Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery strategy for the Northern Abalone

2. Recovery

2.1 Recovery Goal

Immediate Goal (over the next five years):

Halt the decline of the existing wild northern abalone population in B.C. in order to reduce the risk of this species becoming endangered.

Long-term Goal (over the next 30 years):

Increase number and densities of wild northern abalone to self-sustainable levels in each biogeographic zone of B.C. (Haida Gwaii, Queen Charlotte and Johnstone Strait, North and Central Coast, Georgia Basin, West Coast of Vancouver Island), in order to remove northern abalone from threatened status. 

The goal of increasing northern abalone to sustainable levels can be expected to take several decades.

2.2 Recovery Feasibility

Given time, favourable environmental conditions, and reduced mortalities, recovery of northern abalone is feasible, as there remains a reservoir of reproductive adults and high quality habitat is available.  Rebuilding techniques are available to improve recruitment.  Aggregating reproductive adults appears to improve localized recruitment (Parks Canada Agency, in preparation).  Out-planting has shown some success in population rebuilding in other jurisdictions (Seki and Taniguchi 2000; Shepherd et al. 2000; Tegner 2000; Roberts and Andrew 2003; Cook 2003; de Waal et al. 2003 in press).  Protocols have recently been developed for regulating works and developments on, in and under the water (Lessard et al. 2006) to provide for sufficient habitat and spawning aggregations that are important to recovery.  Further study is expected to provide guidance towards defining recovery objectives for northern abalone in the presence of sea otters (i.e., how northern abalone can co-exist with sea otters). 

However, the approaches for recovery will need to focus on the long-term, given the two main threats; illegal harvesting has continued in spite of the sixteen-year ban on harvesting and low recruitment is influenced by unfavorable environmental and biotic factors that can not be predicted nor controlled. Modeling of collapsed populations gave time periods to recovery of 50-100 years due to subtle ecosystem shifts or the Allee effect (Allee et al. 1949) (S. Shepherd, pers. comm.).

As more information is gathered, refinement to the recovery goal(s) and assessment of feasibility in some areas of B.C. may be required.  In particular, northern abalone densities in the southernmost end of Vancouver Island (see Section 1.3 Populations and Distribution, Georgia Basin) suggest poor potential for recruitment in this area.  Predation from the recovering sea otter population may increase mortality to unsustainable levels where the northern abalone population is already depleted from other factors (e.g., illegal harvest and poor recruitment).

2.3 Population and Distribution Objective(s)

The objectives for at least the next five years will be:

  1. To observe that mean densities of large adult (> 100 mm SL) northern abalone do not decline below 0.1 per m2 at surveyed index sites in Haida Gwaii and North and Central Coast, and that the percentage of surveyed index sites with large adult (> 100 mm SL) northern abalone does not decrease below 40%.
  2. To observe that the mean total density estimates at newly established index sites in the Queen Charlotte and Johnstone Straits do not decline below the level observed in 2004 (0.06 northern abalone per m2 and 0.02 northern abalone per m2, respectively), and the mean total density estimates for the West Coast of Vancouver Island do not decline below the level observed in 2003 (0.09 northern abalone per m2). 
  3. To observe at the index sites (in areas without sea otters) that the annual estimated mortality rate for mature (≥ 70 mm SL) northern abalone is reduced to <0.20 and the mean densities of mature (≥ 70 mm SL) northern abalone are increased to >0.32 per m2.
  4. To observe at the index sites (in areas without sea otters) that the proportion of quadrats (m2) with northern abalone is increased to > 40%.

Objectives #1 and #2 are measures to monitor the halt of the decline in the northern abalone population.  Objective #1 is based on 1990 levels when all fisheries were closed.  Objective #2 is based on the most recent surveys, as a longer time series is not yet available.  Objectives #3 and #4 are a measure of progress towards recovery (i.e., self-sustaining population) based on the northern abalone population model (Lessard et al. 2006).

Observing an increase (>40%) in the proportion of quadrats with a single northern abalone (Objective #4) may not be attainable as it requires the current occurrence to double.  However, this objective provides the only measure currently available to assess changes in the patchy distribution of northern abalone on a fine scale.  Recovery objectives may be refined with improved knowledge, particularly with improved knowledge of the northern abalone patch size required for recruitment and improved knowledge of the effects of sea otters.   

