Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Atlantic Cod in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

 

Estimates of the size of the breeding part of the population for Atlantic cod are available from two sources.  The first set of estimates is derived from Virtual Population Analysis, or VPA, an analysis reliant on commercial fishery catch data and incorporating assumptions concerning the magnitude of natural, or non-fishing, mortality.  Increasingly, VPAs also include estimates of the proportional representation of mature fish by age.  Regarding information on breeders, one of the outputs of a VPA model is an estimate of the number of spawning individuals.  The second means of estimating the size of Atlantic cod breeding populations is to use the catch rates of cod of reproductive age as determined from the annual research surveys conducted by the Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO).

The primary utility of VPA estimates of abundance is that they allow one to express breeding population size in the same units (numbers of individuals) for each stock or population.  The main weaknesses associated with VPA estimates of abundance are that they rely upon accurate reporting of commercial catch data, they do not account for the illegal practices of discarding and catch misreporting, and they depend upon reliable estimates of mortality due to natural causes.  The primary strength associated with research survey estimates of the size of the breeding population is that the data are obtained from random samples of cod caught throughout the geographical area of each stock.  Thus, they are unbiased and do not depend upon the validity of assumptions concerning natural mortality and the accuracy of commercial fishery data.  Unfortunately, differences among the survey areas in the catchability of cod (the proportion of cod available to be caught by the survey gear that is actually caught by that gear), coupled with differences in survey gear, prevent one from comparing the absolute values of survey catch rates among populations.  In addition, survey estimates can be unduly variable in some areas in some years, leading one to conclude that survey catch rates may provide more reliable estimates of abundance trends for some stocks (e.g., Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence cod) than for others (e.g., St. Pierre Bank cod).

For the population trends described below, the ages of fish in each breeding population were > 5 years for all stocks, except > 4 years for Western Scotian Shelf/Bay of Fundy cod and > 3 years for Georges Bank cod.

Generation time, as usually applied by COSEWIC (Appendix C; Organization and Procedures Manual, May 2003), is the average age of parents in the current cohort.  However, COSEWIC notes that among species for which generation time varies under threat, generation time should be that estimated for the species during the pre-disturbance state.  Under these circumstances, for exploited species, age at maturity can be estimated as (age at first reproduction + 1/M), where M is the instantaneous rate of mortality due to natural events, and age at first reproduction is approximated by the age at which 50% of the adults are mature.  M is thought to be 0.2 for cod in an unfished state (Smedbol et al. 2002).

I estimated the rate of decline from the slope of the linear regression of loge abundance (Nt) versus time (t, in years), as recommended by the Marine Fishes Specialist Subcommittee at its January 2002 meeting and as adopted by DFO in its recent compilation of cod stock decline rates (Smedbol et al. 2002).  The resulting regression equation is ln(Nt) = α + β*t.  The percentage decline over t years can be calculated as (1−exp(β*t))*100.  This method is illustrated below for the Newfoundland and Labrador population.

DFO has estimated area of occupancy for each of the stocks it manages in two ways (Smedbol et al. 2002).  One, called the design-weighted area of occupancy, or DWAO, most closely approximates the definition of area of occupancy used by COSEWIC.  The second is defined as the minimum area containing 95% of the cod, or D95.  Both indices are based on the fisheries-independent research survey data collected annually by DFO.

Because of its concordance with COSEWIC's definition of area of occupancy, only the analyses of the DWAO data will be reported here.  Although this index should provide reliable estimates of the rate of decline in area of occupancy, the estimates of area of occupancy used in the analyses represent under-estimates of the actual areas of occupancy.

The status report recommends the identification of four populations of Atlantic cod (Figure 5).

Figure 5.  Distribution of Atlantic cod in Canadian waters.

Figure 5.  Distribution of Atlantic cod in Canadian waters.  Boundaries of the Arctic, Newfoundland & Labrador, Laurentian North, and Maritimes populations are delineated by heavy lines.  The depth contour is at 200 metres.

 

Arctic Population

Cod in this population are those inhabiting waters within and to the east of Baffin Island, Nunavut (marine waters are in NAFO Divisions 0A, 0B).  Although little is known about cod inhabiting the marine waters in this area, they may be the ancestral source of relict landlocked populations of cod known or suspected to inhabit 7 lakes that receive intermittent tidal intrusions of salt water (Table 1).  The best-studied of these lake populations is that inhabiting Ogac Lake, a salt, meromictic lake on Baffin Island that receives influxes of seawater only during the highest summer tides (McLaren 1967; Patriquin 1967).  The estimated abundance of reproductive cod in Ogac Lake was approximately 500 individuals in 1962 (Patriquin 1967).

