Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and update status report on the Atlantic Cod in Canada

Newfoundland & Labrador Population

Cod in this population combine the stocks identified for management purposes by DFO as:  (1) Northern Labrador cod (NAFO Divisions 2GH; (2) "Northern" cod, i.e., those found off southeastern Labrador, the Northeast Newfoundland Shelf, and the northern half of Grand Bank (NAFO Divisions 2J3KL); and (3) Southern Grand Bank cod (NAFO Divisions 3NO).  Temporal trends in abundance for each of these stocks are presented separately in APPENDIX 1.

Calculated from the means for each of its constituent stocks (APPENDIX 1), generation time is estimated to be 11.0 years for this Population, yielding a three-generation time period of 33 years.  Abundance data represent the sum of the VPA estimates of mature population size for each of the stocks included in this population.  The time period for which data were available for both stocks was 1962 to 2001.  These are the data included here for the purpose of estimating rates of population decline.

Within the northern cod stock, there are limited temporal data that allow one to evaluate trends in abundance for cod found in inshore waters.  These data include:  DFO research surveys conducted annually (except 1999) since 1996 over an area of 6,400 square nautical miles; hydro-acoustic surveys of cod in Smith Sound, Trinity Bay, conducted by George Rose (Memorial University of Newfoundland) since 1995; DFO-sponsored sentinel survey catch rate data obtained by fishers; and local knowledge of fish harvesters.  According to DFO's inshore survey data, catch rates of cod aged 5 years and older show an overall decline (correlation coefficient between log(catch rate) and year is negative) between 1996 and 2002 (Lilly et al. MS2003, unpublished data presented at the DFO Zonal Assessment Meeting, 20 February 2003).  Hydro-acoustic estimates of cod biomass in Smith Sound (where the largest spawning component of northern cod is now located), including data obtained in January 2003, also have declined in recent years, according to George Rose (personal communication, DFO Zonal Assessment Meeting, 20 February 2003).  Sentinel survey gillnet catch rates throughout the inshore waters of northeastern Newfoundland in 2001 and 2002 were either the lowest or second lowest since the beginning of the fisher-conducted surveys in 1995 (DFO 2002; Jarvis and Dalley MS2003, unpublished data presented at the DFO Zonal Assessment Meeting, 20 February 2003).  Sentinel survey linetrawl catch rates for Trinity and Bonavista Bays in 2001 were the lowest in the time series (DFO 2002).  Ninety-five percent of fish harvesters who responded to a questionnaire sent to Professional Fish Harvesters Committees along the northeast coast of Newfoundland reported that the Sentinel catch rates corresponded closely with trends in cod abundance observed by fish harvesters (Jarvis and Stead 2001).  In 2002, a majority of fish harvesters reported that commercial catch rates and sounder recordings were the same as or lower than they were in 2001, that the amount of bait fish present in 2002 was the same as or less than that in 2001, and that cod were in average to good condition in 2001 (Jarvis and Dalley MS2003, unpublished data presented at the DFO Zonal Assessment Meeting, 20 February 2003; see also Jarvis and Stead 2001).

Irrespective of the estimated age at maturity or data source, the 3-generation decline experienced by the Newfoundland & Labrador Population was 97% (Figures 6 and 7).

Age at maturityGeneration
time (yr)

Data Source

Data type

Time period

Rate of change
unfished state11.0VPAnumber of individuals1968-2001−97%

Area of occupancy for this population declined from approximately 365,000 km2 in the early 1960s to approximately 290,000 km in recent years, a decline of roughly 21% (Smedbol et al. 2002).

 

Laurentian North population

Cod in this population combine the stocks identified for management purposes by DFO as (1) St. Pierre Bank (NAFO Division 3Ps) and (2) Northern Gulf of St. Lawrence (NAFO Divisions 3Pn4RS).  Temporal trends in abundance for each of these stocks are presented separately in APPENDIX 1.