2.4 Approaches Recommended to Meet Recovery Objectives

2.4.1 Recovery planning

Table 2. Recovery Planning Table

Priority

 

Threats addressedBroad strategy to address threatRecommended approaches to meet recovery objectives
Recovery Objectives 1, 2, 3 and 4

High

(in place)

HarvestProtectionMaintain fisheries closures

High

(ongoing)

Illegal harvestProtectionImplement a proactive protection plan

High

(ongoing)

Illegal harvestEducation and awarenessImplement a communication campaign

High

(in place)

Works or developments on, in and under waterProtectionUse protocols for authorizing works or development on, in and under water
Recovery Objectives 3 and 4

High

(initiated)

Low recruitmentManagementUndertake research and rebuilding

High

(to be initiated)

Sea otter predationResearchDetermine northern abalone population and distribution objectives in the presence of sea otters
Recovery Objectives 1, 2, 3, 4

High

(ongoing)

MonitoringMonitoringMonitor the population (surveys)

2.4.2 Narrative to support Recovery Planning Table

  1. Maintain the fisheries closures for northern abalone.  A continued prohibition on harvest is necessary to limit human-induced mortalities on the population and allow for natural recruitment and recovery. 
  2. Implement a proactive protection plan for the recovery of northern abalone.  Protection is necessary to reduce mortalities of northern abalone from illegal harvest, and to increase community involvement, awareness and fishery officers’ support.  Protection through habitat management will prevent losses of important habitat and individuals.
    1. Use reactive, preventative and proactive enforcement to curtail illegal harvest and trafficking of northern abalone.
    2. Continue to identify illegal abalone in the marketplace using genetic markers.
    3. Promote communication, awareness, stewardship and policing (e.g., First Nations guardians).
    4. Promote coastal watch programs (“Abalone Coast Watch”) to involve communities in protecting the abalone population.
    5. Use ‘traceability’ protocols to distinguish legally obtained cultured northern abalone from illegally obtained wild northern abalone. 
    6. Foster public support of court imposed sentencing that is appropriate to the threatened status of northern abalone.  This may be achieved by educating the general public through publications and other communication media.
    7. Continue to apply precautionary protocols (Lessard et al. 2006) for authorizing works or developments on, in and under the water.
  3. Implement a communication campaign to stop illegal harvest and raise public awareness for northern abalone. A communication campaign will help to curb illegal harvest, increase support for enforcement efforts, and encourage community stewardship and public involvement.
    1. Promote northern abalone stewardship projects.
    2. Continue to update a northern abalone web site and newsletter(s) for interested parties and the general public.
    3. Work with First Nations, interested local parties, stakeholders and international agencies.
    4. Produce communication materials (e.g., posters, stickers, and brochures) aimed at stopping illegal harvest.
    5. Initiate a proactive media relations campaign, and identify and co-ordinate media opportunities.
  4. Undertake research and rebuilding experiments for northern abalone.  Research and rebuilding may lead to increased breeding success, recruitment and population densities.  Rebuilding sites should be established in conjunction with a stewardship program to protect from illegal harvesting. 
    1. Establish experimental pilot research areas and test rebuilding methods by aggregating reproductive adults.
    2. Establish experimental pilot research areas and test enhancement through out-planting hatchery-raised abalone to the wild.  Hatchery-raised abalone that are out-planted to the wild become part of the wild population.  Investigate the effects of:
      1. size
      2. habitat type
      3. season
      4. presence/absence of predators
      5. site exposure, on enhancement success by assessing the survival and growth of released juvenile and larval hatchery-raised abalone in small experimental plots of known habitat and species complex. 
    3. Test the application of recruitment modules to sample and/or protect early life-stages.
    4. Establish pilot research areas where sea otters have recovered to determine abalone population parameters under the effects of sea otters and to determine population and distribution objectives in the presence of sea otters.
    5. Research the effects of disease and/or parasites.
    6. Consult and work co-operatively with First Nations on proposals for projects that are in a First Nations’ local area. This includes sharing of information on the abalone population, project goals, rebuilding techniques, impacts, etc.
    7. Work co-operatively with coastal communities to share information on the local abalone population and develop rebuilding techniques.
    8. Incorporate information on abalone from other jurisdictions where appropriate.
    9. Consider a broad ecosystem approach in the research of northern abalone.
  5. Monitor the population status of northern abalone.  Monitoring is required to determine the progress towards meeting the population and distribution objectives and to determine when recovery has been achieved.
    1. Continue index site surveys (every five years).  Most recent surveys were conducted in North and Central Coast 2006, Queen Charlotte and Johnstone Straits 2004, West Coast of Vancouver Island 2003, Queen Charlotte Islands 2002.
    2. Establish index sites in Georgia Basin.
    3. Develop an improved measure for ‘patch’ size.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie de rétablissement de l'haliotide pie

2. Rétablissement

2.1  But du rétablissement

But immédiat (sur les cinq prochaines années)

Arrêter le déclin de la population sauvage actuelle d’haliotides pies en C.-B. afin de réduire le risque que cette espèce devienne en voie de disparition.

