Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Alkaline Wing-nerved Moss in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Alkaline Wing-nerved Moss
Pterygoneurum Kozlovii

Species Information

Pterygoneurum kozlovii is one of four species of Pterygoneurum in North America. It is a rather inconspicuous moss that forms small to medium sized patches on soil along alkaline wetlands in dry environments. Its most distinctive features are the small flaps that are found on the upper mid-ribs of the leaves and the immersed spore sacs that do not have a lid for spore release. 

 

Distribution

Globally, this moss is found in western North America, Europe, and western Asia. In Canada, it has been found in Saskatchewan and British Columbia. It is relatively widespread, but relatively uncommon, in south-central British Columbia.

 

Habitat

This species is restricted to seasonally wet, alkaline soils in open, and dry areas of British Columbia. Eight of the known sites are undisturbed to relatively undisturbed, and eight are moderately to heavily disturbed. Most of the extant populations appear to be on provincially owned lands, in particular Crown lands, although ownership needs to be confirmed for some sites.

 

Biology

Pterygoneurum kozlovii is a small, acrocarpous moss that usually grows in small to medium sized patches or turfs along the edges of seasonally wet, alkaline areas. Sporophytes and spores are common in Canadian populations, and are probably important in maintaining local populations.

 

Population Sizes and Trends

Pterygoneurum kozlovii is uncommon to rare in most sites, and common and widespread in only three locations. Population trends are uncertain, although four may be declining. 

 

Limiting Factors and Threats

Impacts of grazing animals, urban development, road building, and human use of the habitat appear to be the main limiting factors and threats to Pterygoneurum kozlovii. Recent drought may also be a limiting factor.

 

Special Significance of the Species

Pterygoneurum kozlovii is restricted to Canada in North America. Although it is relatively widespread in southern British Columbia, it is usually not common. It is found in the endangered Purshia tridentata ecosystem in the south Okanagan Valley. The author has investigated the edges of more than 70% of the alkaline wetlands that have potential habitat for this species in British Columbia, and has confirmed the presence of this species at only 13 sites.

 

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

No legislation, regulations, customs, or conditions protect Canadian populations of Pterygoneurum kozlovii. Globally this species is considered imperiled or rare, and it is Red-listed in British Columbia. It is considered endangered or rare in Mongolia.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation du Ptérygoneure de koslov au Canada

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Ptérygoneure de Kozlov
Pterygoneurum kozlovii

Information sur l’espèce

Le Pterygoneurum kozlovii est une des quatre espèces du genre Pterygoneurum que l’on trouve en Amérique du Nord. Il s’agit d’une mousse plutôt discrète qui pousse en touffes petites à moyennes, sur le sol bordant les milieux humides alcalins des régions arides. Ses principaux caractères distinctifs sont la présence de lamelles sur la nervure des feuilles et le fait que ses sporanges, immergés, ne possèdent pas d’opercule permettant la libération des spores.

 

Répartition

À l’échelle mondiale, le P. kozlovii se rencontre dans l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, en Europe et dans l’ouest de l’Asie. Au Canada, l’espèce a été signalée en Saskatchewan et en Colombie-Britannique. Elle est assez répandue, mais relativement peu commune, dans le centre-sud de la Colombie-Britannique.

 

Habitat

L’espèce pousse uniquement dans des terrains alcalins qui sont humides une partie de l’année, dans les zones dégagées et arides de Colombie-Britannique. Huit des sites connus n’ont pas été perturbés ou l’ont été relativement peu, tandis que huit autres ont été modérément à fortement perturbés. La plupart des populations actuelles semblent se trouver sur des terres provinciales, notamment sur des terres de la Couronne, mais certains sites se trouvent sur des terres dont la propriété reste à confirmer.

 

Biologie

Le Pterygoneurum kozlovii est une petite mousse acrocarpe qui pousse habituellement en touffes petites à moyennes au bord de milieux alcalins qui sont mouillés une partie de l’année. Les sporophytes et les spores sont communs dans les populations canadiennes et jouent probablement un rôle important dans le maintien des populations locales.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

Le Pterygoneurum kozlovii est une espèce rare à peu commune dans la plupart de ses sites et commune dans seulement trois d’entre eux. Les tendances des populations sont incertaines, mais quatre sont peut-être en déclin.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

Les effets du broutage, de l’urbanisation, de la construction de routes et de l’utilisation de l’habitat par les humains semblent être les principaux facteurs qui limitent et menacent le Pterygoneurum kozlovii. Un épisode récent de sécheresse pourrait également constituer un facteur limitatif.

 

Importance de l’espèce

En Amérique du Nord, le Pterygoneurum kozlovii n’a été signalé qu’au Canada. Bien que l’espèce soit relativement répandue dans le sud de la Colombie-Britannique, elle n’est généralement pas commune. Elle se rencontre dans l’écosystème du Purshia tridentata du sud de la vallée de l’Okanagan, lequel écosystème est en voie de disparition. L’auteur du rapport de situation a examiné les bords de plus de 70 p. 100 des milieux humides alcalins de la Colombie-Britannique pouvant offrir un habitat à l’espèce et a pu confirmer la présence de celle-ci dans seulement 13 de ces localités.

 

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

Aucune loi, réglementation, règle coutumière ou circonstance particulière ne protège les populations canadiennes du Pterygoneurum kozlovii. À l’échelle mondiale, l’espèce est considérée comme rare ou en péril. Elle figure sur la liste rouge des espèces menacées de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle est également considérée comme rare ou en voie de disparition en Mongolie.