Skip booklet index and go to page content

Sand-verbena Moth (Copablepharon Fuscum)

Distribution

Global Range

Copablepharon fuscum has been recorded in eight sand-dominated coastal sites such as spits and dunes surrounding the Strait of Georgia of British Columbia and Puget Sound of Washington State (Figures figure3 and figure4). All population records are based on light-trap or hand-net captures from three sources: Troubridge and Crabo (1996) from the type localities; Troubridge and Woodward (2000) for one site in the northern Strait of Georgia; and records collected by N. Page in 2001 and 2002 from one new site in the northern Strait of Georgia and four new sites in Puget Sound. Collections by N. Page were made using a modified Robinson light-trap or by hand-netting in proximity to a light-trap between the middle of May and early July. In most cases, a single light-trap was placed adjacent to patches of A. latifolia prior to dusk and was operated for the full dusk to dawn period. Two traps were used occasionally. This sampling method and intensity has been used successfully to capture Copablepharon species (J.T. Troubridge, pers. comm., 2002). Additional coastal sites that did not support C. fuscum were also sampled but provide contextual information on habitat preferences (see Figure 4). Detailed sampling records from 2001 and 2002 are provided in Appendix 2 (note: sites with known C. fuscum populations are not identified by name or geographic coordinates). All known specimens of C  fuscum have been identified by J.T. Troubridge.


Figure 3: North American Range of C. fuscum Based on Confirmed Specimens

Figure 3: North American range of C. fuscum based on confirmed specimens.


Figure 4: Copablepharon fuscum Populations and Sampling Sites in the Strait of Georgia – Puget Sound and West Coast of Vancouver Island

Figure 4: Copablepharon fuscum populations and sampling sites in the Strait of Georgia – Puget Sound and west coast of Vancouver Island.

Sites with confirmed populations of C. fuscum are shown with black dots. Sites with A. latifolia that were sampled in 2001/2002 without capturing C. fuscum are shown with squares. Sites without A. latifolia that were sampled in 2001/2002 without capturing C. fuscum are shown with triangles.

Each location is believed to encompass one population. The extent of occurrence of all known sites with C. fuscum is 4850 km2, which is a maximum of 220 km long and 45 km wide. The extent of the three Canadian populations is approximately 3700 km2. The maximum distance between known populations is 220 km.


Canadian Range

C. fuscum has been recorded at three sites in Canada in the past eight years (Figure 4). Two populations are located in the northern Strait of Georgia in the Comox area, B.C. A single population is located in the southern Strait of Georgia near Sidney, B.C. The southern Canadian population is proximate to populations in Washington described below.

Based on the presence of its host-plant, Abronia latifolia, C. fuscum may occur in up to four additional sites in the Canadian portion of the southern Strait of Georgia. One potential site was sampled in June 2002 without success and more intensive sampling is needed in that locality. A privately owned island near Sidney, B.C. has recent records of A. latifolia from one to three sand spits or dunes (Clement, 1998). It has not been sampled for moths. Three sites with small patches of A. latifolia (< 25 m2) in the southern Strait of Georgia were also sampled in 2002 without success. In addition, C. fuscum was not captured in three other sites that do not support A. latifolia. No additional sites with suitable habitat (e.g., open dunes with A. latifolia) for C. fuscum were found in the northern Strait of Georgia. Dunes on the west coast of Savary Island were visited on June 2002. No A. latifolia plants were observed, and light-trapping in dune meadow areas did not result in capture of C. fuscum. Five dune sites on the west coast of Vancouver Island with A. latifolia populations were sampled between May 15 and July 10, 2001. No C. fuscum were captured or observed at these sites.

It is unknown if C. fuscum has been extirpated from any sites in Canada.


United States Range

C. fuscum has been recorded from five sites in the Puget Sound region of Washington: two on Whidbey Island (including the type locality at Deception Pass State Park), one on San Juan Island, and two on the eastern side of the Strait of Juan de Fuca (Figure 4).

