Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Alkaline Wing-nerved Moss in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Alkaline Wing-nerved Moss
Pterygoneurum kozlovii
in Canada
2004

Species Information

Name and Classification

Scientific name:
Pterygoneurum kozlovii Laz.
Pertinent synonyms:
P smardaeanum Vanek
Common name:
Alkaline Wing-nerved Moss
Family:
Pottiaceae
Major plant group:
Mosses (Musci)

The Pottiaceae is a large and diverse family of mosses with many of its species restricted to seasonally dry environments. It is a taxonomically difficult family and has been undergoing extensive review in recent times (Zander 1993). The genus Pterygoneurum is comprised of a group of relatively small, soil-inhabiting species that are characterized by wing-like flaps or lamellae on the upper side of their leaf costae (mid-ribs). There are three other species of Pterygoneurum in North America (Anderson et al. 1990): P. lamellatum (Lindb.) Jur., P. ovatum (Hedw.) Dix., and P. subsessile (Brid.) Jur., and they are all found in Canada (Ireland et al. 1987). Both P. ovatum and P. subsessile are relatively common throughout the driest portions of the interior of British Columbia. Pterygoneurum lamellatum, however, is rare, and has been found only twice in the province: adjacent to White Lake, south of Penticton, and at a recently discovered site in the northwest Cariboo Region (this site was discovered in 2002 while searching for P. kozlovii). In addition, P. kozlovii and P. lamellatum are restricted to seasonally wet and alkaline habitats, whereas the other two species are characteristically found only in much drier sites.

Pterygoneurum kozlovii differs from P. lamellatum, P. ovatum, and P. subsessile principally in that its capsules (spore sacs) are both hidden in the leaves at maturity (immersed) and lacking an operculum (a lid on the spore sac which allows for spore release; this condition is referred to as cleistocarpous). Of the other species, only P. subsessile has immersed capsules, but they are operculate, and its calyptra (a vegetative cap that covers part of the top of the mature spore sac) is mitrate (shaped like a bishop's cap) in contrast to the calyptra of P. kozlovii, which is cucullate (hood-like, with a split on one side). Also, the mature capsules of P. subsessile are usually exposed at maturity, whereas the capsules of P. kozlovii are usually somewhat hidden by rather tightly wrapped leaves.

Because of some distinct gametophytic (haploid, vegetative generation) and sporophytic (diploid, spore producing generation) differences between Pterygoneurum kozlovii and other members of the genus Pterygoneurum, as well as distinct differences between North American plants and those in Europe, this species may warrant a change in taxonomy, at both the species and genus level (McIntosh 1986).


Description

The following description has been derived principally from McIntosh (1986, 1989) and McIntosh and Paige (2001). These descriptions were based on Vanek (1952; as Pterygoneurum smardaeanum Vanek) and Abramova et al. (1973). More details are provided here than is normal for status reports since much of this information is not yet readily available in North American literature.

Pterygoneurum kozlovii is a short, 2-3 mm tall, acrocarpous (producing female structures and sporophytes at the tips of the main stems) moss that usually grows in small (less than 1 cm2) to medium sized (2-4 cm2) patches, sometimes forming rather widespread, yet intermittent turfs. Mature plants have a bulbous appearance, as a result of the presence of sporophytes, whereas younger plants are relatively narrow. Most plants are characterized by twisted leaves (Figure 1 is a photograph of a cluster of plants with maturing sporophytes). Small bulbils, or vegetative propagules, are often present along the underground stems and these may develop into plants.


Figure 1: Mature Plants and Maturing Capsules of Pterygoneurum kozlovii

Mature plants and maturing capsules of Pterygoneurum kozlovii; mostly on left side of photograph (~X10)

Mostly on left side of photograph (~X10).

The leaves of Pterygoneurum kozlovii are light green to yellow-green, and are about 1 mm long, ovate-lanceolate to ovate, concave, and taper rather abruptly towards the awn (Figure 2). Leaf margins are plain to weakly recurved and usually weakly toothed near the apex. The leaf costa is pale brown and has two large central or guide cells. The upper surface of the costa above mid-leaf is comprised of two to four cells that form a base to the characteristic flaps. These lamellae are usually two, rarely three and they average four to six cells in height. Their margins are usually irregular and their terminal cells papillose. The costa is usually long-excurrent, especially on the upper leaves, as a clear, smooth to weakly toothed awn, or hair-tip, giving larger colonies a somewhat hoary appearance.


Figure 2: Upper Stem Leaf of Pterygoneurum kozlovii Showing Lamellae and Leaf Awn

Upper stem leaf of Pterygoneurum kozlovii showing lamellae and leaf awn.