Calculated from the means for each of its constituent stocks (APPENDIX 1), generation time is estimated to be 10 years for this Population, yielding a three-generation time period of 30 years.

Abundance data represent the sum of the VPA estimates of mature population size for each of the stocks included in this population.  The time period for which data were available for both stocks was 1974 to 2001.  These are the data included here for the purpose of estimating rates of population decline.

Figure 6.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in two cod stocks in the Newfoundland and Labrador population.

 

Figure 6.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in two cod stocks in the Newfoundland & Labrador population.  Data for northern cod (NAFO Divisions 2J3KL) and southern Grand Bank cod (Divisions 3NO) are shown in panel (a).  The combined data for the population are shown in panel (b).

Figure 7.  Plot of loge (abundance, Nt) versus time (t, in years) for the Newfoundland & Labrador population. 


Figure 7.  Plot of loge (abundance, Nt) versus time (t, in years) for the Newfoundland & Labrador population.  The line represents the linear regression equation of ln(Nt) = 232.19 − 0.11t (r2 = 0.77, p<0.0001).  Based on this equation, the rate of decline of the Newfoundland & Labrador population over the three-generation time period of 33 years is (1−exp(−0.11*33))*100, which equals 97%.

The Laurentian North population has declined 81% over the past three generations.  This trend is driven primarily by the decline experienced by the Northern Gulf stock (3Pn4RS).  By comparison, the St. Pierre Bank stock (3Ps) has changed relatively little since 1974 (Figure 8).

Age at maturityGeneration
time (yr)

Data Source

Data type

Time period

Rate of change
unfished state10VPAnumber of individuals1974-2001−81%

Area of occupancy data for this population overlap only for the years 1991 to 2001.  During this period, area of occupancy declined marginally from approximately 96,000 km2 to approximately 89,000 km2, a decline of roughly 7% (Smedbol et al. 2002).

Figure 8.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in two cod stocks in the Laurentian North population. 


Figure 8.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in two cod stocks in the Laurentian North population.  Data for northern Gulf cod (NAFO Divisions 3Pn4RS) and St. Pierre Bank cod (Subdivision 3Ps) are shown in panel (a).  The combined data for the population are shown in panel (b).

 

Maritimes population

Cod in this population combine the stocks identified for management purposes by DFO as:  (1) Southern Gulf of St. Lawrence (NAFO Division 4T); (2) Cabot Strait (NAFO Division 4Vn); (3) Eastern Scotian Shelf (NAFO Divisions 4VsW); (4) Bay of Fundy/Western Scotian Shelf (NAFO Division4X); and (5) cod found on the Canadian portion of Georges Bank (NAFO Division 5Zej,m).  Temporal trends in abundance for each of these stocks are presented separately in APPENDIX 1.

Calculated from the means for each of its constituent stocks (APPENDIX 1), generation time is estimated to be 9 years for this population, yielding a three-generation time period of 27 years.

Abundance data represent the sum of the VPA estimates of mature population size for each of the stocks included in this population.  The time period for which data were available for most stocks was 1974 to 1997 (this being the last year in which a VPA was conducted for Eastern Scotian Shelf cod).  These are the data included here for the purpose of estimating rates of population decline.

The Maritimes population has declined 14% over the past three generations.  However, there is some discordance in the temporal trends among the stocks in this population (Figure 9).  The dominant stock in this population (Southern Gulf; 4T) was actually at higher levels in 1997 than it was in 1974.  By contrast, Eastern Scotian Shelf cod (4VsW) is (in 2002) at historically low levels, according to the research survey indices, which are not part of the present calculation.

Age at maturityGeneration
time (yr)

Data Source

Data type

Time period

Rate of change
unfished state9VPAnumber of individuals1974-1997−14%

Area of occupancy for this population declined from approximately 179,000 km2 in the early 1970s to approximately 140,000 km2 , in recent years, a decline of roughly 22% (Smedbol et al. 2002).


