Skip booklet index and go to page content

Western Painted Turtle (Chrysemys Picta Bellii)

Limiting Factors and Threats

Habitat loss, both of productive pond habitat and natural nesting habitat, is a primary threat to the Western Painted Turtle, at least in the British Columbia part of its range. Habitats that are not lost are often altered by habitat fragmentation, shoreline degradation, changes in hydrology, or water contamination, all of which will be discussed below. Habitat loss and degradation will rise in frequency and intensity as human populations continue to grow, and the link between habitat integrity and species’ persistence has been well documented (Gibbons et al. 2000).

Road mortality is suspected of contributing to widespread declines in turtles (10% annual mortality in adult turtles in eastern U.S.; Gibbs and Shriver 2002), particularly where roads are next to open water areas (Ashley and Robinson 1996). Gibbs and Shriver (2002) integrated road maps and traffic-volume data with simulated movements of small and large-bodied pond turtles and terrestrial turtles to model effects of roads on populations of pond turtles. Road density was strongly, linearly, positively correlated with road-crossing frequencies for all turtles. Roads bisecting movement routes to nesting sites threaten primarily females on nesting migrations and dispersing juveniles. In support of this, Steen and Gibbs (2004) observed male-biased sex ratios in wetlands associated with areas of high road density. In a radio-telemetry study by Baldwin et al. (2004), eight females made five road crossings in a single active season; two of these turtles (25%) were killed by vehicles. Road mortality has the potential to alter the structure of turtle populations because turtle life histories are characterized by low annual recruitment rates, high adult survival rates, and delayed sexual maturity (Steen and Gibbs 2004). Together, these features severely constrain the ability of turtle populations to cope with added adult mortality (e.g., Brooks et al. 1991; Congdon et al. 1993). Furthermore, roads have a negative impact on wetland quality and their influence can extend more than 100 m away (Forman and Deblinger 2000). Road construction can kill eggs and juveniles directly (Maltby 2000). Moreover, linear elements such as roads have a positive influence on the dispersal of many species, including mammalian predators of turtles and their nests, such as raccoons, skunks, coyotes and foxes, through the landscape (e.g., Merriam and Lanoue 1990; Spackman and Hughes 1995; Rosenberg 1998; Berggren et al. 2002). Roads surrounding wetlands may thus increase predation rates significantly, particularly for small slow-moving turtles and their relatively accessible eggs.

In the Canadian part of the Western Painted Turtle’s range, road density varies tremendously. Thus, roads are relatively sparse in northwestern Ontario and in parts of the species’ range in Saskatchewan and Manitoba. However in British Columbia, road densities can be quite high in the southern interior and the southwest mainland, where the best wetland habitats of this species occur.

In the absence of good nesting habitat connected to wetlands near human centres, grassy and sandy sites near buildings and fences can attract nesting turtles. Yet the nesting density and success at these disturbed sites can provide inferior growing conditions and even alter the sex ratio of populations (Kolbe and Janzen 2002a). Sandy and grassy patches in residential, commercial and industrial areas encourage this opportunistic nesting behaviour but can be population sinks (Kolbe and Janzen 2001). Roads also impinge on nesting habitat. Soils along their shoulders can be too compacted to allow nests to be successfully dug (Maltby 2000) and/or they can be overgrown with invasive plants possessing aggressive root systems that pierce the eggs and the bodies of hatchlings or physically impede their emergence in the spring (Maltby 2000; R. Clark pers. comm. 2004).

Disturbance of shallow wetlands by motorized vehicles and cattle can cause significant degradation of shoreline and riparian zones in open landscapes of the prairie, foothill and semi-desert rangelands. The removal of native plant cover, erosion of banks, soil compaction and water pollution (or eutrophication, if a wetland is overburdened with nitrogenous waste) that follow can all affect turtles, particularly hatchlings, juveniles and nesting females.

Habitat fragmentation by humans can cause rates of predation to rise (Marchand and Litvaitis 2004). Populations of some predators such as raccoons, coyotes, and foxes for example, increase as farms and suburbs replace forests (Oehler and Litvaitis 1996). Nests become more accessible along edges (Kolbe and Janzen 2002b).