Although there are no genetic data available for cod in this population, lake-dwelling individuals are considerably larger on average than those found elsewhere in Canadian waters.  In 1952, Storrs McCall and Arthur Dawson of McGill University captured a considerable number of cod from Ogac Lake, including one that measured 135 cm (25.2 kg) and one measuring 141 cm (Bruemmer 1966).  In the 1960s, Patriquin (1967) reported sizes at maturity of 65 and 85 cm for Ogac Lake males and females, respectively, lengths that are 20 to 40 cm greater than sizes at maturity reported elsewhere (Brander 1994).  The maximum size of cod captured in Ogac Lake in 1965 was 144 cm, and large-sized cod continued to exist in Ogac Lake in the 1980s and 1990s (see table below).  Cod in excess of 1 metre in length have also been captured in the Nettilling Fjord Lake, near Pangnirtung in Cumberland Sound.  One cod captured there in August 1998 is reported to have been 138 cm long, 25 kg in weight, and 13+ years in age (personal communication from Margaret Treble, DFO, Winnipeg, to David Hardie, Dalhousie University, Halifax).

Although there are no data on temporal trends in abundance, increased angling pressure has been identified as a concern by local inhabitants.  Indeed, studies since the 1960s have remarked on the extraordinary ease with which large numbers of cod can be captured from these lakes.  For example, in Nettilling Fjord Lake, 500 kg of cod (n=25), or 0.5 tonnes, were caught in only 1 hour of handlining (20 hooks fished for 1 hour) in August, 1985 (Lewis 1989).  In 1986, 240 kg of cod (n=104) were removed from the same lake by 24 hooks fished for 1 hour (Lewis 1989).

LakeDateLength
(mean + SD)
Maximum length (estimated age)Source
Ogac Lake19 July 199949.9 + 16.7 cm; n=23111 cm (8+ yr)DFO Winnipeg
Ogac LakeFeb/ Mar 198764.3 + 17.3 cm; n=21107 cm (ages NA)DFO Winnipeg
Nettilling FjordSept 198561.0 + 10.3 cm; n=25102 cm (16+ yr)Lewis (1989)
Nettilling Fjord6-7 Aug 198662.0 + 9.3 cm; n=10477 cm (17 yr)Lewis (1989)
Nettilling FjordAug 198955.1 + 8.4 cm; n=100102 cm (ages NA)DFO Winnipeg


Table 1.  Reported locations of landlocked Atlantic cod in Nunavut.
LakeLocationSource
Ogac Lake (also known as Ogak Lake and Ney Harbour)

CONFIRMED
Across Frobisher Bay, 117 km from Iqaluit at the head of Ney Harbour (62°51’N, 67°20’W; NTS map 025J14).McLaren (1967); Amarak Hunters and Trappers' Office (HTO), Iqaluit
Qasigialiminiq

CONFIRMED
First lake on south arm of Nettilling Fjord; across from Pangnirtung and deeper into Cumberland Sound
(66°02’N, 68°12’W;
NTS map 026K00).
Pangnirtung HTO; Margaret Treble (DFO, Winnipeg); Dan Pike (North Atlantic Marine Mammal Commission, Tromsö, Norway, formerly of DFO, Iqaluit)
Tariuja

CONFIRMED
First lake on north arm of Brown Inlet, just west from Nettilling Fjord (65°29’N, 67°20’W; NTS map 026G00).Margaret Treble
Lake(s) on Broughton Island (now Qikiqtarjuaq)

CONFIRMED
North side of Cumberland Peninsula, 177 km from Pangnirtung (67°34’N, 63°54’W; NTS map 26P).Dan Pike
Lake at north mouth of Frobisher Bay

CONFIRMED
At old DFO field camp on the Beekman Peninsula, across from Brevoort Island, north of Cyrus Field Bay.Dan Pike.  The Annual Report of the FRBC (Arctic Biological Station) from 1951-52 (Calanus) mentions Ogac Lake cod and Beekman Pensinsula cod.
Lake in the vicinity of Burwell, NU

UNCONFIRMED
Burwell, in the years 1947-1950?Personal communication to Corey Morris (DFO, St. John's) from Kathleen Martin (DFO, Winnipeg).
Resolution Island, NU

UNCONFIRMED
1950?Personal communication to Corey Morris (DFO, St. John's) from Kathleen Martin (DFO, Winnipeg).

