Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Atlantic Cod in Canada

Biology

General

Despite having been fished for more than 500 years in Canadian waters, there remain large gaps in our knowledge of many of the most basic elements of the biology and ecology of this species.  Nonetheless, it is known that after hatching, a period of time that takes approximately 60 degree-days, the larvae obtain nourishment from a yolk sac until they have reached a length of 1.5 to 2.0 mm.  During the larval stage, the young feed on phytoplankton and small zooplankton in the upper 10 to 50 metres of the water column.  After a few weeks, the larvae swim, or ‘settle’, to the bottom, where they appear to remain for a period of 1 to 4 years throughout most of the species’ Canadian range.  These settlement areas are known to range from very shallow (< 10 m to 30 m) coastal waters to moderately deep (50 to 150 m) waters on offshore banks.  In addition to providing food, these settlement areas almost certainly provide habitat that provides the larval and juvenile cod protection from predators.  After this settlement period, it is believed that the fish begin to undertake the often-seasonal movements (apparently undirected swimming in coastal waters) and migrations (directed movements to and from specific, highly predictable locations) characteristic of adults.  Anecdotal reports suggest that very large adults (> 100 cm) may not migrate as extensively as smaller adults.

 

Reproduction:  Life history variation

The life history of cod varies a great deal (Myers et al. 1996; McIntyre and Hutchings in press).  Most life history traits, such as age and size at maturity, longevity, and size-specific fecundity differ greatly among populations, while some, such as egg size, appear to be similar throughout the species’ range.  As with most indeterminately growing organisms (those that continue to increase in size after maturity), fecundity (the number of eggs per female per breeding season) increases with body size.  In cod, as with most fish, the number of eggs per female generally increases with body mass as a power function.  Body size at a given age is a function of growth rate, a parameter that varies greatly among cod populations, being relatively slow in the north and fast in the south.  In turn, growth rate of cod is a function of temperature, food supply, density, and the proportional allocation of energy to reproduction.

In the relatively warm waters at the southern end of its Canadian range (Georges Bank, off the state of Maine) and in the Bay of Fundy, cod commonly attain maturity at 2 to 3 years of age (Trippel et al. 1997; McIntyre and Hutchings in press).  By contrast, cod inhabiting the Northeast Newfoundland Shelf, eastern Labrador, and the Barents Sea reproduce for the first time between 5 and 7 years of age (Myers et al. 1997b; Smedbol et al. 2002).  One consequence of these population differences in age at maturity is population variation in generation time.  However, when providing an estimate of generation time, one needs to be cognizant of the fact that generation time has almost certainly changed over time for Atlantic cod.  This can be attributed to apparent reductions in age at maturity in some populations (Trippel et al. 1997) and to reductions in longevity.  For example, in the early 1960s, it is estimated that more than 50% of the eggs produced by Newfoundland’s northern cod stock were produced by females 10 years of age and older (Hutchings and Myers 1994).  By the late 1980s, this age class is estimated to have contributed less than 10% of the eggs.  In the late 1990s and as recently as autumn 2000, females older than age 10 were not sampled by DFO surveys of the northern cod stock (Lilly et al. 2001).

Size at maturity can also differ significantly among cod populations.  On average, length at maturity typically ranges between 45 and 55 cm.  Smaller sizes at maturity have been reported in recent years for Eastern Scotian Shelf cod (33-37 cm; Paul Fanning, DFO, Bedford, NS, personal communication) and for cod in the genetically isolated population inhabiting Gilbert Bay, Labrador (31-42 cm; Morris and Green 2002).  At the other extreme, length at maturity has been reported to be as large as 65 cm for males and 85 cm for females in Ogac Lake, Baffin Island (Patriquin 1967).  The number of eggs produced by a single female in a single breeding season typically ranges from between 300,000 and 500,000 at maturity to several million for females greater than 75 cm in length.  There is recent evidence that size-specific fecundity, that is, the number of eggs produced per unit of body mass, differs significantly among cod populations in the Northwest Atlantic and within populations over time (McIntyre and Hutchings in press).  Egg diameter, which shows a weak, positive association with body size, ranges between 1.25 and 1.75 mm (Chambers and Waiwood 1996).

