Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery strategy for the Northern Abalone

2.5 Performance Measures

The success of the recovery actions will be reviewed annually, while the goals, objectives and broad strategies outlined herein will be reviewed within five years of the recovery strategy’s acceptance by the Minister.  The following performance measures will be used to assess the effectiveness of the objectives and strategies, and to determine whether recovery remains feasible.

Objective-based performance measures:

  • Did the mean densities of large adult (> 100 mm SL) northern abalone decline below 0.1/m2 at surveyed index sites in Haida Gwaii and North and Central Coast?  Or did it increase?
  • Did the percentage of surveyed index sites with large adult (> 100 mm SL) northern abalone decrease (<40%)?  Or did it improve (>40%)?
  • Did the annual estimated mortality rate for mature (≥ 70 mm SL) abalone drop to < 0.20, and the mean densities of mature (≥ 70 mm SL) abalone increase to greater than 0.32/m2
  • Were more than 40% of the quadrats (m2) occupied by abalone?

Approach-based performance measures:

  • Was the coast-wide closure to northern abalone harvesting maintained and enforced? Was the coast-wide closure an effective measure contributing in halting the population decline? 
  • Was a proactive protective enforcement plan implemented?  How many reports relating to abalone harvesting were provided to enforcement officers and the toll free enforcement line (Observe-Record-Report)?  To what degree were these reports investigated and resulted in charges and convictions?  How many hours were spent on enforcing abalone closures?  What were the trends in enforcement hours and resulting charges and convictions over the period before and during implementation of the recovery strategy? 
  • Was a long-term communications strategy implemented?  How many and what kind of communication materials and/or actions were produced and/or undertaken?  How many people, and where, did the communications activities reach?  What indications for increased awareness (e.g., did visits to the abalone web site increase, what level of participation at workshops?) and/or reductions in illegal harvest were a result of communications efforts?
  • What significant new knowledge was gained through research that would directly contribute to the rebuilding of the northern abalone population?  How many population rebuilding initiatives were undertaken?  Was there an observed increase in juvenile abundance and/or recruitment as a result of rebuilding experiments?  Does rebuilding appear to be a viable, or promising strategy to recover the wild abalone population?  What reports (technical or primary publications) were prepared that provide results of surveys and biological studies?
  • Was baseline abundance data established in each of the biogeographic zones? 

2.6 Critical Habitat

2.6.1 Identification of the species’ critical habitat

SARA defines critical habitat as “the habitat that is necessary for the survival or recovery of a listed wildlife species and that is identified as the species’ critical habitat in the recovery strategy or in an action plan for the species”.  While the general habitat requirements for northern abalone can be described (Section 1.4.1), the identification of critical habitat as defined under SARA requires further research.

Critical habitat to northern abalone may exist in certain habitats where juvenile survival is better, or where the reproducing adults contribute to a larger portion of the total recruitment.  Identification of these key habitats is an important component to the abalone research and rebuilding plans.

2.6.2 Schedule of studies to identify critical habitat

Further research is needed before critical habitat for northern abalone can be identified.  The following schedule for the next five years (2007-2012) outlines the studies that will yield information towards identifying critical habitat for northern abalone.  The activities outlined in this schedule are recommendations that are subject to priorities and budgetary constraints of the participating jurisdictions and organizations.  Some studies will take longer than five years to complete. 

Recovery ActivitiesDate
Survey juvenile abalone to improve the ‘cryptic model’ (estimate of the portion of the population that remains cryptic and unavailable to survey). 2007-2012
Compare field observations from known abalone habitat to a predicted abalone habitat suitability model (Jamieson et al. 2004).2007-2012
Determine the habitat characteristics that improve growth rates.   2007-2009
Examine growth, survival and distribution of early benthic stages in relation to local habitat, algal, predator and competitor species.  Determine the parameters that contribute to higher juvenile densities (recruitment).2007-2012
As part of the protocol (Lessard et al. 2006), monitor the extent to which works and developments on, in and under the water may impact on abalone habitat and recovery.2010-2012+
Refine the predicted abalone habitat suitability model based on field observations.2012+
Examine abalone distribution in relation to local seawater current patterns and computer simulations to determine potential larval dispersal mechanisms. 2012+

The identification of critical habitat is expected to take many years.  Juvenile northern abalone are cryptic, making them difficult to find and to study, and dive surveys are intensive.  Factors that contribute to localized recruitment (e.g., currents) are complex and may vary annually.  A time series of data will be required on which to base assumptions to determine the ‘critical’ components of the habitat, rather than the habitat that is merely suitable. 

