Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Copper Redhorse (Moxostoma hubbsi) in Canada (Proposed)

Appendix A: Effects on the Environment and Other Species

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals. The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision-making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts upon non-target species or habitats. The results of the SEA are incorporated directly into the strategy itself, but are also summarized below in this statement.

This recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting Copper Redhorse recovery. Possible inadvertent negative impacts on other species of this strategy were considered. The SEA concluded that this strategy benefits the environment and would have no significant negative impacts.

Protection of Copper Redhorse habitat and the measures taken to improve that habitat will also benefit several other species which share the same environment. Some of these species appear on the List of Wildlife Species at Risk, such as the river redhorse (Moxostoma carinatum), the eastern sand darter (Ammocrypta pellucida), the channel darter (Percina copelandi) and the bridle shiner (Notropis bifrenatus). For example, the monitoring of redhorse recruitment in the Richelieu River, intended to evaluate the efficiency of the measures implemented to support the Copper Redhorse population and the restoration of its habitat, will also contribute to our knowledge of other fish populations (diversity, channel darter, eastern sand darter) and to our understanding of phenomena such as the factors influencing growth in Copper Redhorse young-of-the-year and those suspected of influencing reproductive success. The Vianney-Legendre fish ladder at Saint-Ours was designed to provide passage for the Copper Redhorse and four other species at risk. Work done in monitoring and optimizing operational procedures has confirmed that this structure is being used by more than thirty different species. Water quality improvement projects that aim to reduce the erosion of banks and cultivated fields benefit all species that live in aquatic and riverside habitats such as the northern map turtle (Graptemys geographica), the muskrat (Ondatra zibethicus) or the least bittern (Ixobrychus exilis).

Important Notice and Disclaimer

Fisheries and Oceans Canada does not assume any responsibility for the quality of information, products or services listed in the Web sites provided above. Users should also be aware that information from external sources is available only in the language in which it was provided.

Page 5

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du chevalier cuivré (Moxostoma hubbsi) au Canada (Proposé)

Anexe 1. Effets sur d’autres espèces et l’écosystème

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, l’objet d’une évaluation environnementale stratégique (ÉES) est d’incorporer les considérations environnementales à l’élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décision éclairée du point de vue de l’environnement.

La planification du rétablissement vise à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant reconnu que des programmes peuvent, par inadvertance, produire des effets environnementaux qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des incidences possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés. Les résultats de l’ÉES sont directement inclus dans le programme lui-même, mais également résumés dans le présent énoncé, ci-dessous.

Le présent programme de rétablissement favorisera clairement l’environnement en encourageant le rétablissement du chevalier cuivré. La possibilité que le programme produise par inadvertance des effets négatifs sur d’autres espèces a été envisagée. L’ÉES a permis de conclure que le présent programme sera clairement favorable à l’environnement et n’entraînera pas d’effets négatifs significatifs.

La protection de l’habitat du chevalier cuivré et toutes les mesures visant à améliorer son habitat profiteront à plusieurs espèces qui partagent son milieu de vie. Certaines de ces espèces figurent sur la Liste des espèces en péril, comme le chevalier de rivière (Moxostoma carinatum), le dard de sable (Ammocrypta pellucida), le fouille-roche gris (Percina copelandi) et le méné d’herbe (Notropis bifrenatus). Par exemple, le suivi du recrutement des chevaliers dans la rivière Richelieu, qui a pour objectif d’évaluer l’efficacité des mesures de soutien à la population de chevaliers cuivrés et de la restauration de son habitat, contribue aussi à l’acquisition de connaissances sur la faune ichthyenne du secteur (diversité, fouille-roche gris, dard de sable), ainsi qu’à la compréhension d’autres phénomènes comme les facteurs qui influencent la croissance des jeunes chevaliers de l’année et ceux susceptibles d’influencer le succès de reproduction. La passe migratoire Vianney-Legendre à Saint-Ours visait, en plus du chevalier cuivré, quatre autres espèces au statut précaire. Les travaux de suivi et d’optimisation des modalités d’opération confirment que cet ouvrage est emprunté par plus d’une trentaine d’espèces. Les projets visant à améliorer la qualité de l’eau en diminuant l’érosion des champs agricoles et des rives profitent à toutes les espèces associées à l’habitat aquatique et à l’habitat riverain telles que la tortue géographique (Graptemys geographica), le rat musqué (Ondatra zibethicus) et le petit blongios (Ixobrychus exilis).

Avist et avertissement

Le Ministère des Pêches et des Océans n'est pas responsable de la qualité des renseignements, produits ou services offerts par les sites Internet mentionnés plus haut. Les utilisateurs doivent aussi reconnaître que les renseignements provenant de sources externes ne sont disponibles que dans la langue d'origine.