 

Reproduction:  Spawning behaviour

Atlantic cod typically spawn over a period of less than three months (Brander 1994; Chambers and Waiwood 1996; Kjesbu et al. 1996) in water that may vary in depth from tens (Smedbol and Wroblewski 1997) to hundreds of metres (Brander 1994; Morgan et al. 1997).  Although individuals are assumed to breed annually, Atlantic cod are described as batch spawners because of the observation that only 5 to 25% of a female's egg complement is released at any given time during her 3- to 6-week spawning period (Chambers and Waiwood 1996; Kjesbu et al. 1996).  Spawning intervals of 2 to 6 days appear typical of individual females held in captivity (Kjesbu 1989; Chambers and Waiwood 1996; Kjesbu et al. 1996).

The behaviour that immediately precedes the release of sperm and eggs was initially documented at nineteenth century Atlantic cod hatcheries in Newfoundland (Templeman 1958) and Norway (Dannevig 1930).  These observations, and those of Brawn (1961), describe a "ventral mount" in which the male, while grasping the female with his pelvic fins and matching her swimming speed, positions himself beneath the female with the urogenital openings of both fish opposite one another.

Based on the only two papers in the primary scientific literature that have reported cod behaviour during spawning (Brawn 1961; Hutchings et al. 1999), successful reproduction in Atlantic cod involves a complex repertoire of behaviours within and between sexes.  Spawning male cod appear to establish a dominance hierarchy, with rank determined by aggressive interactions, particularly chases of one male by another, and possibly by body size, larger individuals often being dominant over smaller individuals.  Agonistic interactions, continuing through the spawning season, may allow high-ranking males to defend territories.  Limited genetic data suggest that male fertilization success increases with male body size and/or behavioural dominance (Hutchings et al. 1999) and that eggs from a single reproductive bout can be fertilized by more than one male (Hutchings et al. 1999; Rakitin et al. 2001).  Based on these genetic data, and on the direct observation of spawning behaviour by cod from southern Nova Scotia and the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence (S. Rowe and J.A. Hutchings, unpublished data), it is reasonable to assume that satellite males, adopting a 'sneak' form of mating, are a regular feature of cod reproduction and that satellite males are able to fertilize some of the eggs released by a female during a spawning.  The phenotypic and behavioural correlates of reproductive success in Atlantic cod are currently being examined in a series of spawning experiments being conducted at Dalhousie University by the author.

Hutchings et al. (1999) hypothesized that interactions between sexes are consistent with the hypothesis that females, and possibly males, exercise mate choice.  One prominent behaviour observed in large experimental tanks is the circling of individual females by individual males on or near the bottom (Hutchings et al. 1999; Skjæraasen et al. submitted).  Several factors associated with this circling behaviour are suggestive of female mate choice.  Firstly, these circling bouts are initiated and terminated by females.  Secondly, by restricting circling to occasions when they are positioned directly on the bottom, females can effectively prevent ventral mounts by circling and non-circling males.  Thirdly, circling provides females the opportunity to be in close physical contact with, and assess the quality of, several males prior to spawning.  Hutchings et al. (1999) have also hypothesized that females may be choosing males on the basis of the sounds produced by male gadids during spawning (Brawn 1961; Hawkins and Amorim 2000; Nordeide and Folstad 2000).  Acoustic communication in cod is facilitated by drumming muscles whose rapid vibrations against the air bladder are capable of producing low-frequency sounds audible to other cod.  Preliminary analyses suggest that the size of a male's drumming muscle, relative to that male's body size, may be positively associated with mating success and may differ among populations (S. Rowe and J.A. Hutchings unpublished data).

 

Survival

The high fecundity of Atlantic cod (ranging from several hundred thousand to several million eggs per female per breeding season) represents a life history adaptation by cod that allows them to adopt the reproductive strategy of releasing eggs directly into the water column and of providing these eggs with no protection, either through the construction of egg nests or through the provision of parental care.  This strategy of maximizing the production of eggs the sizes of which approach, or attain, the physiological minimum for survival has been interpreted as an adaptive response to environments in which egg size confers no consistent, inter-generational advantage to survival in early life (Hutchings 1997).

The high-fecundity strategy adopted by Atlantic cod is an evolutionary response to the exceedingly high mortality associated with such a reproductive strategy.  Based on estimates of fecundity, weight-at-age, and age-specific abundance of northern cod, Hutchings (1999) estimated that survival from birth until the age of 3 years averaged 1.13 × 10 - 6, or approximately one in one million, for the cohorts of cod born from 1962 to 1988.  Between the ages at which cod first become vulnerable, or are recruited, to the commercial fishery (varying between 1 and 3 years for Canadian stocks of cod, being younger in the south) and the age at death, the annual mortality probability of cod, independent of age and size, has been estimated to be 18% (Pinhorn 1975).