But à long terme (sur les 30 prochaines années)

Augmenter l’effectif et la densité de la populations sauvage d’haliotides pies afin que l’espèce atteigne des niveaux durables dans cinq zones biogéographiques de la C.-B. (Haida Gwaii, détroits de la Reine-Charlotte et de Johnstone, secteurs nord et centre de la côte, bassin de Georgia, côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver) afin de faire en sorte que l’haliotide pie ne soit plus menacée.

L’atteinte du but consistant à accroître l’effectif d’haliotides pies jusqu’à des niveaux durables pourrait prendre plusieurs décennies.

2.2  Faisabilité du rétablissement

Avec le temps, si les conditions environnementales sont favorables et si les mortalités sont réduites, le rétablissement de l’haliotide pie est faisable, car il reste un réservoir d’adultes reproducteurs et un habitat de grande qualité. En outre, des techniques de reconstitution des stocks sont disponibles pour améliorer le recrutement. Le regroupement d’adultes reproducteurs semble améliorer le recrutement localisé (Agence Parcs Canada, en préparation). L’ensemencement s’est révélé efficace pour la reconstitution de populations dans d’autres pays (Seki et Taniguchi, 2000; Shepherd et al., 2000; Tegner, 2000; Roberts et Andrew, 2003; Cook, 2003; de Waal et al., 2003, sous presse). Dernièrement, on a élaboré des protocoles pour réglementer les travaux et les aménagements sur l’eau, dans l’eau et sous l’eau (Lessard et al., 2006) afin de s’assurer de la présence d’un habitat suffisant et de groupements de reproducteurs, lesquels sont nécessaires au rétablissement. D’autres études devraient nous donner des orientations concernant la définition des objectifs de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie en la présence de loutres de mer (c.-à-d., coexistence de l’haliotide pie et de la loutre de mer).

Cependant, les approches en matière de rétablissement doivent viser des objectifs à long terme à l’égard des deux principales menaces qui pèsent sur l’espèce : la pêche illégale, qui se poursuit malgré une interdiction de la pêche imposée depuis 16 ans, et le faible recrutement, qui est tributaire de facteurs biotiques et environnementaux défavorables qui ne peuvent être prévus ni contrôlés. Selon la modélisation de populations décimées, le temps nécessaire au rétablissement fluctuerait entre 50 et  100 ans en raison de changements subtiles au sein de l’écosystème ou de l’effet d’Allee (Allee et al., 1949) (S. Shepherd, comm. pers.).

Au fur et à mesure que l’on recueillera de l’information, il faudra raffiner les buts du rétablissement et les techniques d’évaluation de la faisabilité dans certains secteurs de la C.-B. Ainsi, les densités d’haliotides pies recensées à l’extrémité sud de l’île de Vancouver (voir section 1.3, Populations et répartition, bassin de Georgia) laissent entrevoir un faible potentiel de recrutement dans cette zone. La prédation exercée par la population de loutres de mer qui est en train de se rétablir peut augmenter la mortalité jusqu’à des niveaux où la durabilité de l’haliotide pie ne sera pas assurée, aux endroits où l’espèce est déjà décimée en raison d’autres facteurs (p. ex., pêche illégale et faible recrutement).

2.3  Objectifs en matièrede population et de répartition

Au cours des cinq prochaines années, les objectifs de rétablissement de l’haliotide pie sont les suivants :

  1. s’assurer que les densités moyennes d’haliotides pies adultes de grande taille (longueur de coquille [LC]³100 mm) ne diminuent pas en deçà de 0,1 par m2 sur les sites repères étudiés à Haida Gwaii et dans les secteurs nord et centre de la côte et que le pourcentage des sites repères étudiés où l’on trouve des haliotides pies adultes de grande taille (LC³100 mm) ne diminue pas en deçà de 40 %;
  2. s’assurer que les estimations de la densité totale moyenne aux sites repères nouvellement établis dans les détroits de la Reine-Charlotte et de Johnstone ne diminuent pas sous les niveaux observés en 2004 (0,06 haliotide pie par m2 et 0,02 haliotide pie par m2 respectivement) et que les estimations de la densité totale moyenne pour la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver ne diminuent pas sous le niveau observé en 2003 (0,09 haliotide pie par m2);
  3. s’assurer, aux sites repères (dans les zones sans loutres de mer), que le taux de mortalité annuelle estimée pour les haliotides adultes (LC ³70 mm) diminue (< 0,20) et que les densités moyennes d’haliotides adultes (LC³70 mm) augmentent ( ³0,32 par m2);
  4. s’assurer, aux sites repères (dans les zones sans loutres de mer), que la proportion des quadrats (m2) où l’on trouve des haliotides pies augmente (> 40 %).