The middle and upper leaf cells are rhombic or oblong, to irregularly quadrate or rectangular, and mostly range in size from 10-20 µm wide by 15-35 µm long. These cells are usually smooth, although occasionally weakly, and rarely strongly, papillose (having small bumps on the cells' surface). In larger, mature leaves, the cells at the leaf apex towards the base of the awn are distinctly longer and somewhat narrower than those below. The basal leaf cells are rectangular to long-rectangular and larger than the upper cells. Also, they are clear and thin-walled, and appear weakly inflated in some leaves.

Pterygoneurum kozlovii is autoecious, with both male and female structures present on each plant. The leaves around the sporophyte usually number 3-4, and resemble the adjacent leaves, except they are usually longer (up to 1.5 mm long). They become paler and die as the sporophyte matures and often form a cover around the mature capsule. Sporophytes are common (Figure 1). Ovate to round, 0.8-1.0 mm capsules mature through the late autumn into the spring, when they often give fertile plants a golden-brown colour. Capsules lack a regular opening for spore release, although an apparently non-functional differentiated band of small cells is present near the top of the capsule in this species. A tiny apiculus is present at the top of the capsule. Spores are large, from 30-45 µm in size, and are weakly ovate to spherical, and roughly papillose. Spores are released as the capsule decomposes. The calyptrae cover much of the top half of the capsule.

Additional keys can be found in McIntosh (1986) and Savicz-Ljubitzkaja and Smirnova (1970, in Russian). Additional illustrations are found in Vanek (1952) and McIntosh (1989).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation du Ptérygoneure de koslov au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
Ptérygoneure de Kozlov
Pterygoneurum kozlovii
au Canada
2004

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Nom scientifique :
Pterygoneurum kozlovii Laz.
Synonyme pertinent :
P smardaeanum Vanek
Nom commun :
ptérygoneure de Kozlov
Nom anglais :
alkaline wing-nerved moss
Famille :
Pottiacées
Grand groupe végétal :
Mousses (Musci)

La famille des Pottiacées est nombreuse et diversifiée, et un grand nombre de ses espèces poussent uniquement dans des milieux qui sont secs une partie de l’année. Cette famille présente des difficultés sur le plan taxinomique et a récemment fait l’objet d’une révision approfondie (Zander, 1993). Le genre Pterygoneurum est constitué d’espèces relativement petites qui poussent sur le sol et sont caractérisées par la présence de lamelles ou de rabats en forme d’ailes sur le dessus de la nervure des feuilles. Il existe trois autres espèces de Pterygoneurum en Amérique du Nord (Anderson et al., 1990) : le P. lamellatum (Lindb.) Jur., le P. ovatum (Hedw.) Dix., et le P. subsessile (Brid.) Jur. Toutes trois ont été observées en sol canadien (Ireland et al., 1987). Le P. ovatum et le P. subsessile sont relativement communs dans les zones les plus arides de l’intérieur de la Colombie‑Britannique, tandis que le P. lamellatum est rare, puisqu’on en a trouvé seulement deux populations dans la province : près du lac White, au sud de Penticton, et dans une localité du nord-est de la région de Cariboo (ce dernier site a été découvert récemment, en 2002, dans le cadre de travaux visant à trouver le P. kozlovii). Le P. kozlovii et le P. lamellatum poussent uniquement dans des milieux alcalins qui sont mouillés une partie de l’année, tandis que les deux autres espèces poussent habituellement dans des milieux beaucoup plus secs.

Les principaux caractères qui distinguent le Pterygoneurum kozlovii des trois autres espèces est le fait que ses capsules (sporanges) mûres sont immergées (cachées parmi les feuilles) et cléistocarpes (dépouvues d’opercule, c’est-à-dire de couvercle permettant la libération des spores). Parmi les autres espèces, seul le P subsessile possède des capsules immergées, mais elles sont operculées, et leur calyptre (coiffe de tissus gamétophytiques recouvrant en partie le dessus de la capsule mûre) est en forme de mitre; chez le P. kozlovii, la capsule est cucullée (en forme de capuchon fendu sur un côté). À maturité, les capsules du P subsessile sont habituellement exposées, tandis que celles du P kozlovii sont généralement plutôt cachées par des feuilles les enveloppant de manière assez serrée.

Il pourrait s’avérer nécessaire de modifier la taxinomie du Pterygoneurum kozlovii tant au niveau de l’espèce que du genre (McIntosh, 1986). En effet, certains caractères distinguent cette espèce de toutes les autres du même genre, tant chez le gamétophyte (génération haploïde végétative) que chez le sporophyte (génération diploïde productrice de spores), tandis que d’autres caractères distinguent les sujets d’Amérique du Nord et de ceux d’Europe.


