Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery strategy for the Northern Abalone

1. Background

1.1 Species Assessment Information from COSEWIC

Date of Assessment: May 2000 Common Name (population): northern abalone Scientific Name: Haliotis kamtschatkana COSEWIC Status: threatened Reason for designation: A patchily distributed marine mollusc found along the west coast. Highly prized for harvesting, it continues to decline since complete closure of the fishery in 1990, probably as a result of continued high levels of poaching. There is evidence that the decline and fragmentation of the population are impairing the reproductive ability of the species even though there persists a reservoir of reproductive adults. Canadian Occurrence: Pacific Ocean COSEWIC Status History: Designated threatened in April 1999. Status re-examined and confirmed in May 2000. Last assessment based on existing status report.

1.2  Description

Abalone are a marine mollusk related to snails and whelks.  The northern abalone, Haliotis kamtschatkana (Jonas 1845) is one of approximately 65 species of abalone (Haliotis spp.) found world-wide (Geiger and Poppe, 2000). H. kamtschatkana is called ‘pinto’ abalone in the United States, in keeping with the tradition of naming abalone according to their colour.  In B.C., the term ‘northern’ is used as the species is the world’s northernmost abalone (Sloan and Breen 1988).

The ear-shaped shell of northern abalone is relatively small, thin, elongate-oval and low, with three to six open holes, and sculpture of irregular lumps superimposed over the spiral structure.  The colour is mottled reddish or greenish with areas of white and blue (McLean 1966).  The top of the shell is usually camouflaged with algae.  The mother-of-pearl on the inside of the shell is less colourful than many other species (the New Zealand paua, H. iris, is the species most commonly seen in jewelry) and lacks a muscle scar.  The muscular foot is fringed with tentacles.  Two prominent tentacles mark the anterior end of the abalone.  The top spiral is carried posterior. 

1.3 Populations and Distribution

Northern abalone are found off the west coast of North America in shallow subtidal waters along exposed and semi-exposed rocky coastlines from Yakutat, Alaska (O’Clair and O’Clair 1998) to Turtle Bay, Baja California (McLean 1966).  In Canada, northern abalone occur only on the Pacific coast in patchy distribution on hard substrate in the intertidal and shallow subtidal.  Most of the adult abalone occur in near shore, exposed or semi-exposed coastal waters at <10 m depth.

 

Canada – B.C.

The northern abalone population has been assessed in B.C. since 1978 through surveys of index sites using a standard survey design (Breen and Adkins 1979).  Many of the surveys between 1978-90, and much of the commercial fishery, were conducted in areas along the south-east Haida Gwaii / Queen Charlotte Islands (QCI) and the central coast of B.C. (Winther et al. 1995; Harbo 1997; Campbell et al. 1998).  Most surveys were conducted in areas with significant commercial harvests, where northern abalone were most abundant (Sloan and Breen 1988).  Although there were a few surveys of southern B.C. (Quayle 1971; Breen et al. 1978; Adkins 1996; Wallace 1999), they did not afford the extended coverage provided by the northern surveys. 

Surveys at index sites in south east QCI and the central coast of B.C. have provided general time-series trends indicating that the abundance of northern abalone declined more than 75% between the period of 1977-84 and remained low and or continued to decrease through 2002 (Winther et al. 1995; Thomas and Campbell 1996; Campbell et al. 1998, 2000a; Atkins et al. 2006; Lessard et al. 2006).  The mean total northern abalone density at comparable index sites changed from 2.4 to 0.27 abalone per m2 for the central coast, during 1979-2001, and from 2.2 to 0.34 abalone per m2 for QCI during 1977-2002.  The similarity in northern abalone density between new random sites and index sites indicated that the mean densities from all index sites were reasonably representative of adult northern abalone sampled in areas of the central coast of B.C. in 1997 and south east QCI in 1998 (Campbell et al. 1998, 2000a).  Other surveys using different sampling designs also confirmed the low densities of northern abalone found by the index surveys in the same areas (Lessard et al. 2002; J. Lessard, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Nanaimo, BC, V9T 6N7, pers. comm.)

Examination of surveyed index sites in both QCI and the central coast indicated a general decline in the number of sites with at least one northern abalone per m2 between 1978 and 2002 (Campbell 2000b, Atkins et al. 2006; Lessard et al. 2007).  The proportion of index sites with large adult abalone (≥ 100 mm shell length (SL)) generally decreased from 89% and 77% to 27% and 25% for the central coast and QCI, respectively.  The decrease in density and decline in the number of sites with northern abalone suggested serial depletion of large abalone.