Les objectifs 1 et 2 sont des mesures qui nous permettent de surveiller l’arrêt du déclin de la population d’haliotides pies. L’objectif 1 est fondé sur les niveaux de 1990, lorsque toutes les pêches ont été fermées. L’objectif 2 est quant à lui fondé sur des relevés plus récents du fait qu’aucun série chronologique plus longue n’est disponible. Les objectifs 3 et 4 permettent de mesurer les progrès accomplis à l’égard du rétablissement (c.-à-d., population durable) d’après un modèle de la population d’haliotides pies (Lessard et al., 2006).

L’observation d’une augmentation (> 40 %) dans la proportion des quadrats ayant une seule haliotide pie (objectif 4) peut ne pas être possible du fait qu’il faudrait que l’occurrence actuelle double. Cependant, cet objectif constitue la seule mesure dont on dispose présentement pour évaluer les changements dans les groupements d’haliotides pies sur une petite échelle. On pourra raffiner les objectifs de rétablissement lorsque les connaissances seront meilleures, surtout celles ayant trait à la taille des groupements d’haliotides pies nécessaires pour le recrutement et aux effets des loutres de mer.

2.4 Approches recommandées pour atteindre les objectifs de rétablissement

2.4.1 Planification du rétablissement

Tableau 2. Tableau de planification du rétablissement
PrioritéMenacesStratégie générale pour faire face à la menaceApproches recommandées pour atteindre les objectifs de rétablissement
Objectifs de rétablissement 1, 2, 3 et 4

Élevée

(en place)

PêcheProtectionMaintien des fermetures des pêches

Élevée

(en cours)

Pêche illégaleProtectionMise en œuvre d’un plan de protection proactif

Élevée

(en cours)

Pêche illégaleÉducation et sensibilisationMise en œuvre d’une campagne de communication

Élevée

(en place)

Travaux ou aménagements sur l’eau, dans l’eau et sous l’eauProtection Utilisation de protocoles pour autoriser les travaux et les aménagements sur l’eau, dans l’eau et sous l’eau
Objectifs de rétablissement 3 et 4

Élevée

(lancée)

Faible recrutementGestionMise en œuvre d’initiatives de recherche et de reconstitution des stocks

Élevée

(à lancer)

Prédation par les loutres de merRechercheDétermination des objectifs en matière de répartition et de population pour l’haliotide pie en la présence des loutres de mer
Objectifs de rétablissement 1, 2, 3 et 4

Élevée

(en cours)

SurveillanceSurveillanceSurveillance de la population (relevés)

