Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Atlantic Cod in Canada

Physiology

From a physiological perspective, the environmental variable of greatest import to Atlantic cod is probably water temperature.  It has been suggested that cod will actively avoid waters deemed to be low in temperature.  For example, avoidance of cold water is the primary reason given for the autumnal migration of cod out of the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence to the northeast waters off Cape Breton (Campana et al. 1999).  And there is a sound empirical basis for believing that temperature selection by cod should be density-dependent, with the optimal temperature for growth declining as food ration declines (Swain and Kramer 1995).

Although cod are generally found in waters ranging in average annual temperature from 2 to 11o C (Brander 1994), it is clear that cod in some areas off Newfoundland are able to withstand temperatures as low as -1.5o C (Goddard et al. 1999).  This temperature is below that (-0.5 to - 0.8o C) at which ice crystals form in the blood.  Cod are able to withstand such cold waters, and to prevent the formation of ice crystals in the blood, by producing plasma antifreeze proteins or glycoproteins  (AFGPs) that improve freeze resistance.  Interestingly, there appears to be an effect of size and/or age on the ability of cod to withstand sub-zero-degree waters.  For example, Goddard and Fletcher (1994) reported that juvenile cod (10-40 cm) produce approximately twice as much AFGP as adult cod.

Some of the best evidence that Atlantic cod are adapted to local environments at scales considerably smaller than those corresponding to the NAFO divisions is physiological in nature.  In a common-garden experiment in which all individuals were reared under the same environmental conditions, Goddard et al. (1999) reported that juvenile cod from the northernmost part of Division 3K (Northern Peninsula, Newfoundland) develop antifreeze protein levels approximately 50% higher than cod located further south in Notre Dame, Trinity, and Conception Bays.  The authors attributed these physiological differences in antifreeze production to population differences in water temperatures experienced during winter.

 

Movements/dispersal

Dispersal in Atlantic cod appears to be limited to the egg and larval phases of life, during which surface and near-surface water currents and turbulence are the primary determinants of horizontal and vertical displacement in the water column.  For some cod populations, eggs and larvae are capable of dispersing very long distances.  For example, based on the movement of satellite-tracked drifter buoys, Helbig et al. (1992) concluded that eggs spawned off southeastern Labrador (NAFO Division 2J) disperse as far south as Grand Bank.  By contrast, eggs spawned by cod in inshore, coastal waters, especially at the heads of large bays, may experience dispersal distances of a few kilometres or less.

Long-term movements by cod take the form of seasonal migrations.  These migrations can be attributed to geographical and seasonal differences in water temperature, food supply, and possibly spawning grounds.  At one extreme, some inshore populations are suspected to have extremely short migrations, possibly limited to tens of kilometers, or less, in distance.  By contrast, cod in other populations are known to traverse hundreds of kilometers during their seasonal migrations.

Good examples of long-distance seasonal migrations are those undertaken by cod in the Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence and on the Northeast Newfoundland Shelf.  The former overwinter off northeast Cape Breton, migrating into the Southern Gulf in April, where they spend the summer months feeding and spawning, before returning to the deep, relatively warm waters off Cape Breton in November.  Many Northeast Newfoundland Shelf cod migrate from the relatively warm offshore waters to inshore coastal waters in spring to feed primarily on capelin (Mallotus villosus) before returning offshore in autumn.

Movements by Atlantic cod can be inferred from mark-recapture experiments, genetic analyses, and otolith micro-chemistry.  Between 1954 and 1993, a total of 205,422 cod were tagged in Newfoundland waters and released; 36,344 of these fish were recaptured by fishers (Taggart et al. 1995).  Although exceedingly rare (5 of 36,344 recaptures), some cod tagged in Newfoundland waters have been recaptured in the Northeast Atlantic, although no such recaptures have been reported since the 1960s (Taggart et al. 1995).  Based on this exhaustive set of tagging studies, coupled with those conducted more recently (Hunt et al. 1999; Brattey et al. 2001b), one can conclude that, with one exception, cod tend to be recaptured in the NAFO Management Area (as defined by the divisions given in Figure 4) in which they were initially tagged.  The one area in which movement appears to be relatively extensive is that encompassing NAFO Divisions 3Ps, 3N, 3O, and 3L along the southeastern coast of Newfoundland and including Grand Bank.  However, notwithstanding the rather extensive movements that relatively few cod undertake, genetic and otolith micro-chemical analyses are consistent with the hypothesis that these cod exist as separate populations in the Northwest Atlantic (Bentzen et al. 1996; Ruzzante et al. 1998; Campana et al. 1999; Beacham et al. 2002).

