Skip booklet index and go to page content

Sand-verbena Moth (Copablepharon Fuscum)

Limiting Factors and Threats

The following factors are important for contextualizing the limiting factors and threats to Copablepharon fuscum in Canada:


Habitat Loss

The primary threat to C. fuscum is the reduction in the quantity and quality of host-plant resources as a result of loss of, or change to, open sand habitats. As noted previously, this is primarily caused by vegetation stabilization. Direct disturbance from human development and recreational use are considered secondary threats but may have substantial local impacts. Long-term maintenance of C. fuscum populations will require chronic natural disturbance to maintain Abronia latifolia populations in open sand areas or new sand deposition in which seedling colonization can occur.


Host-plant Specificity

Host-plant specificity may be an important measure of extinction risk in moths (Nieminen, 1996). Indeed, Nieminen (1996), noted: “the pattern of population extinction in moths is affected by host-plant characteristics rather than by the characteristics of the moths themselves”. He found that monophagous moths were more likely to suffer extirpation or extinction than polyphagous species.


Collecting

The collecting of specimens has likely had a very minor effect on total population size in C. fuscum. However, research collections should avoid unnecessary or concentrated collecting. Recreational collecting is inappropriate.


Population Structure

C. fuscum populations are spatially isolated. Ecological theory predicts that population extinction risk is reduced with increasing numbers of subpopulations (Hanski, 1982). This outcome is generally related to the “rescue effect” that allows multiple populations to avoid stochastic or deterministic extinctions through immigration. It relies on the dispersal ability of species to allow recolonization following population extirpation. As noted previously, it is unclear if between-site dispersal is important for C. fuscum population persistence. It is unlikely that recolonization from known US populations could occur naturally if Canadian populations were extirpated.


Btk

Btk is a commercial pest-control product used to control North American gypsy moth (Lymantria dispar). It uses spores of a naturally occurring pathogenic bacteria ( Bacillus thuringiensisvar. kurstaki) applied aerially to kill target and nontarget butterflies and moths as larvae. It has been used in the Victoria and Vancouver area on a localized basis. It has not been used near C. fuscum populations to date, but it could pose a serious risk.


Climate Change

The potential effects of climate change on C. fuscum are complex. Climate change may be associated with sea-level rise which could threaten coastal dune habitats directly. However, accelerated coastal disturbance and sediment transport associated with increased storm frequency may result in increased development of open sand habitats, which would have a positive effect.


Conservation Concerns in Similar Species

It is noteworthy that a closely related species, Copablepharon hopfingeri Francl., is the only moth species known to have been extirpated from western Canada (Lafontaine and Troubridge, 1998). It historically occurred in a small site with sandy soils at Brilliant, B.C. (near Castelgar). This loss may indicate that other Copablepharon species are similarly sensitive to habitat change.

Copablepharon longipenne Grote occurs on unstable dune systems on the northern Great Plains. As a result of extensive agriculture and control of prairie fires, this habitat has been drastically reduced in the last century (J. Troubridge, pers. comm., 2002). The moth is still common on the Great Sand Hills of southwestern Saskatchewan, where grazing by cattle has helped to retard stabilization of these dunes (J. Troubridge, pers. comm., 2002). All known Copablepharon species are associated with sandy, dune habitats. Three species occur (or did so) in Alberta and Saskatchewan: Copablepharon grande (Strecker), C. longipenne and Copablepharon viridisparum (Dod).

The Canadian distributions of several other species of noctuid moths (Apamea maxima (Dyar), Oligia tusa (Grote), Trichoclea edwardsii Smith, Lasionycta wyatti (Barnes & Benjamin), Lasionycta arietis (Grote), Agrotis gravis Grote and Euxoa wilsoni (Grote)) are restricted to coastal beaches in British Columbia (Troubridge and Crabo, 1996). Although restricted to coastal beaches, the global distribution of these species is much greater than that of C. fuscum: A. maxima, O. tusa, L. wyatti, L. arietis, E. wilsoni and A. gravis occur commonly on beaches from central California to British Columbia and persist despite stabilization of the dunes on the outer coast. T. edwardsii occurs on coastal and interior dunes in southern California, is apparently absent from the outer coast of northern California, Oregon, Washington and British Columbia, but occurs with C. fuscum on sandy beaches within the Strait of Georgia and Puget Sound.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Noctuelle de l’abronie (Copablepharon fuscum)

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Les éléments suivants doivent être pris en compte pour la compréhension des facteurs limitatifs et des menaces qui pèsent sur les populations de noctuelle de l’abronie au Canada:


Perte d’habitat

La principale menace pour la noctuelle de l’abronie est la réduction de la quantité et de la qualité des ressources en plantes hôtes causée par la perte ou la dégradation des milieux sablonneux dénudés. Comme il a été mentionné précédemment, ce phénomène résulte principalement de la stabilisation de ces milieux par la végétation. Les perturbations directes liées au développement et à l’exploitation des milieux à des fins récréatives sont considérées comme des menaces secondaires, mais leurs impacts peuvent être importants localement. La survie à long terme des populations de noctuelle de l’abronie ne sera possible que si les perturbations chroniques naturelles qui assurent la pérennité des populations de l’abronie à feuilles larges dans les milieux sablonneux dénudés ou favorisent la colonisation des nouvelles zones de dépôt de sable par les semis continuent de s’exercer.