2.7 Existing and Recommended Approaches to Habitat Protection

The Fisheries Act has provisions to protect northern abalone habitat.  A list of existing marine protected areas is summarized in Jamieson and Lessard (2000).  Marine Protected Areas may also be established under the Oceans Act.  Under the Canada National Marine Conservation Areas Act, Parks Canada is responsible for the creation of National Marine Conservation Areas (NMCAs) which will be managed for sustainable use, and protected from industrial activities such as marine dumping, mining, and oil and gas exploration and development.  A proposed NMCA in the southern Queen Charlotte Islands will extend 10 km offshore from Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve.  As such, it will encompass all the abalone habitat within this area.  Consultations on the proposed NMCA are on hold pending negotiations with the Council of the Haida Nation.   

Protocols (Lessard et al. 2006) are in place for authorizations under the Fisheries Act of works or developments on, in and under the water that may impact on abalone or its habitat.  The protocols include decision rules to protect important habitat and, as such, adopts a precautionary approach to also protect critical habitat although it has not yet been identified. 

Works or developments on, in and under the water that may affect abalone habitat may also be subject to review under the Navigable Waters Protection Act and the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act.

Movements of abalone to hatchery facilities and to the wild, including enhancement by out-planting to the wild, are subject to review and permitting (Fisheries Act) by the federal-provincial Introductions and Transfers Committee.  Considerations made by the Committee in permitting transfers include disease transmission, genetic implications, and proper management and control to protect the threatened wild population.  Currently, out-planting experiments are restricted to the immediate vicinity of Bamfield, B.C.. 

2.8 Permitting(SARA)

Refer to the ‘Recovery Potential Analysis for Northern Abalone’ (Lessard et al. 2006) for a review and recommendations on activities that may be permitted under SARA and the impact assessment protocol for proposed works and developments on, in or under the water.

A future amendment to this recovery strategy will be required in the event densities within an established and protected rebuilding area(s) recovers to minimum levels at which a limited First Nation harvest for food, social and ceremonial purposes, as protected under Section 35(1) of the Constitution Act, may be considered without jeopardizing survival or recovery of northern abalone.

2.9 Effects on Other Species

Table 3. Effects on other species
StrategyPotential ImpactProbability of Impact
1.       Fisheries closuresFisheries closures were anticipated to halt declines in the abalone population to allow for natural stock recovery and were not anticipated to affect other species.

Low

 

2.       CommunicationCommunication may benefit other species associated with abalone communities and other species at risk by raising awareness and increasing reports of illegal harvesting.Medium
3.       Proactive Protection Plan Increased enforcement activities for abalone will benefit other species by increased vigilance for all illegal fishing, possessing, and marketing activities, and can be expected to increase community reporting of illegal activities. High
4.       Research and Rebuilding Experiments

Rebuilding experiments may impact other species on a localized scale. 

Research may provide a better understanding of species and ecological interactions.

Medium

 

High

5.       Population MonitoringTime series data may help to better understand species population changes of other species and ecosystem processes.Medium

2.10 Recommended Approach for Recovery Implementation

The northern abalone has been considered for the single species recovery approach because it is a distinct species with respect to the issues that threaten its survival.  Illegal harvest and low recruitment are the main reasons for a continued decline in the wild population, even though there have been complete fisheries closures for northern abalone since 1990.  The northern abalone is the only marine invertebrate listed as threatened or endangered in Pacific Canada.  Although being recommended for a single species approach, there are several actions outlined in the approach for recovery that may directly benefit other species within the geographical area that is included within northern abalone habitat.  Sea otters (threatened) also exist within this ecosystem within an expanding portion of northern abalone’s range, and do interact with northern abalone. Therefore, a shift to an ecosystem approach may be required in the future.  This will require an adaptive approach as knowledge of the species and related species interactions improve.

2.11 Statement on Action Plans

One or more action plans, which provide the specific details for recovery implementation, will be completed within three years of completion of the recovery strategy

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie de rétablissement de l'haliotide pie

2.5 Mesures du rendement

L’efficacité des mesures de rétablissement doit être passée en revue chaque année, tandis que les buts, les objectifs et les stratégies générales décrits dans le présent document doivent l’être dans les cinq années qui suivront l’acceptation du programme de rétablissement par le Ministre. On utilisera les mesures du rendement suivantes pour évaluer l’efficacité des objectifs et des stratégies et pour déterminer si le rétablissement demeure chose possible.