PCBs, organochlorine pesticides, dioxins and furans can collect in the tissues of aquatic organisms like turtles. In the industrial region of southern Ontario, toxic residues in the liver and adipose tissue of snapping turtles (Chyledra serpentina) are commonly above human consumption guidelines (de Solla and Fernie 2004). These high levels bioaccumulate because snapping turtles live several decades, although there is some evidence that levels approach an asymptote when rate of accumulation equals rate of elimination (S. deSolla pers. comm. 2006). Given that Painted Turtles live at least as long as snapping turtles (Congdon et al. 2003; Samson 2003), we could expect adult Painted Turtles to also carry high levels of such residues where these chemicals are at high concentrations in the aquatic environment. High toxicity has the potential to influence individual as well as population fitness. In a study of Eastern Spiny Softshells (Apalone spinifera) in southern Ontario for example, de Solla et al. (2003) found that PCB and pesticide contaminant concentrations were positively correlated with egg viability, although there was no evidence for any negative effect of PCBs or pesticides upon hatching success. Crews et al. (1995) noted that PCBs can alter Painted Turtle population structure by reversing gonadal sex at otherwise male-producing temperatures. Although central and western Canada are not generally exposed to the same intensity of industrialization, pesticides, herbicides and chemical fertilizers are used throughout rangelands, large-scale farms, vineyards and orchards. Some wetlands may be more affected than others by toxic infusions depending on bathymetry, hydrology, and exposure to the chemicals (proximity and concentrations).

Humans can also affect Western Painted Turtles directly by harassing them at their basking or nesting sites, which is a common occurrence in popular recreation sites (Maltby 2000; R. Clark pers. comm. 2004), or by capturing turtles for pets (Orchard 1986; M. Machmer pers. comm. 2004). Sustainable use of long-lived turtles as pets can be problematic because their longevity is associated with low fecundity, delayed sexual maturity, and high adult survivorship: populations cannot remain stable (or grow) when adults and older juveniles are harvested at high rates (Congdon et al. 1993). The Eastern Box Turtle (Terrapene carolina) and Bog Turtle (Glyptemys muhlenbergii) for example, have declined significantly as a result of collection (Gibbons et al. 2000). Releasing pet turtles is equally harmful whether they are native species from a nearby pond or another location, or exotic species. Some introduced species, which can be common in urban areas, compete for food and space and are potential vectors for disease and parasites. Disease can also be a secondary expression of other environmental stressors associated with habitat degradation (Gibbons et al. 2000). Angling also contributes to turtle mortality; turtles have been found dead as a result of having the bottom of their jaws torn open by hooks, preventing them from feeding. (M. Sarell pers. comm. 2005).

Droughts and human-induced water-level fluctuations (reservoirs and dams) appear to cause high rates of mortality in turtles. In particular, shrinking wetlands have a reduced carrying capacity, and individuals seeking other wetlands are highly vulnerable to predation. For example, 18 dead Western Painted Turtles and 28 predator-destroyed nests were reported in a naturally dry channel bed of Kikomun Creek during a three-month study in 1986 (Macartney and Gregory 1986). Ray Buchner (pers. comm. 2004) found 50 to 60 Western Painted Turtle shells in Okanagan Mountain Park in 1985. Mike Sarrell (pers. comm. 2004) similarly found “lots of carcasses” at Post, Pillar and Island Lakes in the Okanagan in 1988, as well as some carcasses on Crooked Lake in 1987. Lindeman and Rabe (1990) reported a 70% decline in a C. p. bellii sub-population in Washington, at a small lake that dried up for two years from drought. There was evidence of emigration and mortality from increased overland migratory activity. The growth of individual turtles was markedly suppressed during the second year of drought. Although drought is an ephemeral phenomenon to an animal with a long lifespan, extended droughts can have significant impacts.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Tortue peinte de l'Ouest (Chrysemys picta bellii)

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

La perte de milieux, qu’il s’agisse d’étangs productifs ou de sites de nidification naturels, constitue la principale menace pour la tortue peinte de l’ouest, du moins en Colombie-Britannique. D’autres milieux sont souvent modifiés par la fragmentation du milieu, la dégradation du littoral, les changements dans l’hydrologie ou la contamination de l’eau. Tous ces facteurs sont examinés ci-dessous. La fréquence et l’intensité de la perte et de la dégradation des milieux s’accroîtront au fur et à mesure de la croissance de la population humaine. Le lien entre l’intégrité des milieux et la pérennité de l’espèce est bien documenté (Gibbons et al., 2000).

