Skip booklet index and go to page content

Western Painted Turtle (Chrysemys Picta Bellii)

Population Sizes and Trends

Search Effort

There are 496 known Western Painted Turtle records in Canada: 219 in Ontario, 129 in B.C., 101 in Saskatchewan, 25 in Manitoba, and 22 in Alberta. These records, which date from 1920 to 2005, represent about 320 locations (some locations have several records). High numbers of records in Ontario and B.C. may simply reflect higher human population densities and the correspondingly greater number of citizens detecting or looking for turtles. Ontario has a relatively thorough coverage of turtles in the province because the Ontario Herpetofaunal Summary Atlas (OHS) has been in existence since 1984 (Ontario MNR 2005). Given that there are few potentially turtle-bearing wetlands in Alberta, this province’s small collection of records is probably relatively complete as well.

Most of the Western Painted Turtle records that have been used in delineating range limits and understanding distribution patterns in Canada are the result of nonsystematic searches and reports. Exceptions to this sporadic collection/ observation method are as follows: (1) 16% of Ontario records were the results of a more thorough wetland inventory of Ontario; (2) there has been a fairly systematic reconnaissance of the South Okanagan wetlands over the course of several years (43% of B.C. records by local herpetologist Mike Sarrell); (3) the Saskatchewan Wetland Conservation Corporation funded turtle surveys in 2002 and 2003 (26% of SK records); (4) a recent systematic survey of critical wetland habitats was conducted along the Souris River, as part of an environmental impact assessment for the Saskatchewan Watershed Authority (39% of SK records).

In summary, the records probably give a reasonable index of range, distribution, and abundance within each province except in Manitoba (the scant number of records do not reflect this province’s profusion of interconnected wetlands).


Abundance

Painted Turtles are generally the most abundant turtle species wherever they occur in Canada (Cook 1984; Ernst et al. 1994) but their densities can be quite variable, ranging from a few to several hundred individuals/ha. The overall abundance of Western Painted Turtles in Canada is unknown. NatureServe (2004) considers this species secure in Canada and the U.S. (N5) because it can be abundant in suitable habitats, there are many large sub-populations throughout its range, its numbers appear to be relatively stable, and threats (habitat degradation, mortality on roads, human-induced rise in predation) are moderate and often localized. However, given the increase in road density, intensive drainage of wetlands, the propensity of nesting females to use roads and the species’ long-lived life history, it may be that these threats are having a greater effect than has been supposed. As pointed out by Congdon (J. Congdon pers. comm. 2005), just because this species has a wide range does not mean it does not respond to these threats in the same manner as other long-lived vertebrates.

In light of the wide variation in local abundance, it may be more useful to examine the number of Western Painted Turtle ‘occurrences’. An occurrence (location as defined by COSEWIC) is a sub-population that is separated from all others by barriers such as (1) busy highways; (2) highways with obstructions to crossings (e.g., concrete dividers); (3) untraversable topography (e.g., cliffs); or (4) extensive urban or dry areas lacking wetted habitats (NatureServe 2004). In the absence of such barriers, a sub-population can be viewed as separate if species records are: (1) 10 km apart in more or less continuously joined suitable habitat; (2) three km apart across upland habitat (so that females on nesting migrations from separate ponds do not overlap); or (3) five km apart in intermediate situations (NatureServe 2004).

Chrysemys picta bellii is assessed as secure (S4) in northwestern Ontario and Manitoba because human impacts are not severe in these areas (compared to southern Ontario), wetlands abound, and there are more than 100 occurrences in each province (M. Oldham pers. comm. 2004; J. Duncan pers. comm. 2004).

In Saskatchewan, C. p. bellii is also secure (S4; J. Pepper pers. comm. 2004) because it is found in four large watersheds; there are 101 records from about 40 different places, which implies that there are at least 40 known occurrences in the province. Threats to the species in Saskatchewan include habitat loss and alteration (J. epper pers. comm. 2004).

