Skip booklet index and go to page content

Western Painted Turtle (Chrysemys Picta Bellii)

Distribution

Global Range

Chrysemys picta belliioccurs in central North America, from the southern portion of central and western Canada, southward to Missouri, northeastern Colorado, and Kansas (Figure 4). It extends as far east as Illinois, Wisconsin and the upper peninsula of Michigan, and westward around the Great Basin, to east and north Wyoming, northern Idaho, and Washington (Figure 4). There are isolated populations in the southwest United States, namely in Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, and southwest Colorado. There is also an isolated population in Chihuahua, Mexico (NatureServe 2004). The global range of C. p. bellii overlaps with the coniferous forest and tall and short grass prairies of central North America, contouring around the Great Basin, high plateaus (Columbia and Colorado), and mountain ranges (e.g., Coast Ranges, Cascades, Rocky Mountains).


Figure 4: Western Painted Turtle (Chrysemys picta bellii) Range in North America

Figure 4: Western Painted Turtle (Chrysemys picta bellii) range inNorth America.


Canadian Range

After the Wisconsin glaciation, the Painted Turtle was one of only three species of turtle to move northward into central and western Canada (Cook, 1984). Chrysemys p. bellii occurs from the southwest corner of northwestern Ontario, through southern Manitoba and Saskatchewan and extreme southern Alberta, to the low-lying valleys of British Columbia’s southern interior and south coast (Figure 5). Progressive continental cooling over the past 3000 to 4000 years appears to have prevented the Painted Turtle from expanding its range north of the 51st parallel (Bleakney 2004). Its range roughly coincides with areas of western and central Canada that have: (1) frost-free days until early November; (2) mean daily July temperatures of at least 17.5°C; (3) mean annual January temperatures above -20°C in Ontario and Manitoba, where there is significant snow cover, and above -12°C in the drier prairies, where mean annual snowfall is less than 100 cm (Hare and Morley 1974). These conditions offer a long growing season, with adequate warmth during the egg incubation period, and tolerable subterranean freezing levels for the overwintering hatchlings.

Province by province range descriptions for the Western Painted Turtle are as follows. The species has a continuous distribution in the southwest corner of central Ontario. It is found from the wetlands and streams of the Thunder Bay District that drain into Lake Superior, north to the Vermillion Lakes of Rainy River District, and west to the Lake of the Woods area of the Kenora District. In Manitoba, the Western Painted Turtle occurs along the margins of the large Lake Winnipegosis and Lake Winnipeg, and in their vast associated networks of inlets and wetlands. There are records as far north as Riding Mountain National Park, in western Manitoba, from lakes connected to the Assiniboine River watershed (W. Vandershuit pers. comm. 2005). In Saskatchewan, there are records for this species in the most southern headwaters of the Saskatchewan River (e.g., Swift Current Creek) and in the Qu'Appelle and Souris headwaters of the Assiniboine River, all of which drain into Lake Winnipeg, Manitoba. There are also Painted Turtle records in the Frenchman River drainage of Saskatchewan, which merges with Milk River in Montana (Missouri River headwater). Critical habitats in Saskatchewan appear to be in the lower reaches of the Souris River, and around this river’s confluence with Roughbark Creek. In Alberta, the species is restricted to the Milk River, Cypress Hills, and upper Oldman River. Very recently, Western Painted Turtles have been found in Waterton Lakes National Park (P. Achuff pers. comm. 2005), and as far northwest as the Crowsnest Pass Municipality of Alberta, where the montane Douglas fir/limber pine landscape meets the fescue grassland foothills (R. Quinlan pers. comm. 2004). Turtles further north are thought to be released pets (R. Quinlan pers. comm. 2004). Although these records in the Oldman River headwaters are only within a few kilometres of the nearest B.C. watershed (Elk River), the mountains between the provinces represent a formidable barrier to movement. The nearest turtle locations in B.C. are confined to the low-lying Rocky Mountain Trench, and have undoubtedly originated from Montana. In British Columbia, C. p. bellii is present in other lowlands of the Southern Interior as well, including the valleys of Kootenay, Arrow and Okanagan Lakes, and of the Thompson River. On the South Coast of B.C., the Western Painted Turtle occurs in the Georgia Lowlands (Fraser River valley from Hope to Vancouver; Sunshine Coast up to Powell River), the Nanaimo Lowlands of southeast Vancouver Island, and some of the Gulf Islands. South Coast and Southern Interior locations are isolated from one another by the Cascade Mountains.


Figure 5: Western Painted Turtle (Chrysemys picta bellii) Range in Canada

Figure 5: Western Painted Turtle (Chrysemys picta bellii) range in Canada.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Tortue peinte de l'Ouest (Chrysemys picta bellii)

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Le Chrysemys picta bellii est présent dans le centre de l’Amérique du Nord, de la région méridionale du centre et de l’ouest du Canada, vers le Missouri, le nord-est du Colorado et le Kansas (figure 4). Vers l’est, l’aire de répartition s’étend jusqu’en Illinois, au Wisconsin et à la haute péninsule du Michigan, et vers l’ouest, jusqu’à Great Basin, à l’est et au nord du Wyoming, au nord de l’Idaho et à l’État de Washington (figure 4). Il existe des populations isolées dans le sud-ouest des États-Unis, à savoir au Texas, au Nouveau-Mexique, en Arizona, en Utah et dans le sud-ouest du Colorado. Une population isolée est également présente au Chihuahua, au Mexique (NatureServe, 2004). L’aire de répartition mondiale du C. p. bellii chevauche la forêt de conifères, ainsi que les prairies à herbes hautes et courtes du centre de l’Amérique du Nord, contournant Great Basin, les hauts plateaux (Columbia et Colorado), ainsi que les chaînes de montagnes (p. ex. chaînes côtières, Cascades, Rocheuses).


