exception of the few cod that have been observed in situ, the following information is based on the sampling of cod at various life stages from different depths and different areas of the ocean.

During the first few weeks of life, cod exist as eggs, and then as larvae, in the upper 10 to 50 metres of the ocean.  The primary factors affecting habitat suitability for cod during these early stages of life are probably food availability and temperature (the lower the temperature, the longer the development time, and the longer the period of time during which cod are at sizes that make them highly vulnerable to predation).

The most critical habitat characteristics for Atlantic cod may be those required during the juvenile stage when cod have settled to the bottom for the first 1 to 4 years of their lives.  Several studies suggest that a heterogeneous habitat, notably in the form of vertical structures, such as eelgrass, Zostera marina, in nearshore waters, is favoured by juvenile cod (e.g., Gotceitas et al. 1995, 1997; Tupper and Boutilier 1995; Gregory and Anderson 1997).  Based on observational studies (Tupper and Boutilier 1995) and on experimental manipulations (Gotceitas et al. 1995; Linehan et al. 2001), physically heterogeneous habitat appears advantageous to juvenile cod because it reduces the risk of predation and may also allow for increased growth.

Offshore, it is logical to assume that physical structure would also reduce predator-induced mortality of juvenile cod.  For example, video recorded on a submersible during an August 2001 survey of deep, continental-slope waters off southwestern Nova Scotia revealed juvenile cod amongst the extensive growths of deep-sea corals (personal communication, Anna Metaxas, Department of Oceanography, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia).

As cod grow older, it appears as though their habitat requirements become increasingly diverse.  Indeed, it is not clear that older cod have particular depth or bottom-substrate requirements.  The primary factors affecting the distribution and habitat of older cod are probably temperature and food supply.  In a general sense, it appears that cod tend to avoid cold temperatures.

But what is cold for cod in one area is evidently not cold for cod in other areas.  For example, it is widely believed that cod migrate out of the southern Gulf of St. Lawrence in autumn to avoid the cold water temperatures in the Gulf during winter (Campana et al. 1999).  However, cod off eastern Newfoundland, notably those that overwinter in inshore waters, exist at temperatures below 0oC (Goddard et al. 1999).  Perhaps the most reasonable explanation for these apparent differences in water temperature tolerance is that cod in different areas are adapted to their local environments.  This conclusion is supported by the finding that cod in different areas of coastal Newfoundland possess different levels of antifreeze protein (see Physiology section below), a physiological adaptation that would influence the tolerance of cod to low water temperatures.

From a spawning perspective, it is not known if cod have specific habitat requirements.  Cod spawn in waters ranging from tens (Smedbol and Wroblewski 1997) to hundreds of metres in depth (Hutchings et al. 1993).  Atlantic cod in Canadian waters are known to spawn extensively throughout the inshore, nearshore, and offshore waters (McKenzie 1940; Scott and Scott 1988; Hutchings et al. 1993; Morgan and Trippel 1996), a conclusion also supported by fishers (Neis et al. 1999).  Although cod spawning appears to be associated with the bottom (Morgan and Trippel 1996; Hutchings et al. 1999), this may have more to do with the cod mating system (a lek mating system has been hypothesized; Hutchings et al. 1999; Nordeide and Folstad 2000) rather than any physical requirements for the offspring, given that cod neither build egg nests nor provide parental care.  Perhaps the factor most beneficial to the survival of their offspring is the presence of physical oceanographic features (e.g., water currents) that would serve to entrain the buoyant eggs and prevent them from being dispersed to waters poorly suited to larval cod, e.g., waters off the continental shelf.  It is highly unlikely that spawning habitat is limiting for Atlantic cod.

Thus, the habitat most likely to be critical and potentially limiting for Atlantic cod may well be the vertical, ‘three-dimensional’ structures provided by plants, rocks, physical relief, and corals.  In addition to providing protection from predators, such physical heterogeneity would almost certainly provide habitat for small fish and invertebrates, organisms upon which juvenile cod could feed.