Chrysemys p. bellii has a tenuous hold in Alberta with probably fewer than 100 individuals belonging to few, if any, viable occurrences in the Cypress Hills, lower Milk River, and Oldman River basins (Alberta Conservation Data Centre 2004). It is thought that more northern Western Painted Turtle records (e.g., Lethbridge, Edmonton) represent individuals released from the pet trade (R. Quinlan pers. comm. 2004).

In British Columbia, C. p. bellii is considered vulnerable (S3S4). There appear to be on the order of 100 occurrences. However, roads often bisect nesting areas in British Columbia, because suitable wetlands, turtles, and roads all tend to be confined to valleys between mountain ranges. Although the species appears to be widespread and secure in eastern B.C., with up to 60% of the wetlands in the Columbia River basin protected through conservation initiatives (Krebs pers. comm. 2005), wetland habitat loss, degradation and fragmentation, and road construction and use continue to increase in the Southern Interior and on the South Coast (Lower Mainland; Vancouver Island). In these latter areas, numbers of turtles are small and appear to be declining (M. Sarell pers. comm. 2005; P. Gregory pers. comm. 2005, Bunnell 2005).

In the Okanagan, Sarell (M. Sarell pers. comm. 2005) and Brown (J. Brown pers. comm. 2005) stated that “natural” habitat loss (loss of numerous small lakes and ponds from recent extended droughts) has probably destroyed not only those turtle populations but connectivity between populations that remain. In addition, there is a significant loss of wetlands due to filling and draining to increase land for cultivation and development. Sarell also observed many Western Painted Turtles killed on roads and dead from injuries from being hooked by fishermen. Recent expansion of the raccoon (Procyon lotor) has likely reduced nesting success and led to increased mortality of hatchlings and nesting females.

On Vancouver Island and the lower mainland, Painted Turtles have always been very uncommon (P. Gregory pers. comm. 2005, L. Friis pers. comm. 2005), and Gregory stated that he had not seen one in years. There has been some question whether the Painted Turtle is native or introduced to Vancouver Island, but this debate seems based mainly on the fact that the turtles have always been rare. However, records do go back to at least the early 1900s, and likely the Western Painted Turtle should be considered a native subspecies (F. Cook pers. comm.)


Population Trends

There are no data on population trends for the Western Painted Turtle. Although the species appears to be stable overall (K. Griffin pers. comm. 2005; J. Krebs pers. comm. 2005), it seems to be experiencing significant declines in certain areas in the far west. Based on habitat trends (e.g., Nichol et al. 2001), the Western Painted Turtle has likely suffered significant declines in: (1) the lower Fraser Valley (Vancouver Region); (2) the southeast coast of Vancouver Island (Victoria Region); and (3) the Okanagan and Similkameen River Valleys. A recent survey of 29 wetlands for turtles in lower Fraser River valley found Western Painted Turtles at only one site (Burnaby Lake) even though the species had previously been reported form six of the 29 surveyed sites (Bunnell 2005).  The species also seems to be declining locally in other parts of its Canadian range (e.g., Clark and Grueing 2002), where roads or human activities significantly impact certain wetlands or turtle nesting grounds.


Rescue Effect

Dispersal among populations of Western Painted Turtles is likely high in Ontario, Manitoba, and eastern Saskatchewan, where the extensive, interconnected complex of lakes and wetlands undoubtedly facilitates metapopulation dynamics (e.g., Lake of the Woods in Ontario drains into Lake Winnipeg via Winnipeg River; a significant proportion of the turtle-bearing watercourses of Saskatchewan are connected to Lake Winnipeg by the Assiniboine River).

Although southwest Saskatchewan and southeastern Alberta have fewer lakes and wetlands, sub-populations appear to be linked through watersheds to source populations in the U.S. (e.g., the Frenchman River of Saskatchewan merges with the Milk River headwater of Missouri River in Montana and the Milk River extends into Alberta). The Western Painted Turtle is not at risk in the neighbouring, agricultural states of North Dakota, Montana and Minnesota (NatureServe 2004). Presumably, landscape fragmentation and wetland degradation is moderately low in this part of the U.S. because human population densities are low to moderate (10 families/km or less based on the Hammond Atlas of Canada and the World year).

