Skip booklet index and go to page content

Sand-verbena Moth (Copablepharon Fuscum)

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Sand-verbena Moth
Copablepharon fuscum
in Canada
2003

Species Information

Name and Classification

Scientific name:
Copablepharon fuscum Troubr. & Crabo, [1996]
Classification:
   Order
Lepidoptera
   Superfamily
Noctuoidea
   Family
Noctuidae
   Subfamily
Noctuinae
   Tribe
Agrotini
   Genus
Copablepharon
   Species
fuscum
Synonyms:
None


Moths of North America (MONA) Number: 10692.2

Bibliographic Citation:  Troubridge, J.T. and L.G. Crabo. 1996. A new species of Copablepharon (Lepidoptera: Noctuidae) from British Columbia and Washington. Journal of the Entomological Society of British Columbia 92: 87–90.

Type Specimens:  Holotype male: USA, Washington, Island County, Deception Pass State Park, 26 May,1995, Troubridge and Crabo in the Canadian National Collection (CNC). Paratypes (16 males, 18 females): 15 males, 15 females, same data as holotype; 1 female, 1 July, 1994, Saanichton, B.C., Troubridge; 1 male, 2 females, 1 July, 1995, Saanichton, B.C., Troubridge.

English Names:
Sand-verbena Moth
French Name:
Noctuelle de l’abronie des dunes


Taxonomic Background and Similarities:  Fifteen species in the genus Copablepharon have been described in North America north of Mexico. Seven of these have been recorded in Canada and three in British Columbia. C. fuscum is the only species known from west of the Cascade Mountains. The genus is currently being revised by D. Lafontaine (Canadian National Collection of Insects, Arachnids and Nematodes) and the number of described species is anticipated to increase. The taxonomy of C. fuscum will not be affected by this revision (J.T. Troubridge pers. comm., 2002). Most Copablepharon species are found in arid, sandy or dune environments and have narrow distribution ranges (J.T. Troubridge, pers. comm., 2002). The closest Copablepharon species geographically to C. fuscum is Copablepharon absidum (Harv.), which occurs at one site near Osoyoos, B.C. and in dunes in Washington, northern Oregon and central Idaho (Troubridge and Crabo, 1995). Another species, Copablepharon hopfingeri Francl., has also been recorded in arid, sandy soils in northeastern Washington and one site in southeastern British Columbia. It has been extirpated from British Columbia (Lafontaine and Troubridge, 1998).


Description

Adults

Copablepharon fuscum is a dark to golden brown noctuid moth with distinctive black and pale yellow forewing lines (Figures figure1a and figure1b). The forewing is 17-19 mm long and slightly darker than the thorax. The trailing margin is gray-brown and the costa and anal margin is white. The medial vein is edged with a pale yellow or white line anteriorly and a diffuse black line posteriorly. A shorter and more diffuse black line is located nearer the apex of the forewing. A second pale yellow line borders the cubital vein. There is a series of irregular black dots located along the subterminal line. The hindwing is dark gray-brown, fading to very light gray or white basally. Overall pigmentation is variable among individuals and southern populations appear to be darker than northern populations (Figure 2). Males and females are similar in colouration, wing patterning and size (total wingspan varying from 35-40 mm).

There are no superficially similar moth species in British Columbia, and field determination based on external features (e.g., forewing colour patterns) is reliable. Troubridge and Crabo (1995) provided a detailed technical summary of adult morphology in their initial species description, including information on male and female genitalia. It is provided in Appendix 1.

Eggs

Eggs are deposited singly or in groups on the exterior of Abronia latifolia (yellow sand-verbena) leaves or flowers. Their structure has not been described.

Larvae

Larvae are green in early instars and brown in later instars with longitudinal pale stripes and a light brown head capsule (Figure 1c).

Pupae

Pupae are dark brown and are about 20 mm in length (Figure 1d). They have a distinctive external compartment (exarate haustellum) for the development of the proboscis. A fragile layer of sand particles protects the pupa.


