Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery strategy for the Northern Abalone

Preface

Northern abalone is a marine species under federal jurisdiction of the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans under the Fisheries Act and the Species at Risk Act (SARA).  SARA (Section 37) requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species.  The northern abalone was listed as threatened under SARA in June 2003. 

The Province of British Columbia has jurisdiction over the use of seabed and foreshore under the BC Land Act.  Aquaculture facilities are subject to licensing under the BC Fisheries Act.   Artificial movements of northern abalone into and within coastal waters and to aquaculture facilities are subject to review and licencing by the federal-provincial Introductions and Transfers Committee.  Under the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act, Parks Canada Agency has involvement in abalone management and protection in National Marine Conservation Areas (NMCAs).  The Province of BC and Parks Canada Agency have cooperated in the development of this recovery strategy. 

Fisheries & Oceans Canada formed the Abalone Recovery Team in 2001 to develop the ‘National Recovery Strategy for the Northern Abalone in British Columbia’, which was adopted under the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk in 2002.  In 2007, the recovery strategy was updated to meet the requirements of SARA (this document). 

This proposed recovery strategy meets SARA requirements (Sections 39-41) in terms of content and process and covers the period 2007-2012.

Declaration

The recovery strategy for the northern abalone has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions described in the Preface. Fisheries and Oceans Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the northern abalone as required under the Species at Risk Act (SARA). This recovery strategy also constitutes advice to other jurisdictions and organizations on the recovery goals, approaches and objectives that are recommended to protect and recover the species.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Fisheries and Oceans Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the National Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans invites all Canadians to join Fisheries and Oceans Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the species and Canadian society as a whole. Fisheries and Oceans Canada will support implementation of this strategy to the extent possible, given available resources and its overall responsibility for species at risk conservation. Implementation of the strategy by other participating jurisdictions and organizations is subject to their respective policies, appropriations, priorities, and budgetary constraints.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new information. The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans will report on progress within five years.

This strategy will be complemented by one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation of the species. The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans will take steps to ensure that, to the extent possible, Canadians interested in or affected by these measures will be consulted.

Responsible juridiction

Fisheries & Oceans Canada

Parks Canada Agency

Government of British Columbia

Authors

The Abalone Recovery Team (Appendix 1) prepared this recovery strategy for Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

Acknowledgments

The development of the recovery strategy for northern abalone was the result of valuable contributions by a number of individuals and organizations.  The Abalone Recovery Team is grateful to the following reviewers for their valuable advice and contributions on the 2002 recovery strategy: Paul Breen, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, New Zealand; Konstantin Karpov, California Fish and Game; Michele Patterson, World Wildlife Fund; Scoresby A. Shepherd, South Australian Research and Development Institute; Norm Sloan, Parks Canada; Anne Stewart, Bamfield Huu-ay-aht Community Abalone Project Society; and Jane Watson, Malaspina University-College.

The recovery team also acknowledges the many people who provided advice and comments through consultation workshops, and the following individuals for their written submissions in 2002: Lorne Clayton, IEC International Collaborative Marine Research and Development Ltd.; Erica Boulter, World Wildlife Fund; Robert DeVault, Outer Coast Oysters; Larry Golden; Michele James, Underwater Harvesters Association; Stefan Ochman, Fisheries Manager, Huu-ay-aht First Nation;  Dawn Renfrew, Bamfield Marine Sciences Center; Fred Hawkshaw; Mike Featherstone, Pacific Urchin Harvesters Association; Mark Biagi, Community Futures Development Corporation of Powell River and John Shepherd, Northwest Community College.


Fisheries & Oceans Canada would like to thank the numerous individuals and their organizations that are working to achieve the long-term recovery of northern abalone.

Strategic environnmental assessment statement

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals, the purpose of a Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats.

This recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the northern abalone. The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered. The SEA concluded that this strategy will clearly benefit the environment and will not entail any significant adverse effects. Refer to the following sections of the document in particular:Needs of the Northern Abalone, Approaches Recommended to Meet Recovery Objectives, and Effects on other species. 

Residence 

SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or

hibernating[SARA S2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry: http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_e.cfm

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie de rétablissement de l'haliotide pie

Préface

L’haliotide pie  est une espèce marine qui relève de la compétence du ministère des Pêches et des Océans du Canada en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches  et de laLoi sur les espèces en péril (LEP). Conformément à l’article 37 de la LEP, le ministre compétent doit préparer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces qui ont été désignées comme étant disparues du pays, menacées ou en voie de disparition. L’haliotide pie a été désignée en tant qu’espèce menacée en vertu de la LEP en juin 2003.  

En vertu de la Land Act de la C.‑B., l’utilisation du fond marin et des estrans relève de la compétence du gouvernement de la Colombie‑Britannique. Les aquaculteurs doivent détenir un permis délivré en vertu de la Fisheries Act de la C .-B .. Les mouvements artificiels de l’haliotide pie dans les eaux côtières et vers celles‑ci ainsi que vers des installations aquicoles sont assujettis à un examen et à un permis délivrés par le Comité fédéral-provincial sur l’implantation et le transfert d’espèces. En vertu de la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada, l'Agence Parcs Canada participe à la gestion et à la protection de l’haliotide pie dans les zones marines nationales de conservation (ZMNC). Le gouvernement provincial de la C .-B . et  l'Agence Parcs Canada ont collaboré à l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement.