Prior to the closure of most fisheries to targeted or directed fishing in the early 1990s (July 1992, for northern cod; January 1994, for northern Gulf cod; September 1993, for all other stocks except Western Scotian Shelf/Bay of Fundy cod and Georges Bank cod, neither of which ever closed), fishing was the dominant source of mortality for Atlantic cod.  At one extreme, it is estimated that fishing removed annually more than 70% of Newfoundland’s northern cod available to be caught in the late 1980s and early 1990s (Baird et al. 1992; Hutchings and Myers 1994).  Fishing remains a primary source of mortality for parts of the Newfoundland & Labrador, Laurentian North, and Maritimes Populations (Smedbol et al. 2002).  In some areas, most of the mortality experienced by Atlantic cod, at all life stages, can probably be attributed primarily to predation by fish and marine mammals, and secondarily to predation by invertebrates and birds (Bundy et al. 2000; McLaren et al. 2001).  Nonetheless, fishing still remains a sizeable source of mortality in many areas, a result of directed fishing quotas and bycatches.

With the exception of cod along one section of the south coast of Newfoundland (NAFO Division 3Ps), cod populations have grown little since the initial closure of the targeted fishing activities almost a decade ago.  Although contrary to predictions of rapid recovery made in the early 1990s (detailed by Hutchings et al. 1997), slow rates of population growth following collapses in population size are not atypical when one compares recovery rates for collapsed marine fish stocks worldwide (Hutchings 2000), even when one accounts for reductions in fishing mortality (Hutchings et al. 2001a; Denney et al. submitted).  The reasons for slower-than-expected rates of population growth are not known with certainty, although they may include one or more of the following:  management failure to reduce to fishing mortality to nil; changes to species community composition with concomitant changes to competitive interactions and predator-prey relationships; reduction in critical habitat; reductions in fertilization rates and/or social interactions necessary for successful reproduction with reductions in fish density.

The relatively slow rates of population growth may be a product of what is known in the fisheries literature as ‘depensation’ (Myers et al. 1995), and what is known throughout the ecological literature as ‘The Allee Effect’.  Both refer to situations in which per-capita rates of population growth decline, rather than continually increase, when population sizes fall below some ‘threshold’ level of abundance.  The existence of an Allee Effect has been suggested as one explanation for the relatively slow recovery of Atlantic cod and other marine fishes (Shelton and Healey 1999; Frank and Brickman 2000; Hutchings 2000, 2001a,b; De Roos and Persson 2002).  It is worth noting, however, that the observed population growth rates of cod may not be unduly slow, if one incorporates stochastic, or unpredictable, variation in the parameters used to model population growth for Atlantic cod, rather than basing one’s predictions on deterministic models (in which all model parameters are fixed).  Hutchings (1999) undertook such a modelling exercise for northern cod.  Based on his findings, and given the relatively slow rates of individual growth (weight-at-age) and comparatively old age at maturity experienced by northern cod, the observed rate of recovery of northern cod (indeed lack thereof) may not be unexpected.

If resource managers had been consistent in their setting of quotas for the collapsed cod fisheries, and had permitted no targeted or incidental fishing of cod in the past 10 years, the recovery rates for some cod stocks would almost certainly have been greater than what has been observed.  One example will serve to illustrate this point.  Between 1981 and 1989, the annual quota for northern cod never fell below 200,000 tonnes (1 metric tonne is equal to 1,000 kilograms) (Lilly et al. 2001).  A number of fishing industry observers and government resource managers have assumed that considerably smaller quotas would not harm the recovery of this stock.  In 1999 and 2000, the quotas for northern cod were 9,000 and 7,000 tonnes, respectively (Lilly et al. 2001), approximately 97% less than the quotas of the mid-1980s.  Despite their low levels, these quotas have resulted in rates of fishing mortality sufficiently high to negatively affect stock recovery (these are presented below; see LIMITING FACTORS AND THREATS), providing clear evidence that small quotas can negatively affect the recovery of fish stocks when the stocks themselves are at historically small sizes.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de la morue franche au Canada