Surveys and observations in southern B.C. have indicated even lower densities of northern abalone (J. Lessard, pers. comm.).  New index site surveys were initiated on the West Coast of Vancouver Island in 2003 (WCVI) and in Queen Charlotte and Johnstone Straits in 2004.  Limited surveys were conducted in Georgia Basin in 2005.  The mean total density estimate was 0.09 abalone/m2 for WCVI from all sites sampled, but 0.21 abalone per m2 in Quatsino Sound where more sheltered abalone habitat was present (Atkins et al. 2004).  The mean total density estimates were 0.06 abalone per m2 in Queen Charlotte Strait and 0.02 abalone per m2 in Johnstone Strait (Davies et al. 2006).  Wallace (1999) reported relatively high population abundance of northern abalone in an area close to William Head Penitentiary, near Victoria, where the presence of penitentiary guards may have discouraged poachers from nearshore access.  However, during the more recent surveys at William Head in 2005, only three individuals were found at two (11%) of the 19 sites surveyed, and all were large (>100mm SL).  The most likely reason is simply that the large abalone found during previous surveys died and recruitment was low (J. Lessard, pers. comm.).  The mean density for all sites surveyed in Georgia Basin in 2005 was 0.0098 abalone per m2, which was significantly lower than the densities estimated in 1982 and (0.73 abalone per m2) and 1985 (1.15 abalone per m2) in the same area.  The lack of immature individuals and low adult density suggest poor potential for future recruitment in this area.

Breen (1986) and Sloan and Breen (1988) suggested that abalone populations probably fluctuated even in the absence of commercial fishing.  Exploratory surveys conducted in south eastern QCI during 1955 by Quayle (1962) suggested that northern abalone were less abundant in 1955 than in both 1914 (Thompson 1914) and in the late 1970s (Sloan and Breen 1988).  The extirpation of sea otters from B.C. by early 1900s had an effect on a number of invertebrate populations, including northern abalone. With the re-introduction and recent expansion of the sea otter population, restoration of the northern abalone population to the levels seen in the late 1970s is unlikely.

Global – U.S.A.

The IUCN Species Survival Commission has listed the global status of H. kamtschatkana as endangered based on an observed population size reduction of >50%.  Although the observed declines in B.C. and Washington showed a population size reduction of >80%, the assessment judged that “the historical elimination of sea otters led to abnormally large pre-exploitation level [of abalone]” and accordingly reduced the classification from critically endangered. The assessment considers significant populations of northern abalone to be absent south of San Juan, Orcas and Lopez Islands in Washington State (IUCN 2005). 

By comparison to B.C., the average density of northern abalone in Washington in 2006 at the San Juan Island index sites was 0.032 abalone per m2 and ranged from 0.000 to 0.082 abalone per m2; two sites out of ten had no abalone (Don Rothaus, Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, Mill Creek, WA 98012-1296, pers. comm.).  Pinto (i.e., northern) abalone were designated as a ‘State Candidate Species’ in Washington in 1998 and were listed as a ‘Species of Concern’ by  NOAA Fisheries in 2004 for protection under the federal Endangered Species Act

There are no estimates of population density from Alaska since the commercial fishery closed in 1996 (IUCN 2005).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie de rétablissement de l'haliotide pie

1. Contexte

1.1 Information sur l’évaluation de l’espèce provenant du COSEPAC

Date de l'évaluation : mai 2000 Nom commun (population) : haliotide pie Nom scientifique : Haliotis kamtschatkana Désignation du COSEPAC : espèce menacée Raison de la désignation : Ce mollusque marin, réparti de façon inégale le long de la côte ouest, est fortement prisé par les pêcheurs. Or, son déclin se poursuit malgré une fermeture complète de la pêche en 1990, probablement en raison des niveaux élevés de braconnage qui se maintiennent. Il existe des preuves voulant que le déclin et la fragmentation de la population affectent la capacité reproductrice de l'espèce, même s'il existe encore un réservoir d'adultes reproducteurs. Présence au Canada : Océan Pacifique Historique de la désignation du COSEPAC : Espèce désignée en tant qu'espèce menacée en avril 1999. La situation a été réexaminée et confirmée en mai 2000. La dernière évaluation est fondée sur le rapport de situation.

1.2 Description

L’haliotide est un mollusque marin apparenté aux escargots et aux buccins. L’haliotide pie, Haliotis kamtschatkana (Jonas, 1845) est l’une des quelque 65 espèces d’haliotide (Haliotis spp.) présentes dans le monde (Geiger et Poppe, 2000). H. kamtschatkana est appelée « pinto abalone » aux États‑Unis, selon la tradition qui consiste à nommer les haliotides en fonction de leur couleur. En C.‑B., le terme « ormeau nordique » est également utilisé, en faisant référence au fait qu’il s’agit de l’haliotide vivant le plus au nord (Sloan et Breen, 1988).

