Skip booklet index and go to page content

Sand-verbena Moth (Copablepharon Fuscum)

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Sand-verbena Moth
Copablepharon Fuscum

Species Information

The Sand-verbena Moth (Copablepharon fuscum) is a noctuid moth. It was described in 1996 from specimens collected near Sidney, B.C. and Whidbey Island, Washington. Although the species was recently described, its specific habitat requirements and apparently poor dispersal abilities indicate that it was not recently introduced to Canada. Adults are dark to golden brown with distinctive black and pale yellow forewing lines. There are no superficially similar moth species in British Columbia, and the Sand-verbena Moth is the only species of Copablepharon found west of the Cascade Mountains. Most species in the genus are found in arid, sandy or dune environments.

Distribution

The Sand-verbena Moth has been recorded from eight sites globally. Three occurrences are in Canada in the Strait of Georgia region of southwestern British Columbia. Five occurrences are in the Puget Sound region of Washington. Each location is believed to encompass one population. The most northern occurrence is in the Comox area in B.C. and the most southern is near Port Townsend, Washington. Populations are spatially isolated.

Habitat

The Sand-verbena Moth occurs in association with its host-plant, yellow sand-verbena, in spits, dunes and other sand-dominated coastal sites. It has consistently been found in close spatial association with large, dense patches of yellow sand-verbena. The Sand-verbena Moth and the yellow sand-verbena appear to have a parasite/host relationship. The yellow sand-verbena is dependent on open sand habitats and declines in vigour where competition from other vascular plants and bryophytes occurs.

Biology

The Sand-verbena Moth is dependent on the yellow sand-verbena for all phases of its lifecycle. Adult moths fly once per year between mid-May and early July during dusk and early evening. They feed on the nectar of yellow sand-verbena flowers. Mating peaks in mid-June. Eggs are laid singly or in groups on yellow sand-verbena leaves and flowers. Larvae feed nocturnally on yellow sand-verbena during July and August before a period of fall and winter dormancy. Pupation occurs in late April and May.

Population Sizes and Trends

There is no quantitative information on population sizes and trends for the Sand-verbena Moth. Changes in the distribution and abundance of yellow sand-verbena may be useful in inferring Sand-verbena Moth population trends. This extrapolation relies on the assumption that Sand-verbena Moth population size is related to the quantity and quality of yellow sand-verbena. Occurrences of yellow sand-verbena in British Columbia are generally stable. However, the size of yellow sand-verbena populations in many sites has likely declined substantially in the past 50 years because of vegetation changes.

Limiting Factors and Threats

The primary threat to the Sand-verbena Moth is the reduction in the quantity and quality of host-plant resources as a result of loss or change to open sand habitats. This is primarily caused by vegetation stabilization. Stabilization occurs as a result of natural succession in sand-dominated coastal sites. However, anthropogenic impacts, particularly exotic species invasion, have increased the rate of successional change. Direct disturbance from human development and recreational use are considered secondary threats. Other potential threats include the use of Btk, a pest control product that was developed to control moth and butterfly pests, and climate change, which could eliminate habitat through rising sea-level.

Special Significance of the Species

The Sand-verbena Moth is endemic to coastal sites in the Strait of Georgia region of British Columbia and adjacent areas in the Puget Sound region of Washington. It is a monophagous species that relies exclusively on yellow sand-verbena, a regionally rare plant species of coastal dunes and beaches, for food and reproduction. While this type of parasite/host relationship is not unique in moths, the habitat specialization of both species increases its conservation significance. It may also mean that the Sand-verbena Moth is not resilient to anthropogenic or stochastic change.

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

No national, provincial, or state jurisdictions have designated the protection status of the Sand-verbena Moth. It is not listed in the BC Conservation Data Centre’s database or in the international conservation database maintained by NatureServe.

The host-plant, yellow sand-verbena, is designated by the BC Conservation Data Centre as vulnerable, which indicates it is sensitive to human activities or natural events. It is not listed by the Washington Natural Heritage Program. Dune plant communities were recently designated by the BC Conservation Data Centre as endangered/threatened, which indicates they are critically imperiled or imperiled. They are included under the plant association “Carex macrocephala Herbaceous Vegetation”.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Noctuelle de l’abronie (Copablepharon fuscum)

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Noctuelle de l’abronie
Copablepharon fuscum

Information sur l’espèce

La noctuelle de l’abronie (Copablepharon fuscum) est un papillon nocturne de la famille des Noctuidés. Elle a été décrite en 1996 d’après des spécimens recueillis près de Sidney (C.-B.) et dans l’île Whidbey (l’État de Washington). Bien que cette espèce ait été décrite récemment, ses besoins en matière d’habitat et sa faible capacité de dispersion indiquent qu’elle n’est pas une introduction récente au Canada. Les adultes sont brun foncé à brun doré, avec des lignes noires et jaune pâle caractéristiques sur l’aile antérieure. Aucune espèce superficiellement semblable ne vole en Colombie-Britannique, et la noctuelle de l’abronie est le seul représentant du genre Copablepharon à l’ouest de la chaîne des Cascades. La plupart des représentants de ce genre fréquentent les milieux arides sablonneux ou les dunes.