Biologie

Généralités

Bien que l’on pêche la morue depuis plus de 500 ans dans les eaux canadiennes, nous connaissons encore très mal de nombreux éléments fondamentaux de la biologie et de l’écologie de l’espèce. On sait toutefois qu’après l’éclosion, période qui s’étend sur environ 60 degrés-jours, les larves se nourrissent à même le vitellus jusqu’à ce qu’elles atteignent une longueur de 1,5 à 2,0 mm. Pendant le stade larvaire, la morue se nourrit de phytoplancton et de petit zooplancton dans les 10 à 50 premiers mètres de la colonne d’eau. Après quelques semaines, les larves s’installent sur le fond, où elles semblent demeurer pour une période de 1 à 4 ans dans la presque totalité de leur aire de répartition canadienne. On sait aussi que ces aires d’installation sur le fond se situent entre les eaux littorales très peu profondes (< 10 à 30 m) et les eaux modérément profondes des bancs du large (de 50 à 150 m). En plus de leur procurer de quoi se nourrir, cette zone offre presque certainement aux larves et aux juvéniles une protection contre les prédateurs. Après cette période sur le fond, on pense que les morues amorcent les déplacements (apparemment sans direction précise dans les eaux littorales) et les migrations (déplacements dirigés vers et depuis des endroits particuliers hautement prévisibles) souvent saisonniers caractéristiques des individus adultes. D’après certains rapports anecdotiques, les adultes de très grande taille (> 100 cm) ne migreraient pas autant que les autres.

 

Reproduction : variation du cycle biologique

Le cycle biologique de la morue varie considérablement (Myers et al., 1996; McIntyre et Hutchings, sous presse). La plupart des traits d’histoire de vie, tels que l’âge et la taille à la maturité, la longévité et la fécondité selon la taille, diffèrent énormément d’une population à l’autre; d’autres par contre, comme la taille des œufs, semblent être similaires dans toute l’aire de répartition de l’espèce. Comme c’est le cas pour la plupart des organismes à croissance indéterminée (ceux qui continuent de croître après avoir atteint la maturité), la fécondité (le nombre d’œufs par femelle par saison de reproduction) augmente en fonction de la taille corporelle. Chez les morues, comme chez la majorité des poissons, le nombre d’œufs par femelle augmente en général comme une fonction de puissance de la masse corporelle. À un âge donné, la taille corporelle est fonction du taux de croissance, paramètre qui varie énormément entre les populations de morue (relativement faible dans le nord, élevé dans le sud). En retour, le taux de croissance est fonction de la température, de l’apport nutritif, de la densité et de l’allocation proportionnelle d’énergie à la reproduction.

Dans les eaux relativement chaudes de l’extrémité sud de son aire au Canada (banc Georges, large de l’État du Maine) et de la baie de Fundy, la morue atteint généralement la maturité à un âge de 2 à 3 ans(Trippel et al., 1997; McIntyre et Hutchings, sous presse). Par contre, sur la plate-forme du Nord-Est de Terre-Neuve, dans l’Est du Labrador et dans la mer de Barents, elle ne l’atteint habituellement qu’à un âge de 5 à 7 ans (Myers et al., 1997b; Smedbol et al., 2002). Ces différences d’âge à la maturité dans ces populations se traduisent par des variations dans la durée d’une génération. Il faut toutefois être conscient, lorsqu’on donne une estimation de la durée d’une génération, que cette durée a presque certainement changé avec le temps chez la morue franche, phénomène que l’on peut attribuer à la baisse apparente de l’âge à la maturité dans certaines populations (Trippel et al., 1997) et à une diminution de la longévité. Ainsi, on estime qu’au début des années 1960, plus de 50 p. 100 des œufs produits par le stock de morue du nord de Terre-Neuve étaient pondus par des femelles de 10 ans ou plus (Hutchings et Myers, 1994) alors qu'à la fin des années 1980, cette proportion était inférieure à 10 p. 100. À la fin des années 1990 et aussi récemment qu’à l’automne 2000, aucune morue de plus de 10 ans n’a été capturée dans le cadre des relevés du stock de morue du Nord effectué par le MPO (Lilly et al., 2001).

