Skip booklet index and go to page content

Western Painted Turtle (Chrysemys Picta Bellii)

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Much of what we know of Western Painted Turtle habitat associations has been derived from the study of other subspecies, particularly in the northeastern United States. Painted Turtles are highly aquatic being found in shallow waters of ponds, lakes, oxbows and marshes, in slow-moving stream reaches, or the quiet backwater sloughs of rivers. Ideal Painted Turtle habitat contains muddy substrates, ample emergent aquatic vegetation, exposed cattail mats, logs, and open banks (St. John 2002). Orchard (1986) suggests that an optimum lake or pond has: (1) 80% of its water depth ≤ 3 m; (2) a mud or sand substrate in 80% of the shallow zone (≤ 3 m); (3) aquatic plants (emergents) in at least 80% of the littoral zone; and (4) at least one emergent basking site at a depth of ≤ 1 m/30 m of shoreline.

Although Painted Turtles forage, mate and hibernate in water, movements several hundred metres overland are not uncommon (Gregory and Campbell 1987). These long-distance movements typically represent spring and fall migrations of individuals that breed and hibernate in different ponds. Females, in particular, make extensive use of the terrestrial environment, laying their eggs up to 150 m, or more (R. Brooks pers. comm.), away from the water’s edge. They select an exposed patch of soil or sand either in a field or pasture, or on a beach or roadside, where digging is possible. Gentle slopes (< 45°; Orchard 1986) with southern exposure and good drainage are often chosen: high temperatures increase growth and development rates whereas good drainage decreases soil saturation and thus the probability of ice crystals penetrating the bodies of overwintering hatchlings (Storey et al. 1989, 1998, Costanzo et al. 1995, 1998, 2004).

In a literature review of the biologically relevant size of core habitats surrounding wetlands for amphibians and reptiles, Semlitsch and Bodie (2003) emphasize that terrestrial habitats are critical to all semi-aquatic species and that acknowledging the biological interdependence between aquatic and terrestrial habitats is key for the persistence of populations. A landscape approach to the conservation of Spotted Turtles (Clemmys guttata) and Blanding’s Turtles (Emydoidea blandingii), for example, involves the protection of small wetlands, maintenance of generous terrestrial buffers around individual wetlands, and conservation of wetlands in groups (Joyal et al. 2001). Gibbons (2003) proposes that for the Painted Turtle there are two terrestrial habitats of importance, the riparian periphery and the terrestrial corridors that connect isolated wetlands. In light of these arguments, Painted Turtle habitat ideally consists of a cluster of breeding and overwintering ponds, their riparian zones, and the matrix habitat connecting them. A riparian width of 150 m was deemed necessary by Bodie (2001), based on migration data from 10 species of freshwater turtles in the U.S.


Habitat Trends

Small wetlands are often converted to more “usable” land for human activities including agriculture, raising of livestock, hydroelectric dams, urban development, and industry. Wetland loss is especially significant near large urban centres. Vancouver, Victoria, Regina, Winnipeg and Thunder Bay occur within the range of the Western Painted Turtle in Canada. Wetland loss has been considerable in British Columbia. At least 75% of the wetlands in the Fraser River Valley of the South Coast - where Vancouver is situated - are gone (Nowlan and Jeffries 1996), and losses continue. Scientists estimate that 75% of the wetlands present in the vicinity of Victoria (i.e., along southeast coast of Vancouver Island) at the time of European settlement have disappeared (Capital Regional District 2005). Although there is no metropolis in the south-central part of British Columbia, human population has been rising steadily in the area; there was a tripling of people in the Okanagan from 1947 and 1987 (Cannings et al. 1998). Only 15% of wetland and riparian habitats remain in the South Okanagan-Similkameen River Valleys of south-central B.C. (Schebel 2005). 

Many remaining wetlands are degraded by human activities; forms of habitat deterioration include water pollution, bank erosion, riparian vegetation loss, habitat fragmentation, infilling, water extraction and altered wetland hydrology. Habitat deterioration can be particularly pervasive in the vicinity of urban centres and in high recreation use areas. Based on a three-year water-quality monitoring program in the Lower Mainland between 1992 and 1997, 21% of 24 monitored wetlands had poor water quality most of the time, and 67% of the wetlands were subject to occasional contamination (Nichol et al. 2001).