Southeast British Columbia is not heavily populated and the landscape between this region and the moderately populated, agricultural land of northern Idaho is fairly continuous; C. picta is apparently secure in Idaho (NatureServe 2004). Conversely, human activity levels are high on southern Vancouver Island, the Lower Mainland region (Vancouver and vicinity), and the Okanagan Valley and there are matching human densities across the border with the U.S.A. (Spokane, Seattle and suburbs), at least for the coastal mainland. The ensuing level of habitat loss, degradation, and fragmentation across the border implies that there is a low potential for natural turtle dispersal/recolonization across the border. Wetlands in less populated areas of the Southern Interior ecoprovince could perhaps serve as source populations for the Okanagan Valley, but coastal sub-populations have few sources of colonists.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Tortue peinte de l'Ouest (Chrysemys picta bellii)

Taille et tendances des populations

Activités de recherche

Il y a 496 relevés de tortue peinte de l’ouest au Canada : 219 en Ontario, 129 en Colombie-Britannique, 101 en Saskatchewan, 25 au Manitoba et 22 en Alberta. Ces relevés, effectués entre 1920 et 2005, représentent environ 320 endroits (certains sites en comptent plusieurs). Le nombre élevé en Ontario et en Colombie-Britannique traduit peut-être simplement une densité de population humaine supérieure et, de ce fait, un nombre plus élevé de personnes repérant ou recherchant des tortues. En Ontario, la couverture est relativement exhaustive en raison de l’existence du Sommaire de l’herpétofaune d’Ontario (OHS) depuis 1984 (ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, 2005). Et puisqu’il existe peu de milieux humides susceptibles d’abriter des tortues en Alberta, la petite collection de cette province devrait aussi être relativement complète.

La plupart des relevés de tortue peinte de l’ouest utilisés dans la délimitation de l’aire de répartition et la compréhension des modèles de répartition au Canada découlent de recherches et de rapports non systématiques. Voici quelques exceptions à cette méthode sporadique de collecte et d’observation : 1) 16 p. 100 des relevés en Ontario sont tirés d’un inventaire plus exhaustif des milieux humides dans la province; 2) depuis plusieurs années ont lieu des activités assez systématiques de reconnaissance des zones humides de l’Okanagan sud (43 p. 100 des relevés de la Colombie-Britannique effectués par l’herpétologiste Mike Sarrell); 3) la Saskatchewan Wetland Conservation Corporation a financé des relevés de tortues en 2002 et en 2003 (26 p. 100 des relevés dans la province); 4) récemment, un relevé systématique des milieux humides essentiels a été mené le long de la rivière Souris dans le cadre d’une étude d’impact pour la Saskatchewan Watershed Authority (39 p. 100 des relevés de la province).

Bref, les relevés offrent probablement un indice raisonnable de l’aire, de la répartition et de l’abondance dans chaque province, à l’exception du Manitoba (le faible nombre de relevés ne traduit pas la profusion de milieux humides interreliés de la province).


Abondance

Les tortues peintes constituent généralement l’espèce de tortue la plus abondante peu importe l’endroit où elles sont présentes au Canada (Cook, 1984; Ernst et al., 1994), mais leur densité est passablement variable, de quelques individus à plusieurs centaines par hectare. L’abondance générale des tortues peintes de l’ouest au pays est inconnue. NatureServe (2004) estime que l’espèce n’est pas en péril au Canada ni aux États-Unis (N5) pour les raisons suivantes : elle peut être abondante dans les milieux propices, il existe beaucoup de sous-populations importantes dans toute l’aire de répartition, les populations semblent relativement stables et la menace (dégradation de l’habitat, mortalité sur les routes, augmentation de la prédation provoquée par l’homme) est modérée et souvent localisée. Toutefois, en raison de l’accroissement de la densité des routes, du drainage intensif des zones humides, de la propension des femelles à nicher près des routes et de la longévité de l’espèce, il est possible que les répercussions de ces facteurs soient plus importantes que ce que l’on pensait. Comme le mentionnait Congdon (comm. pers., 2005), ce n’est pas parce que l’aire de répartition de l’espèce est vaste qu’elle réagit de la même façon que d’autres vertébrés qui vivent longtemps.