Spécificité à l’égard de la plante hôte

La spécificité à l’égard des plantes hôtes constitue vraisemblablement un bon indicateur du risque de disparition chez les papillons nocturnes (Nieminen, 1996). En effet, Nieminen (1996) mentionne que la disparition des populations de papillons nocturnes dépend davantage des caractéristiques des plantes hôtes que de celles des papillons eux-mêmes. À son avis, le risque de disparition est plus élevé chez les espèces de papillons nocturnes monophages que chez les espèces polyphages.


Collecte

La collecte de spécimens semble avoir eu un effet négligeable sur la taille de la population totale de la noctuelle de l’abronie. La collecte de spécimens à des fins de recherche devrait toujours être justifiée et effectuée avec parcimonie. La collecte à des fins récréatives ne devrait pas être permise.


Structure de la population

Les populations de la noctuelle de l’abronie sont isolées géographiquement les unes des autres. Selon un modèle théorique connu en écologie sous le nom d’« effet de sauvetage », le risque de disparition d’une population est inversement proportionnel au nombre de ses sous-populations (Hanski, 1982). D’après ce modèle, l’immigration réduirait le risque de disparition stochastique ou déterministe chez les populations multiples et permettrait aux espèces possédant un bon pouvoir de dispersion de recoloniser des régions d’où elles sont disparues. Comme il a été mentionné précédemment, on ignore si la dispersion entre les sites joue un rôle important dans le maintien des populations de noctuelle de l’abronie. La probabilité qu’une recolonisation se produise naturellement à partir de populations américaines connues en cas de disparition des populations canadiennes paraît cependant très faible.


Btk

Le Btk est un produit antiparasitaire commercial employé contre la race nord-américaine de la spongieuse (Lymantria dispar). Ce produit contient des spores d’une bactérie entomopathogène présente naturellement dans l’environnement (Bacillus thuringiensis var. kurstaki) et est utilisé par voie aérienne contre les populations larvaires de diverses espèces de papillons diurnes et nocturnes. Malheureusement, les espèces non ciblées sont également touchées. Des applications locales ont été effectuées dans les régions de Victoria et de Vancouver. Bien qu’il n’ait jamais été utilisé à ce jour à proximité des sites abritant des populations de noctuelle de l’abronie, ce produit représente une menace potentielle grave pour l’espèce.


Changements climatiques

Les effets potentiels des changements climatiques sur la noctuelle de l’abronie sont complexes. Du seul fait qu’ils risquent de provoquer une élévation du niveau de la mer, les changements climatiques représentent une menace directe pour les habitats dunaires côtiers. En revanche, l’intensification des perturbations frappant les milieux côtiers et du transport des sédiments causée par l’augmentation de la fréquence des tempêtes pourrait favoriser la formation de milieux sablonneux dénudés et, de ce fait, avoir un impact positif.


Préoccupation dans la conservation d’espèces similaires

Il est intéressant de noter que le Copablepharon hopfingeri Francl., espèce étroitement apparentée au C. fuscum, est le seul autre papillon nocturne tenu pour disparu de l’ouest du Canada (Lafontaine et Troubridge, 1998). Cette espèce se rencontrait autrefois à un petit site sablonneux à Brilliant, près de Castelgar (C.-B.). La disparition de cette espèce laisse penser que d’autres Copablepharon pourraient également être sensibles à la dégradation de leur habitat.

Le Copablepharon longipenne Grote habite les systèmes dunaires instables du nord des Grandes Plaines. L’agriculture extensive et les activités de lutte contre les feux de prairie ont considérablement réduit la superficie de cet habitat au cours des cent dernières années (J. Troubridge, comm. pers., 2002). Le papillon est encore commun dans la région des collines Great Sand, dans le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan, où le pâturage par les bovins a retardé la stabilisation des dunes par la végétation (J. Troubridge, comm. pers., 2002). Toutes les espèces connues de Copablepharon sont associées aux dunes. Trois espèces, soit le Copablepharon grande (Strecker), le C. longipenne et le C. viridisparum (Dod), se rencontrent (ou se rencontraient) en Alberta et en Saskatchewan.

Au Canada, plusieurs autres Noctuidés (Apamea maxima [Dyar], Oligia tusa [Grote], Trichoclea edwardsii Smith, Lasionycta wyatti [Barnes et Benjamin], Lasionycta arietis [Grote], Agrotis gravis Grote et Euxoa wilsoni [Grote]) sont confinés aux plages côtières de la Colombie-Britannique (Troubridge et Crabo, 1996). La répartition mondiale de ces espèces est cependant considérablement plus étendue que celle du C. fuscum. En effet, les A. maxima, O. tusa, L. wyatti, L. arietis, E. wilsoni et A. gravis se rencontrent communément sur les plages depuis le centre de la Californie jusqu’à la Colombie-Britannique, et leurs populations ne semblent pas avoir souffert de la stabilisation des dunes du littoral océanique. Le T. edwardsii se rencontre parmi les dunes côtières et intérieures du sud de la Californie, mais il est absent des côtes océaniques du nord de la Californie, de l’Oregon, de l’État de Washington et de la Colombie-Britannique; on le trouve avec le C. fuscum sur des plages sablonneuses du détroit de Géorgie et de la région du Puget Sound.