Roads are a major source of habitat loss and degradation and direct mortality of turtles. For example, along a two-way highway intersecting prairie pothole habitat in western Montana, there is a mean of 346 road kills per year (K. Griffin pers. comm. 2005). The 6.2 million-kilometre network of public roads in the United States, which is used by 200 million vehicles per year, permeates and links essentially every local area (Forman 2000). Forman (2000) estimated that one fifth of the U.S. land area is directly affected ecologically by the public road system. Effects range from road mortality, toxic run-off, sedimentation, increased predation, altered drainage patterns, and increased habitat invasion by exotic species, to distant impacts such as noise pollution and loss of “interior” habitat conditions (Forman and Deblinger 2000). Road networks are less complex and dense in Canada, but they are nevertheless extensive in most of the Western Painted Turtle’s range in Canada, particularly in British Columbia where human and turtle activities are largely confined to river valleys between steep mountain ranges. The severity of this problem is increasing in the southern interior of B.C. as rapid growth is creating more roads and increasing traffic density, causing more road mortality (M. Sarell pers. comm. 2005).

Wetland loss and deterioration, habitat fragmentation and roads will rise with increasing human population and activity. This is not yet a major concern in extreme western Ontario and in southern Manitoba, where a myriad of streams, rivers, lakes and smaller water bodies provide extensive connected habitat, most of which is not affected by humans (A. Didiuk pers. comm. 2005). In Saskatchewan and Alberta, wetlands are primarily subject to rangeland activities, with limited shoreline impacts from human activities. It should be cautioned, however, that dams contribute to habitat loss in large river systems (e.g., Netley and Delta Marshes in Manitoba, Qu’Appelle and Souris Rivers in Saskatchewan, Oldman River in Alberta); an increase in the number of dams could pose a threat in the future. In southern British Columbia, human population has risen steadily since the mid-1900s (Cannings et al. 1997; Nichol et al. 2001), and is expected to double within 15 years (Nichol et al. 2001).


Habitat Protection/Ownership

The regions of Ontario that are occupied by the Western Painted Turtle tend to have low population densities of people. The Painted Turtle is protected in Pukaskwa National Park, in 12 provincial parks: Sibley, Waterway, Quetico, Sandbar Lake, Nipigon Lake, Rushing River, Woodland Caribou, Lake of the Woods, Kakabeka Falls, Caliper Lake, Sleeping Giant, and Arrow Lake, and in the Cedar Falls Conservation Area (based on known turtle records). Aside from the Thunder Bay District and communities along the Trans-Canada Highway, the southwestern portion of northwestern Ontario is dominated by forests and wetlands (and small cottage communities). 

Apart from Winnipeg and its satellite towns, Manitoba has a moderate to low human population density (only 10 to 25 families per km2; Hammond Atlas of Canada and the World) because the area is dominated by farmlands. Lake, river and wetland networks are extensive in most of the province and the Western Painted Turtle is protected in three extensive parks (Riding Mountain National Park, Nopiming and Whiteshell Provincial Parks) and several smaller ones including Assessippi, Grindstone, Hecla, Spruce Woods, Birds Hill, and Turtle Mountain provincial parks.

Southern Saskatchewan has a dry climate and Western Painted Turtles in this province are limited to four main river watersheds near the border (Qu’Appelle, Souris, Swift Current, and Frenchman Rivers). There is a moderately low human population density beyond the city limits of Regina because of the agricultural nature of the province. The large Grassland National Park protects C. p. bellii in the Frenchman River drainage near the U.S. border. At least three small parks (Buffalo Pound, Moose Mountain, and Roche Percée) offer some protection elsewhere in the province (based on known records).

In southern Alberta, the Western Painted Turtle is protected within Waterton Lakes National Park and the very small Milk River Natural Area. There are two small provincial parks within the species’ range in Alberta (Beauvais Lake and Writing-on-Stone) though turtles have not been reported in either one of them. Although there is little habitat protection in Alberta, this province’s human population density is low (< 3 families per km2; Hammond Atlas of Canada 2000).

Based on known records, a number of small parks afford turtles some protection in British Columbia, including several provincial parks (e.g., Haynes Point, Kikomun Creek, Champion Lakes, Shuswap Lake, Grohman Narrows, and Okanagan Mountain), the Vaseaux Bighorn National Wildlife Area, and the Creston Valley Wildlife Management Area. In the Rocky Mountain Trench of southeastern B.C. the species appears to be secure as roughly 60% of wetlands in the Columbia River basin are protected by conservation efforts (J. Krebs pers. comm. 2005), and there is a very large wildlife management area in Creston. The Southern Interior is largely agricultural (vineyards, orchards, rangelands), though urban centres are dominant and growing along certain lakes and river sections. On the south coast (including the mainland south of Fraser River and Vancouver Island), much of the land is intensively developed; some potentially beneficial parks include Rolley Lake, Cultus Lake, and Chilliwack Lake Provincial Parks.