La mortalité sur les routes contribue probablement à l’important déclin de la tortue (taux de mortalité annuel de 10 p. 100 des adultes dans l’est des États-Unis; Gibbs et Shriver, 2002), en particulier lorsque les routes sont situées tout près d’eaux libres (Ashley et Robinson, 1996). Gibbs et Shriver (2002) ont intégré des cartes routières et des données sur la circulation à des simulations de déplacements de petites et de grosses tortues d’étang ou terrestres afin d’établir un modèle de l’incidence des routes sur les populations de tortues d’étang. La densité des routes était fortement, linéairement et positivement corrélée à la fréquence de traversée routière de toutes les tortues. Les routes qui coupent en deux les voies empruntées vers les sites de nidification constituent une menace surtout pour les femelles en migration de nidification et les jeunes tortues. En outre, Steen et Gibbs (2004) ont observé qu’il y avait plus de mâles que de femelles dans les milieux humides voisins des secteurs où la densité routière était élevée. Dans le cadre d’une étude de radiotélémesure menée par Baldwin et al. (2004), huit femelles ont traversé cinq fois une route au cours d’une seule saison active. Deux de ces tortues (25 p. 100) ont été tuées par un véhicule. La mortalité sur les routes risque de modifier la structure des populations de tortues, car le cycle biologique de celles-ci est caractérisé par un faible taux de recrutement annuel, un taux élevé de survie chez les adultes et une maturité sexuelle tardive (Steen et Gibbs, 2004). Toutes ces caractéristiques limitent sérieusement la capacité des populations de tortue à faire face à la mortalité accrue chez les adultes (voir par exemple Brooks et al., 1991; Congdon et al., 1993). En outre, les routes ont un impact négatif sur la qualité des zones humides, et leur influence peut s’étendre jusqu’à plus de 100 m (Forman et Deblinger, 2000). De même, la construction routière peut tuer des œufs et des jeunes tortues (Maltby, 2000). Qui plus est, les éléments linéaires tels que les routes favorisent la répartition de nombreuses espèces dans le paysage, y compris des mammifères prédateurs des tortues et de leurs nids, notamment le raton laveur, la mouffette, le coyote et le renard (voir par exemple Merriam et Lanoue, 1990; Spackman et Hughes, 1995; Rosenberg, 1998; Berggren et al., 2002). Par conséquent, les routes situées près des milieux humides accroissent de façon importante le taux de prédation, particulièrement des petites tortues lentes et de leurs œufs, relativement accessibles.

Dans l’aire de répartition canadienne de la tortue peinte de l’ouest, la densité routière varie énormément. En effet, les routes sont relativement rares dans le nord-ouest de l’Ontario, ainsi que dans des secteurs de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce situés en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba. Cependant, en Colombie-Britannique, la densité routière est parfois assez élevée dans l’intérieur méridional et dans le sud-ouest continental, où sont situés les milieux humides les plus propices pour l’espèce.

À défaut de sites de nidification appropriés liés à des zones humides près des centres d’activité humaine, les sites herbeux et sablonneux proches d’immeubles et de clôtures peuvent attirer les tortues nicheuses. La densité et le succès de nidification dans ces sites perturbés ne permettent que des conditions inférieures de croissance et risquent même de modifier le rapport des sexes des populations (Kolbe et Janzen, 2002a). Les parcelles sablonneuses et herbeuses des zones résidentielles, commerciales et industrielles favorisent le comportement de nidification opportuniste, mais peuvent constituer des pièges pour les tortues (Kolbe et Janzen, 2001).En outre, les routes empiètent sur les sites de nidification. Les sols le long de leurs accottements peuvent être trop compacts pour permettre l’édification des nids (Maltby, 2000) ou ceux-ci peuvent être recouverts de plantes envahissantes dont l’appareil racinaire agressif risque de percer les œufs et les corps des nouveau-nés, ou empêcher leur émergence au printemps (Maltby, 2000; R. Clark, comm. pers., 2004).

La perturbation des zones humides peu profondes par les véhicules motorisés et le bétail peut dégrader grandement le littoral et les zones ripariennes dans le paysage ouvert des prairies, des contreforts et des parcours naturels semi-désertiques. La destruction du couvert végétal indigène, l’érosion des rives, le compactage des sols et la pollution de l’eau (ou l’eutrophisation, si un milieu humide est submergé de déchets azotés) peuvent tous nuire aux tortues, en particulier aux nouveau-nés, aux jeunes tortues et aux femelles nicheuses.

La fragmentation des milieux par l’homme risque d’entraîner une hausse de la prédation (Marchand et Litvaitis, 2004). Les populations de certains prédateurs, notamment de ratons laveurs, de coyotes et de renards, augmentent lorsque les fermes et les banlieues remplacent les forêts (Oehler et Litvaitis, 1996). Le long des lisières, les nids sont de plus en plus vulnérables (Kolbe et Janzen, 2002b).