Trends

If physical structure is critically important to the survival of juvenile cod, notably in the form of plants, bottom physical relief, and corals, there may be less habitat available today than decades ago in some parts of the range of this species.  Any reduction in physical heterogeneity on the bottom since the 1960s can be attributed to the increased use of bottom-trawling gear to catch groundfish such as cod, haddock, pollock, and several species of flatfish.  Repeated trawling in a given area tends to ‘smooth’ and flatten the bottom, reducing vertical and physical heterogeneity (Collie et al. 1997, 2000; Kaiser and de Groot 2000).  The destruction of deep-dwelling corals off Nova Scotia--first reported and well-documented by fishermen--is another product of bottom-trawling and, to a considerably lesser degree, long-lining (Mortensen et al. submitted). Although physically heterogeneous areas frequented by juvenile cod may not have been heavily trawled where gear damage or loss was likely, no studies have been undertaken to evaluate the effects of trawling on the quantity and quality of juvenile cod habitat.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de la morue franche au Canada

Habitat

Besoins en matière d'habitat

On connaît plutôt mal les besoins de la morue franche en matière d’habitat mais, malgré la rareté des données, il est permis de penser qu'ils varient beaucoup selon l’âge. À part les données recueillies par observation de quelques morues in situ, les renseignements suivants proviennent d’échantillonn­ages effectués à divers stades biologiques, à différentes profondeurs et dans différents secteurs de l’océan.

Pendant les premières semaines de sa vie, la morue vit à l’état d'œuf, puis de larve, dans la couche des 10 à 50 premiers mètres de l'océan. Les principaux facteurs influant sur la qualité de l'habitat durant ces premiers stades biologiques sont probablement la disponibilité des aliments et la température de l’eau (plus la température est basse, plus le temps de développement et la période pendant laquelle le poisson a une taille qui le rend très vulnérable à la prédation sont prolongés).

Les caractéristiques d'habitat les plus importantes pour la morue franche pourraient être celles qui sont nécessaires au stade juvénile, lorsque le poisson s'installe sur le fond pour les premières années de sa vie (de 1 à 4 ans). En effet, d'après plusieurs études, les morues juvéniles préfèrent un habitat hétérogène, composé notamment de structures verticales (comme la zostère marine, Zostera marina), dans les eaux littorales (voir par exemple Gotceitas et al., 1995, 1997; Tupper et Boutilier, 1995; Gregory et Anderson, 1997). D’après les résultats d’études par observation (Tupper et Boutilier, 1995) et de diverses manipulations expérimentales (Gotceitaset al., 1995; Linehanet al., 2001), ce genre d’habitat semble avantageux pour les juvéniles, car il réduit les risques de prédation et pourrait favoriser la croissance.

Dans les eaux du large, la structure physique devrait aussi logiquement réduire la mortalité par prédation chez les juvéniles. Une bande vidéo enregistrée en août 2001 à bord d’un submersible à l’occasion d’un relevé dans les eaux profondes de la pente continentale du Sud-Ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse a d'ailleurs révélé la présence de morues juvéniles dans les vastes bancs de coraux de grands fonds de la région (communication personnelle, Anna Metaxas, département d’océanographie, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nouvelle-Écosse).

À mesure que la morue avance en âge, ses besoins en matière d’habitat semblent se diversifier de plus en plus. En fait, on ignore si la morue âgée a des exigences particulières sur le plan de la profondeur ou du substrat; les principaux facteurs ayant une incidence sur sa répartition et son habitat sont probablement la température de l’eau et l'approvisionnement en nourriture.