Western Painted Turtle habitat in Canada can also be protected via: (1) fisheries regulations along commercial fish-containing wetlands and watercourses; (2) municipal parks; (3) local wildlife management initiatives; and (4) environmental by-laws (e.g., zoning by-laws that work around environmentally sensitive areas).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Tortue peinte de l'Ouest (Chrysemys picta bellii)

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

Beaucoup de ce que nous savons sur l’habitat de la tortue peinte de l’ouest provient d’études menées sur d’autres sous-espèces, en particulier dans le nord-est des États-Unis. La tortue peinte est dans une très large mesure une espèce aquatique, présente dans les eaux peu profondes des étangs, des lacs, des méandres abandonnés, des marais, des cours d’eau au débit lent ou des bras morts. L’habitat idéal de la tortue peinte a un substrat boueux, une vaste végétation aquatique émergente, des mattes de quenouilles, des rondins et des rives ouvertes (St. John, 2002). Orchard (1986) suggère que le lac ou l’étang idéal a : 1) une profondeur de ≤ 3 m sur 80 p. 100; 2) un substrat boueux ou sablonneux dans 80 p. 100 de la zone peu profonde (≤ 3 m); 3) des plantes aquatiques (émergentes) couvrant au moins 80 p. 100 du littoral; 4) au moins un site émergent d’exposition au soleil à ≤ 1 m/30 m de la rive.

Bien que les tortues peintes se nourrissent, s’accouplent et hibernent dans l’eau, il n’est pas rare qu’elles se déplacent à plusieurs centaines de mètres sur terre (Gregory et Campbell, 1987). Ces déplacements de longue distance correspondent généralement aux migrations printanières et automnales des individus qui se reproduisent et qui hibernent dans des étangs différents. Les femelles, en particulier, utilisent beaucoup le milieu terrestre et pondent leurs œufs à 150 m ou plus du bord de l’eau (R. Brooks, comm. pers.). Elles choisissent une parcelle de terre ou de sable meuble exposée dans un champ ou un pâturage, une plage ou un bord de route. Elles préfèrent souvent des endroits légèrement inclinés (< 45 °; Orchard, 1986), exposés au sud et bien drainés. Les températures élevées augmentent les taux de croissance et de développement, et le drainage adéquat réduit le degré de saturation et, par conséquent, le risque que des cristaux de glace pénètrent le corp des petits nouvellement éclos qui hibernent (Storey et al., 1989, 1998; Costanzo et al., 1995, 1998, 2004).

Dans une analyse documentaire de la taille pertinente sur le plan biologique des milieux essentiels aux amphibiens et aux reptiles en bordure des zones humides, Semlitsch et Bodie (2003) soulignent que les milieux terrestres sont essentiels à toutes les espèces semi-aquatiques et que la reconnaissance de l’interdépendance biologique entre les milieux terrestres et aquatiques est cruciale pour la pérennité des populations. Une méthode paysage de conservation des tortues ponctuées (Clemmys guttata) et des tortues de Blanding (Emydoidea blandingii), par exemple, sous-tend la protection des petites zones humides, le maintien de vastes zones tampons terrestres autour des milieux humides et la préservation de zones humides en groupes (Joyal et al., 2001). Gibbons (2003) avance qu’il y a deux milieux terrestres d’importance pour la tortue peinte, la périphérie riparienne, ainsi que les corridors terrestres qui relient les zones humides isolées. À la lumière de ces observations, l’habitat idéal de la tortue peinte consiste en des grappes d’étangs de reproduction et d’hivernage, des zones ripariennes et une mosaïque de milieux avoisinants. Selon Bodie (2001), une zone riparienne devait mesurer 150 m de largeur si on se fonde sur les données de migration de 10 espèces de tortues d’eau douce aux États-Unis.


