Skip booklet index and go to page content

Western Painted Turtle (Chrysemys Picta Bellii)

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Western Painted Turtle
Chrysemys picta bellii

Pacific Coast population
Intermountain – Rocky Mountain population
Prairie/Western Boreal – Canadian Shield population

in Canada
2006

Species Information

Name and Classification

The Painted Turtle belongs to the genus Chrysemys. Although Chrysemys is among the most common and familiar genera of turtles, it contains only one species, Chrysemys picta (Scheider, 1783). Chrysemys picta was described from eastern North America, and the Western Painted Turtle (Chrysemys picta bellii; Gray, 1831) was recognized as a subspecies distinct from the Eastern Painted Turtle (C. p. picta) nearly 50 years later. In 1857, Agassiz recognized two additional subspecies: the Southern Painted Turtle (C. p. dorsalis) and Midland Painted Turtle (C. p. marginata) (Collins, 1997). All subspecies except C. p. dorsalis are found in Canada. Subspecies differ in the: (1) juxtaposition of vertebral and pleural seams; (2) lightness or darkness of these carapacial seams; (3) size of the central dorsal stripe; (4) carapace colouring; (5) plastron colouring; (6) extent of the plastral central marking and body size, with C. p. bellii being distinctly larger than the other three subspecies in both these respects (Ernst et al. 1994). Chrysemys p. bellii has a carapace with alternating vertebral and pleural seams, a poorly developed or absent mid-dorsal stripe, and a reticulate pattern of light lines. Its plastron is bright orange/red, with a central marking that extends along the seams to occupy most of the underside (Ernst et al.1994).

Patterns of morphological (Ultsch et al. 2001) and mt-DNA variation (Starkey et al. 2003) cast some doubt on the validity of current subspecific designations. The subspecies intergrade and a “pure” picta may not exist according to Ultsch et al. (2001): (1) there is marginata influence throughout picta’s range; (2) similarities exist between picta and dorsalis; and (3) there is a north-south cline that blends the characteristics of bellii with those of marginata. Starkey et al. (2003) suggest that the Southern Painted Turtle could be considered a distinct evolutionary species (C. dorsalis), and that C. dorsalis and C. picta may be best treated as monotypic. These authors are now investigating nuclear genes of the Chrysemys picta complex to refine species and subspecies boundaries.  At present, C. p. belliis regarded as a distinct and valid subspecies (Crother et al. 2000).


Morphological Description

Painted Turtles have low, smooth, oval, unkeeled carapaces (Figure 1), although the carapace of hatchlings tends to be rounder and slightly keeled along its length (Gregory and Campbell 1987). The Western Painted Turtle (C. p. bellii) is the largest subspecies, attaining a carapace length of 251 mm; females tend to be larger than males (Cook 1984). The C. p. bellii carapace is flatter than that of the other sub- species, with slightly different markings (Cook 1984). Carapace colour is brown, black, or olive green, and a central light yellow reticulated pattern or faint line may be present along the vertebral scutes (Gregory and Campbell 1987). The carapace of males is often marked with black reticulations (Cook 1984). The seams of the pleural and vertebral scutes are not aligned, similar to C. p. marginata, but contrasting with C. p. pictain which the seams are aligned (Cook 1984, Ernst et al. 1994). The plastron is orange-red (Stebbins 1966) and in all life stages, a dark pattern is located at the centre of the plastron, which branches out into the furrows between the scute margins (Figure 3). At hatching, plastron length is roughly 25 mm (Macartney and Gregory 1986). There are reddish markings on the bridge between the plastron and carapace. The head, tail and limbs of Western Painted Turtles are olive or blackish; there are yellow lines on the head and tail, and yellow dots on the limbs. The digits on the hind feet are deeply webbed. Males have much longer claws on the forefeet and their tails are longer and wider compared to females (Stebbins 1966; Gregory and Campbell 1987).


Figure 1: Photo of a Western Painted Turtle (Chrysemys picta bellii)

Figure 1: Photo of a Western Painted Turtle (Chrysemys picta bellii) photo by Bill Leonard.

Photo by Bill Leonard.


Figure 2: Faunal Provinces of Terrestrial Amphibians, Reptiles, and Molluscs in Canada

Figure 2: Faunal provinces of terrestrial amphibians, reptiles, and molluscs in Canada (map prepared by David M. Green, 2003).

Map prepared by David M. Green, 2003.


Figure 3: Ventral View of a Western Painted Turtle, Showing Plastron Colour and Patterning

Figure 3. Ventral view of a Western Painted Turtle, showing plastron colour and patterning; photo by Bill Leonard.

Photo by Bill Leonard.