 

Nutrition and interspecific interactions

Atlantic cod have an extraordinarily catholic diet (Scott and Scott 1988).  As larvae, they feed primarily on zooplankton (copepods and amphipods).  As cod grow, they tend to feed on larger and larger prey.  Immediately after the larval stage, small crustaceans, mysid shrimp, and euphausiids feature prominently in the cod diet.  Once their gape is large enough, cod begin feeding on fish, including other cod (Scott and Scott 1988; Bogstad et al. 1994).  Fish that have been recorded in cod stomachs have included the following:  capelin, sand lance (Ammodytes americanus), herring (Clupea harengus), redfish (Sebastes sp.), Arctic cod (Boreogadus saidus), cunners (Tautogolabrus adspersus), alewives (Alosa pseudoharengus), haddock (Melanogrammus aeglefinus), winter flounder (Pseudopleuronectes americanus), mackerel (Scomber scombrus), shannies (Lumpenus maculatus, Stichaeus punctatus and Ulvaria subbifurcata), silversides (Menidia menidia), and sculpins (Cottus sp.).  In addition to fish, adult cod will also consume squid, mussels, clams, whelks, tunicates, comb jellies, brittle stars, sand dollars, sea cucumbers, and polychaetes.

Although studies are few, it is clear, given the wide variety of prey consumed by cod, that to varying degrees cod compete with other species for their food. 

There is no firm evidence that food availability is a limiting factor affecting the recovery of this species in Canadian waters, particularly given the historically low levels of abundance at which the species exists throughout much of its range.

However, given the considerable uncertainty that exists in contemporary estimates of the abundance of capelin off Newfoundland and Labrador (DFO 2000, 2001), it is difficult to assess the degree to which capelin may or may not be limiting the recovery of cod in the Newfoundland & Labrador population.  Nonetheless, it has been hypothesized that one of the primary sources of food for adult cod in the Newfoundland & Labrador population--capelin--may be limiting in northern areas (Rose and O'Driscoll 2002), thus affecting recovery.


Figure 4.  Map showing the NAFO (Northwest Atlantic Fishery Organization) divisions used to identify stocks of Atlantic cod managed by NAFO and the Canadian Department of Fisheries and Oceans

Figure 4.  Map showing the NAFO (Northwest Atlantic Fishery Organization) divisions used to identify stocks of Atlantic cod managed by NAFO and the Canadian Department of Fisheries and Oceans.

 

Behaviour/adaptability

Atlantic cod are generalists.  Given that cod almost certainly exist as more than one evolutionarily significant unit in Canada, reflected to some degree by the populations proposed here, it would be reasonable to predict that cod populations respond differently to anthropogenic influences, the most obvious (and best-studied) being fishing.  Such differential population responses may be reflected by differential responses to population collapse and fishery closures.  For example, despite their close proximity, and reasonably higher interchange of individuals (Brattey et al. 2001a,b), the St. Pierre Bank population in the Gulf/Maritimes population recovered relatively rapidly while the adjacent Newfoundland and Labrador population has shown no signs of recovery at all (see POPULATION SIZES AND TRENDS below).

Of potential relevance to the reproductive success of Atlantic cod are the potentially negative effects that offshore gas and oil exploration may have on spawning behaviour and recruitment.  Much of the present oil production and gas exploration activities occur on Grand Bank and the Scotian Shelf.  Recent studies (identified above) suggest that auditory communication among cod during spawning may be of considerable importance to mate choice and reproductive success in this species.  If so, then anthropogenic activities, ranging from fishing activities to exploratory drilling, that disrupt the aquatic medium in which sound so effectively travels may deleteriously affect reproductive behaviour and fertilization success in Atlantic cod.  Although such effects, if present, may not be detectable during periods of high cod abundance, they may contribute to an Allee Effect when populations are low.  However, until these hypotheses have been tested empirically, their merit cannot be evaluated.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de la morue franche au Canada

Physiologie

Sur le plan physiologique, la variable environnementale qui a le plus d’importance pour la morue franche est probablement la température de l’eau. Selon certains, la morue évite activement les eaux dont elle juge la température trop basse. C’est par exemple ce comportement que l’on invoque au premier chef pour expliquer la migration automnale de la morue qui quitte le sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent pour les eaux du Nord-Est du Cap-Breton (Campanaet al., 1999). Des données empiriques sérieuses permettent par ailleurs de penser que le choix de la température par les morues dépendrait de la densité de la population, la température optimale pour sa croissance diminuant en fonction de la diminution des apports alimentaires (Swain et Kramer, 1995).