Tendances en matière d’habitat

Les petites zones humides sont souvent converties en terrains utilisables pour l’activité humaine, notamment l’agriculture, l’élevage, la construction de barrages hydroélectriques, l’expansion urbaine et l’industrie. La perte des milieux humides est particulièrement grave près des grands centres urbains. Vancouver, Victoria, Regina, Winnipeg et Thunder Bay sont situés dans l’aire de répartition canadienne de la tortue peinte de l’ouest. La perte des zones humides a été importante en Colombie-Britannique. Au moins 75 p. 100 des zones humides de la vallée du Fraser, sur la côte sud, où est sise Vancouver, sont disparues (Nowlan et Jeffries, 1996), et les destructions se poursuivent. Des scientifiques estiment que 75 p. 100 des zones humides présentes près de Victoria (le long de la côte sud-est de l’île de Vancouver) sont disparues au moment de l’arrivée des Européens (District régional de la capitale, 2005). Bien qu’il n’y ait aucune métropole dans le centre-sud de la Colombie-Britannique, la population humaine est en croissance dans ce secteur; elle a en effet triplé dans l’Okanagan entre 1947 et 1987 (Cannings et al., 1998). Il ne reste que 15 p. 100 des milieux humides et riverains dans les vallées orientales de l’Okanagan et de la rivière Similkameen (centre sud de la C.-B.) (Schebel, 2005).

Beaucoup de zones humides subsistantes subissent une dégradation due à l’activité humaine, notamment par la pollution de l’eau, l’érosion des rives, la disparition de la végétation riveraine, la fragmentation de l’habitat, le remplissage, le captage des eaux et la modification de l’hydrologie des milieux humides. La détérioration de l’habitat serait particulièrement intense à proximité des centres urbains et dans les zones intensivement utilisées à des fins récréatives. Selon un programme triennal de surveillance de la qualité de l’eau dans la vallée du bas Fraser mené entre 1992 et 1997, 21 p. 100 des 24 zones humides étudiées présentaient une faible qualité de l’eau la plupart du temps, et 67 p. 100 d’entre elles étaient exposées à une contamination occasionnelle (Nichol et al., 2001).

Les routes constituent un facteur important de perte et de dégradation des milieux, ainsi que de mortalité directe des tortues. Par exemple, le long d’une autoroute à deux voies traversant un milieu de cuvettes des prairies dans l’ouest du Montana, une moyenne de 346 individus sont tués annuellement sur la route (K. Griffin, comm. pers., 2005). Le réseau américain de routes publiques (6,2 millions de kilomètres), qu’empruntent chaque année 200 millions de véhicules, relie presque toutes les régions et permet de se déplacer entre elles (Forman, 2000). Forman (2000) estime que le cinquième du territoire américain est directement touché par le réseau routier public du point de vue écologique. Parmi ces répercussions, on trouve : la mortalité sur les routes, les déversements de substances toxiques, la sédimentation, la prédation accrue, la modification des schémas de drainage et l’invasion accrue des milieux par des espèces exotiques, de même que des effets distants, tels que la pollution par le bruit et la perte de l’état « intérieur » du milieu (Forman et Deblinger, 2000). Au Canada, le réseau routier n’est pas si dense et complexe, mais il est important dans la majeure partie de l’aire de répartition de la tortue peinte de l’ouest, notamment en Colombie-Britannique, où les activités des humains et des tortues sont grandement confinées aux vallées fluviales entre d’abruptes chaînes de montagnes. Le problème s’aggrave dans le sud de l’intérieur de la province, car la croissance rapide entraîne la construction de routes et l’intensification de la circulation, ce qui cause davantage de morts sur les routes (M. Sarell, comm. pers., 2005).

La perte et la détérioration des milieux humides, la fragmentation de l’habitat et le nombre de routes augmenteront en fonction de l’accroissement de la population et de l’activité humaine. Cependant, il ne s’agit pas encore d’une préoccupation importante dans l’ouest de l’Ontario ni dans le sud du Manitoba, où beaucoup de cours d’eau, de rivières, de lacs et de petits bassins offrent un vaste milieu relié, dont la majeure partie n’est pas touchée par l’homme (A. Didiuk, comm. pers., 2005). En Saskatchewan et en Alberta, les milieux humides sont principalement consacrés au pâturage, et l’activité humaine a peu d’impact sur le littoral. Cependant, les barrages contribuent à la perte de milieux dans les réseaux fluviaux d’importance (p. ex. les marais Netley et Delta au Manitoba, les rivières Qu’Appelle et Souris en Saskatchewan, la rivière Oldman en Alberta). L’accroissement du nombre de barrages risque de représenter une menace à l’avenir. Dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique, la population humaine croît de façon stable depuis le milieu du xxe siècle (Cannings et al., 1997; Nichol et al., 2001), et on s’attend à ce qu’elle double d’ici 15 ans (Nichol et al., 2001).