Designatable Units

COSEWIC recognizes eight faunal provinces for the terrestrial amphibians and reptiles in Canada (Figure 2). The Western Painted Turtle occupies four of these. It is evident from comments from experienced observers, and from the number of occurrences, that this subspecies is faring quite differently across its Canadian range. In faunal provinces 4 (Prairie/Western Boreal) and 5 (Canadian Shield) (Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, and Alberta), the subspecies appears numerous and secure. The exception is Alberta where the subspecies is rare, and may have been introduced in some areas. In faunal provinces 2 (Intermountain) and 3 (Rocky Mountain) (British Columbia Southern Interior), the Western Painted Turtle is uncommon, and appears to be declining and threatened by loss of habitat, and increased mortality and population isolation and fragmentation from the expanding road network (J. Brown, pers. comm. 2005; P. Gregory, pers. comm. 2005; M. Sarell, pers. comm. 2005). The turtles in these regions are also isolated from other Canadian populations. Finally, the Western Painted Turtle also occupies faunal province 1 (Pacific Coast), which includes the southern Pacific Coast mainland and Vancouver Island. Again, these turtles are isolated from other Canadian populations. Furthermore, they exist in very small numbers with only a handful of records from this region. There is still some question whether the Painted Turtle is native or introduced to this area. However, records go back to the 1920s and with earlier anecdotal reports from Vancouver Island (F. Cook pers. comm. 2005). The current consensus seems to be that the main argument that they are not native is that they have always been rare (L. Friis, pers. comm. 2005, P Gregory, pers. comm. 2005). The Red-eared Slider (Trachemys scripta) is an introduced turtle that has rapidly increased in numbers and may be a threat to the Western Painted Turtle (F. Cook, pers. comm. 2005; P. Gregory, pers. comm. 2005; Bunnell 2005).

Therefore, given the disjunct populations found across the southern regions of British Columbia, and given the obviously different status of these populations: very uncommon in the coastal regions and declining in the southern interior, it is reasonable to treat these populations as three separate designatable units.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Tortue peinte de l'Ouest (Chrysemys picta bellii)

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur la
Tortue peinte de l’ouest
Chrysemys picta bellii

Population de la côte du Pacifique
Population intramontagnarde - des Rocheuses
Population des Prairies / Boréale de l'Ouest - Bouclier canadien

au Canada
2006

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

La tortue peinte appartient au genre Chrysemys. Bien qu’il s’agisse du genre le plus connu et le plus commun, il ne comprend qu’une seule espèce : Chrysemys picta (Scheider, 1783). Le Chrysemys picta a été décrit dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord, et la tortue peinte de l’ouest (Chrysemys picta bellii) (Gray, 1831) a été reconnue comme une sous-espèce distincte de la tortue peinte de l’est (C. p. picta) près de 50 ans plus tard. En 1857, Agassiz a reconnu deux autres sous-espèces : la tortue peinte du sud (C. p. dorsalis) et la tortue peinte du centre (C. p. marginata) (Collins, 1997). Toutes ces sous-espèces sont présentes au Canada, à l’exception du C. p. dorsalis. Les sous-espèces se distinguent par la juxtaposition des écailles vertébrales et pleurales, la couleur claire ou foncée des écailles de la carapace, la taille de la rayure dorsale centrale, la couleur de la carapace, la couleur du plastron, la longueur du motif central du plastron et la taille du corps, le C.p. bellii étant manifestement plus grand que les trois autres sous-espèces et portant le motif le plus grand (Ernst et al., 1994). Le Chrysemys. p. bellii possède une carapace aux écailles vertébrales et pleurales alternantes, une rayure mi-dorsale faible ou inexistante et un motif de lignes pâles entrecroisées. Son plastron est de couleur rouge ou orangé vif, et son motif central s’étend le long des écailles et occupe la majeure partie du dessous (Ernst et al., 1994).

Les schémas de variation morphologique (Ultsch et al., 2001) et d’ADN mt (Starkey et al., 2003) sèment un doute sur la validité de la désignation actuelle des sous-espèces. On trouve des formes intermédiaires, et il est possible que le picta pur n’existe pas; selon Ultsch et al. (2001) : 1) on observe une influence du marginata dans toute l’aire de répartition du picta; 2) il existe des ressemblances entre le picta et le dorsalis; 3) il y a un gradient nord‑sud qui intègre des caractéristiques du bellii et du marginata. Starkey et al. (2003) suggèrent que la tortue peinte du sud puisse être considérée comme une espèce distincte (C. dorsalis), et qu’il serait préférable de traiter le C. dorsalis et le C. picta comme monotypiques. Ces auteurs se penchent maintenant sur les gènes nucléaires du complexe du Chrysemys picta afin de préciser les frontières entre les espèces et les sous-espèces. Le C. p. belliiis est considéré aujourd’hui comme une sous-espèce valide et distincte (Crother et al., 2000).