Mesures du rendement en fonction des objectifs.

  • Les densités moyennes d’haliotides pies adultes de grande taille (LC > 100 mm) ont-elles diminué en deçà de 0,1/m2 aux sites repères étudiés à Haida Gwaii et dans les secteurs nord et centre de la côte? Ont-elles augmenté?
  • Le pourcentage des sites repères étudiés où l’on trouve des haliotides pies adultes de grande taille (LC ³ 100 mm) a-t-il diminué (< 40 %)? Ou a-t-il augmenté (> 40 %)?
  • Le taux de mortalité annuelle estimée pour les haliotides adultes (LC ≥ 70 mm) a-t-il chuté (< 0,20), et les densités moyennes d’haliotides adultes (LC ≥ 70 mm) ont-elles augmenté (> 0,32/m2)?
  • La proportion des quadrats (m2) occupés par des haliotides a-t-elle dépassé 40 %?

Mesures du rendement en fonction de l’approche utilisée

  • La fermeture de la pêche à l’haliotide pie a-t-elle été maintenue et mise en application sur l’ensemble de la côte? La fermeture de la pêche sur l’ensemble de la côte a-t-elle contribué efficacement à l’arrêt du déclin de la population?
  • A-t-on mis en œuvre un plan proactif de mise en application de la réglementation pour protéger l’espèce? Combien de signalements d’activités de pêche à l’haliotide ont été portés à l’attention des agents responsables de l’application de la réglementation et combien de fois la ligne sans frais « Observe-Record-Report » a-t-elle été utilisée? Jusqu’à quel point ces signalements se sont-ils traduits par des enquêtes, par le dépôt d’accusations et par l’imposition de condamnations? Combien d’heures a-t-on consacrées à l’application de la réglementation sur la fermeture de la pêche à l’haliotide? Quelles sont les tendances concernant les heures consacrées à l’application de la réglementation (et aux accusations et condamnations en résultant) au cours de la période précédent la mise en œuvre du programme de rétablissement et pendant sa mise en œuvre?
  • A-t-on mis en œuvre une stratégie de communication à long terme? Combien de documents et/ou activités de communication a-t-on produits et/ou utilisés? De quelle nature étaient-ils? Combien de personnes les activités de communication ont-elles permis de joindre et où a-t-on pu les joindre? Quels indices montrent qu’une augmentation de la sensibilisation (p. ex., les visites au site web sur l’haliotide se sont-elles accrues; quel a été le niveau de participation aux ateliers?) et/ou qu’une réduction de la pêche illégale ont résulté de ces efforts de communication?
  • Quelles nouvelles connaissances importantes a-t-on acquises par la recherche? Ces connaissances pourraient-elles contribuer directement à la reconstitution de la population d’haliotides pies? Combien d’initiatives de reconstitution de la population a-t-on entreprises? A-t-on observé une augmentation de l’abondance des juvéniles et/ou du recrutement à la suite des expériences de reconstitution des stocks? La reconstitution des stocks semble-t-elle être une stratégie viable ou prometteuse pour le rétablissement de la population d’haliotides sauvages? Quels rapports (publications techniques ou primaires) a-t-on préparés pour fournir les résultats des relevés et des études biologiques?
  • A-t-on établi des données de base sur l’abondance dans chacune des zones biogéographiques?

2.6 Habitat essentiel

2.6.1 Identification de l’habitat essentiel de l’espèce

La LEP définit l’habitat essentiel comme étant « l’habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement d’une espèce sauvage inscrite, qui est désigné comme tel dans un programme de rétablissement ou un plan d’action élaboré à l’égard de l’espèce ». Même si les besoins généraux en matière d’habitat de l’haliotide pie peuvent être décrits (section 1.4.1), l’identification de l’habitat essentiel tel qu’il est défini en vertu de la LEP nécessite d’autres recherches.

L’habitat essentiel de l’haliotide pie peut être une zone où la survie des juvéniles est meilleure ou, encore, une zone où les adultes reproducteurs contribuent dans une plus forte proportion au recrutement total. L’identification de l’habitat essentiel représente un composant important de tout plan de recherche sur l’haliotide pie et de reconstitution des stocks.