Figure 9.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in cod stocks in the Maritimes population.


Figure 9.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in cod stocks in the Maritimes population.  Data for individual stocks, as identified in the status report, are shown in panel (a).  The combined data for the population are shown in panel (b).

Figure 10.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Northern Labradorcod stock (NAFO Divisions 2GH)


Figure 10.  Temporal variation in the estimated number of mature individuals in the Northern Labradorcod stock (NAFO Divisions 2GH).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Rapport du COSEPAC sur la situation de la morue franche au Canada

Population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

Les morues de cette population englobent les stocks identifiés aux fins de la gestion par le MPO comme : 1) la morue du nord du Labrador (divisions 2GH de l'OPANO); 2) la « morue du Nord », soit celle qu'on trouve dans les eaux du Sud-Est du Labrador, sur la plate-forme du Nord-Est de Terre-Neuve et sur la moitié nord du Grand Banc (divisions 2J3KL de l’OPANO); 3) la morue du Sud du Grand Banc (divisions 3NO de l'OPANO). Les tendances temporelles de l’abondance de chacun de ces stocks sont présentées séparément à l’ANNEXE 1.

À partir de la moyenne de chacun des stocks qui la composent (ANNEXE 1), on estime à 11,0 ans la durée d’une génération dans cette population, ce qui donne une période de 33 ans pour trois générations. Les données sur l’abondance représentent la somme des estimations de la taille de la population mature obtenues par APV pour chacun des stocks qui composent cette population. La période pour laquelle on dispose de données sur les deux stocks va de 1962 à 2001. Ce sont ces données qui sont utilisées ici pour le calcul du taux de déclin de la population.

Pour le stock de morue du Nord, on dispose de données temporelles limitées qui permettent d’évaluer les tendances de l’abondance pour les morues présentes dans les eaux littorales. Ces données proviennent notamment : des relevés scientifiques effectués par le MPO chaque année (sauf en 1999) depuis 1996 dans une zone couvrant 6 400 milles marins carrés; des relevés hydro-acoustiques de la morue réalisés dans le passage Smith, baie Trinité, par George Rose (Memorial University de Terre-Neuve) depuis 1995; des données sur les taux de capture des pêches sentinelles parrainées par le MPO, données fournies par les pêcheurs; et du savoir local des gens qui pratiquent la pêche. D’après les données des relevés du MPO dans les eaux littorales, les taux de capture des morues âgées de 5 ans et plus sont globalement en baisse (le coefficient de corrélation entre le logarithme du taux de capture et l’année est négatif) entre 1996 et 2002 (Lilly et al., MS2003, données inédites présentées à la réunion sur l’évaluation zonale du MPO, 20 février 2003). Les estimations obtenues par relevé hydro-acoustique de la biomasse de morue dans le passage Smith (où se trouve maintenant la composante reproductrice la plus importante de morue du Nord), y compris les données obtenues en janvier 2003, montrent aussi une baisse ces dernières années, selon George Rose (communication personnelle, réunion sur l’évaluation zonale du MPO, 20 février 2003). Les taux de capture des pêches sentinelles au filet maillant dans toutes les eaux littorales du Nord-Est de Terre-Neuve en 2001 et 2002 étaient les plus bas, ou venaient au deuxième rang depuis le début des relevés effectués par les pêcheurs, en 1995 (MPO, 2002; Jarvis et Dalley, MS2003, données inédites présentées à la réunion sur l’évaluation zonale du MPO, 20 février 2003). Les taux de capture des pêches sentinelles à la palangre réalisées dans les baies Trinité et Bonavista en 2001 étaient les plus bas de la série chronologique (MPO, 2002). Parmi les pêcheurs qui ont répondu à un questionnaire envoyé aux comités de pêcheurs professionnels de la côte Nord-Est de Terre-Neuve, 95 p. 100 ont déclaré que les taux de capture des pêches sentinelles correspondaient bien aux tendances de l’abondance de morue observées par les professionnels de la pêche (Jarvis et Stead, 2001). En 2002, la majorité des pêcheurs ont signalé que les taux de capture de la pêche commerciale et les enregistrements des sondeurs étaient semblables ou plus faibles que ceux de 2001, que la quantité de poissons-appâts présents en 2002 était semblable ou inférieure à celle de 2001, et que la morue était généralement en condition moyenne à bonne en 2001 (Jarvis et Dalley, MS2003, données inédites présentées à la réunion sur l’évaluation zonale du MPO, 20 février 2003; voir aussi Jarvis et Stead, 2001).