À la lumière de la grande variation de l’abondance à l’échelle locale, il est peut-être plus utile de se pencher sur le nombre d’« occurrences » de la tortue peinte de l’ouest. Une occurrence (tel que définie par le COSEPAC) est une sous-population séparée de toutes les autres par des barrières telles que : 1) des autoroutes passantes; 2) des autoroutes qui bloquent le passage (par exemple, par des cloisons en béton); 3) des éléments du paysage impossibles à franchir (p. ex. les falaises); 4) de vastes zones urbaines ou sèches ne comportant pas de milieux humides (NatureServe, 2004). En l’absence de tels obstacles, une sous-population peut être considérée comme isolée si les relevés d’espèces se trouvent à : 1) 10 km dans des milieux propices liés de façon plus ou moins continue; 2) 3 km dans un milieu terrestre (de manière à ce que les femelles en migration de nidification entre différents étangs ne se chevauchent pas); 3) 5 km dans des situations intermédiaires (NatureServe, 2004).

Le Chrysemys picta bellii est coté S4 (non en péril) dans le nord-ouest de l’Ontario et au Manitoba parce que l’action humaine n’est pas sérieuse dans ces régions (comparativement au sud de l’Ontario), les milieux humides y sont abondants, et il existe plus de 100 occurrences dans chaque province (M. Oldham, comm. pers., 2004; J. Duncan, comm. pers., 2004).

En Saskatchewan, le C. p. bellii n’est pas en péril non plus (S4; J. Pepper, comm. pers., 2004) en raison de sa présence dans quatre vastes bassins hydrographiques. Il existe 101 relevés provenant d’environ 40 sites différents, ce qui signifie qu’il y a au moins 40 occurrences connues dans la province. La perte et la modification du milieu constituent une menace pour l’espèce en Saskatchewan (J. Pepper, comm. pers., 2004).

En Alberta, la situation duChrysemys p. bellii est précaire. On compte probablement moins de 100 individus appartenant à quelques occurrences, le cas échéant, dans les collines Cypress, la rivière Milk inférieure et les bassins de la rivière Oldman (Alberta Conservation Data Centre, 2004). On croit que les relevés de tortue peinte de l’ouest les plus au nord (p. ex. Lethbridge, Edmonton) représentent des animaux de compagnie relâchés (R. Quinlan, comm. pers., 2004).

En Colombie-Britannique, le C. p. bellii est considéré comme vulnérable (S3S4). Il y aurait quelque 100 occurrences. Cependant, dans cette province, il est fréquent que les routes divisent les sites de nidification en deux, car les zones humides propices, les tortues et les routes tendent toutes à être confinées à des vallées entre les chaînes de montagnes. L’espèce est étendue et n’est pas en péril dans l’est de la Colombie-Britannique, car 60 p. 100 des zones humides du bassin du fleuve Columbia sont protégées grâce à des mesures de conservation (Krebs, comm. pers., 2005), mais la perte, la dégradation et la fragmentation de l’habitat, ainsi que la construction et l’utilisation de routes continuent de s’accroître dans l’intérieur méridional et sur la côte sud (basses terres continentales; île de Vancouver). Dans ces régions, le nombre de tortues n’est pas important et semble en déclin (M. Sarell, comm. pers., 2005; P. Gregory, comm. pers., 2005; Bunnell, 2005).

Dans l’Okanagan, Sarell (comm. pers., 2005) et Brown (comm. pers., 2005) affirment que la perte du milieu « naturel » (perte de nombreux petits lacs et étangs en raison des récentes sécheresses prolongées) a probablement détruit non seulement ces populations de tortues, mais également les liens entre les populations restantes. En outre, on assiste à une importante perte de milieux humides en raison du remblai et du drainage visant à accroître le territoire destiné à l’agriculture et à l’expansion. Sarell a également observé que beaucoup de tortues peintes de l’ouest étaient tuées sur les routes ou mouraient à la suite de blessures par hameçon de pêche. La récente croissance de la population de ratons laveurs (Procyon lotor) a probablement réduit le taux de succès de la nidification et entraîné une hausse de la mortalité des jeunes nouvellement éclos et des femelles nicheuses.