La taille à la maturité peut également différer beaucoup selon les populations de morue. En moyenne, elle varie généralement entre 45 et 55 cm. Ces dernières années, toutefois, on a signalé des tailles inférieures chez les morues de l’Est de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise (de 33 à 37 cm; Paul Fanning, MPO, Bedford, Nouvelle-Écosse, communication personnelle) et chez les morues de la population génétiquement isolée de la baie Gilbert, au Labrador (de 31 à 42 cm; Morris et Green, 2002). À l’autre extrême, dans le lac Ogac, sur la Terre de Baffin, on fait état de longueurs à la maturité atteignant 65 cm pour les mâles et 85 cm pour les femelles (Patriquin, 1967). Le nombre d’œufs produits par une seule femelle au cours d’une même saison de reproduction varie en général de 300 000 à 500 000 (à la maturité) à plusieurs millions (chez les femelles dont la taille dépasse 75 cm). D’après des données récentes, la fécondité selon la taille, c’est‑à‑dire le nombre d’œufs produits par unité de masse corporelle, diffère beaucoup selon les populations de morue de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest ainsi que dans le temps au sein de ces populations (McIntyre et Hutchings, sous presse). Le diamètre des œufs, qui présente une faible association positive avec la taille corporelle, varie entre 1,25 et 1,75 mm (Chambers et Waiwood, 1996).

 

Reproduction : comportement de fraye

La morue franche fraye en général sur une période de moins de trois mois (Brander, 1994; Chambers et Waiwood, 1996; Kjesbu et al., 1996) dans des eaux dont la profondeur peut varier de quelques dizaines (Smedbol et Wroblewski, 1997) à des centaines de mètres (Brander, 1994; Morgan et al., 1997). On présume que chaque individu fraye tous les ans; comme on a observé que la femelle ne pondait que de 5 à 25 p. 100 de ses œufs à la fois (environ tous les 2 à 6 jours sur une période de 3 à 6 semaines), on considère toutefois la morue franche comme une espèce à ponte fractionnée (Chambers et Waiwood, 1996; Kjesbu et al., 1996). Chez les femelles en captivité, les intervalles de fraye semblent durer en général de 2 à 6 jours (Kjesbu, 1989; Chambers et Waiwood, 1996; Kjesbu et al., 1996).

Le comportement des morues immédiatement avant l’expulsion du sperme et des œufs a été documenté pour la première fois au XIXe siècle, dans des écloseries de morues franches à Terre-Neuve (Templeman, 1958) et en Norvège (Dannevig, 1930). Ces observations et celles de Brawn (1961) font état d’un « accouplement ventral » au cours duquel le mâle, tout en saisissant la femelle à l’aide de ses nageoires pelviennes et en synchronisant sa vitesse de nage avec la sienne, se place sous elle de façon que leurs orifices urogénitaux se trouvent vis-à-vis l’un de l’autre.

D’après les deux seuls articles portant sur le comportement de la morue pendant la fraye recensés dans les revues scientifiques primaires (Brawn, 1961; Hutchings et al., 1999), le succès reproducteur de la morue franche dépend d’un ensemble complexe de comportements au sein du même sexe ainsi qu’entre les sexes. Le mâle reproducteur semble établir une hiérarchie de dominance, dans laquelle le rang est déterminé par des interactions agressives, notamment des poursuites entre les mâles, et peut-être aussi par la taille corporelle, les individus les plus gros dominant souvent les autres. Les interactions agonistes qui se poursuivent pendant toute la saison de fraye pourraient permettre aux mâles du haut de l’échelle de défendre des territoires. D’après certaines données génétiques limitées, le succès de la fécondation par le mâle augmenterait avec la taille corporelle ou la dominance comportementale de celui-ci (Hutchingset al., 1999), et les œufs pourraient être fécondés par plusieurs mâles au cours d’un même épisode reproducteur (Hutchings et al., 1999; Rakitinet al., 2001). Selon ces données génétiques et les résultats de l’observation directe du comportement reproducteur de la morue dans le sud de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du golfe du Saint-Laurent (S. Rowe et J.A. Hutchings, données inédites), on peut raisonnablement présumer que la présence de mâles satellites, qui s’accouplent « en douce » avec les femelles, est une caractéristique courante de la reproduction chez les morues, et que ces mâles satellites sont capables de féconder une partie des œufs expulsés par une femelle au cours d’une période de fraye. Les corrélats phénotypiques et comportementaux du succès reproducteur de la morue franche font actuellement l’objet d’études dans le cadre d’une série d’expériences menées à la Dalhousie University par l’auteur du présent rapport.