La coquille en forme d’oreille de l’haliotide pie est relativement petite, mince, aplatie et ovale. Près de la marge étroite de la coquille, il y a de trois à six trous. La structure spiralée de la coquille présente un relief en bosses de forme irrégulière. La coquille est mouchetée de rougeâtre ou de verdâtre et comporte également des parties blanches ou bleues (McLean, 1966). Le dessus de la coquille se camoufle habituellement parmi les algues. Le nacre à l’intérieur de la coquille est moins coloré que chez beaucoup d’autres espèces (paua de Nouvelle‑Zélande, H. iris, est l’espèce utilisée le plus souvent en bijouterie) et ne possède d’impression du muscle abducteur. Le pied est bordé de tentacules. Deux tentacules proéminentes marquent l’extrémité antérieure de l’haliotide. La spirale supérieure est portée vers l’arrière.

1.3 Populations et répartition

L’haliotide pie est présente au large de la côte ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, dans la zone infralittorale peu profonde, le long de côtes rocheuses, dans des eaux exposées et semi‑exposées. Son aire de répartition s’étend de Yakutat, en Alaska (O’Clair et O’Clair, 1998), jusqu’à Turtle Bay, en Basse‑Californie (McLean, 1966). Au Canada, l’haliotide pie n’est présente que sur la côte du Pacifique. Elle forme des groupements sur des substrats durs, dans la zone intertidale et la zone infralittorale peu profonde. La plupart des haliotides adultes sont observées dans des eaux côtières exposées ou semi‑exposées d’une profondeur < 10 m.

Canada – C.-B.

Depuis 1978, la population d’haliotides pies de la C.‑B. est évaluée sur des repères selon un modèle de relevés standard (Breen et Adkins, 1979). Nombre des relevés effectués entre 1978 et 1990, tout comme la plupart des pêches commerciales, ont eu lieu dans des zones longeant le sud-est d’Haida Gwaii/îles de la Reine‑Charlotte (IRC) et le secteur centre de la côte de la C.‑B. (Winther et al., 1995; Harbo, 1997; Campbell et al., 1998). La plupart des relevés ont été effectués dans des zones où avaient lieu d’importantes prises commerciales et où l’haliotide pie était la plus abondante (Sloan et Breen, 1988). Les quelques relevés menés dans le secteur sud de la côte de la C.‑B. (Quayle, 1971; Breen et al., 1978; Adkins, 1996; Wallace, 1999) n’ont pas eu une couverture aussi étendue que ceux faits au nord.

Les relevés effectués dans le secteur sud-est des IRC et dans le secteur centre de la côte de la C.‑B. révèlent des tendances chronologiques générales indiquant que l’abondance de l’haliotide pie a décliné de plus de 75 % entre 1977 et 1984. Ces relevés indiquent par ailleurs que l’abondance de l’haliotide pie est demeurée faible ou qu’elle a continué à diminuer jusqu’en 2002 (Winther et al., 1995; Thomas et Campbell, 1996; Campbell et al., 1998, 2000a; Atkins et al., 2006; Lessard et al., 2006). La densité moyenne totale des haliotides pies à des sites repères comparables a varié de 2,4 à 0,27 individus par m2 dans le cas du secteur centre de la côte de 1979 à 2001; cette densité est passée de 2,2 à 0,34 individus par m2 pour les IRC de 1977 à 2002. Les similitudes de la densité des haliotides pies entre de nouveaux sites échantillonnés au hasard et les sites repères nous indiquent que la densité moyenne observée pour l’ensemble des sites repères est raisonnablement représentative des haliotides pies adultes échantillonnées dans des zones du secteur centre de la côte de la C.‑B. en 1997 et du secteur sud‑est des IRC en 1998 (Campbell et al., 1998, 2000a). D’autres relevés effectués à l’aide d’autres modes d’échantillonnage confirment également les faibles densités d’haliotides pies observées dans le cadre des relevés menés à des sites repères situés dans les mêmes secteurs (Lessard et al., 2002; J. Lessard, Pêches et Océans Canada, Nanaimo, C.‑B., V9T 6N7, comm. pers.)

L’examen des sites repères étudiés aux IRC et dans le secteur centre de la côte de la C.-B. révèle un déclin général quant au nombre de sites où on dénombre au moins une haliotide pie par m2 entre 1978 et 2002 (Campbell, 2000b, Atkins et al., 2006; Lessard et al., 2007). La proportion des sites repères où l’on trouve des haliotides pies de grande taille (longueur de coquille (LC) ³100 mm) a, en général, diminué de89 et 77 % à 27 et 25 % respectivement pour le secteur centre de la côte et les IRC. La diminution au chapitre de la densité des haliotides pies et le déclin du nombre de sites où elles sont présentes laissent croire à un épuisement des haliotides pies de grande taille.