Les BPC, les pesticides organochlorés, les dioxines et les furanes peuvent s’accumuler dans les tissus d’organismes aquatiques comme les tortues. Dans la région industrielle du sud de l’Ontario, la quantité de résidus toxiques trouvés dans le foie et les tissus adipeux des chélydres serpentines (Chyledra serpentina) est fréquemment supérieure aux lignes directrices visant la consommation humaine (de Solla et Fernie, 2004). Ces niveaux élevés s’accumulent, car cette espèce vit plusieurs décennies, même si certains indices tendent à prouver que les niveaux atteignent presque une asymptote lorsque le taux d’accumulation est égal au taux d’élimination (S. de Solla, comm. pers., 2006). Puisque les tortues peintes vivent au moins aussi longtemps que les chélydres serpentines (Congdon et al., 2003; Samson, 2003), il est probable que les tortues peintes adultes contiennent également des niveaux élevés de tels résidus lorsque les concentrations de ces substances chimiques dans l’environnement aquatique sont élevées. La toxicité élevée peut influer sur les individus et les populations. Dans une étude sur la tortue molle à épines (Apalone spinifera) dans le sud de l’Ontario, par exemple, de Solla et al. (2003) ont mis en évidence une corrélation entre les concentrations de BPC et de pesticides et la survie des œufs, bien qu’il n’y ait aucune preuve de l’effet négatif de ces substances sur le succès de l’éclosion. Crews et al. (1995) ont signalé que les BPC peuvent modifier la structure de la population de tortue peinte en inversant le sexe gonadique à des températures produisant des mâles. Même si l’industrialisation est inférieure dans le centre et l’ouest du Canada, les pesticides, les herbicides et les engrais chimiques sont utilisés dans les parcours naturels, les fermes à grande échelle, les vignobles et les vergers. Certaines zones humides risquent d’être plus touchées que d’autres par la contamination toxique en fonction de la bathymétrie, de l’hydrologie et de l’exposition aux substances chimiques (proximité et concentrations).

L’homme nuit également aux tortues peintes de l’ouest en les harcelant dans leurs sites d’exposition au soleil ou de nidification, ce qui n’est pas rare dans les centres récréatifs fréquentés (Maltby, 2000; R. Clark, comm. pers., 2004), ou en les capturant pour en faire des animaux de compagnie (Orchard, 1986; M. Machmer, comm. pers., 2004). La capture des tortues pour en faire des animaux de compagnie pose problème, car leur longévité s’accompagne d’une faible fécondité, d’une maturité sexuelle tardive et d’un taux de survie des adultes élevé. Par conséquent, il est impossible que les populations demeurent stables (ou augmentent) si des adultes et des jeunes font l’objet d’une capture intensive (Congdon et al., 1993). Par exemple, le nombre de tortues tabatières (Terrapene carolina) et de tortues de Muhlenberg (Glyptemys muhlenbergii) a fortement diminué en raison de la capture (Gibbons et al., 2000). La remise en liberté des tortues domestiques est tout aussi préjudiciable, qu’il s’agisse d’une espèce indigène d’un étang ou d’un autre lieu voisin, ou d’une espèce exotique. Certaines espèces introduites, qui peuvent être courantes dans les zones urbaines, entrent en compétition pour la nourriture et l’espace, et représentent des vecteurs éventuels de maladies et de parasites. Les maladies peuvent également constituer une expression secondaire d’autres facteurs environnementaux stressants liés à la dégradation des milieux (Gibbons et al., 2000). La pêche sportive contribue aussi à la mortalité des tortues. Certaines ont été trouvées mortes à la suite du déchirement du dessous de leurs mâchoires par des crochets, ce qui les empêchait de se nourrir (M. Sarell, comm. pers., 2005).

Les sécheresses et les fluctuations anthropiques du niveau de l’eau (réservoirs et barrages) semblent provoquer un taux de mortalité élevé chez les tortues. Notamment, les zones humides réduites ont une capacité de charge inférieure. Les tortues à la recherche d’autres milieux sont hautement vulnérables à la prédation. Par exemple, 18 tortues peintes de l’ouest mortes et 28 nids détruits par des prédateurs ont été signalés dans un lit naturellement sec de Kikomun Creek au cours d’une étude de trois mois menée en 1986 (Macartney et Gregory, 1986). Ray Buchner (comm. pers., 2004) a découvert de 50 à 60 carapaces de tortue peinte de l’ouest dans le parc du Mont-Okanagan en 1985. Mike Sarrell (comm. pers., 2004) a découvert « de nombreuses carcasses » près des lacs Post, Pillar et Island dans l’Okanagan en 1988, ainsi que quelques-unes au lac Crooked en 1987. Lindeman et Rabe (1990) ont signalé un déclin de 70 p. 100 dans la sous-population de C. p. bellii dans l’État de Washington, près d’un petit lac à sec pendant deux ans en raison d’une sécheresse. On a découvert des preuves d’émigration et de mortalité imputables à une activité migratoire terrestre accrue. La croissance de tortues a été réduite de façon marquée pendant la deuxième année de la sécheresse. Les périodes de sécheresse constituent un phénomène éphémère pour les animaux qui ont une grande longévité, mais les sécheresses prolongées peuvent avoir d’importantes répercussions.