Figure 4 : Aire de répartition nord-américaine de la tortue peinte de l’ouest (Chrysemys picta bellii)

Figure 4 : Aire de répartition nord-américaine de la tortue peinte de l’ouest (Chrysemys picta bellii)


Aire de répartition canadienne

Au lendemain de la glaciation du Wisconsin, la tortue peinte a été l’une des trois seules espèces de tortues à migrer vers le nord et à s’établir dans le centre et l’ouest du Canada (Cook, 1984). Le Chrysemys p. bellii est présent de l’extrémité sud-ouest du nord-ouest de l’Ontario, dans le sud du Manitoba et de la Saskatchewan, ainsi que de l’extrême sud de l’Alberta jusqu’aux vallées basses de l’intérieur méridional et de la côte sud de la Colombie-Britannique (figure 5). Le refroidissement continental progressif des 3 000 à 4 000 dernières années semble avoir empêché la tortue peinte de s’établir au nord du 51e parallèle (Bleakney, 2004). Son aire de répartition correspond à peu près aux zones de l’ouest et du centre du Canada : 1) qui connaissent des jours sans gel jusqu’au début de novembre; 2) dont les températures quotidiennes moyennes en juillet s’établissent à au moins 17,5 °C; 3) dont les températures annuelles moyennes en janvier sont supérieures à – 20 °C en Ontario et au Manitoba, où l’enneigement est important, ou à –12 °C dans les prairies, où les chutes annuelles de neige moyennes sont inférieures à 100 cm (Hare et Morley, 1974). Ces conditions fournissent une longue saison de croissance, une chaleur adéquate pendant la période d’incubation des œufs et des niveaux de gel tolérables pour les nouveau-nés qui hivernent.


Figure 5 : Aire de répartition canadienne de la tortue peinte de l’ouest (Chrysemys picta bellii)

Figure 5 : Aire de répartition canadienne de la tortue peinte de l’ouest (Chrysemys picta bellii)

Voici une description de l’aire de répartition de la tortue peinte de l’ouest par province. La répartition de l’espèce est continue dans l’extrémité sud-ouest du centre de l’Ontario. Elle est présente dans les milieux humides et les cours d’eau de la région de Thunder Bay qui se déversent dans le lac Supérieur, au nord des lacs Vermillion du district de Rainy River, et à l’ouest de la région du lac des Bois, dans le district de Kenora. Au Manitoba, la tortue peinte de l’ouest est présente le long du vaste lac Winnipegosis et du lac Winnipeg, ainsi que dans leurs réseaux étendus de ruisseaux et de milieux humides. L’espèce a été observée dans le parc national du Mont-Riding, dans l’ouest du Manitoba, dans des lacs liés au bassin hydrographique de la rivière Assiniboine (W. Vandershuit, comm. pers., 2005). En Saskatchewan, elle a été observée dans les cours supérieurs de la rivière Saskatchewan les plus au sud (p. ex. Swift Current Creek), ainsi que dans les rivières Qu’Appelle et Souris en amont de la rivière Assiniboine, qui se déversent tous dans le lac Winnipeg, au Manitoba. La tortue peinte est également présente dans la rivière Frenchman en Saskatchewan, qui rejoint la rivière Milk, au Montana (eau d’amont de la rivière Missouri). En Saskatchewan, les milieux essentiels semblent se situer dans les passages inférieurs de la rivière Souris et près de la confluence de celle-ci avec Roughbark Creek. En Alberta, l’espèce se limite à la rivière Milk, aux collines Cypress et au cours supérieur de la rivière Oldman. Très récemment, des tortues peintes de l’ouest ont été observées dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton (P. Achuff, comm. pers., 2005) ainsi que dans la municipalité de Crowsnest Pass, en Alberta, là où le paysage montagnard de Douglas taxifoliés et de pins souples rencontre la prairie à fétuque (R. Quinlan, comm. pers., 2004). On croit que les tortues trouvées plus au nord seraient des animaux de compagnie relâchés (R. Quinlan, comm. pers., 2004). Bien que ces observations dans les cours supérieurs de la rivière Oldman ne se trouvent qu’à quelques kilomètres du bassin hydrographique britanno-colombien le plus proche (rivière Elk), les montagnes séparant les provinces représentent une importante barrière. Les milieux les plus proches en Colombie-Britannique sont confinés au bas sillon des Rocheuses. Les tortues proviennent sans aucun doute du Montana. En Colombie-Britannique, le C. p. bellii est présent dans d’autres basses terres de l’intérieur méridional, y compris les vallées des lacs Kootenay, Arrow et Okanagan, ainsi que de la rivière Thompson. Sur la côte sud de la Colombie-Britannique, la tortue peinte de l’ouest est présente dans les basses terres de Géorgie (vallée du Fraser, de Hope à Vancouver; Sunshine Coast jusqu’à Powell River), les basses terres de Nanaimo dans le sud-est de l’île de Vancouver, et certaines îles Gulf. Les sites de la côte sud et de l’intérieur méridional sont isolées par la chaîne des Cascades.