Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery strategy for the Northern Abalone

1.4 Needs of the Northern Abalone

1.4.1 Habitat and biological needs

Northern abalone are normally found on firm substrates, such as rocks, boulders, or bedrock, and in areas of moderate to high sea water exchange, such as in exposed or semi-exposed coastlines.  Most of the adult northern abalone occur in near shore, exposed or semi-exposed coastal waters at <10 m depth (Breen and Sloan, 1988). 

Currently, there is ample habitat available for the northern abalone population on the coast of B.C.  Although the abalone population has declined, there has been no known significant reduction in available habitat.  Therefore, habitat loss is not a major concern in the recovery of northern abalone at this time in comparison with the identified threats.

Northern abalone growth can vary considerably between areas depending on the extent of exposure to wave action and availability and quality of food.  Growth of adults tends to be stunted in highly exposed outer coastal areas where food may be limited because of strong wave action and water currents (referred as ‘surf abalone’).  Feeding opportunities may be reduced because abalone would be less able to catch and hold onto drift algae.  When “surf” abalone were transplanted to calmer, kelp abundant habitats, growth rates were higher than for abalone in high-energy areas (Emmett and Jamieson 1988).  Abalone growth was more rapid in moderately exposed areas with giant kelp, Macrocystis integrifolia, or bull kelp, Nereocystis luetkeana, kelp forests than at highly exposed areas with Pterygophora californica kelp forests (Sloan and Breen 1988).      

Adult northern abalone aggregate in warm shallow water areas to broadcast their gametes simultaneously (Breen and Adkins 1980).  Spawning off B.C. generally occurs between April and July.  Large female northern abalone (> 100 mm SL) contribute substantially more to population fecundity than small mature abalone (Campbell et al. 1992; Campbell et al. 2003).  Cues that cause mass spawning in Haliotis spp. can include environmental factors such as temperature changes (Sloan and Breen 1988), and minor storms and typhoons (Sasaki and Shepherd 1995).  Studies on Haliotis spp. (Clavier 1992; McShane 1995a,b; Shepherd and Partington 1995; Babcock and Keesing 1999) and sea urchins (Levitan et al. 1992) have emphasized reduced fertilization success can be caused by dilution of gametes through reduced adult spawner densities (Levitan and Sewell 1998).  Since fertilization success depends on the aggregation density of abalone, exploitation rates and high natural mortality on abalone aggregations are likely important in influencing egg production (Campbell 1997). 

Within 48 hours after fertilization, the planktonic trochophore larvae emerge from their egg membranes. The planktonic phase of northern abalone is short and temperature dependent (12 days at 14 degrees Celsius, 13 days at 17.5 degrees Celsius)(Standley 1987).  Larvae settle on crustose algae (Sloan and Breen 1988).  Small juvenile (<10 mm SL) northern abalone are hard to find.  Juvenile northern abalone (10-70 mm SL) are found under and on exposed areas of rocks, whereas the majority of adults (≥ 70 mm SL) are found on exposed rock surfaces.  More juvenile abalone emerge on to exposed rock surfaces at night than in the day.  Densities of juvenile abalone (≤ 30 mm SL) surveyed at study sites in the Pacific Rim National Park Reserve were significantly higher (by a factor of 15.74) at night than in the day (H. Holmes, Parks Canada Agency, Pacific Rim National Park Reserve, Ucluelet, BC VOR 3A0, pers. comm.).  As the juveniles develop to maturity, their diet changes from benthic diatoms and micro-algae by moving to shallower, more exposed areas to feed on drift macro-algae.  The general habitat areas of the adults and their juvenile offspring could be within close proximity of each other.  Studies have suggested that larval dispersal in some Haliotis spp. may occur in small geographic areas, on a scale of hundreds of meters to several kilometres (Tegner and Butler 1985a; Prince et al. 1987; McShane 1992, 1995a,b; McShane et al. 1988). 