Compte non tenu de l'âge estimé à la maturité ni de la source des données, le déclin sur trois générations observé dans la population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador a atteint 97 p. 100 (figures 6 and 7).

Âge à la maturitéDurée d’une génération (ans)Source des donnéesType de donnéesPériodeTaux de changement
état non exploité11,0APVnombre d’individus1968-2001-97 p. 100

La zone d’occupation de cette population a baissé, passant d’environ 365 000 km2 au début des années 1960 à environ 290 000 km2 ces dernières années, soit une baisse de l’ordre de 21 p. 100 (Smedbolet al.,2002).

 

Population du Nord laurentien

Les morues de cette population englobent les stocks identifiés aux fins de la gestion par le MPO comme : 1) le stock du banc Saint-Pierre (division 3Ps de l'OPANO); 2) le stock du nord du golfe du Saint-Laurent (divisions 3Pn4RS de l'OPANO). Les tendances temporelles de l’abondance de chacun de ces stocks sont présentées séparément à l’ANNEXE 1.

À partir de la moyenne de chacun des stocks qui la composent (ANNEXE 1), on estime à 10 ans la durée d’une génération dans cette population, ce qui donne une période de 30 ans pour trois générations.

Les données sur l’abondance représentent la somme des estimations de la taille de la population mature obtenues par APV pour chacun des stocks qui composent cette population. La période pour laquelle on dispose de données sur les deux stocks va de 1974 à 2001. Ce sont ces données qui sont utilisées ici pour le calcul du taux de déclin de la population.

Figure 6. Variation temporelle du nombre estimé d’individus matures dans deux stocks de morue de la population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Les données sur la morue du Nord (divisions 2J3KL de l’OPANO) et sur celle du Sud du Grand Banc (divisions 3NO) apparaissent dans le graphique a.

Figure 6. Variation temporelle du nombre estimé d’individus matures dans deux stocks de morue de la population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Les données sur la morue du Nord (divisions 2J3KL de l’OPANO) et sur celle du Sud du Grand Banc (divisions 3NO) apparaissent dans le graphique a. Les données combinées pour l’ensemble de la population apparaissent dans le graphique b.

Figure 7. Graphique représentant log<sub>e</sub> (abondance, Nt) en fonction du temps (t, en années) pour la population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

Figure 7. Graphique représentant loge (abondance, Nt) en fonction du temps (t, en années) pour la population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. La ligne représente l’équation de régression linéaire de ln(Nt) = 232,19 − 0,11t (r2 = 0,77, p<0,0001). À partir de cette équation, le taux de déclin de la population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador sur la période de trois générations, soit 33 ans, est de (1−exp(−0,11*33))*100, ce qui équivaut à 97 p. 100.

La population du Nord laurentien a baissé de 81 p. 100 sur les trois dernières générations. Cette tendance découle principalement du déclin observé dans le stock du nord du golfe (3Pn4RS). Par contre, le stock du banc Saint-Pierre (3Ps) a relativement peu changé depuis 1974 (figure 8).

Âge à la maturitéDurée d’une génération (ans)Source des donnéesType de donnéesPériodeTaux de changement
état non exploité10APVnombre d’individus1974-2001-81 %

Les données sur la zone d’occupation de cette population se chevauchent seulement pour les années allant de 1991 à 2001. Pendant cette période, la zone d’occupation a baissé de façon marginale, passant d’environ 96 000 km2 à environ89 000 km2, soit un déclin de l’ordre de 7 p. 100 (Smedbol et al., 2002).