C. fuscum may occur in up to 6 additional sites in the Puget Sound area. These potential sites have not been visited, and the presence of C. fuscum was inferred from inspecting oblique air photos for suitable open dune habitat. Other than the visually confirmed presence of A. latifolia on one spit on Lopez Island, it is unknown if these additional sites support large patches of A. latifolia. Two other sites with small patches of A. latifolia in the Puget Sound area were sampled in June 2002 using light-traps. No C. fuscum were captured or observed at either site.

There is no indication that C. fuscum populations in the Strait of Georgia - Puget Sound region are peripheral to a larger population on the Oregon and California coasts. A review of collections from the western U.S. by J.T. Troubridge did not reveal any additional collection records of C. fuscum (J.T. Troubridge pers. comm., 2002). One site in Oregon with A. latifolia was visited in June 2002. No light-trapping was possible, and C. fuscum was not found during hand searches of patches of flowering A. latifolia. A. latifolia has declined throughout its range on the Oregon and California coasts because of exotic species invasion, intensive recreational use and urban development (A. Wiedemann, pers. comm., 2002). However, additional sampling is needed to determine the presence or absence of C. fuscum in coastal sites in Oregon and California.


Population Structure

The distribution of C. fuscum appears to be structured at two spatial scales. The geographic isolation of sand-dominated coastal sites with large A. latifolia patches creates a fragmented regional distribution pattern of C. fuscum populations. It is unclear if C. fuscum exhibits a metapopulation1 structure in which infrequent dispersal increases population persistence, or if the populations are better described as isolated populations without dispersal. The northern Strait of Georgia populations are approximately 6.7 km apart and may have infrequent immigration (e.g., < 1 migrant per year). The southern populations are more geographically isolated (mean, minimum and maximum distance between the six southern populations: 32.6, 3.9, 59.9 km respectively). The population near Sidney, B.C. is the most isolated Canadian population and the closest known population is 33.2 km away on San Juan Island.

Within sites, A. latifolia plants are also patchily distributed. Dense patches may be separated by open sand or grass areas without A. latifolia, or by sparse nonflowering A. latifolia plants. In some sites, C. fuscum was captured among relatively small patches of A. latifolia (+/-50 m2) that are up to 200 m from large, contiguous patches. Each C. fuscum population may be composed of a series of subpopulations with regular migration between subpopulations.




Footnotes

1 A metapopulation is a complex of connected populations whose persistence as a whole depends on limited migration between the isolated populations (Hanski, 1997). An important assumption for metapopulations is that habitat patches are not too isolated to prevent immigration.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Noctuelle de l’abronie (Copablepharon fuscum)

Répartition

Répartition mondiale

La noctuelle de l’abronie a été trouvée à huit sites côtiers sablonneux, à savoir des flèches et des dunes bordant le détroit de Géorgie (Colombie-Britannique) ou comprises dans la région du Puget Sound (Washington) (figures figure3 et figure4). Les données sur les populations ont été recueillies à l’aide de pièges lumineux ou d’un filet et proviennent de trois sources : Troubridge et Crabo (1996) pour les localités types, Troubridge et Woodward (2000) pour un site bordant la portion nord du détroit de Géorgie, et N. Page, en 2001 et en 2002, pour un nouveau site bordant la portion nord du détroit de Géorgie et quatre nouveaux sites se trouvant dans la région du Puget Sound. Pour la collecte de spécimens, effectuée du milieu de mai au début de juillet, N. Page a eu recours à une version modifiée d’un piège lumineux de type Robinson ou s’est servi d’un filet à proximité d’un piège lumineux. En général, il a utilisé un seul piège lumineux installé à proximité de colonies d’abronie à feuilles larges avant la brunante et l’a laissé fonctionner de la brunante à l’aube. Deux pièges ont été déployés à l’occasion. Cette méthode et cet effort d’échantillonnage ont déjà été utilisés avec succès pour la capture d’autres Copablepharon (J.T. Troubridge, comm. pers., 2002). L’échantillonnage de sites exempts de C. fuscum a permis de recueillir des informations contextuelles sur les préférences liées à l’habitat (voir la figure 4). Les résultats des échantillonnages effectués en 2001 et en 2002 sont présentés en détail à l’annexe 2 (note : le nom et les coordonnées géographiques des sites abritant des populations connues de noctuelle de l’abronie ne sont pas indiqués). Tous les spécimens connus de C. fuscum ont été identifiés par J.T. Troubridge.