Les relevés et les observations effectués dans le sud de la C.‑B. révèlent des densités encore plus faibles d’haliotides pies (J. Lessard, comm. pers.). On a commencé à effectuer des relevés à de nouveaux sites repères sur la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver (COIV) en 2003 et dans les détroits de la Reine‑Charlotte et de Johnstone en 2004. Par ailleurs, des relevés limités ont été menés dans le bassin de Georgia en 2005. L’estimation moyenne totale de la densité était de 0,9 haliotide/m2 pour la COIV à partir de tous les sites échantillonnés, mais de 0,21 haliotide par m2 dans le détroit de Quatsino, où se trouve un habitat davantage protégé pour l’haliotide pie (Atkins et al., 2004). Les estimations moyennes totales de la densité étaient de 0,6 haliotide par m2 dans le détroit de la Reine‑Charlotte et de 0,02 haliotide par m2 dans le détroit de Johnstone (Davies et al., 2006). Wallace (1999) fait état d’une abondance relativement élevée d’haliotides pies dans un secteur près du pénitencier William Head, près de Victoria, où la présence des gardiens de prison peut avoir découragé certains braconniers à s’aventurer près du rivage. Cependant, au cours des plus récents relevés effectués à William Head, en 2005, seulement trois individus ont été trouvés à deux (11 %) des 19 sites visités, et tous étaient de grande taille (LC > 100 mm). La raison la plus probable est que les haliotides de grande taille trouvées lors des relevés précédents étaient sous doute morts et que le recrutement avait été faible (J. Lessard, comm. pers.). La densité moyenne pour l’ensemble des sites étudiés dans le bassin de Georgia en 2005 était de 0,0098 individus par m2, ce qui est de beaucoup inférieur aux densités estimées en 1982 (0,73 individus par m2) et en 1985 (1,15 individus par m2) dans le même secteur. L’absence d’individus immatures et la faible densité des adultes laissent croire à un faible potentiel de recrutement dans l’avenir pour ce secteur.

Breen (1986) ainsi que Sloan et Breen (1988) indiquent que les populations d’haliotides ont probablement fluctué, et ce, même en l’absence d’une pêche commerciale. Des relevés exploratoires menés dans le secteur sud-est des IRC en 1955 par Quayle (1962) indiquent que l’haliotide pie était moins abondante en 1955 qu’en 1914 (Thompson, 1914) et qu’à la fin des années 1970 (Sloan et Breen, 1988). La disparition des loutres de mer de la C.‑B. au début des années 1900 a eu un effet sur un certain nombre de populations d’invertébrés, y compris l’haliotide pie. La réintroduction et l’expansion récente de la population de loutres de mer rend donc improbable le rétablissement de la population de l’haliotide pie aux niveaux observés vers la fin des années 1970.

Monde – États-Unis

La commission de sauvegarde des espèces de l’IUCN a désigné H. kamtschatkana en tant qu’espèce menacée de disparition à l’échelle mondiale d’après la réduction observée de l’effectif de l’espèce (> 50 %). Même si les déclins observés en C.‑B. et dans l’État de Washington indiquent une réduction de la population (> 80 %), l’évaluation a montré que l’élimination historique des loutres de mer avait entraîné des niveaux anormalement élevés en période de pré-exploitation [de l’haliotide] et que, par conséquent, l’espèce ne devait plus être considérée comme étant dangereusement en voie de disparition. L’évaluation indique également l’absence d’importantes populations d’haliotides pies au sud des îles San Juan, Orcas et Lopez dans l’État de Washington (IUCN, 2005).

Comparativement à ce qui a été observé en C.‑B., la densité moyenne de l’haliotide pie dans l’État de Washington en 2006, aux sites repères de l’île San Juan, était de 0,032 individus par m2 et variait de 0,000 à 0,082 individus par m2; aucune haliotide n’a été observée dans deux sites sur dix (Don Rothaus, Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife, Mill Creek, WA 98012-1296, comm. pers.). L’haliotide pie a été désignée en tant qu’« espèce candidate » (State Candidate Species) dans l’État de Washington en 1998 et a été désignée en tant qu’espèce préoccupante par la NOAA (Fisheries) en 2004 afin qu’elle soit protégée en vertu de la Endangered Species Act.

Aucune estimation de la densité de la population de l’Alaska n’est disponible depuis que la pêche commerciale a été fermée en 1996 (IUCN, 2005).