2.4.2 Explications concernant le tableau de planification du rétablissement

  1. Maintien des fermetures des pêches à l’haliotide pie. Il faut maintenir l’interdiction de pêche pour limiter la mortalité anthropique au sein de la population et permettre le recrutement et le rétablissement naturel de l’espèce.
  2. Mise en œuvre d’un plan de protection proactif pour le rétablissement de l’haliotide pie. Il faut appliquer des mesures de protection pour réduire la mortalité chez l’haliotide pie associée à la pêche illégale et accroître la participation de la communauté, la sensibilisation des gens et le soutien des agents des pêches. L’application de mesures de protection par l’entremise de la gestion de l’habitat empêchera les pertes d’habitats importants et d’individus.
    1. Utiliser des mesures d’application de la loi réactives, préventives et proactives pour freiner la pêche illégale et le trafic de l’haliotide pie. Des mesures d’application de la réglementation réactives permettent aux agents des pêches d’intervenir lorsque des faits sont rapportés par les Premières nations, les communautés côtières, les pêcheurs ou le public concernant la récolte ou la vente illégale ou suspecte d’haliotides pies. Des mesures d’application de la réglementation préventives comprennent, entre autres, des patrouilles en mer exécutée par les agents des pêches, des visites de marchés ainsi que des patrouilles sur les itinéraires de transport. Finalement, les mesures d’application de la réglementation proactives comprennent une collaboration entre les agents des pêches et les Premières nations ainsi que les communautés côtières.
    2. Continuer à identifier l’haliotide illégale sur le marché à l’aide de marqueurs génétiques.
    3. Promouvoir la communication, la sensibilisation, l’intendance et le maintien de l’ordre (p. ex., gardes des Premières nations).
    4. Promouvoir les programmes de surveillance côtière (« Abalone Coast Watch ») afin de faire participer les communautés à la protection de la population d’haliotides.
    5. Utiliser des protocoles de « traçabilité » pour établir la distinction entre les haliotides pies d’élevage obtenues légalement et les haliotides pies sauvages obtenues illégalement.
    6. Favoriser le soutien du public à l’égard de sentences imposées par les tribunaux qui soient appropriées au statut d’espèce menacée de l’haliotide pie. Cet objectif peut être atteint en éduquant le public par le biais de publications ou d’autres média.
    7. Continuer à appliquer des protocoles de précaution (Lessard et al., 2006) pour la délivrance d’autorisations concernant des travaux ou des développements sur l’eau, dans l’eau ou sous l’eau.
  3. Mise en œuvre d’une campagne de communication visant l’arrêt de la pêche illégale et la sensibilisation du public à l’égard de l’haliotide pie. Une campagne de communication contribuera à freiner la pêche illégale, à accroître le soutien à l’égard des efforts d’application de la réglementation et à inciter l’intendance communautaire et la participation du public.
    1. Promouvoir des projets d’intendance de l’haliotide pie.
    2. Continuer à tenir à jour un site web sur l’haliotide pie et à publier un bulletin pour les parties intéressées et le grand public.
    3. Travailler avec les Premières nations, les parties locales intéressées, les intervenants et des organismes internationaux.
    4. Produire du matériel de communication (p. ex., affiches, collants et brochures) indiquant qu’il faut mettre un terme à la pêche illégale.
    5. Amorcer une campagne de relations avec les média proactive ainsi que relever et coordonner les possibilités associées aux média.
  4. Mise en œuvre d’expériences de reconstitution des stocks et de recherche sur l’haliotide pie. La recherche et la reconstitution des stocks peuvent se traduire par une amélioration du succès de la reproduction, du recrutement et des densités de population. Des sites de reconstitution des stocks doivent être établis de concert avec un programme d’intendance afin de protéger l’espèce de la pêche illégale.
    1. Établir des zones de recherches pilotes expérimentales et éprouver des méthodes de reconstitution des stocks basées sur le regroupement d’adultes reproducteurs.
    2. Établir des zones de recherches pilotes expérimentales et éprouver des méthodes de reconstitution des stocks basées sur l’ensemencement d’haliotides d’écloseries dans le milieu sauvage. Les haliotides d’écloseries qui sont ensemencées dans le milieu sauvage se mêlent à la population sauvage. Étudier les effets :
      1. de la taille
      2. du type d’habitat
      3. de la saison
      4. de la présence/l’absence de prédateur
      5. de l’exposition du site sur l’amélioration du succès de la reproduction en évaluant la survie et la croissance des haliotides d’écloseries (larves et juvéniles) relâchées dans de petites parcelles expérimentales dont on connaît l’habitat et le complexe d’espèces.
    3. Éprouver l’application des modules de recrutement pour échantillonner/protéger les individus à leurs premiers stades de vie.
    4. Établir des zones de recherches pilotes où la loutre de mer s’est rétablie afin de déterminer les paramètres de la population d’haliotides lorsqu’elle est soumise aux effets des loutres de mer et déterminer des objectifs en matière de population et de répartition en la présence des loutres de mer.
    5. Recherche sur les effets de la maladie et/ou des parasites.
    6. Consulter les Premières nations et collaborer avec elles sur des propositions de projets qui sont dans une zone occupée par les Premières nations. Comporte le partage d’information sur la population d’haliotides, les buts du projet, les techniques de reconstitution du stock, les impacts, etc.
    7. Collaborer avec les communautés côtières afin de partager de l’information sur les populations d’haliotides locales et d’élaborer des techniques de reconstitution des stocks.
    8. Incorporer de l’information sur l’haliotide provenant d’autres pays, le cas échéant.
    9. Envisager l’adoption d’une approche écosystémique générale dans le cadre des recherches sur l’haliotide pie.
  5. Surveillance du statut de la population d’haliotide pie. La surveillance est nécessaire pour que l’on puisse déterminer les progrès accomplis vers l’atteinte des objectifs en matière de population et de répartition et déterminer quand le rétablissement sera réalisé.
    1. Poursuivre les relevés aux sites repères (tous les cinq ans). Les relevés les plus récents ont été effectués dans les secteurs nord et centre de la côte, en 2006, dans les détroits de la Reine-Charlotte et de Johnstone, en 2004, sur la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver, en 2003, et dans les îles de la Reine-Charlotte, en 2002.
    2. Créer des sites repères dans le bassin de Georgia.
    3. Élaborer une mesure améliorée pour les groupements.