Research surveys of the marine waters off eastern Baffin Island (NAFO Divisions 0A and 0B) are infrequent and those that have been undertaken have targeted Greenland halibut (Reinhardtius hippoglossoides).  The most recent surveys have caught exceedingly few Atlantic cod.  Among 66 tows conducted in NAFO Division 0A in 1999, only 3 cod were caught (all in a single tow) (Treble et al. 2000); among 48 tows conducted in 2001, no cod were captured (Treble 2002).  Similarly, among 64 tows conducted in Division 0B in 2000, only 1 cod was caught (Treble al. 2001); none was caught among the 36 tows conducted in 0B in 2001 (Treble 2002).

The suggestion that cod in Arctic marine waters exist at very low densities is supported by other information.  The Pangnirtung Fisheries Consortium reports that cod are absent in Cumberland Sound.  The Iqaluit Hunters and Trappers Organization reports the same for Frobisher Bay.  Low densities of cod in Arctic marine waters is also suggested by McLaren's (1967) report that no cod were taken during surveys of Frobisher Bay by M/V Calanus in the 1950s.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de la morue franche au Canada

Taille et tendances des populations

 

On peut tirer de deux sources les estimations sur l’effectif de géniteurs de la population de morue franche. La première série de données provient de l’analyse de la population virtuelle (APV), analyse fondée sur les données des captures de la pêche commerciale et intégrant des hypothèses concernant l’importance de la mortalité naturelle (non due à la pêche). De plus en plus, les APV incluent des estimations de la représentation proportionnelle de poissons matures selon l'âge. En ce qui concerne l’information sur les géniteurs, l’un des résultats d’un modèle APV est une estimation du nombre de géniteurs. Le second moyen d’estimer la taille de la population reproductrice de morue franche est le recours aux taux de capture de morues en âge de se reproduire obtenus d’après les relevés scientifiques annuels menés par le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO).

L’utilité première des estimations de l’abondance fournies par l’APV est qu’elles permettent d’exprimer l’effectif de la composante reproductrice à l’aide des mêmes unités (nombre d’individus) pour chaque stock ou population. Leur principale faiblesse est de dépendre de l’exactitude des données sur les prises commerciales, mais sans tenir compte des pratiques illégales de rejet et de fausses déclarations, et de dépendre de la fiabilité des estimations de la mortalité due à des causes naturelles. La grande force des estimations de l’effectif de la population reproductrice établies à partir des relevés scientifiques, c'est que les données sont tirées d’échantillons aléatoires de morues capturées dans toute l’aire géographique de chaque stock. Elles ne sont donc pas biaisées, et ne dépendent pas de la validité des hypothèses concernant la mortalité naturelle ni de l’exactitude des données de la pêche commerciale. Malheureusement, les différences entre les zones de relevé en ce qui concerne la capturabilité des morues (la proportion de morues pouvant être capturées par un engin qui sont réellement prises par cet engin), couplées aux différences dans les engins d’échantillonnage, empêchent de comparer les valeurs absolues des taux de capture des relevés parmi les populations. De plus, les estimations fournies par les relevés scientifiques peuvent varier de façon indue dans certaines zones et certaines années, ce qui amène à conclure que les taux de capture des relevés peuvent donner des estimations des tendances de l’abondance plus fiables pour certains stocks (p. ex. celui du golfe du Saint-Laurent) que pour d'autres (p. ex. celui du banc Saint‑Pierre).

Pour les tendances de population décrites ci-dessous, les âges des poissons de chaque composante reproductrice étaient de > 5 ans pour tous les stocks, sauf dans le cas de l’ouest de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise / baie de Fundy (> 4 ans) et du banc Georges (> 3 ans).

La durée d’une génération, telle qu’elle est habituellement calculée par le COSEPAC (annexe C; Manuel d’organisation et de procédures, mai 2003), est l'âge moyen des parents de la cohorte courante. Le COSEPAC note toutefois que, parmi les espèces chez lesquelles la durée d’une génération varie en présence d’une menace, il faut estimer cette durée pour l’état pré-perturbation. Dans une telle circonstance, pour les espèces exploitées, l'âge à la maturité peut être calculé comme (âge à la première reproduction + 1/M), où M est le taux instantané de mortalité due aux événements naturels, et l'âge à la première reproduction est approximativement l'âge auquel 50 p. 100 des adultes sont matures. M semble être égal à 0,2 chez la morue non exploitée (Smedbol et al., 2002).