2.6.2 Calendrier des études destinées à identifier l’habitat essentiel

Il faut effectuer davantage de recherches avant que l’habitat essentiel de l’haliotide pie puisse être identifié. Le calendrier ci-après couvre les cinq prochaines années (2007-2012) et décrit les études qui nous permettront d’obtenir l’information nécessaire pour identifier l’habitat essentiel de l’haliotide pie. Les activités indiquées sur le tableau suivant sont des recommandations qui sont sujettes aux priorités et aux contraintes budgétaires des gouvernements et organismes participants. En outre, certaines études dureront plus de cinq ans.

Activités de rétablissementDate
Relevés sur les haliotides juvéniles afin d’améliorer le « modèle critique » (estimation de la proportion de la population qui demeure cryptique et non observable pendant les relevés). 2007-2012
Comparer les observations locales dans les habitats connus de l’haliotide aux résultats d’un modèle sur l’appropriation de l’habitat pour l’haliotide (Jamieson et al,. 2004).2007-2012
Déterminer les caractéristiques de l’habitat qui améliorent les taux de croissance.2007-2009
Examiner la croissance, la survie et la répartition des individus au premier stade benthique par rapport à l’habitat local, aux espèces d’algues, de prédateurs et de compétiteurs. Déterminer les paramètres qui contribuent à augmenter les densités de juvéniles (recrutement).2007-2012
Dans le cadre du protocole (Lessard et al., 2006), surveiller la mesure dans laquelle des travaux et des aménagements sur l’eau, dans l’eau et sous l’eau peuvent avoir une incidence sur l’habitat et le rétablissement de l’haliotide.2010-2012+
Raffiner le modèle sur l’appropriation de l’habitat pour l’haliotide d’après les observations locales.2012+
Examiner la répartition des haliotides par rapport au profil des courants d’eau de mer locaux et aux simulations informatiques afin de déterminer les mécanismes potentiels de dispersion des larves. 2012+

L’identification de l’habitat essentiel devrait prendre de nombreuses années. Les haliotides pies juvéniles sont cryptiques, ce qui les rend difficiles à apercevoir et à étudier, et les relevés par plongée sont intensifs. Les facteurs qui contribuent au recrutement localisé (p. ex., les courants) sont complexes et peuvent varier d’une année à l’autre. Une série chronologique de données est nécessaire pour appuyer nos hypothèses afin de déterminer les composants « essentiels » de l’habitat plutôt que d’habitats qui pourraient être appropriés.

2.7 Approches disponibles et recommandées pour la protection de l’habitat

La Loi sur les pêches comporte des dispositions pour protéger l’habitat de l’haliotide pie. Une liste des zones marines protégées est présentée de façon succincte dans Jamieson et Lessard (2000). On peut également établir des zones de protections marines en vertu de la Loi sur les océans. En vertu de la Loi sur les aires marines nationales de conservation du Canada, Parcs Canada est responsable de la création des aires marines nationales de conservation (AMNC) qui seront gérées en fonction d’une utilisation durable et qui sont protégées de l’activité industrielle tels que les rejets en mer, l’exploitation minière ainsi que l’exploration et la mise en valeur des gisements pétroliers et gaziers. Une AMNC est proposée dans le sud des îles de la Reine-Charlotte, laquelle s’étendra sur 10 km vers le large à partir de la réserve du parc national Gwaii Haanas. Ainsi, cette aire englobera l’ensemble de l’habitat de l’haliotide dans cette zone. Les consultations sur l’AMNC proposées devraient avoir lieu lorsque les négociations avec le conseil de la nation Haida seront terminées.

Les protocoles (Lessard et al., 2006) sont en place pour la délivrance d’autorisations en vertu de la Loi sur les pêches concernant des travaux ou des aménagements sur l’eau, dans l’eau et sous l’eau qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur l’haliotide et son habitat. Les protocoles comprennent des règles de décision qui protègent les habitats importants et prévoient une approche de précaution pour également protéger les habitats essentiels, même s’il n’ont pas encore été identifiés.

Les travaux ou les aménagements sur l’eau, dans l’eau et sous l’eau qui peuvent affecter l’habitat de l’haliotide peuvent également être assujettis à un examen en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des eaux navigables et de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale.