1.4.2 Ecological role

Within the near shore, exposed or semi-exposed coastal waters, northern abalone play the role of herbivore and are prey of many species.  Recovery of northern abalone may be related to the abundance and health of kelp forests in certain areas.   Northern abalone compete with other species (e.g., red sea urchins, Strongylocentrotus franciscanus) for food and space.  Northern abalone are prey for sea otter, Enhydra lutris; river otter, Lutra canadensis; mink, Mustela vison; crab, Cancer species; sea stars, Pycnopodia helianthoides; octopus, Octopus dofleini; wolf eel, Anarrhichthys ocellatus cabezon, Scorpaenichthys marmoratus; and other sculpin fish species, Cottidae spp.  The role of sea otters in shaping the nearshore kelp forest ecosystem likely has a significant impact on the structure of the northern abalone population where the two species co-exist.  Studies have shown that abalone, in areas where sea otters are present, are restricted to crevices and other cryptic habitats where they are inaccessible or hidden from sea otters (Watson 2000). 

1.4.3 Limiting factors

The northern abalone is vulnerable to harvest because this species has a patchy distribution, a short larval period, is slow growing, relatively long-lived, and has low or sporadic recruitment. Also, mature individuals, which tend to accumulate in shallow water, are easily accessible to harvesters.

The appropriate size and distribution of the northern abalone population required to provide effective reproduction and subsequent sufficient recruitment are unknown.  Current knowledge of abalone species, in general, suggests there needs to be sufficient densities within patches of large mature abalone close enough together to successfully spawn and produce viable offspring (Babcock and Keesing 1999). 

Recruitment is defined as the number of juveniles growing and surviving to the adult population.  Generally, high densities of adult northern abalone are required to ensure sufficient recruitment.  Shepherd and Partington (1995), using a Ricker stock recruitment curve, suggested that there was a critical stock density threshold (0.15 per m2) for the H. laevigata in Waterloo Bay, South Australia, below which the risk of recruitment failure was high.  Later studies by Shepherd and Rodda (S. Shepherd, SARDI Aquatic Sciences, Henley Beach, South Australia, pers. comm.) have shown higher thresholds at around 0.3 per m2.  Shepherd and Brown (1993) found that a “minimum viable population” of more than 800 individuals of H. laevigata was required at West Island, Australia; anything less caused recruitment failure.  Shepherd and Baker (1998) suggested that recruitment to an abalone fishery could be relatively lower and more variable in small abalone populations than in larger populations.  In this case, small populations would need to have more egg production to prevent depletion.  These studies supported the influence of the Allee effect or depensation (Allee et al. 1949) in which low abalone densities and few aggregations reduced reproductive success due to low fertilization of gametes. 

Recent modelsimulations suggested that mortality would have to decrease in order for northern abalone populations to increase (Lessard et al. 2006).

1.5 Socio-economic value

Long harvested by coastal First Nations, abalone (Haliotis spp.) meat was consumed as food and the shells or pieces of shell of northern abalone or red abalone (H. rufescens) traded from California were used in B.C. as fishing lures, in jewelry and as an inlay for carvings (Stewart 1977, Sloan 2003).  Abalone buttons on a ceremonial blanket were a sign of wealth to the Tsimshian (Reece 2000).  Harvest was generally restricted to the lowest tides, although some, such as the Haida, also used a three-pronged spear to access abalone in subtidal areas, 2 m below the lowest tide (Jones 2000).  B.C.’s coastal First Nations express continued concern that the northern abalone population is threatened, which results in food, social and ceremonial fisheries being closed[1]. Interest in food, social and ceremonial fisheries for abalone has provided an incentive for northern abalone rebuilding programs in some areas.  Some of these programs go beyond the objectives of the recovery strategy, but nonetheless support northern abalone recovery.

In addition to the concerns of First Nations, the closures of B.C.’s commercial and recreational abalone fisheries represented significant economic and recreational loss to participants, associated industries and coastal communities.  While small recreational and commercial fisheries for northern abalone occurred in B.C. as early as 1900, a commercial dive fishery directed on northern abalone began in earnest in 1972.  Developing through the 1970s, B.C.’s commercial fishery peaked in 1977 with landings of 481 t.  The majority of harvest occurred in the north and central coast of B.C. and in the Queen Charlotte Islands (Adkins 2000; Campbell 2000b).  The value of the commercial fishery peaked at $1.86M (landed value) in 1978 (Sloan and Breen 1988).  Northern abalone were also regarded as a gourmet food and recreational divers were known to have had a keen interest in northern abalone harvest.  Conservation concerns led to the complete closure of all northern abalone fisheries in B.C. in 1990, including recreational, commercial and First Nations’ food, social and ceremonial fisheries. 