Protection et propriété

Les régions ontariennes où la tortue peinte de l’ouest est présente ont généralement une faible densité de population. La tortue peinte est protégée dans le parc national Pukaskwa, dans 12 parcs provinciaux--Sibley, Waterway, Quetico, du Lac-Sandbar, du Lac-Nipigon, de la Rivière-Rushing, Woodland Caribou, du Lac-des-Bois, des Chutes-Kakabeka, du Lac-Caliper, Sleeping Giant et du Lac-Arrow--ainsi que dans l’aire de conservation Cedar Falls (selon les données connues sur les tortues). À l’exception de la région de Thunder Bay et des collectivités longeant l’autoroute transcanadienne, la portion sud-ouest du nord-ouest de l’Ontario est dominée par les forêts et les milieux humides (ainsi que de petites communautés de chalets).

Exception faite de Winnipeg et de ses villes satellites, la densité de la population humaine du Manitoba est de faible à modérée (de 10 à 25 familles au kilomètre carré seulement; Hammond Atlas of Canada and the World), car la région compte essentiellement des terres agricoles. Les réseaux de lacs, de rivières et de zones humides sont vastes dans la majeure partie de la province, et la tortue peinte de l’ouest est protégée dans trois grands parcs (parc national du Mont-Riding et parcs provinciaux Nopiming et Whiteshell) et dans plusieurs petits parcs, dont les parcs provinciaux Assessippi, Grindstone, Hecla, Spruce Woods, Birds Hill et Turtle Mountain.

Le climat du sud de la Saskatchewan est sec, et les tortues peintes de l’ouest n’y sont présentes que dans les quatre principaux bassins hydrographiques en bordure de la frontière américaine (rivières Qu’Appelle, Souris, Swift Current et Frenchman). En raison de la nature agricole de la Saskatchewan, la densité de la population humaine est relativement faible à l’extérieur de Regina. Le vaste parc national des Prairies protège le C. p. bellii dans le bassin de la rivière Frenchman, près de la frontière américaine. Ailleurs dans la province, au moins trois petits parcs (Buffalo Pound, Moose Mountain et Roche Percée) offrent une certaine protection (selon les données connues).

Dans le sud de l’Alberta, la tortue peinte de l’ouest est protégée au sein du parc national Lacs-Waterton et de la très petite aire naturelle Milk River. Deux petits parcs provinciaux se situent dans l’aire de répartition albertaine de l’espèce (du Lac-Beauvais et Writing-on-Stone), mais aucune tortue n’y a été signalée. La protection de l’habitat est faible dans cette province, mais la densité de population humaine y est basse (< 3 familles au kilomètre carré; Hammond Atlas of Canada, 2000).

Selon les données connues, quelques petits parcs offrent une certaine protection aux tortues en Colombie-Britannique, dont plusieurs parcs provinciaux (p. ex. Haynes Point, Kikomun Creek, Lacs-Champion, Lac-Shuswap, Grohman Narrows et Mont-Okanagan), la réserve nationale de la faune de Vaseux-Bighorn et l’aire de protection de la faune de Creston Valley. Dans le sillon des Rocheuses du sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique, l’espèce ne semble pas être en péril, car environ 60 p. 100 des zones humides du bassin du fleuve Columbia sont protégées par des mesures de conservation (J. Krebs, comm. pers., 2005), et il y a une très vaste aire de gestion de la faune à Creston. Le sud de l’intérieur est en grande partie agricole (vignes, vergers, pâturages) tandis que les centres urbains dominent et sont en essor le long de certains lacs et de tronçons de rivière. Sur la côte sud (y compris le littoral au sud du fleuve Fraser et l’île de Vancouver), une grande partie du territoire est grandement exploité. Les parcs provinciaux du Lac-Rolley, du Lac-Cultus et du Lac-Chilliwack constituent quelques territoires susceptibles d’être bénéfiques.

L’habitat de la tortue peinte de l’ouest peut également être protégé par : 1) les règlements sur la pêche le long des zones humides et de cours d’eau contenant des espèces commerciales de poisson; 2) les parcs municipaux; 3) les mesures locales de gestion de la faune; 4) les règlements sur l’environnement (règlements de zonage qui épargnent les zones vulnérables).