Pêches et Océans Canada a formé l'équipe de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie  en 2001 pour élaborer le Programme national de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie en Colombie‑Britannique, lequel a été adopté en vertu de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril en 2002. En 2007, le Programme de rétablissement est mis à jour pour satisfaire aux exigences de la LEP (le présent document).

La présente proposition de programme de rétablissement respecte les exigences de la LEP (articles 39 à 41) sur le plan du contenu et du processus et couvre la période s’étendant de 2007 à 2012. 

Déclaration

Le présent programme de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie a été préparé en collaboration avec les instances mentionnées dans la Préface. Pêches et Océans Canada a passé en revue le présent document et l’accepte en tant que programme de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie, conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Le présent programme de rétablissement constitue également un avis à l’intention d’autres instances et organismes en regard des buts, des approches et des objectifs de rétablissement qui sont recommandés pour la protection et le rétablissement de l’espèce.

La réussite du rétablissement de cette espèce dépendra de l’engagement et de la collaboration d’un grand nombre de parties qui participent à la mise en œuvre des orientations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer sur Pêches et Océans Canada ou sur une autre instance seulement. Dans l’esprit de l’Accord national pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans invite tous les Canadiens à se joindre à Pêches et Océans Canada pour appuyer le présent programme et le mettre en œuvre au profit de l’haliotide pie et de l’ensemble de la société canadienne. Pêches et Océans Canada s’appliquera à soutenir, dans la mesure du possible, l’exécution du présent programme avec les ressources disponibles et compte tenu de sa responsabilité générale à l’égard de la conservation des espèces en péril. L’exécution du programme par d’autres instances responsables et organismes participants est soumise à leurs politiques respectives, à leurs crédits disponibles, à leurs priorités et à leurs contraintes budgétaires.

Les buts, les objectifs et les méthodes de rétablissement recensés dans le présent programme sont fondés sur les meilleures connaissances actuelles et peuvent être modifiés à la lumière de nouvelles découvertes ou d’objectifs révisés. Le ministre rendra compte des progrès réalisés d’ici cinq ans.

Un ou plusieurs plans d’action détaillant les mesures de rétablissement qu’il faudra prendre pour appuyer la conservation de cette espèce viendront s’ajouter au présent programme. Le ministre mettra en œuvre des moyens pour s’assurer, dans la mesure du possible, que les Canadiens intéressés à ces mesures ou touchés par celles-ci soient consultés.

Autoritéss Responsables

Pêches et Océans Canada

Agence Parcs Canada

Gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique

Auteurs     

L’équipe de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie (annexe 1) a préparé le présent programme de rétablissement pour Pêches et Océans Canada.

Rermerciements

La préparation du programme de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie est le résultat de la contribution précieuse d’un certain nombre de personnes et d’organismes. L’équipe de r l’haliotide pie tient à remercier les principaux examinateurs pour leur avis et leurs contributions inestimables sur le programme de rétablissement de 2002 : Paul Breen, National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, Nouvelle‑Zélande; Konstantin Karpov, California Fish and Game; Michele Patterson, Fonds mondial pour la nature; Scoresby A. Shepherd, South Australian Research and Development Institute; Norm Sloan, Parcs Canada; Anne Stewart, Bamfield Huu-ay-aht Community Abalone Project Society; Jane Watson, Malaspina University-College.

L’équipe de rétablissement tient également à souligner l’apport des nombreuses personnes qui ont formulé des commentaires et des avis au cours des ateliers de consultation ainsi que les personnes suivantes pour leurs présentations écrites en 2002 :Lorne Clayton, IEC International Collaborative Marine Research and Development Ltd.; Erica Boulter, Fonds mondial pour la nature; Robert DeVault, Outer Coast Oysters; Larry Golden; Michele James, Underwater Harvesters Association; Stefan Ochman, gestionnaire des pêches, Première nation Huu-ay-aht;  Dawn Renfrew, Bamfield Marine Sciences Center; Fred Hawkshaw; Mike Featherstone, Pacific Urchin Harvesters Association; Mark Biagi, Community Futures Development Corporation of Powell River; John Shepherd, Northwest Community College.


Pêches et Océans Canada aimerait remercier les nombreuses personnes et organismes qui travaillent au rétablissement à long terme de l’haliotide pie.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, le but de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est d’incorporer les considérations environnementales dans l’élaboration de projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairée du point de vue environnemental.

La planification du rétablissement profitera aux espèces en péril et à la biodiversité en général. Il est toutefois reconnu que des programmes peuvent produire, sans que cela ne soit voulu, des effets environnementaux négatifs qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des impacts possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés.

Le présent programme de rétablissement  sera manifestement bénéfique pour l’environnement en favorisant le rétablissement de l’haliotide pie. La possibilité que ce programme ait des effets négatifs non voulus sur d’autres espèces a été prise en considération. L’EES conclut que le présent programme profitera manifestement à l’environnement et qu’il n’entraînera aucun effet négatif important. Se reporter aux sections suivantes du document : Besoins de l’haliotide pie, Approches recommandées pour atteindre les objectifs de rétablissement et Effets sur d’autres espèces. 

Résidence 

Dans la LEP, la « résidence » est définie comme suit : « Gîte – terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable – occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage, l’alimentation ou l’hibernation. » [paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s’applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP : http://www.LEPregistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_f.cfm.