En général, la morue semble éviter les basses températures mais, de toute évidence, ce qui est froid pour la morue d’une région ne l’est pas pour celle d’une autre. Par exemple, on croit en général que la morue migre hors du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent à l’automne pour fuir les eaux froides de l'hiver (Campanaet al., 1999). Pourtant, les morues de l’Est de Terre-Neuve, notamment celles qui passent l’hiver dans les eaux littorales, vivent dans des eaux dont la température descend sous 0 oC (Goddard et al., 1999). L’explication la plus plausible de ces apparentes différences de tolérance à la température de l’eau tient peut-être au fait que les morues de régions différentes sont adaptées à leur environnement local. Cette conclusion est d’ailleurs corroborée par des données indiquant que les morues de diverses régions de la côte de Terre-Neuve affichent des concentrations différentes de protéines antigel (voir la section PHYSIOLOGIE plus bas), adaptation physiologique qui influerait sur leur tolérance aux basses températures de l’eau.

Sur le plan de la fraye, on ignore si la morue a des exigences particulières en matière d'habitat. Ce poisson fraye à des profondeurs variant de quelques dizaines (Smedbol et Wroblewski, 1997) à des centaines de mètres (Hutchingset al., 1993). Dans les eaux canadiennes, on sait que la morue franche fraye partout dans les eaux côtières, pré-côtières et hauturières (McKenzie, 1940; Scott et Scott, 1988; Hutchingset al., 1993; Morgan et Trippel, 1996), observation qui a été corroborée par les pêcheurs (Neiset al., 1999). La morue semble frayer sur le fond (Morgan et Trippel, 1996; Hutchings et al., 1999), mais cela pourrait tenir davantage à son mode d’accouplement (de type lek, selon l’hypothèse de Hutchingset al., 1999, ainsi que de Nordeide et Folstad, 2000) qu’à de quelconques exigences d’ordre physique pertinentes pour la progéniture, étant donné que l’espèce ne construit pas de nid et n’assure aucun soin à la ponte. Le facteur le plus propice à la survie de la progéniture est peut-être la présence de propriétés d’océanographie physique (p. ex. les courants) favorisant la flottabilité des œufs et les empêchant de se disperser dans des eaux qui conviennent peu aux larves (p. ex. les eaux situées au large de la plate-forme continentale). Il est très peu probable que l'habitat de reproduction soit un facteur limitatif pour la morue franche.

La caractéristique d’habitat la plus susceptible d’être un facteur critique et potentiellement limitant pour la morue franche pourrait donc être la présence de structures verticales tridimensionnelles, fournies par les plantes, les pierres, la topographie du fond et les coraux. En effet, en plus d’offrir une protection contre les prédateurs, ce genre d’hétérogénéité physique sert aussi presque certainement d’habitat aux petits poissons et invertébrés dont peuvent se nourrir les morues juvéniles.


Tendances

Si la structure physique (notamment les plantes, la topographie du fond et les coraux) a une importance capitale pour la survie des jeunes morues, la quantité d’habitat disponible aujourd’hui pour l’espèce pourrait être moindre qu’il y a quelques décennies dans certaines parties de son aire de répartition. La réduction de l’hétérogénéité physique du fond depuis les années 1960 peut être attribuée à l’utilisation accrue du chalut de fond pour capturer les poissons de fond comme la morue, l’aiglefin, la goberge et plusieurs espèces de poissons plats. La pratique répétée du chalutage dans une région donnée tend à lisser et à niveler le fond, ce qui en réduit l’hétérogénéité verticale et physique (Collie et al., 1997, 2000; Kaiser et de Groot, 2000). Une autre conséquence du chalutage sur le fond et, dans une mesure beaucoup moindre, de la pêche à la palangre est la destruction des coraux de grands fonds au large de la Nouvelle-Écosse (phénomène signalé pour la première fois et bien documenté par les pêcheurs) (Mortensenet al., article proposé). Il se pourrait que les secteurs physiquement hétérogènes fréquentés par les morues juvéniles n’aient pas fait l’objet d’un chalutage intensif là où il y a des risques de bris ou de perte d’engins, mais aucune étude n’a jamais été faite pour évaluer l’incidence du chalutage sur la quantité et la qualité de l’habitat des morues juvéniles.