Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel (Lampsilis fasciola) in Canada (Final)


Appendix 1: Record of Cooperation and Consultation

Fisheries and Oceans Canada attempted to engage all potentially affected aboriginal communities in Southern Ontario during the development of the proposed recovery strategy for the Wavyrayed Lampmussel. An information package, which includes a copy of the Wavyrayed Lampmussel Recovery Strategy and a summary description of the strategy, was prepared to solicit comments from potentially affected Aboriginal groups prior to the finalization of the proposed recovery strategy. This package was sent to the Chief and Council of the Chippewas of Kettle and Stoney Point, Aamjiwnaang First Nation, Caldwell First Nation, Delaware Nation Council (Moravian of the Thames First Nation), Chippewas of the Thames, Oneida Nation of the Thames, Munsee-Delaware First Nation, Mississaugas of New Credit First Nation, Six Nations of the Grand, Walpole Island First Nation and the Southern First Nations Secretariat. Information packages were also sent to Metis Nation of Ontario (MNO) Captains of the Hunt for Region 7, 8, and 9 and the MNO senior policy advisor. Members of these communities may have traveled or harvested fish or freshwater mussels from the waters of the Sydenham River, Thames River, Grand River, Lake St. Clair or Lake Erie where this mussel species was historically found. Follow-up telephone calls were made to each community office to ensure that packages were received and to ask if they would like to schedule a meeting to learn more about the proposed recovery strategy.

As a result of these calls, meetings were held with Oneida Nation of the Thames Councillor for environmental issues, Chief and council of Kettle and Stoney Point First Nation, the environment committee from Aamjiwnaang First Nation, Wapole Island First Nation – Heritage Centre Staff, and a Council meeting of the Metis of Nation of Ontario. No comments were received.

In addition to the above activities, DFO established an ongoing dialogue with the policy advisor to the Southern First Nations Secretariat and engaged the London Chiefs Council (an association of the 8 area First Nation governments in Southwestern Ontario) on several occasions. Meetings were held with the director of the Walpole Island Natural Heritage Centre and the Fish and Game Enforcement Officer from Walpole Island First Nation. During these meetings, general information on the Species at Risk Act and proposed recovery strategy development were presented and the Walpole Island Recovery Strategy, which includes the Wavyrayed Lampmussel, was discussed. Walpole Island First Nation was represented in the membership of the Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team since the formation of the recovery team in 2003. DFO also discussed SARA issues with a representative of the Six Nations of the Grand who works for the Six Nations EcoCentre and who also represents First Nation interests on the Grand River Fishes at Risk Management Plan, the Thames River Fish Management Plan and the St. Clair River Management Strategy.

The Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team had representatives from all of the Conservation Authorities responsible for managing the rivers where Wavyrayed Lampmussels are presently or were historically found. In addition to this, DFO prepared a list of non-governmental organizations and municipalities which may be impacted by the proposed recovery strategy. Information packages were prepared to inform these groups that the proposed the recovery strategy was about to be approved and inviting each group to comment on the strategy. As well an announcement was prepared and placed in newspapers with circulation in the area where these mussels are found to inform landowners and the general public about the strategy and to request their comments. These packages were sent and the announcements published at the time the proposed recovery strategy was posted on the SARA registry. Comments from McIlwraith Field Naturalists of London Ontario, Canadian Wildlife Service – Ontario, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources and the City of Cambridge were received.

The province of Ontario was represented on the Recovery Team by the Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR) and had actively participated in the development of this proposed recovery strategy. Further to their participation in the development of the recovery strategy, the OMNR conducted a thorough review of the penultimate draft (December 2004) providing valuable additional insight. Further comment on the proposed Recovery Strategy was requested from OMNR once it was posted on the SARA Registry. Comments were incorporated.

The National Water Research Institute of Environment Canada had been actively engaged in the development of this recovery strategy providing two members to the Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team. Environment Canada was invited to review and provide comment on the December 2004 draft of the Wavyrayed Lampmussel Recovery Strategy. Further comment on the proposed Recovery Strategy was requested from Environment Canada once it was posted on the SARA Registry. Comments were incorporated.

Comment on the proposed Recovery Strategy was requested from the Parks Canada Agency once it was posted on the SARA Registry. No Comments were received.

The Recovery Team contacted representatives from Resource Management agencies at the state and federal levels in the USA where Wavyrayed Lampmussel occur. This mussel is only found in Canada and the United States of America. Information packages were sent to each U.S. agency when the strategy was posted on the Sara Registry. No comments were received.