Figure 1a:  Adult, Larval and Pupal Stages of C. fuscum -- Live Adult Moth on A. latifolia Stem

Figure 1a: Adult, larval and pupal stages of C. fuscum -- live adult moth on A. latifolia stem.

Photo provided by J. Tatum.


Figure 1b: Adult, Larval and Pupal Stages of C. fuscum -- Adult Moth from J.T. Troubridge Collection

Figure 1b: Adult, larval and pupal stages of C. fuscum -- adult moth from J.T. Troubridge collection.

Photo by N.A. Page.


Figure 1c: Adult, Larval and Pupal Stages of C. fuscum -- Late Instar Larva Feeding on A. latifolia Flower

Figure 1c: Adult, larval and pupal stages of C. fuscum -- late instar larva feeding on A. latifolia flower.

Photo by N.A. Page.


Figure 1d: Adult, Larval and Pupal Stages of C. fuscum -- Pupa (note external proboscis)

Figure 1d: Adult, larval and pupal stages of C. fuscum -- pupa (note external proboscis).

Photo provided by J. Tatum.


Figure 2: Example of Colour Range in Adult C. fuscum

Figure 2: Example of colour range in adult C. fuscum. Photo provided by J.T. Troubridge.

Photo provided by J.T. Troubridge.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Noctuelle de l’abronie (Copablepharon fuscum)

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur la
noctuelle de l’abronie
Copablepharon fuscum
au Canada
2003

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Nom scientifique :
Copablepharon fuscum Troubr. et Crabo, [1996]
Classification
   Ordre :
Lépidoptères
   Superfamille :
Noctuoïdes
   Famille :
Noctuidés
   Sous-famille :
Noctuinés
   Tribu :
Agrotini
   Genre :
Copablepharon
   Espèce :
fuscum
Synonymes :
Aucun


Numéro de la liste MONA (Moths of North America) : 10692.2

Citation bibliographique : Troubridge, J.T., et L.G. Crabo. 1996. A new species of Copablepharon (Lepidoptera: Noctuidae) from British Columbia and Washington. Journal of the Entomological Society of British Columbia 92: 87–90.

Spécimens types : Holotype mâle : États-Unis, Washington, comté d’Island, parc d’État Deception Pass, 26 mai 1995, Troubridge et Crabo, dans la Collection nationale canadienne (CNC). Paratypes (16 mâles, 18 femelles) : 15 mâles, 15 femelles, données identiques à celles de l’holotype; 1 femelle, 1er juillet 1994, Saanichton, C.-B., Troubridge; 1 mâle, 2 femelles, 1er juillet 1995, Saanichton, C.-B., Troubridge.

Nom commun :
noctuelle de l’abronie
Nom anglais :
Sand-verbena Moth


Situation taxinomique et similarités : Quinze espèces du genre Copablepharon ont été décrites en Amérique au nord du Mexique. Sept d’entre elles ont été répertoriées au Canada, et trois en Colombie-Britannique. Le C. fuscum est la seule espèce présente à l’ouest de la chaîne des Cascades. Le genre est actuellement révisé par D. Lafontaine (Collection nationale canadienne d’insectes, d’arachnides et de nématodes), et l’on s’attend à ce que le nombre d’espèces augmente. Cette révision n’aura aucune incidence sur le statut taxinomique du C. fuscum (J.T. Troubridge, comm. pers., 2002). La plupart des espèces du genre Copablepharon fréquentent les milieux sablonneux arides ou les dunes et présentent une aire de répartition restreinte (J.T. Troubridge, comm. pers., 2002). L’espèce de Copablepharon dont l’aire de répartition se rapproche le plus de celle du C. fuscum est le Copablepharon absidum (Harv.). Cette espèce se rencontre dans un seul site près d’Osoyoos (C.-B.) et dans des habitats dunaires dans l’État de Washington, le nord de l’Oregon et le centre de l’Idaho (Troubridge et Crabo, 1995). Une autre espèce, le Copablepharon hopfingeri Francl., a également été observée dans des milieux sablonneux arides du nord-est de l’État de Washington et à un site du sud-est de la Colombie-Britannique. Cette espèce a disparu de la Colombie-Britannique (Lafontaine et Troubridge, 1998).