J’ai estimé le taux de déclin à partir de la pente de régression linéaire de loge de l’abondance (Nt) sur le temps (t, en années), comme l’a recommandé le sous-comité des spécialistes des poissons marins à sa réunion de janvier 2002, formule adoptée par le MPO dans sa récente compilation des taux de déclin des stocks de morue (Smedbol et al., 2002). L’équation de régression qui en résulte est : ln(Nt) = α + β*t. Le pourcentage de déclin sur t ans peut se calculer comme (1–exp(ß*t))*100. Cette méthode est illustrée ci-dessous pour la population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Le MPO a estimé de deux façons la zone d’occupation pour chacun des stocks qu’il gère (Smedbol et al., 2002). La première, qui consiste à pondérer par la conception de l’échantillonnage la superficie de la zone d’occupation (design-weighted area of occupancy, ou DWAO), est celle qui se rapproche le plus de la définition utilisée par le COSEPAC. La deuxième se définit comme la zone minimale contenant 95 p. 100 de la morue (D95). Ces deux indices se fondent sur les données des relevés scientifiques indépendants de la pêche menés chaque année par le MPO.

Étant donné qu’elles concordent avec la définition donnée de la zone d’occupation par le COSEPAC, seules les analyses des données DWAO seront rapportées ici. Bien que cet indice puisse donner des estimations fiables du taux de déclin de la zone d’occupation, les estimations utilisées dans les analyses représentent des sous-estimations de la superficie réelle des zones d’occupation.

Le rapport de situation recommande que soient identifiées quatre populations de morue franche (figure 5).

Figure 5. Répartition de la morue franche dans les eaux canadiennes

Figure 5. Répartition de la morue franche dans les eaux canadiennes. Les limites des populations de l’Arctique, de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, du Nord laurentien et des Maritimes sont indiquées par des lignes épaisses. L’isobathe est celui de 200 mètres.

 

Population de l'Arctique

Les morues de cette population sont celles qui occupent les eaux intérieures et le littoral est de la Terre de Baffin, au Nunavut (les eaux marines se trouvent dans les divisions 0A, 0B de l'OPANO). Bien qu'on sache peu de choses au sujet des morues qui fréquentent les eaux marines de cette région, il pourrait s'agir de la source ancestrale des populations dulcicoles reliques connues ou présumées qui semblent habiter sept lacs où pénètre périodiquement de l'eau salée sous l’effet des marées (tableau 1). La mieux connue de ces populations lacustres vit dans le lac Ogac, lac salé méromictique de la Terre de Baffin qui ne reçoit des apports d'eau de mer que pendant les grandes marées estivales (McLaren, 1967; Patriquin, 1967). On a estimé en 1962 l’abondance de géniteurs dans le lac Ogac à environ 500 individus (Patriquin, 1967).

Bien qu’on ne dispose d’aucune donnée génétique sur les morues qui composent cette population, on sait que les individus lacustres sont nettement plus gros en moyenne que ceux qu’on trouve ailleurs dans les eaux canadiennes. En 1952, Storrs McCall et Arthur Dawson, de l’Université McGill, ont capturé un nombre considérable de morues dans le lac Ogac, dont un spécimen qui mesurait 135 cm (25,2 kg), et un autre qui mesurait 141 cm (Bruemmer, 1966). Dans les années 1960, Patriquin (1967) a signalé des tailles à la maturité de 65 et 85 cm respectivement pour les mâles et les femelles du lac Ogac, longueurs supérieures de 20 à 40 cm aux tailles à la maturité signalées ailleurs (Brander, 1994). La taille maximale des morues capturées en 1965 dans le lac Ogac était de 144 cm, et on y observait encore des morues de grande taille dans les années 1980 et 1990 (voir le tableau ci-dessous). Des morues mesurant plus d’un mètre de longueur ont également été prises dans le lac du fjord Nettilling, près de Pangnirtung, dans la baie Cumberland. Une des morues capturées à cet endroit en août 1998 mesurait 138 cm de longueur, pesait 25 kg et était âgée de 13+ ans selon le rapport (communication personnelle de Margaret Treble, MPO, Winnipeg, à David Hardie, Dalhousie University, Halifax).

Malgré l’absence de données sur les tendances temporelles de l’abondance, les habitants de ces régions signalent que l’accroissement de la pression de pêche sportive est un phénomène préoccupant. Des études menées depuis les années 1960 ont fait ressortir la facilité extraordinaire avec laquelle on peut capturer un grand nombre de morues dans ces lacs. Par exemple, dans le lac du fjord Nettilling, on a pris 500 kg de morue (n=25), soit 0,5 tonne, en seulement une heure de pêche à la palangre (20 hameçons) en août 1985 (Lewis, 1989). En 1986, 240 kg de morue (n=104) ont été capturés dans le même lac en une heure avec 24 hameçons (Lewis, 1989).


