Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel (Lampsilis fasciola) in Canada (Final)


Introduction

The Wavyrayed Lampmussel (Lampsilis fasciola, Rafinesque 1820) is a small sexually dimorphic mussel recognized by its yellow or yellowish-green rounded shell. The shell is characterized by numerous thin wavy green rays that may be narrow and individual or coalesced into wider rays in some specimens (Figure 1). Regardless of size, the rays are always wavy with multiple interruptions giving rise to the common name of this mussel. The species is usually found in small to medium, clear, hydrologically stable rivers where it inhabits clean sand/gravel substrates in and around shallow riffle areas.

Figure 1: The Wavyrayed Lampmussel (Lampsilis fasciola).
Photo courtesy of S. Staton, Fisheries and Oceans Canada.
Figure 1: The Wavyrayed Lampmussel (Lampsilis fasciola). Photo courtesy of S. Staton, Fisheries and Oceans Canada.

The Wavyrayed Lampmussel is considered globally secure (G4). It is considered nationally secure within the United States (N4) although it is declining throughout its range, particularly in the north where it is considered endangered in Illinois, threatened in Michigan and New York, and of special concern in Indiana. This species is considered imperiled (N1) in Canada where it was listed as Endangered in 1999 by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). The Wavyrayed Lampmussel is listed under the 'Species at Risk in Ontario List' as Endangered (not regulated). The Canadian distribution is restricted to Ontario where it has likely always been a rare species (Metcalfe-Smith and McGoldrick 2003) with a historical range that included western Lake Erie, Lake St. Clair, and the Maitland, Ausable, St. Clair, Sydenham, Thames, Detroit and Grand Rivers. Current populations are known only from a small portion of the Lake St. Clair delta and the Ausable, Grand, Thames and Maitland Rivers.

The Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team (OFMRT) was formed in the spring of 2003 to address concerns about the status of Ontario's freshwater mussel populations and to begin to address the recovery planning obligations under Canada's new Species at Risk Act (SARA). The National Recovery Strategy for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel was developed by the OFMRT using the best available information in an effort to reduce the threats, prevent extirpation and, if possible, to restore the species to healthy, self-sustaining levels. It is anticipated that many of the actions proposed in this strategy to benefit the Wavyrayed Lampmussel will also act to reduce threats and improve habitat for other freshwater mussels and aquatic species in general.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie de rétablissement de la lampsile fasciolée (Lampsilis fasciola) au Canada (version finale)


Introduction

La lampsile fasciolée (Lampsilis fasciola, Rafinesque 1820) est une petite moule dimorphique qui se distingue par une coquille ronde de couleur jaune ou vert jaunâtre, marquée de nombreuses rayures vertes, fines et sinueuses. Ces rayures peuvent être étroites ou séparées ou se joindre pour former des rayures plus larges chez certains exemplaires (figure 1). Quelle que soit leur taille, les rayures sont toujours sinueuses et discontinues, d'où le nom commun de cette moule. On trouve généralement cette espèce sur les substrats de sable et de gravier propres des rivières de taille petite à moyenne, à forte stabilité hydrologique, où l'eau est claire, dans et autour des radiers peu profonds.

Figure 1 : Lampsile fasciolée (Lampsilis fasciola).
Photo courtoisie de S. Staton, Péches et Océans Canada.
Figure 1 : Lampsile fasciolée. Photo courtoisie de S. Staton, Péches et Océans Canada.

La lampsile fasciolée est considérée en sécurité au plan mondial (G4). Elle est en sécurité au plan national (N4) aux États-Unis, bien qu'elle connaisse un déclin dans toute son aire de répartition, notamment dans le nord où elle est considérée comme une espèce en voie de disparition dans l'Illinois, une espèce menacée au Michigan et à New York et une espèce préoccupante en Indiana. Au Canada, cette espèce est considérée en péril (N1) et en 1999, elle a été inscrite comme étant en voie de disparition par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). La lampsile fasciolée est désignée comme une espèce en voie de disparition (non réglementée) dans la « Liste des espèces en péril en Ontario ». La répartition canadienne se limite à l'Ontario où elle a probablement toujours été une espèce rare (Metcalfe-Smith et McGoldrick 2003). L'aire de répartition canadienne historique comprenait la partie ouest du lac Érié, le lac St. Clair et les rivières Maitland, Ausable, St. Clair, Sydenham, Thames, Detroit et Grand. Les populations actuelles se limitent à une petite portion du delta du lac St. Clair et des rivières Ausable, Grand, Thames et Maitland.  

L'Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team (OFMRT) (équipe de rétablissement des moules d'eau douce de l'Ontario) a été formée au printemps de 2003 pour étudier les préoccupations entourant la situation des populations de moules d'eau douce de l'Ontario et commencer à s'acquitter des obligations de planification du rétablissement en vertu de la nouvelle Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) du Canada. Le programme de rétablissement de la lampsile fasciolée a été élaboré par l'OFMRT à l'aide des meilleurs renseignements disponibles dans un effort pour réduire les menaces, prévenir sa disparition et, si possible, restaurer cette espèce à des niveaux sains de stabilité. On prévoit que bon nombre des mesures proposées dans le programme de rétablissement de la lampsile fasciolée permettront également de réduire les menaces et d'améliorer l'habitat pour d'autres moules d'eau douce et espèces aquatiques en général.