There is no other abalone species occurring within Canada’s Pacific Coast with sufficient abundance to directly replace the northern abalone fisheries.  Recreational and commercial dive fisheries and First Nations’ food, social and ceremonial fisheries continue for other invertebrate species (the value of commercial invertebrate fisheries in B.C. is significant, currently estimated at $122.1M) (2005 British Columbia Seafood Industry Year in Review). 

There is currently no commercial harvest of northern abalone.  There has never been a commercial fishery for northern abalone in Washington State, and Alaska's commercial fishery was closed in 1996.  The recreational fishery in Washington also closed in 1994, but there is currently an Alaskan sport/subsistence fishery.  Other species of abalone (e.g., red abalone, H. rufescens) from aquaculture and commercial fisheries in other jurisdictions (including Australia, Mexico, China, Chile, and the U.S.) are still available in B.C.

Pilot projects were initiated in 2000 under the abalone rebuilding strategy (Dovetail 1999) to develop aquaculture techniques for northern abalone in B.C.  The Bamfield Huu-ay-aht Community Abalone Project (BHCAP) continues to provide support to the abalone recovery strategy (including population rebuilding by out-planting hatchery-raised northern abalone to the wild) and also has the goal of providing economic opportunity in the community.  The BHCAP’s operations are authorized under section 73 of SARA.  The first sales of cultured northern abalone were made by BHCAP in 2006. 

Recreational diving and tourism associations have expressed an interest in maintaining healthy aquatic environments, including healthy and abundant invertebrate communities, which generally support abalone recovery efforts.  The general public also has an interest in addressing species at risk and maintaining a healthy environment.

[1] In the event abalone populations are recovered to sufficient levels, priorities will be given to First Nations’ food, social, ceremonial fisheries pursuant to Section 35(1) of the Canadian Constitution.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie de rétablissement de l'haliotide pie

1.4 Besoins de l’haliotide pie

1.4.1 Besoins en matière d’habitat et besoins biologiques

D’ordinaire, on trouve l’haliotide pie sur des substrats durs, tels que des roches, des blocs rocheux ou des roches en place, ainsi que dans des zones où l’action des vagues est d’une puissance allant de modérée à élevée, comme c’est le cas pour eaux côtières exposées ou semi‑exposées. La majeure partie des haliotides pies adultes sont présentes près des côtes, dans des eaux exposées ou semi‑exposées d’une profondeur  < 10 m  (Breen et Sloan, 1988).

Présentement, il y a suffisamment d’habitats disponibles pour la population d’haliotides pies sur la côte de la C.‑B. Bien que la population d’haliotides ait décliné, aucune réduction importante n’a été enregistrée du côté de l’habitat disponible. En conséquence, la perte d’habitats n’est pas une préoccupation majeure pour le rétablissement de l’haliotide pie à l’heure actuelle, comparativement aux menaces relevées.

La croissance de l’haliotide pie peut varier considérablement d’une zone à l’autre, selon l’ampleur de l’exposition à l’action des vagues ainsi que selon la disponibilité et la qualité de la nourriture. La croissance des adultes tend à s’arrêter dans les zones côtières du large hautement exposées, où la nourriture peut être limitée en raison de la forte action des vagues et des courants marins (« haliotides surfeuses »). Les possibilités de trouver de la nourriture peuvent être réduites du fait que l’haliotide aurait  plus de difficulté à saisir des algues à la dérive et à s’y maintenir. Lorsque des « haliotides surfeuses » ont été transférées  dans des habitats plus calmes et plus riches en varech, leur taux de croissance était plus élevé que celui des  haliotides qui fréquentent des zones de grande énergie (Emmett et Jamieson, 1988). La croissance de l’haliotide est plus rapide dans des zones modérément exposées avec des peuplements de varech géant, Macrocystis integrifolia, ou de nereocystis de Lutke (Nereocystis luetkeana), que dans des zones fortement exposées avec des peuplements de Pterygophora californica (Sloan et Breen, 1988).  