Dans l’île de Vancouver et les basses terres continentales, les tortues peintes ont toujours été très rares (P. Gregory, comm. pers., 2005; L. Friis, comm. pers., 2005). Gregory affirme qu’il n’en a pas observé depuis des années. On se demande toujours si la tortue peinte est une espèce indigène ou introduite dans cette région. Cependant, le débat se fonde essentiellement sur l’argument voulant que l’espèce a toujours été rare. Toutefois, les relevés remontent au moins au début du xxe siècle, et il est probable que la tortue peinte de l’ouest doive être considérée comme une sous-espèce indigène (F. Cook, comm. pers., 2005).


Tendances des populations

Il n’existe pas de données sur les tendances des populations de tortue peinte de l’ouest. L’espèce semble stable dans son ensemble (K. Griffin, comm. pers., 2005; J. Krebs, comm. pers., 2005), mais elle paraît en déclin dans certaines régions de l’extrême ouest. Selon les tendances du milieu (voir par exemple Nichol et al., 2001), la tortue peinte de l’ouest a probablement subi un déclin important dans : 1) la vallée du bas Fraser (région de Vancouver); 2) la côte sud-est de l’île de Vancouver (région de Victoria); 3) les vallées de l’Okanagan et de la rivière Similkameen. Dans le cadre d’un récent relevé dans 29 zones humides de la vallée du bas Fraser, des tortues peintes de l’ouest n’ont été observées qu’à un seul site (lac Burnaby), même si l’espèce avait auparavant été signalée dans 6 des 29 sites ayant fait l’objet de relevés (Bunnell, 2005). De plus, il semble que l’espèce soit en déclin à l’échelle locale dans d’autres secteurs de son aire de répartition canadienne (voir par exemple Clark et Grueing, 2002), où les routes et l’activité humaine ont des répercussions importantes sur certaines zones humides ou certains lieux de nidification des tortues.


Effet d'une immigration de source externe

La répartition des populations de tortues peintes de l’ouest est probablement élevée en Ontario, au Manitoba et dans l’est de la Saskatchewan, où le vaste réseau de lacs et de milieux humides facilite indubitablement la dynamique des métapopulations (p. ex. le lac des Bois, en Ontario, s’écoule dans le lac Winnipeg par la rivière Winnipeg; le nombre considérable de cours d’eau de la Saskatchewan abritant des tortues sont liés au lac Winnipeg par la rivière Assiniboine).

Le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan et le sud-est de l’Alberta comptent moins de lacs et de milieux humides, mais les sous-populations semblent liées par bassins hydrographiques aux populations sources américaines (p. ex. la rivière Frenchman en Saskatchewan rejoint les eaux d’amont de la rivière Milk, de la rivière Missouri, au Montana, et la rivière Milk coule en Alberta). La tortue peinte de l’ouest n’est pas en péril dans les États agricoles voisins du Dakota du Nord, du Montana et du Minnesota (NatureServe, 2004). La fragmentation du paysage et la dégradation des milieux humides seraient modérément faibles dans cette région des États-Unis, car la densité de peuplement va de faible à modérée (10 familles/km ou moins, selon le Hammond Atlas of Canada and the World).

Le sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique n’est pas très peuplé, et le paysage entre cette région et le nord de l’Idaho, modérément peuplé et agricole, est relativement continu. Le C. picta n’est apparemment pas en péril dans cet État (NatureServe, 2004). Par contre, l’activité humaine est intense dans le sud de l’île de Vancouver, la région des basses terres continentales (Vancouver et environs) et la vallée de l’Okanagan. La densité de peuplement est semblable de l’autre côté de la frontière américaine (Spokane, Seattle et banlieue), au moins sur le littoral du continent. Le degré de perte, de dégradation et de fragmentation de l’habitat dans la région transfrontalière signifie que la possibilité de répartition naturelle ou de recolonisation est faible. Les zones humides situées dans les régions moins peuplées de l’écoprovince de l’intérieur méridional pourraient peut-être servir de populations sources pour la vallée de l’Okanagan, mais les populations pionnières sont rares pour les sous-populations côtières.