Figure 3 : Aire de répartition de la noctuelle de l’abronie en Amérique du Nord, selon les sites où la présence de l’espèce a été confirmée

Figure 3 : Aire de répartition de la noctuelle de l’abronie en Amérique du Nord, selon les sites où la présence de l’espèce a été confirmée.


Figure 4 : Populations connues de la noctuelle de l’abronie et sites échantillonnés le long du détroit de Géorgie, dans la région du Puget Sound et le long de la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver

Figure 4 : Populations connues de la noctuelle de l’abronie et sites échantillonnés le long du détroit de Géorgie, dans la région du Puget Sound et le long de la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver.

Les sites où la présence d’une population de noctuelle de l’abronie a été confirmée sont identifiés par un point noir. Les sites abritant des colonies d’abronie à feuilles larges mais où aucune noctuelle de l’abronie n’a été capturée durant les échantillonnages de 2001-2002 sont identifiés par un carré. Les sites n’abritant aucune colonie d’abronie à feuilles larges et où aucune noctuelle de l’abronie n’a été capturée durant les échantillonnages de 2001-2002 sont identifiés par un triangle.

Chaque localité semble abriter une population distincte. La zone d’occurrence pour tous les sites abritant des populations connues de noctuelle de l’abronie est de 4 850 km2, pour une longueur maximale de 220 km et une largeur maximale de 45 km. La zone d’occurrence de l’espèce au Canada s’élève à environ 3 700 km2. La distance maximale entre les populations connues est de 220 km.


Répartition canadienne

Au Canada, la présence de la noctuelle de l’abronie a été confirmée à trois sites au cours des huit dernières années (figure 4). Deux populations ont été découvertes en bordure de la portion nord du détroit de Géorgie, dans la région de Comox (C.-B.). La troisième population occupe un site côtier de la portion sud du détroit de Géorgie, près de Sidney (C.-B.). Des trois populations canadiennes, c’est cette dernière qui est la plus proche des populations de l’État de Washington décrites plus bas.

D’après la répartition de sa plante hôte, l’abronie à feuilles larges (Abronia latifolia), la noctuelle de l’abronie pourrait être présente à quatre autres sites répartis le long de la partie canadienne de la portion sud du détroit de Géorgie. Un de ces sites a été échantillonné sans succès en juin 2002, mais un échantillonnage plus intensif s’impose dans la région. Récemment, la présence de la plante hôte a été observée près de Sidney (C.-B.) dans une île privée, sur une à trois flèches de sable ou dunes (Clement, 1998). Aucun échantillonnage susceptible de confirmer la présence de la noctuelle n’y a été effectué. Trois sites abritant des petites colonies d’abronie à feuilles larges (< 25 m2) ont également été échantillonnés sans succès le long de la portion sud du détroit de Géorgie en 2002. Trois autres sites n’abritant aucune colonie de la plante hôte se sont également révélés exempts de la noctuelle. Aucun autre site comportant un habitat favorable à la noctuelle (p. ex. dunes dénudées colonisées par l’abronie) n’a été trouvé le long de la portion nord du détroit de Géorgie. Les dunes de la côte ouest de l’île Savary ont été visitées en juin 2002. Aucune abronie n’y a été trouvée, et aucune noctuelle de l’abronie n’a été capturée au piège lumineux dans des prés dunaires. Cinq sites dunaires abritant des colonies d’abronie répartis le long de la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver ont été échantillonnés entre le 15 mai et le 10 juillet 2001. Aucune noctuelle de l’abronie n’y a été capturée ou observée.