Description morphologique

Les tortues peintes possèdent une dossière basse, lisse, ovale etnon carénée (figure 1), bien que celle des petits nouvellement éclos tende à être arrondie et légèrement carénée sur sa longueur (Gregory et Campbell, 1987). La tortue peinte de l’ouest (C.p. bellii) est la sous-espèce la plus grande. Sa carapace peut atteindre une longueur de 251 mm. Les femelles tendent à être plus grandes que les mâles (Cook, 1984). La dossière du C.p. bellii est plus plate que celle des autres sous-espèces, et les motifs sont légèrement différents (Cook, 1984). Elle est brune, noire ou vert olive, et peut porter un motif central réticulé jaune clair ou une faible ligne le long des écailles vertébrales (Gregory et Campbell, 1987). La carapace des mâles comporte souvent des réticulations noires (Cook, 1984). Les écailles pleurales et vertébrales ne sont pas alignées, de même manière que chez le C. p. marginata et contrairement au C. p. picta (Cook, 1984; Ernst et al., 1994). Le plastron est rouge orangé (Stebbins, 1966) et, à tous les stades de vie, il comporte, au centre, un motif foncé s’étendant dans les sillons entre les écailles (figure 3). À l’éclosion, le plastron a une longueur d’environ 25 mm (Macartney et Gregory, 1986). Des marques rougeâtres sont présentes sur l’arcade entre le plastron et la carapace. La tête, la queue et les membres des tortues peintes de l’ouest sont olive ou noirâtres; la tête et la queue portent des lignes jaunes, et les membres, des points jaunes. Les doigts des membres postérieurs sont très palmés. Comparativement aux femelles, les membres antérieurs des mâles possèdent des griffes beaucoup plus longues, et la queue est plus longue et large (Stebbins, 1966; Gregory et Campbell, 1987).


Figure 1 : Photo d’une tortue peinte de l’ouest (Chrysemys picta bellii)

Figure 1 : Photo d’une tortue peinte de l’ouest (Chrysemys picta bellii) par Bill Leonard

Par Bill Leonard.


Figure 2 : Provinces fauniques des amphibiens terrestres, des reptiles et des mollusques au Canada

Figure 2 : Provinces fauniques des amphibiens terrestres, des reptiles et des mollusques au Canada (carte préparée par David M. Green, 2003)

Carte préparée par David M. Green, 2003.


Figure 3 : Vue ventrale d’une tortue peinte de l’ouest, montrant les couleurs et les motifs du plastron

Figure 3 : Vue ventrale d’une tortue peinte de l’ouest, montrant les couleurs et les motifs du plastron; photo par Bill Leonard

Photo par Bill Leonard.


Unités désignables

Au Canada, le COSEPAC reconnaît pour les amphibiens et les reptiles terrestres huit provinces fauniques. La tortue peinte de l’ouest en occupe quatre. Selon des commentaires d’observateurs chevronnés et le nombre d’occurrences, il est manifeste que la situation de cette sous-espèce diffère au sein de son aire de répartition. Dans les provinces fauniques 4 (Prairies/boréale de l’Ouest) et 5 (Bouclier canadien) (Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan et Alberta), la sous-espèce semble nombreuse et ne pas être en péril, sauf en Alberta où elle est rare et peut avoir été introduite dans certains secteurs. Dans les provinces 2 (région intermontagneuse) et 3 (Rocheuses) (intérieur méridional de la Colombie-Britannique), la tortue peinte de l’ouest est peu fréquente. Elle semble être en déclin et menacée par la perte d’habitat. La mortalité, ainsi que l’isolement et la fragmentation de la population sont en hausse en raison de l’expansion du réseau routier (J. Brown, comm. pers., 2005; P. Gregory, comm. pers., 2005; M. Sarell, comm. pers., 2005). Dans ces régions, les tortues sont en outre isolées des autres populations canadiennes. Enfin, la tortue peinte de l’ouest occupe également la province 1 (côte du Pacifique), qui comprend la partie méridionale de la côte pacifique du continent et l’île de Vancouver. Ces tortues sont également isolées des autres populations canadiennes. De plus, elles sont présentes en très petits nombres à quelques endroits dans cette région. On ignore toujours si, dans cette zone, la tortue peinte est une espèce indigène ou introduite. Cependant, les données remontent aux années 1920 et sont issues de rapports isolés plus anciens provenant de l’île de Vancouver (F. Cook, comm. pers., 2005). Selon l’opinion générale, il ne s’agit pas d’une espèce indigène, mais d’une espèce qui a toujours été rare (L. Friis, comm. pers., 2005; P. Gregory, comm. pers., 2005). La tortue de Floride (Trachemys scripta) est une espèce introduite dont le nombre s’est rapidement accru. Elle constitue peut-être une menace pour la tortue peinte de l’ouest (F. Cook, comm. pers., 2005; P. Gregory, comm. pers., 2005; Bunnell, 2005).

Par conséquent, puisque des populations isolées sont présentes dans les régions méridionales de la Colombie-Britannique et que la situation de celles-ci varie de très rare dans les zones côtières à en déclin dans l’intérieur méridional, il est raisonnable de traiter ces populations comme trois unités désignables distinctes.