Répartition

À l’échelle mondiale, la noctuelle de l’abronie a été trouvée à huit sites. Trois de ces sites se trouvent au Canada, dans la région bordant le détroit de Géorgie, dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique. Les cinq autres sites sont répartis dans la région du Puget Sound, dans l’État de Washington. Chaque site abrite apparemment une population distincte. L’espèce a été observée au nord jusque dans la région de Comox (C.-B.), et vers le sud, jusque dans la région de Port Townsend (l’État de Washington). Les populations sont isolées géographiquement les unes des autres.

Habitat

La noctuelle de l’abronie se rencontre en association avec sa plante hôte, l’abronie à feuilles larges, dans des flèches, des dunes et d’autres milieux côtiers  sablonneux. Elle a toujours été observée dans le voisinage immédiat de colonies denses de sa plante hôte. La noctuelle et l’abronie à feuilles larges semblent liées par une relation de type parasite-hôte. L’abronie dépend de la présence de milieux sablonneux dénudés et est sensible à la compétition exercée par d’autres plantes vasculaires et les bryophytes.

Biologie

La noctuelle de l’abronie est une espèce univoltine qui dépend de l’abronie à feuilles larges à toutes les étapes de son cycle vital. Les adultes volent de la mi‑mai au début de juillet, à la brunante et en début de soirée. Ils se nourrissent du nectar des fleurs de la plante hôte. La période d’accouplement atteint son point culminant au milieu de juin. Les œufs sont pondus individuellement ou en groupes sur les feuilles et les fleurs de la plante hôte. Après s’être nourries la nuit sur les fleurs de l’abronie en juillet et en août, les chenilles entrent en diapause en automne en vue de l’hibernation. La nymphose a lieu le printemps suivant, à la fin d’avril ou en mai.

Taille et tendances des populations

Il n’existe aucune estimation quantitative de la taille et des tendances des populations de la noctuelle de l’abronie. Les changements dans la répartition et l’abondance de l’abronie à feuilles larges pourraient fournir de précieuses indications sur les tendances des populations de noctuelle de l’abronie, mais il faut pour cela postuler que la taille des populations de noctuelle dépend de la quantité et de la qualité de l’abronie. Les occurrences de la plante hôte en Colombie-Britannique se maintiennent généralement, mais les populations semblent avoir connu un déclin prononcé à de nombreux endroits au cours des cinquante dernières par suite des changements floristiques qui y sont survenus.

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

La principale menace pour la noctuelle de l’abronie est la réduction de l’abondance et de la qualité de sa plante hôte causée par la destruction ou la dégradation des milieux sablonneux dénudés. Le phénomène est principalement dû à la stabilisation de ces milieux par la végétation, elle-même une conséquence de la succession végétale qui se produit naturellement dans les milieux côtiers sablonneux. Le taux de succession végétale s’est cependant accéléré sous l’effet de certains facteurs anthropiques, en particulier l’introduction d’espèces exotiques envahissantes. Les perturbations directes liées au développement et à l’utilisation des dunes à des fins récréatives sont considérées comme des menaces secondaires. Au nombre des autres facteurs qui menacent la noctuelle, mentionnons l’utilisation du Btk, produit antiparasitaire employé contre de nombreux lépidoptères nuisibles, et les changements climatiques, qui pourraient entraîner la disparition d’habitats de la noctuelle en provoquant une élévation du niveau de la mer.

Importance de l’espèce

La noctuelle de l’abronie est endémique de milieux côtiers bordant le détroit de Géorgie (Colombie-Britannique) et de secteurs adjacents de la région du Puget Sound (l’État de Washington). Espèce monophage, elle dépend exclusivement pour son alimentation et sa reproduction de l’abronie à feuilles larges, plante rare dans la région, associée aux dunes côtières et aux plages. Si ce type de relation parasite-hôte n’est pas unique chez les papillons nocturnes, le degré de spécialisation affichée par les deux espèces à l’égard de l’habitat contribue à la vulnérabilité de la noctuelle de l’abronie. La noctuelle de l’abronie s’en trouverait aussi très sensible aux changements anthropiques ou stochastiques.

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations

Aucun organisme de conservation national, provincial ou d’État n’a attribué un statut à la noctuelle de l’abronie. L’espèce ne figure ni dans la base de données du centre de données sur la conservation de la Colombie-Britannique, ni dans la base de données mondiale de NatureServe.

L’abronie à feuilles larges est désignée « espèce vulnérable » par le centre de données sur la conservation de la Colombie-Britannique sur la base de sa sensibilité particulière aux activités humaines ou à certains phénomènes naturels. Elle ne figure pas dans la liste des espèces en péril du Washington Natural Heritage Program. Le centre de données sur la conservation de la Colombie-Britannique a récemment attribué le statut en voie de disparition / menacées aux communautés végétales des dunes, ce qui indique qu’elles sont gravement en péril ou en péril. Ces communautés sont mentionnées sous l’association végétale nommée Végétation herbacée à Carex macrocephala.