Hutchingset al. (1999) ont posé que les interactions entre les sexes concordent avec une autre hypothèse selon laquelle les femelles, et peut-être aussi les mâles, choisissent leur partenaire. En effet, un comportement dominant observé dans de grands bassins expérimentaux est l’encerclement d’une femelle par des mâles, au fond ou près du fond (Hutchingset al., 1999; Skjæraasenet al., article proposé). Plusieurs facteurs associés à ce comportement d’encerclement donnent à penser que la femelle choisit son partenaire. Premièrement, c’est la femelle qui initie ces épisodes d’encerclement et qui y met fin. Deuxièmement, c’est elle qui, en restreignant ces épisodes aux occasions où elle placée directement sur le fond, peut efficacement empêcher un accouplement ventral avec les mâles qui l’encerclent ou non. Troisièmement, ce comportement d’encerclement lui permet d’entrer en contact étroit avec plusieurs mâles et d’évaluer la qualité de chacun d’eux avant l’accouplement. Hutchingset al. (1999) ont également émis l’hypothèse que les femelles pourraient choisir les gadidés mâles en fonction des sons que ceux-ci produisent durant la fraye (Brawn, 1961; Hawkins et Amorim, 2000; Nordeide et Folstad, 2000). Chez la morue, la communication acoustique est en effet facilitée par la présence de muscles percussifs dont les vibrations rapides contre la vessie natatoire permettent de produire des sons de basses fréquences audibles pour les autres morues. D’après des analyses préliminaires, la taille de ces muscles chez le mâle, corrélée à sa taille corporelle, pourrait présenter une association positive avec le succès de la fécondation et différer d’une population à l’autre (S. Rowe et J.A. Hutchings, données inédites).

 

Survie

La forte fécondité de la morue franche (de quelques centaines de milliers à plusieurs millions d’œufs par femelle par saison de reproduction) constitue une adaptation de son cycle de vie qui lui permet d’adopter la stratégie de reproduction consistant à expulser ses œufs directement dans la colonne d’eau sans leur assurer la moindre protection, que ce soit sous forme de nid ou de soins à la ponte. Cette stratégie, qui maximise la production d’œufs dont la taille approche ou atteint le minimum physiologique pour la survie, a été interprétée comme une réponse adaptative à des environnements dans lesquels la taille des œufs ne confère aucun avantage intergénérationnel constant pour la survie au cours des premiers stades biologiques (Hutchings, 1997).

Cette stratégie de forte fécondité adoptée par la morue franche est une réponse évolutionnaire à la mortalité extrêmement élevée associée à une telle stratégie de reproduction. En se fondant sur des estimations de la fécondité, du poids selon l’âge et de l’abondance selon l’âge chez la morue du Nord, Hutchings (1999) a estimé que la survie, depuis la naissance jusqu’à l’âge de 3 ans, était en moyenne de 1,13 × 10- 6, soit environ un sur un million, pour les cohortes de morues nées entre 1962 et 1988. Entre l’âge auquel la morue devient vulnérable (recrutement) à la pêche commerciale (entre 1 et 3 ans pour les stocks canadiens, les poissons étant capturés à un plus jeune âge dans le sud) et l’âge où elle meurt, la probabilité de mortalité annuelle, indépendamment de l’âge et de la taille, a été estimée à 18 p. 100 (Pinhorn, 1975).

Avant la fermeture de la pêche dirigée ou ciblée dans la plupart des zones de pêche au début des années 1990 (juillet 1992 pour la morue du Nord; janvier 1994 pour la morue du nord du golfe; septembre 1993 pour tous les autres stocks sauf ceux de l’ouest de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise et de la baie de Fundy et ceux du banc Georges, où la pêche n’a jamais été interdite), la pêche a été la principale cause de mortalité chez la morue franche. Cas extrême, on estime que les pêcheurs récoltaient chaque année plus de 70 p. 100 des morues capturables du nord de Terre-Neuve à la fin des années 1980 et au début des années 1990 (Baird et al., 1992; Hutchings et Myers, 1994). La pêche demeure une importante cause de mortalité dans certaines portions des populations de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, du Nord laurentien et des Maritimes (Smedbol et al., 2002). Dans certains secteurs, le gros de la mortalité, tous stades biologiques confondus, peut probablement être attribué à la prédation par d’autres poissons et par des mammifères marins et, à un degré moindre, par des invertébrés et des oiseaux (Bundy et al., 2000; McLaren et al., 2001). La pêche n’en reste pas moins une importante cause de mortalité dans de nombreuses régions, conséquence des quotas de pêche dirigée et des prises accessoires.