Les haliotides pies adultes se regroupent dans des zones d’eau peu profonde et chaude pour y répandre simultanément leurs gamètes (Breen et Adkins, 1980). La reproduction au large des côtes de la C.‑B. se produit généralement entre avril et juillet. Les femelles de grande taille (LC ³100 mm) contribuent beaucoup plus à la fécondité de la population que les petites femelles adultes (Campbell et al., 1992; Campbell et al., 2003). Parmi les facteurs qui peuvent provoquer une reproduction de masse chez Haliotis spp., mentionnons des facteurs environnementaux tels que les changements de température (Sloan et Breen, 1988) ainsi que des tempêtes mineures et des typhons (Sasaki et Shepherd, 1995). Les études menées sur Haliotis spp. (Clavier, 1992; McShane, 1995a,b; Shepherd et Partington, 1995; Babcock et Keesing, 1999) et sur les oursins (Levitan et al., 1992) ont fait ressortir que la dilution des gamètes en raison d’une moins grande densité d’adultes reproducteurs pouvait entraîner une baisse du succès de la fertilisation (Levitan et Sewell, 1998). Puisque le succès de la fertilisation repose sur la densité des groupements d’haliotides, les taux d’exploitation et la forte mortalité naturelle dans les groupements d’haliotides pourraient être des facteurs importants influant sur la production d’œufs (Campbell, 1997).

Dans les 48 heures suivant la fertilisation, la trochophore planctonique émerge des œufs. La phase planctonique de l’haliotide pie est courte et dépendante de la température (12 jours à 14 ºC, 13 jours à 17,5 ºC (Standley, 1987). Les larves se déposent sur des algues calcifiées (Sloan et Breen, 1988). Les petits haliotides pies juvéniles (LC < 10 mm) sont difficiles à trouver. Les haliotides pies juvéniles (LC de 10 à 70 mm) se trouvent sous ou sur des surfaces rocheuses exposées,  tandis que la majorité des adultes (LC ³ 70 mm) sont observés sur des surfaces rocheuses exposées. Le nombre d’haliotides juvéniles visibles sur les surfaces rocheuses exposées est plus élevé la nuit que le jour. Les densités d’haliotides juvéniles (LC £ 30 mm) observées sur les sites à l’étude de la réserve du Parc national Pacific Rim étaient beaucoup plus élevées (par un facteur de 15,74) la nuit que le jour (H. Holmes, Agence Parcs Canada, réserve du Parc national Pacific Rim, Ucluelet, C.‑B., VOR 3A0, comm. pers.). Au fur et à mesure que les juvéniles gagnent en maturité, leur régime alimentaire passe de diatomées benthiques et de microalgues aux microalgues entraînées par la dérive présentes dans les zones moins profondes et plus exposées. Les zones fréquentées généralement par les adultes et celles fréquentées par leur progéniture seraient à proximité les une des autres. Les études laissent entendre que la dispersion larvaire chez certaines espèces d’haliotide peut aller d’aires géographiques peu étendues d’une centaine de mètres à plusieurs kilomètres (Tegner et Butler 1985a; Prince et al., 1987; McShane, 1992, 1995a,b; McShane et al., 1988).

1.4.2 Rôle écologique

Dans les zones côtières exposées ou semi‑exposées, l’haliotide pie est un herbivore et une proie pour de nombreuses espèces. Le rétablissement de l’haliotide pie peut être associé à l’abondance et à la santé des peuplements de varech dans certaines zones. L’haliotide pie est en concurrence avec d’autres espèces (p. ex., oursins rouges [Strongylocentrotus franciscanus]) pour la nourriture et l’espace. L’haliotide pie est une proie pour la loutre de mer (Enhydra lutris), la loutre de rivière (Lutra canadensis), le vison (Mustela vison), le crabe (Cancer spp.), les étoiles de mer (Pycnopodia helianthoides), les pieuvres (Octopus dofleini), le loup ocellé (Anarrhichthys ocellatus), le chabot marbré (Scorpaenichthys marmoratus) et d’autres espèces de chabots (Cottidae spp.). Le rôle joué par les loutres de mer dans l’écosystème des peuplements de varech côtiers aurait un impact important sur la structure des populations d’haliotides pies lorsque les deux espèces cohabitent. Des études ont démontré que l’haliotide, dans les secteurs où les loutres de mer sont présentes, se cache dans des crevasses ou d’autres habitats cryptiques où elle est inaccessible aux loutres de mer ou cachée à leur vue (Watson, 2000).