Lac

Date
Longueur
(moyenne + ET)
Longueur maximale (âge estimé)
Source
Lac Ogac19 juillet 199949,9 + 16,7 cm; n=23111 cm (8+ ans)MPO Winnipeg
Lac Ogacfévrier/mars 198764,3 + 17,3 cm; n=21107 cm (âges ND)MPO Winnipeg
Fjord Nettillingsept. 198561,0 + 10,3 cm; n=25102 cm (16+ ans)Lewis (1989)
Fjord Nettilling6-7 août 198662,0 + 9,3 cm; n=10477 cm (17 ans)Lewis (1989)
Fjord Nettillingaoût 198955,1 + 8,4 cm; n=100102 cm (âges ND)MPO Winnipeg


Tableau 1. Lieux signalés de présence de morues franches dulcicoles au Nunavut.
LacEmplacementSource
Lac Ogac (aussi appelé lac Ogak et havre Ney)

CONFIRMÉ
Baie Frobisher, à 117 km d’Iqaluit, à l’entrée du havre Ney (62°51’N, 67°20’O; carte SNRC 025J14).McLaren (1967); Organisation de chasseurs et de trappeurs (OCT) d’Amarak, Iqaluit
Qasigialiminiq

CONFIRMÉ
Premier lac du bras sud du fjord Nettilling; en face de Pangnirtung et plus avant dans la baie Cumberland
(66°02’N, 68°12’O;
carte SNRC 026K00).
OCT de Pangnirtung; Margaret Treble (MPO, Winnipeg); Dan Pike (North Atlantic Marine Mammal Commission, Tromsö, Norvège, ancien membre du MPO, Iqaluit)
Tariuja

CONFIRMÉ
Premier lac du bras nord de l’inlet Brown, juste à l’ouest du fjord Nettilling (65°29’N, 67°20’O; carte SNRC 026G00).Margaret Treble
Lac(s) de l'île Broughton (Qikiqtarjuaq)

CONFIRMÉ
Côté nord de la péninsule Cumberland, à 177 km de Pangnirtung (67°34’N, 63°54’O; carte SNRC 26P).Dan Pike
Lac à l’entrée nord de la baie Frobisher

CONFIRMÉ
Ancienne station du MPO sur la péninsule Beekman, en face de l'île Brevoort, au nord de la baie Cyrus Field.Dan Pike. Le Rapport annuel de l’ORPC (Station de biologie arctique) de 1951-1952 (Calanus) mentionne les morues du lac Ogac et de la péninsule Beekman.
Lac à proximité de Burwell, NU

NON CONFIRMÉ
Burwell, dans les années 1947-1950?Communication personnelle à Corey Morris (MPO, Saint-Jean de Terre-Neuve) de Kathleen Martin (MPO, Winnipeg).
Île Resolution, NU

NON CONFIRMÉ
1950?Communication personnelle à Corey Morris (MPO, Saint-Jean de Terre-Neuve) de Kathleen Martin (MPO, Winnipeg).

Les relevés scientifiques sont peu fréquents dans les eaux marines de l’Est de la Terre de Baffin (divisions 0A et 0B de l’OPANO); ceux qui ont été réalisés visaient le flétan noir (Reinhardtius hippoglossoides). Les relevés les plus récents ont rapporté un nombre extrêmement faible de morues franches. Sur 66 traits effectués en 1999 dans la division 0A de l’OPANO, on a capturé seulement 3 morues (et toutes dans le même trait) (Treble et al., 2000); sur 48 traits effectués en 2001, aucune morue n’a été prise (Treble, 2002). De même, sur 64 traits réalisés en 2000 dans la division 0B, on a capturé seulement une morue (Treble et al., 2001); en 2001, les 36 traits effectués dans la division 0B n’ont ramené aucune morue (Treble, 2002).

D'autre information vient confirmer que la morue franche est présente à de très faibles densités dans les eaux marines de l’Arctique. Le Consortium de pêche de Pangnirtung signale que la morue est absente de la baie Cumberland, constat que fait aussi l’Organisation de chasseurs et de trappeurs d’Iqaluit pour la baie Frobisher. La faible densité de morue dans les eaux marines de l’Arctique est confirmée par le rapport de McLaren (1967), qui signale qu’aucune morue n’a été capturée pendant les relevés de la baie Frobisher effectués dans les années 1950 à bord du Calanus.