À l’exception des morues qui se trouvent le long d’une section de la côte sud de Terre-Neuve (division 3Ps de l’OPANO), les populations de morue ont peu augmenté depuis la première fermeture des pêches ciblées, il y a près de dix ans. Même s’ils contredisent les prévisions de rétablissement rapide faites au début des années 1990 (décrites en détail dans Hutchings et al., 1997), ces faibles taux de croissance des populations ne sont pas atypiques lorsqu’on les compare aux taux de rétablissement des stocks de poissons marins effondrés à l’échelle mondiale (Hutchings, 2000), même en tenant compte des réductions de la mortalité par pêche (Hutchings et al., 2001a; Denney et al., article proposé). On ignore au juste pourquoi ces taux sont plus faibles que prévu, mais un ou plusieurs des facteurs suivants pourraient entrer en ligne de compte : l’échec des tentatives de gestion visant à éliminer la mortalité par pêche; les changements dans la composition des communautés d’espèces et les changements parallèles dans les interactions compétitives et les relations prédateur-proie; la réduction de l’habitat critique; la diminution des taux de fécondation et/ou des interactions sociales nécessaires au succès reproducteur, due à la réduction dans la densité des poissons.

Les taux relativement faibles d’accroissement des populations pourraient être dus à qu’on appelle le « mécanisme dépensatoire », dans la littérature sur les pêches (Myers et al., 1995), et l’« effet d’Allee », dans la littérature écologique. Ces deux expressions renvoient à des situations où les taux d’accroissement par tête diminuent au lieu d’augmenter continuellement, lorsque l’effectif de la population tombe sous un certain « seuil » d’abondance. On a entre autres invoqué l’effet d’Allee pour expliquer la relative lenteur du rétablissement de la morue franche et d’autres poissons marins (Shelton et Healey, 1999; Frank et Brickman, 2000; Hutchings, 2000, 2001a,b; De Roos et Persson, 2002). Il faut toutefois noter que la faiblesse observée des taux d’accroissement des populations de morue n’est peut-être pas si excessive lorsqu'on tient compte de la variation stochastique, ou imprévisible, des paramètres utilisés pour modéliser cet accroissement, plutôt que de fonder ses prévisions sur des modèles déterministes (dans lesquels tous les paramètres sont fixes). Hutchings (1999) a entrepris un tel exercice de modélisation pour la morue du Nord. D’après les résultats obtenus, et compte tenu des taux relativement faibles de croissance individuelle (poids selon l’âge) et de l’âge comparativement avancé à la maturité observés chez ces morues, les taux de rétablissement observés (ou plutôt l’absence de rétablissement) ne sont peut-être pas si étonnants.

Si les gestionnaires des ressources avaient été cohérents dans l’établissement des quotas pour les pêches des stocks de morue effondrés et avaient interdit la pêche ciblée ou les prises accessoires ces dix dernières années, le taux de rétablissement de certains stocks aurait presque certainement été plus élevé que les taux observés. Donnons un exemple. Entre 1981 et 1989, le quota annuel de morue du Nord n’a jamais été inférieur à 200 000 tonnes (1 tonne métrique égale 1 000 kilogrammes) (Lilly et al., 2001). Plusieurs observateurs de l’industrie de la pêche et gestionnaires des ressources du gouvernement ont présumé qu’il suffisait de réduire fortement les quotas pour permettre à ce stock de se rétablir. En 1999 et en 2000, les quotas de morue du Nord étaient respectivement de 9 000 et de 7 000 tonnes (Lilly et al., 2001), soit environ de 97 p. 100 inférieurs à ceux du milieu des années 1980. Mais malgré tout, ces quotas ont entraîné des taux de mortalité par pêche assez élevés pour freiner le rétablissement du stock (données présentées plus bas; voir la section FACTEURS LIMITATIFS ET MENACES), ce qui démontre à l’évidence que même de faibles quotas peuvent avoir une incidence négative sur les stocks de poissons lorsque ceux-ci ont atteint un plancher historique.