Les mouvements d’haliotides vers les écloseries et vers le milieu sauvage, y compris l’amélioration de la reconstitution des stocks par l’ensemencement en milieu sauvage, doivent faire l’objet d’un examen par le comité fédéral provincial sur les introductions et les transferts, lequel délivrera un permis par la suite (Loi sur les pêches). Les points pris en considération par le comité lorsqu’il délivre un permis de transfert comprennent, entre autres, la transmission des maladies, les répercussions génétiques ainsi que l’application de mesures de contrôle et de gestion appropriées pour protéger la population sauvage menacée. Présentement, les expériences d’ensemencement sont limitées à la région immédiate de Bamfield, en C.-B.

2.8 Délivrance de permis (LEP)

Se reporter à « Recovery Potential Analysis for Northern Abalone » (Lessard et al., 2006) pour un examen et des recommandations sur les activités qui peuvent être permises en vertu de la LEP et pour le protocole d’évaluation des impacts pour les travaux et aménagements réalisés sur l’eau, dans l’eau ou sous l’eau.

Il faudra modifier le présent programme de rétablissement si les densités à l’intérieur d’une zone de reconstitution des stocks protégée et établie se rétablissent aux niveaux minimaux auxquels on pourrait envisager une pêche limitée des Premières nations à des fins de subsistance, sociales et cérémonielles, en vertu du paragraphe 35(1) de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique, sans mettre en péril la survie ou le rétablissement de l’haliotide pie.

2.9 Effets sur d’autres espèces

Tableau 3.Effets sur d’autres espèces
StratégieImpact potentielProbabilité d’impact
1.      Fermetures des pêchesLes fermetures des pêches devraient arrêter le déclin de la population d’haliotides afin de permettre le rétablissement naturel du stock et ne devraient pas affecter d’autres espèces.

Faible

 

2.      CommunicationLa communication peut profiter à d’autres espèces associées aux communautés d’haliotides et à d’autres espèces en péril par la sensibilisation et l’accroissement des déclarations de pêches illégales.Moyenne
3.      Plan de protection proactif L’accroissement des activités d’application de la réglementation sur l’haliotide profitera à d’autres espèces par l’entremise d’une vigilance accrue à l’égard de toute pêche, possession et activité de commercialisation illégales et pourrait accroître les déclarations d’activités illégales de la part de la communauté.Élevée
4.      Recherche et expériences de reconstitution des stocks

Les expériences de reconstitution des stocks peuvent avoir une incidence sur d’autres espèces à une échelle locale.

La recherche peut nous donner une meilleure compréhension des espèces et des interactions écologiques.

Moyenne

 

Élevée

5.      Surveillance de la populationDes séries chronologiques de données peuvent nous aider à mieux comprendre les changements que subissent les populations d’autres espèces et les processus écosystémiques.Moyenne

2.10 Approche recommandée pour la mise en œuvre du rétablissement

L’haliotide pie a fait l’objet d’une approche de rétablissement portant sur une espèce unique du fait qu’il s’agit d’une espèce distincte en ce qui touche les facteurs qui menacent sa survie. La pêche illégale et le faible recrutement sont les principales raisons expliquant le déclin continu des populations sauvages, et ce, même si on a décrété une fermeture complète des pêches à l’haliotide pie en 1990. L’haliotide pie est le seul invertébré marin inscrit en tant qu’espèce menacée ou en voie de disparition dans les eaux canadiennes du Pacifique. Même si l’on a recommandé l’adoption d’une approche visant une espèce unique, plusieurs mesures décrites dans l’approche pour le rétablissement peuvent profiter directement à d’autres espèces se trouvant dans la zone géographique incluse dans l’habitat de l’haliotide pie. Les loutres de mer (espèce menacée) sont également présentes dans cet écosystème et occupent une proportion de plus en plus grande de l’aire de répartition de l’haliotide pie. Comme les loutres interagissent avec l’haliotide pie, il faudra adopter une approche fondée sur l’écosystème dans le futur. Il faudra également mettre en application une approche adaptative au fur et à mesure que les connaissances sur l’espèce et les interactions avec des espèces apparentées s’amélioreront.

2.11 Énoncé sur les plans d’action

Un ou plusieurs plans d’action, lesquels fourniront des détails scientifiques sur la mise en œuvre du rétablissement, seront réalisés dans les trois ans qui suivront l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement.