Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Flooded Jellyskin (Leptogium rivulare) in Canada

Species Information

Name and classification

Leptogium rivulare (Ach.) Mont. in Gaudichaud, Bot. Voy. Monde La Bonite: 117 (1846). [nomen sed non planta]. Lichen rivulare Ach., Lich. Suec. Prodr. 131 (1798); type: Sweden (H-Ach 1915B, lectotype designated by Jørgensen & James [1983])

Leptogium crenatellum Tuck. Amer. J. Arts Sci., ser. 2, 28: 200 (1859); type: USA, Vermont, Brattleboro, Frost (FH, holotype; US, isotype).

Leptogium sernanderi Du Rietz, Bot.Notiser 1922: 318 (1922); type: Sweden, Uppland, Knivsta, Noorsån, 27 July 1917, G. Sernander (UPS, lectotype designated by Jørgensen & James [1983]; isolectotypes distributed in Malme, Lich. Suec., no. 851).

English name: Flooded jellyskin lichen (which refers to both the habitat, and the fact that Leptogium, along with the genusCollema, form a group known as the "jelly lichens").

French name: (le) leptoge des terrains inondés.

Classification: Fungi, Ascomycota, Lecanorales (order), Peltigerinae (suborder), Collemataceae (family).

This species, which is in the Leptogium azureumcomplex, is distinctive because of its 4-spored asci and unique habitat. In North America, it was long known as L. crenatellum Tuck. (e.g., Fink 1935, Sierk 1964), but that species was found to be a synonym of L. rivulare by Jørgensen & James (1983), who discussed the nomenclature of the species in some detail. The relevant types have been studied by both the monographer (H.A. Sierk) and by the Norwegian lichenologist Per Magnus Jørgensen.

Description

When dry, Leptogium rivulare is a small grey or bluish-grey foliose lichen that is dotted or speckled with rather minute, light reddish-brown apothecia (Figure 1). The lobes are smooth (without the wrinkles, soredia, or isidia that characterize similar species) and are rounded to somewhat elongate, 0.7 to 3.5 mm wide. The cortex of the upper and lower surfaces consists of a single layer of roundish cells; the medulla is extremely thin. The photobiont is a cyanobacterium (Nostoc).

When wet, the lobes swell with water and become gelatinous and translucent, hence the name “jellyskin” lichen.

Apothecia are commonly produced, sometimes so thickly as to give the lichen a brownish cast. This abundance of apothecia readily distinguishes Leptogium rivulare from the very common, and much larger L. cyanescens (Rabenh.) Korber. The apothecia may be superficial or constricted at the base, 0.4 to 0.6 (but up to 1.2) mm in diameter. The disk is light brown to reddish brown, flat to slightly concave, with margins that are smooth and even, relatively thin, and partly disk-colored, but with an outer layer of grey thalloid tissue. The spores are colourless and multicellular (submuriform, with 3 [or 4] transverse septa and one longitudinal septum [or none at all]). The spores are elliptical, but rather pointed at the tips, and measure 15-21 x 7.5-10 µm. There are consistently 4 spores per ascus.

Figure 1. Individual Leptogium rivulare thallus

Figure 1. IndividualLeptogium rivulare thallus.

Chemistry: No lichen substances are known (Brodo et al. 2001). (A more detailed description is found in Sierk [1964].)

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le leptoge des terrains inondés (Leptogium rivulare) au Canada

Information sur l’espèce

Nom et classification

Leptogium rivulare (Ach.) Mont. in Gaudichaud, Bot. Voy. Monde La Bonite: 117 (1846) [nomen sed non planta]. Lichen rivulare Ach., Lich. Suec. Prodr. 131 (1798); type : Suède (H-Ach 1915B, lectotype désigné par Jørgensen et James [1983]).

Leptogiumcrenatellum Tuck., Amer. J. Arts Sci., ser. 2, 28: 200 (1859); type : États-Unis d’Amérique, Vermont, Brattleboro, Frost (FH, holotype; US, isotype).

Leptogium sernanderi Du Rietz, Bot. Notiser 1922: 318 (1922); type : Suède, Uppland, Knivsta, Noorsån, 27 juillet 1917, G. Sernander (UPS, lectotype désigné par Jørgensen et James [1983]; isolectotypes distribués par Malme, Lich. Suec. nº 851).

Nom français : leptoge des terrains inondés. Ce nom est masculin.

Nom anglais : flooded jellyskin (le mot « flooded » décrit l’habitat de l’espèce, tandis que le mot « jellyskin » décrit le caractère gélatineux des lichens des genres Leptogium et Collema).

Classification : Champignons, Ascomycètes, ordre des Lécanorales, sous-ordre des Peltigérinées, famille des Collématacées.

Au sein du genre Leptogium, le L. rivulare appartient au complexe du L. azureum et se distingue par ses asques à quatre spores et par son habitat particulier. En Amérique du Nord, l’espèce a longtemps été appelée L. crenatellum Tuck., notamment par Fink (1935) et Sierk (1964). Cependant, il s’agit d’un synonyme de L. rivulare, comme l’ont établi Jørgensen et James (1983), qui ont étudié de manière assez détaillée la nomenclature de l’espèce. Les types pertinents ont été examinés par H.A. Sierk, auteur d’une monographie du genre, et par le lichénologue norvégien Per Magnus Jørgensen.

Description

Le Leptogium rivulare est un petit lichen foliacé. À l’état sec, le thalle est de couleur gris ou gris bleuâtre et ponctué ou moucheté d’apothécies brun rougeâtre pâle plutôt minuscules (figure 1). Les lobes sont lisses (dépourvus des plis, sorédies ou isidies qui caractérisent les espèces semblables), arrondis à plutôt allongés, larges de 0,7 à 3,5 mm. Les cortex supérieur et inférieur sont chacun constitués d’une seule couche de cellules arrondies. La moelle est extrêmement mince. Le photobionte est une cyanobactérie du genre Nostoc.

À l’état humide, les lobes se gonflent d’eau et deviennent gélatineux et translucides, d’où le nom anglais « jellyskin » donné aux lichens de ce genre.

Figure 1. Thalle de Leptogium rivulare.

Figure 1. Thalle de Leptogium rivulare.

Le lichen est habituellement fertile, et les apothécies peuvent être assez abondantes pour donner à l’ensemble du thalle un aspect brunâtre. Cette fertilité exceptionnelle permet de distinguer facilement le Leptogium rivulare du
L. cyanescens (Rabenh.) Korber, très commun et à thalle beaucoup plus grand. Les apothécies du L. rivulare peuvent être superficielles ou rétrécies à la base, et leur diamètre est normalement de 0,4 à 0,6 mm, atteignant parfois 1,2 mm. Le disque est brun clair à brun rougeâtre, plat ou légèrement concave, à marges lisses, uniformes, relativement minces, en partie de la couleur du disque mais avec une couche extérieure de tissu thalloïde gris. Les spores sont incolores, multicellulaires, submuriformes, avec trois (ou quatre) cloisons transversales et une seule cloison longitudinale, qui est parfois absente. Les spores sont elliptiques, mais plutôt pointues aux extrémités, et mesurent 15 à 21 µm sur 7,5 à 10 µm. Il y a toujours quatre spores par asque.

Aucune substance lichénique n’a jamais été signalée chez le Leptogium rivulare (Brodo et al., 2001).

On trouvera une description plus détaillée de l’espèce dans Sierk (1964).