Description

Adultes

Le Copablepharon fuscum est un Noctuidé brun sombre à doré aux ailes antérieures marquées de lignes noires et jaune pâle caractéristiques (figures figure1a et figure1b). L’aile antérieure mesure entre 17 et 19 mm de longueur et est légèrement plus foncée que le thorax. La marge postérieure est brun-gris, et les aires costale et anale sont blanches. La nervure médiale est bordée antérieurement par une ligne jaune pâle ou blanche et, postérieurement, par une ligne noire diffuse. Une ligne noire plus courte et plus diffuse est visible plus près de l’apex de l’aile. Une deuxième ligne jaune pâle borde la nervure cubitale. La ligne subterminale est lisérée d’une série de points noirs irréguliers. L’aile postérieure est brun-gris foncé à l’exception de sa portion basale, qui est gris très pâle ou blanche. La pigmentation varie d’un individu à l’autre, et les individus des populations méridionales semblent plus foncés que ceux des populations vivant plus au nord (figure 2). Les deux sexes se ressemblent par la coloration, les motifs alaires et la taille (envergure variant entre 35 et 40 mm).

Aucune autre espèce de papillon nocturne ne ressemble superficiellement à la noctuelle de l’abronie en Colombie-Britannique. En conséquence, cette dernière peut être identifiée de façon fiable sur le terrain d’après ses caractères externes (p. ex. la coloration de l’aile antérieure). Troubridge et Crabo (1995) ont fourni dans leur description initiale de l’espèce un sommaire technique détaillé de la morphologie des adultes, y compris des informations sur les genitalia mâles et femelles (voir l’annexe 1).

Oeufs

Les œufs sont pondus individuellement ou en groupes sur les feuilles ou les fleurs de la plante hôte. Leur structure n’a pas été décrite.

Chenilles

Les jeunes chenilles sont vertes, mais elles virent au brun en vieillissant, avec des rayures longitudinales pâles et la capsule céphalique brun pâle (figure 1c).

Chrysalides

Les chrysalides sont brun foncé et mesurent environ 20 mm de longueur (figure 1d). Elles sont pourvues d’un étui allongé caractéristique (haustellum sillonné) abritant la trompe et sont protégées par une couche friable de particules de sable.


Figure 1a : Stades adulte, larvaire et nymphal du C. fuscum -- adulte vivant posé sur une tige d’abronie à feuilles larges

Figure 1a : Stades adulte, larvaire et nymphal du C. fuscum -- adulte vivant posé sur une tige d’abronie à feuilles larges.

Photo provided by J. Tatum.


Figure 1b : Stades adulte, larvaire et nymphal du C. fuscum -- spécimen adulte déposé dans la collection de J.T. Troubridge

Figure 1b : Stades adulte, larvaire et nymphal du C. fuscum -- spécimen adulte déposé dans la collection de J.T. Troubridge.

Photo by N.A. Page.


Figure 1c : Stades adulte, larvaire et nymphal du C. fuscum -- chenille du dernier stade se nourrissant sur une fleur d’abronie à feuilles larges

Figure 1c : Stades adulte, larvaire et nymphal du C. fuscum -- chenille du dernier stade se nourrissant sur une fleur d’abronie à feuilles larges.

Photo by N.A. Page.


Figure 1d : Stades adulte, larvaire et nymphal du C. fuscum -- chrysalide (à noter le proboscis saillant)

Figure 1d : Stades adulte, larvaire et nymphal du C. fuscum -- chrysalide (à noter le proboscis saillant).

Photo provided by J. Tatum.


Figure 2 : Exemple de gamme de couleurs chez des C. fuscum adultes

Figure 2: Exemple de gamme de couleurs chez des C. fuscum adultes.

Photo : J.T. Troubridge.