Figure 8. Variation temporelle du nombre estimé d’individus matures dans deux stocks de morue de la population du Nord laurentien. Les données sur la morue du nord du golfe (divisions 3Pn4RS de l’OPANO) et sur celle du banc Saint-Pierre (subdivision 3Ps) apparaissent dans le graphique a.

Figure 8. Variation temporelle du nombre estimé d’individus matures dans deux stocks de morue de la population du Nord laurentien. Les données sur la morue du nord du golfe (divisions 3Pn4RS de l’OPANO) et sur celle du banc Saint-Pierre (subdivision 3Ps) apparaissent dans le graphique a. Les données combinées pour l’ensemble de la population apparaissent dans le graphique b.

 

Population des Maritimes

Les morues de cette population englobent les stocks considérés comme distincts par le MPO aux fins de la gestion : 1) le stock du sud du golfe du Saint-Laurent (division 4T de l'OPANO); 2) le stock du détroit de Cabot (division 4Vn de l'OPANO); 3) le stock de l’Est de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise (divisions 4VsW de l'OPANO); 4) le stock de la baie de Fundy / ouest de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise (division 4X de l'OPANO); 5) les morues observées dans la portion canadienne du banc Georges (division 5Zej,m de l'OPANO). Les tendances temporelles de l’abondance de chacun de ces stocks sont présentées séparément à l’ANNEXE 1.

À partir de la moyenne de chacun des stocks qui la composent (ANNEXE 1), on estime à 9 ans la durée d’une génération dans cette population, ce qui donne une période de 27 ans pour trois générations.

Les données sur l’abondance représentent la somme des estimations de la taille de la population mature obtenues par APV pour chacun des stocks qui composent cette population. La période pour laquelle on dispose de données sur les deux stocks va de 1974 à 1997 (dernière année où une APV a été réalisée pour la morue de l’Est de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise. Ce sont ces données qui sont utilisées ici pour le calcul du taux de déclin de la population.

La population des Maritimes a décliné de 14 p. 100 sur les trois dernières générations. On note toutefois certains écarts dans les tendances temporelles parmi les stocks qui la composent (figure 9). Le stock dominant (sud du golfe; 4T) était en fait à un niveau plus élevé en 1997 qu’en 1974. Par contre, la morue de l’Est de la plate-forme Néo-Écossaise (4VsW) se trouve (en 2002) à son plus bas niveau historique, d’après les indices des relevés scientifiques, qui n’entrent pas dans le présent calcul.

Âge à la maturitéDurée d’une génération (ans)Source des donnéesType de donnéesPériodeTaux de changement
état non exploité9APVnombre d’individus1974-1997−14 %

La zone d’occupation de cette population a baissé, passant d’environ 179 000 km2 au début des années 1970 à environ 140 000 km2 ces dernières années, déclin de l’ordre de 22 p. 100 (Smedbolet al., 2002).


Figure 9. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans les stocks de morue de la population des Maritimes. Les données sur chacun des stocks identifiés dans le rapport de situation apparaissent dans le graphique a. Les données combinées pour l’ensemble de la population apparaissent dans le graphique b.

Figure 9. Variation temporelle du nombre estimatif d’individus matures dans les stocks de morue de la population des Maritimes. Les données sur chacun des stocks identifiés dans le rapport de situation apparaissent dans le graphique a. Les données combinées pour l’ensemble de la population apparaissent dans le graphique b.

Figure 10. Variation temporelle du nombre estimé d’individus matures dans le stock de morue du Nord du Labrador (divisions 2GH de l’OPANO).

Figure 10. Variation temporelle du nombre estimé d’individus matures dans le stock de morue du Nord du Labrador (divisions 2GH de l’OPANO).