1.4.3 Facteurs limitatifs

L’haliotide pie est vulnérable à la pêche du fait que sa répartition est inégale (groupements), qu’elle possède une courte période larvaire, que sa croissance est lente, qu’elle vit relativement longtemps et qu’elle affiche un recrutement lent et sporadique. En outre, les individus adultes, qui ont tendance à se regrouper en eau peu profonde, sont facilement accessibles aux pêcheurs.

On ne sait pas quelle abondance et quelle aire de répartition doit avoir la population d’haliotides pies pour assurer une reproduction efficace et un recrutement suffisant par la suite. En général, nos connaissances sur des espèces d’haliotides nous indiquent qu’il faut qu’il y ait des densités suffisantes d’haliotides adultes de grande taille assez proches les unes des autres pour assurer une reproduction efficaces et produire une descendance viable (Babcock et Keesing, 1999).

Le recrutement se définit comme le nombre de juvéniles qui parviennent à joindre les rangs de la population adulte. En général, il faut des densités élevées d’haliotides pies adultes pour assurer un recrutement suffisant. Shepherd et Partington (1995), à l’aide d’une courbe du recrutement du stock de Ricker, suggère l’existence d’un seuil de densité critique du stock (0,15 individu par m2) pour H. laevigata dans la baie Waterloo, en Australie méridionale, en deçà duquel le risque d’échec du recrutement est élevé. Des études ultérieures menées par Shepherd et Rodda (S. Shepherd, SARDI Aquatic Sciences, Henley Beach, Australie méridionale, comm. pers.) ont démontré l’existence de  seuils plus élevés, à environ 0,3 individus par m2. Shepherd et Brown (1993) ont constaté qu’une « population minimale viable » (de plus de 800 individus d’H. laevigata) était nécessaire à l’île Ouest, en Australie; toute abondance inférieure à ce seuil entraîne un échec du recrutement. Shepherd et Baker (1998) indiquent que le recrutement dans une pêche à l’haliotide pourrait être relativement moins élevé et plus variable chez les petites populations d’haliotides que chez les grandes populations. En pareil cas, les petites populations auraient besoin d’une plus grande production d’œufs pour éviter d’être décimées. Ces études soutiennent l’incidence de l’effet d’Allee, ou effet dépensatoire (Allee et al., 1949), selon lequel de faibles densités d’haliotides et un nombre limité de groupements réduisent le succès de la reproduction en raison du faible taux de fertilisation des gamètes.

Selon de récentes simulations effectuées avec des modèles, la mortalité devrait diminuer pour que les populations d’haliotides pies puissent s’accroître (Lessard et al., 2006).

1.5 Valeur socio-économique

Les Premières nations côtières ont pendant longtemps consommé la chair des haliotides (Haliotis spp.). Les coquilles et des morceaux de coquille de l’haliotide pie ou de l’haliotide rouge (Hrufescens) provenant d’aussi loin que la Californie étaient acquis par les Premières nations de la C.‑B. qui les utilisaient pour fabriquer des leurres de pêche, des bijoux et des incrustations pour leurs sculptures (Stewart, 1977; Sloan, 2003). La présence de boutons faits de coquille d’haliotide sur des couvertures de cérémonie représentait un signe de richesse pour les Tsimshian (Reece, 2000). La récolte était en général limitée aux zones submergées par les marées les plus basses, quoique certains groupes, comme les Haida, utilisaient également un genre de trident pour avoir accès aux haliotides présentes dans les zones infralittorales, 2 m plus bas que les zones submergées par les marées les plus basses (Jones, 2000). Les Premières nations côtières de la C.‑B. se disent préoccupées par le fait que la population d’haliotides pies soit menacée, les pêches pratiquées à des fins alimentaires, sociales et cérémonielles étant fermées[1]. L’intérêt manifesté à l’égard des pêches à l’haliotide à des fins de subsistance, sociales et cérémonielles a été une source de motivation pour l’établissement de programmes de reconstitution des stocks d’haliotides pies dans certaines régions. Certains de ces programmes vont au-delà des objectifs du programme de rétablissement, mais soutiennent néanmoins le rétablissement de l’haliotide pie.