Bien que les morues fréquentent habituellement des eaux dont la température annuelle moyenne varie entre 2 oC et 11 oC (Brander, 1994), il est par contre évident que celles de certaines zones du large de Terre-Neuve arrivent à tolérer des températures beaucoup plus basses, de l’ordre de –1,5 oC (Goddard et al., 1999). Ces températures sont inférieures à celles auxquelles se forment des cristaux de glace dans le sang (de–0,5 oC à –0,8 oC). Pour supporter des températures aussi froides tout en évitant la formation de cristaux de glace dans leur sang, ces morues produisent donc des protéines plasmatiques ou glyco­protéines antigel qui augmentent leur résistance au froid. Fait intéressant à souligner, il semble y avoir un effet de taille et/ou d’âge sur la capacité de la morue à tolérer des eaux dont la température est inférieure au point de congélation. Par exemple, Goddard et Fletcher (1994) signalent que les jeunes morues (de 10 à 40 cm) produisent environ deux fois plus de ces protéines que les adultes.

Certaines des données qui illustrent le mieux ce phénomène d’adaptation de la morue franche aux environnements locaux (à des échelles beaucoup plus petites que les divisions de l’OPANO) sont d’ordre physiologique. Dans le cadre d’une expérience dans laquelle tous les individus étaient élevés dans des conditions environnementales semblables, Goddard et al. (1999) ont observé que les morues juvéniles du secteur situé le plus au nord de la division 3K (la Grande Péninsule du Nord, Terre-Neuve) affichaient des concentrations de protéines antigel supérieures d’environ 50 p. 100 à celles observées chez les morues trouvées plus au sud, dans les baies Notre-Dame, Trinité et Conception. Les auteurs ont attribué ces différences physiologiques dans la production d’antigel à des différences dans les températures de l’eau où vit cette population en hiver.

 

Déplacements et dispersion

La dispersion de la morue franche semble limitée aux stades biologiques de l’œuf et de la larve, durant lesquels les courants et la turbulence en surface et près de la surface sont les principaux déterminants des déplacements horizontaux et verticaux dans la colonne d’eau. Dans certaines populations, les œufs et les larves se dispersent sur de très longues distances. Par exemple, en se fondant sur les déplacements de bouées dérivantes suivies par satellite, Helbiget al. (1992) ont conclu que les œufs pondus dans les eaux du Sud-Est du Labrador (division 2J de l’OPANO) se dispersaient au sud jusqu’au Grand Banc. En revanche, les œufs pondus par les morues des eaux littorales et côtières, notamment à l’entrée des grandes baies, pourraient ne se disperser que sur quelques kilomètres ou moins.

Les déplacements à long terme prennent la forme de migrations saisonnières. Ces migrations peuvent être attribuées à des différences géographiques et saisonnières dans la température de l’eau, dans l’approvisionnement en nourriture et peut-être aussi dans les aires de fraye. Ainsi, certaines populations côtières feraient des migrations extrêmement courtes, peut-être de l’ordre de quelques dizaines de kilomètres, alors que d’autres migrent sur des centaines de kilomètres.

Les migrations entreprises par les morues du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent et par celles de la plate-forme du Nord-Est de Terre-Neuve sont de bons exemples de migrations saisonnières sur de longues distances. Les premières, qui passent l’hiver au large du Nord-Est du Cap-Breton, migrent dans le sud du golfe en avril, où elles passent l’été à se nourrir et à se reproduire avant de retourner aux eaux profondes et relativement chaudes du Cap-Breton en novembre. Les secondes migrent en grand nombre au printemps depuis les eaux relativement chaudes du Nord-Est de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise jusqu’aux eaux littorales, surtout pour s’y nourrir de capelans (Mallotus villosus), et retournent vers le large en automne.

On peut inférer les déplacements des morues franches au moyen d’expériences de marquage-recapture, d’analyses génétiques et des propriétés microchimiques des otolithes. Entre 1954 et 1993, on a étiqueté puis relâché 205 422 morues dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve; 36 344 d’entre elles ont été recapturées par des pêcheurs (Taggart et al., 1995). Bien que cela soit extrêmement rare (5 recaptures sur les 36 344), certaines des morues étiquetées dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve ont été recapturées dans l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest, ce qui ne s’était pas produit depuis les années 1960 (Taggart et al., 1995). En se fondant sur cet ensemble complet d’études d’étiquetage et sur des études menées plus récemment (Hunt et al., 1999; Brattey et al., 2001b), on peut conclure que, à une exception près, les morues sont en général recapturées dans l’aire de gestion de l’OPANO (voir la figure 4) où elles ont été étiquetées à l’origine. La seule zone dans laquelle les déplacements semblent relativement longs est celle qui englobe les divisions 3Ps, 3N, 3O et 3L de l’OPANO, le long de la côte Sud-Est de Terre-Neuve, y compris le Grand Banc. Toutefois, indépendamment des déplacements passablement longs entrepris par un nombre relativement peu élevé de morues, les analyses génétiques et les analyses des propriétés microchimiques des otolithes concordent avec l’hypothèse selon laquelle ces morues constituent des populations distinctes dans l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest (Bentzenet al., 1996; Ruzzanteet al., 1998; Campanaet al., 1999; Beachamet al., 2002).