On ignore si la noctuelle de l’abronie a disparu de certains sites au Canada.


Répartition aux États-Unis

La noctuelle de l’abronie a été observée à cinq sites dans la région du Puget Sound (État de Washington) : deux sites dans l’île Whidbey (incluant la localité type dans le parc d’État Deception Pass), un site dans l’île San Juan, et deux autres sites sur la côte est du détroit de Juan de Fuca (figure 4).

Six autres sites de la région du Puget Sound pourraient abriter des populations de noctuelle de l’abronie. Ces sites n’ont pas été visités, mais une recherche d’habitats dunaires propices à partir de photographies aériennes obliques a révélé que la noctuelle pourrait s’y trouver. Si l’on fait exception de la colonie repérée visuellement sur une flèche de l’île Lopez, on ignore si ces sites abritent de grandes colonies d’abronie à feuilles larges. Deux autres sites comportant de petites colonies de la plante hôte ont été échantillonnés à l’aide de pièges lumineux dans la région du Puget Sound en juin 2002. Aucune noctuelle de l’abronie n’y a été capturée ou observée.

Rien n’indique que les populations de noctuelle de l’abronie découvertes en bordure du détroit de Géorgie et dans la région du Puget Sound se trouvent en périphérie d’une plus grande population répartie le long des côtes de l’Oregon et de la Californie. J.T. Troubridge n’a trouvé aucun autre spécimen de noctuelle de l’abronie dans les collections couvrant l’ouest des États-Unis qu’il a examinées (J.T. Troubridge, comm. pers., 2002). En Oregon, un site abritant des colonies d’abronie à feuilles larges a été visité en juin 2002. Aucun piège lumineux n’a pu être déployé à cet endroit, et aucune noctuelle de l’abronie n’a été trouvée au terme d’une recherche manuelle menée parmi des colonies florifères d’abronie à feuilles larges. L’introduction de plantes exotiques envahissantes, l’utilisation intensive des habitats propices à des fins récréatives et le développement urbain ont entraîné le déclin des populations d’abronie à l’échelle de l’aire de l’espèce dans les régions côtières de l’Oregon et de la Californie (A. Wiedemann, comm. pers., 2002). Toutefois, d’autres échantillonnages s’imposent pour établir si la noctuelle de l’abronie est présente dans les régions côtières de l’Oregon et de la Californie.


Structure de la population

La répartition de la noctuelle de l’abronie semble structurée selon deux échelles spatiales. L’isolement géographique des milieux côtiers sablonneux abritant de grandes colonies d’abronie à feuilles larges explique la fragmentation des effectifs de la noctuelle en populations régionales. Il est difficile de dire si la noctuelle présente une structure de type métapopulation1, dans laquelle la persistance des populations serait accrue par une certaine dispersion, ou si ses populations sont en fait isolées et ne se dispersent pas.

À chacun des sites, la plante hôte est répartie sporadiquement. Des colonies denses peuvent être séparées les unes des autres par des zones sablonneuses dénudées ou des peuplements de graminées, parsemés ou non d’abronies non florifères. À certains sites, la noctuelle de l’abronie a été capturée parmi des colonies d’abronie relativement petites (± 50 m2) situées à des distances pouvant atteindre 200 m de grandes colonies continues. Chaque population de noctuelle de l’abronie peut englober un ensemble de sous-populations parmi lesquelles il y a des migrations régulières.




Notes de bas de page

1 Une métapopulation est un complexe de populations reliées les unes aux autres, dont la persistance repose sur des migrations limitées entre les populations (Hanski, 1997). L’existence d’une métapopulation n’est possible que si les habitats propices ne sont pas trop isolés, de sorte qu’il puisse y avoir des migrations entre les populations.