En plus des préoccupations des Premières nations, les fermetures des pêches commerciales et sportives à l’haliotide ont représenté une perte importante pour les participants de ces secteurs, les industries connexes et les communautés côtières. Même si une petite pêche sportive et commerciale à l’haliotide avait lieu en C.‑B. dès les années 1900, c’est en 1972 qu’une pêche en plongée commerciale dirigée à l’haliotide pie a sérieusement débuté. Prenant de l’ampleur tout au long des années 1970, la pêche commerciale a atteint un sommet en 1977, avec des débarquements de 481 t. La majorité de la pêche se déroulait dans les secteurs nord et centre de la côte de la C.‑B. et dans les îles de la Reine‑Charlotte (Adkins, 2000; Campbell, 2000b). La valeur de la pêche commerciale a atteint un sommet de 1,86 M$ (valeur débarquée) en 1978 (Sloan et Breen, 1988). L’haliotide pie était également considérée comme un aliment gastronomique, et les plongeurs sportifs avaient un vif intérêt pour cette espèce. Les préoccupations relatives à la conservation de l’espèce ont entraîné la fermeture complète de toutes les pêches à l’haliotide pie en C.‑B. en 1990, y compris la pêche sportive, la pêche commerciale et la pêche pratiquée par les Premières nations à des fins de subsistance, sociales et cérémonielles.

Il n’existe aucune autre espèce d’haliotide sur la côte canadienne du Pacifique dont l’abondance est suffisante pour remplacer directement les pêches à l’haliotide pie. Les pêches sportive et commerciale en plongée ainsi que la pêche pratiquée à de fins de subsistance, sociales et cérémonielles par les Premières nations se poursuivent pour d’autres espèces d’invertébrés (la valeur des pêches commerciales aux invertébrés en C.‑B. est importante et est estimée présentement à 122,1 M$) (2005 British Columbia Seafood Industry Year in Review).

Présentement, aucune pêche commerciale à l’haliotide pie n’est pratiquée. Il n’y a jamais eu de pêche commerciale à l’haliotide pie dans l’État de Washington, et la pêche commerciale de l’Alaska a été fermée en 1996. La pêche sportive a été fermée en 1994 dans l’État de Washington, mais il y a présentement une pêche sportive/de subsistance en Alaska. D’autres espèces d’haliotides (p. ex., haliotide rouge, H. rufescens) provenant d’exploitations aquicoles ou de pêches commerciales dans d’autres pays (y compris l’Australie, le Mexique, la Chine, le Chili et les États-Unis) sont encore disponibles en C.‑B.

Des projets pilotes ont été mis de l’avant en 2000 en vertu du programme de reconstitution du stock d’haliotides (Dovetail, 1999). Ces projets visent à élaborer des techniques d’élevage pour l’haliotide pie en C.‑B. Le Bamfield Huu-ay-aht Community Abalone Project (BHCAP) assure toujours un soutien au programme de rétablissement de l’haliotide (y compris la reconstitution du stock par l’ensemencement en milieu sauvage d’haliotides pies élevées en écloseries); ce programme a également comme but d’offrir des possibilités économiques à la communauté. Les activités du BHCAP sont autorisées en vertu de l’article 73 de la LEP. Les premières ventes d’haliotides pies d’élevage ont été effectuées par le BHCAP en 2006.

Les associations touristiques et les groupes de plongeurs ont exprimé un intérêt à l’égard du maintien d’environnements aquatiques de qualité, y compris de communautés d’invertébrés abondantes et en santé, ce qui en général vient soutenir les efforts de rétablissement de l’haliotide. Le grand public a également un intérêt envers la protection des espèces en péril et le maintien d’un environnement de qualité.

[1] Si les populations d’haliotides se rétablissaient à des niveaux suffisants, la priorité serait accordée aux pêches des Premières nations à des fins de subsistance, sociales et cérémonielles, conformément au paragraphe 35(1) de la Constitution canadienne.