 

Nutrition et interactions interspécifiques

Le régime alimentaire de la morue franche est extrêmement éclectique (Scott et Scott, 1988). À l’état de larves, les morues se nourrissent principalement de zooplancton (copépodes et amphipodes), mais à mesure qu’elles grandissent, elles choisissent en général des proies de plus en plus grosses. Immédiatement après le stade larvaire, elles mangent surtout de petits crustacés, des mysis et des euphausiacés. Dès que leur bouche est assez grande, elles commencent à manger des poissons, y compris d’autres morues (Scott et Scott, 1988; Bogstadet al., 1994). Parmi les poissons qu’on a déjà trouvés dans l’Estomac des morues, on mentionne le capelan, le lançon d’Amérique (Ammodytes americanus), le hareng (Clupea harengus), des sébastes (Sebastes sp.), la morue polaire (Boreogadus saidus), la tanche-tautogue (Tautogolabrus adspersus), le gaspareau (Alosa pseudoharengus), l’aiglefin (Melanogrammus aeglefinus), la plie rouge (Pseudopleuronectes americanus), le maquereau (Scomber scombrus), des stichées (Lumpenus maculatus, Stichaeus punctatus et Ulvaria subbifurcata), la capucette (Menidia menidia) et des chabots (Cottus sp.). En plus des poissons, les morues adultes mangent des calmars, des moules, des bivalves fouisseurs, des buccins, des tuniciers, des cténaires, des ophiures, des clypéastres, des holothuries et des polychètes.

Malgré le petit nombre d’études sur la question, il est clair que la morue entre en concurrence avec d’autres espèces pour la nourriture, vu la grande variété des proies qu’elle consomme.

Rien n’indique vraiment que la disponibilité des aliments soit un facteur limitatif ayant une incidence sur le rétablissement de cette espèce dans les eaux canadiennes, vu notamment le faible niveau historique d’abondance auquel la morue est tombée dans la plus grande partie de son aire de répartition.

Toutefois, vu la grande incertitude qui entoure les estimations contemporaines de l’abondance des capelans dans les eaux de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (DFO, 2000, 2001), il est difficile de savoir dans quelle mesure l’abondance de cette espèce peut ou non ralentir le rétablissement des morues de la population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Certains chercheurs (Rose et O’Driscoll, 2002) ont néanmoins formulé l’hypothèse que l’une des principales sources d’alimentation des morues adultes de cette population (le capelan) pourrait être un facteur limitant pour le rétablissement dans les régions du Nord.

Figure 4. Carte des divisions de l’OPANO (Organisation des pêches de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest) utilisées pour identifier les stocks de morue franches gérés par l’OPANO et le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada

Figure 4. Carte des divisions de l’OPANO (Organisation des pêches de l’Atlantique Nord-Ouest) utilisées pour identifier les stocks de morue franches gérés par l’OPANO et le ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada.

 

Comportement et adaptabilité

La morue franche est une espèce généraliste. Comme elle constitue certainement plusieurs unités évolutionnaires significatives au Canada (ce que reflètent jusqu’à un certain point les populations proposées ici), on peut raisonnablement prédire que les populations répondent de manière différente aux influences anthropiques, dont la plus évidente (et la mieux étudiée) est certes la pêche. Cette différence peut se refléter dans les différentes réponses des populations à l’effondrement démographique et à la fermeture des pêches. Ainsi, malgré leur proximité et le nombre relativement grand d’échanges d’individus entre les deux populations (Bratteyet al., 2001a,b), le stock du banc Saint-Pierre a récupéré relativement vite, tandis que la population adjacente de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador n’a donné aucun signe de rétablissement (voir la section TAILLE ET TENDANCES DES POPULATIONS plus bas).

Les éventuels effets indésirables de l’exploration pétrolière et gazière au large des côtes sur le comportement de fraye et le recrutement des morues pourraient avoir une incidence sur le succès reproducteur. Le gros des activités de production pétrolière et d’exploration gazière a lieu actuellement sur le Grand Banc et la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise. Selon des études récentes (énumérées plus bas), la communication acoustique pendant la fraye pourrait avoir une importance énorme pour le choix des partenaires et le succès reproducteur chez les morues. Si cela était effectivement le cas, toute activité humaine (depuis la pêche jusqu’aux forages exploratoires) qui perturbe le milieu aquatique, où les sons se propagent particulièrement bien, pourrait avoir des effets nuisibles sur le comportement reproducteur et le succès de la fécondation. Bien que ce genre de perturbation puisse, le cas échéant, passer inaperçu durant les périodes d’abondance des morues, il pourrait contribuer à un effet d’Allee lorsque l’abondance est faible. Tant que ces hypothèses n’auront pas été vérifiées de façon empirique, on ne pourra cependant en établir la valeur.