Page 6

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Stratégie de rétablissement de la lampsile fasciolée (Lampsilis fasciola) au Canada (version finale)


Annexe 1 : Dossier de coopération et de consultation

Pêches et Océans Canada a tenté d'engager la participation à l'élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement de toutes les collectivités autochtones du sud de l'Ontario potentiellement touchées. Une trousse d'information comprenant le programme de rétablissement de la lampsile fasciolée et une description sommaire du programme  a été préparée pour solliciter les commentaires de ces groupes autochtones avant de finaliser le programme de rétablissement. Cette trousse a été transmise au chef et au conseil de Chippewa of Stoney and Kettle Point, à la Aamjiwnaang First Nation, à la Caldwell First Nation, au Delaware Nation Council (Morave de la Thames First Nation), à la Chippewa of the Thames, à la Oneida Nation of the Thames, Munsey-Deleware First Nation, à la Mississauga of New Credit First Nation, à Six Nations of the Grand, à la Walpole Island First Nation et au Southern First Nation Secretariat. Des trousses d'information ont également été envoyées à la Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO), aux capitaines de chasse des régions 7, 8 et 9 et au conseiller principal en politiques de MNO. Les membres de ces communautés peuvent avoir voyagé ou pêché du poisson ou des moules d'eau douce dans les eaux des rivières Sydenham, Thames et Grand ainsi que des lacs St. Clair ou Érié où cette moule se trouvait historiquement. Des appels téléphoniques de suivi ont été faits au bureau de chaque communauté pour s'assurer que les trousses avaient été reçues et demander s'ils aimeraient organiser une réunion pour en savoir davantage sur le programme de rétablissement.

À la suite de ces appels, des réunions ont eu lieu avec le conseiller de la Oneida First Nation of the Thames pour les questions environnementales, le chef et le conseil de la Kettle and Stoney Point First Nation, le comité de l'environnement de la Aamjiwnaang First Nation, le personnel de la Walpole Island First Nation – Heritage Centre et le conseil de Métis Nation of Ontario. Aucun commentaire n'a été reçu jusqu'à présent.

En plus des activités mentionnées ci-dessus, le MPO a établi un dialogue permanent avec le conseiller en politiques du Southern First Nations Secretariat et a engagé la participation du London Chiefs Council (une association des 8 gouvernements des Premières nations dans le sud-ouest de l'Ontario) à plusieurs occasions. Des réunions ont eu lieu avec le directeur du Walpole Island Natural Heritage Centre et l'agent de surveillance de la chasse et de la pêche de la Walpole Island First Nation. Au cours de ces réunions, on a présenté des renseignements généraux au sujet de la Loi sur les espèces en péril et de l'élaboration du programme de rétablissement et on a discuté du programme de rétablissement de Walpole Island, qui inclut la lampsile fasciolée.  La Walpole Island First Nation est représentée parmi les membres de l'équipe de rétablissement des moules d'eau douce de l'Ontario depuis la création de l'équipe en 2003. Le MPO a par ailleurs discuté des questions de la LEP avec un représentant de Six Nations of the Grand qui travaille pour le Six Nations EcoCentre et qui représente également les intérêts des Premières nations dans le plan de gestion des poissons en péril de la rivière Grand, le plan de gestion des poissons de la rivière Thames et le plan de gestion de la rivière St. Clair.

L'Ontario Freshwater Mussel Recovery Team (équipe de rétablissement des moules d'eau douce de l'Ontario) comptait des représentants de tous les Offices de protection de la nature responsables de la gestion des rivières où la lampsile fasciolée est présente ou était présente historiquement. De plus, le MPO a préparé une liste d'organisations non gouvernementales et de municipalités qui peuvent être touchées par le programme de rétablissement. Des trousses d'information ont été préparées pour informer ces groupes et les inviter à formuler des commentaires sur le programme. En outre, une annonce a été placée dans les journaux distribués dans le secteur où ces moules se trouvent pour informer les propriétaires fonciers et le grand public au sujet du programme  et demander leurs commentaires. Ces trousses ont été transmises et les annonces ont été publiées pour coïncider avec l'affichage de la version proposée du programme de rétablissement sur le site du registre public de la LEP.

La province de l'Ontario est représentée au sein de l'équipe de rétablissement par le ministère des Richesses naturelles (MRNO) et a participé activement à l'élaboration de ce programme de rétablissement. Outre sa participation à l'élaboration du programme de rétablissement, le MRNO a entrepris un examen approfondi de l'avant dernière version (décembre 2004), offrant de précieuses idées supplémentaires. Une lettre sollicitant d'autres commentaires provinciaux sur le programme de rétablissement a été envoyée au moment où le programme de rétablissement (version proposée) fut affiché sur le site Web du Registre de la LEP.

 L'institut national de recherche sur les eaux d'Environnement Canada a participé activement à l'élaboration de ce programme de rétablissement grâce à ses deux membres au sein de l'équipe de rétablissement des moules d'eau double de l'Ontario. Environnement Canada a été invité à examiner la version de décembre 2004 du programme de rétablissement de la lampsile fasciolée et à formuler des commentaires.

L'équipe de rétablissement a communiqué avec des représentants des agences de gestion des ressources au niveau de l'état et au niveau fédéral des États-Unis où la lampsile fasciolée est présente. Cette moule n'est présente qu'au Canada et aux États-Unis d'Amérique. Des trousses d'information ont été envoyées à chaque agence lorsque le programme fut affiché sur le site du Registre de la LEP.