Description

La description qui suit est tirée en grande partie de McIntosh (1986, 1989) et de McIntosh et Paige (2001). Ces auteurs ont fondé leurs descriptions sur Vanek (1952; Pterygoneurum smardaeanum Vanek) et Abramova et al. (1973). Nous présentons ici plus de détails que ce qui convient normalement à un rapport de situation, parce qu’une grande partie de l’information demeure difficile à trouver dans les publications nord‑américaines.

Le Pterygoneurum kozlovii est une mousse acrocarpe (produisant ses organes femelles et ses sporophytes au bout des tiges principales) qui mesure 2 à 3 mm de haut et qui forme habituellement des touffes petites (moins de 1 cm2) à moyennes (2 à 4 cm2), ou encore des gazons assez étendus, mais discontinus. Les gamétophytes mûrs ont un aspect bulbeux, en raison de la présence de sporophytes, tandis que gamétophytes plus jeunes sont relativement étroits. La plupart possèdent des feuilles tortillées (la figure 1 montre un groupe de sujets dont les sporophytes sont en maturation). On peut souvent observer le long des tiges souterraines de petites bulbilles; ces propagules végétatives peuvent donner de nouvelles plantes.


Figure 1 : Gamétophytes mûrs et capsules en maturation du Pterygoneurum kozlovii

Gamétophytes mûrs et capsules en maturation du Pterygoneurum kozlovii, surtout visibles du côté gauche(~x10).

Surtout visibles du côté gauche(~x10).

Les feuilles du Pterygoneurum kozlovii sont vert pâle à vert‑jaune, longues d’environ 1 mm, ovées‑lancéolées à ovées, concaves, à sommet assez abruptement rétréci en une arête (figure 2). Les marges de la feuille sont planes à légèrement recourbées et habituellement légèrement dentées près du sommet. La nervure de la feuille est brun pâle, et sa coupe transversale révèle deux grandes cellules centrales (cellules-guides). Au‑delà du milieu de la feuille, le dessus de la nervure présente deux à quatre cellules qui forment la base des lamelles qui caractérisent l’espèce. Ces lamelles sont au nombre de deux, ou rarement trois, et elles ont en moyenne quatre à six cellules de hauteur. Leur marge est habituellement irrégulière, et leurs cellules terminales sont papilleuses. La nervure est en général longuement excurrente, surtout chez les feuilles supérieures, formant ainsi une arête translucide entière ou légèrement dentée, ce qui donne aux grandes colonies un aspect plutôt grisâtre.


Figure 2 : Feuille caulinaire supérieure du Pterygoneurum kozlovii, avec lamelles et arête

Feuille caulinaire supérieure du Pterygoneurum kozlovii, avec lamelles et arête.

Les cellules médianes et supérieures sont rhombiques ou oblongues à irrégulièrement carrées ou rectangulaires. La plupart mesurent 10 à 20 µm de large et 15 à 35 µm de long. Elles sont habituellement lisses, parfois légèrement papilleuses, et rarement très papilleuses (les papilles sont de petites bosses à la surface de la cellule). Chez les grandes feuilles matures, les cellules apicales, près de la base de l’arête, sont nettement plus longues et légèrement plus étroites que celles situées plus bas. Les cellules basales sont rectangulaires à longuement rectangulaires, plus grandes que les cellules supérieures. Elles sont translucides, ont les parois minces et paraissent légèrement gonflées chez certaines feuilles.

Comme le Pterygoneurum kozlovii est autoïque, chaque gamétophyte produit à la fois des organes mâles et des organes femelles. Les feuilles entourant le sporophyte sont habituellement au nombre de trois ou quatre et ressemblent aux feuilles adjacentes, sauf qu’elles sont habituellement plus longues (jusqu’à 1,5 mm). Elles pâlissent et meurent avec le mûrissement du sporophyte et finissent souvent par envelopper la capsule mûre. Les sporophytes sont communs (figure 1). Les capsules sont ovoïdes à sphériques et mesurent 0,8 à 1 mm. Elles mûrissent depuis la fin de l’automne jusqu’au printemps et donnent alors souvent aux plantes fertiles une couleur brun‑doré. Les capsules ne possèdent pas d’ouverture régulière pour libérer leurs spores, bien qu’une bande de petites cellules, distincte mais apparemment non fonctionnelle, soit présente près du haut de la capsule. Une petite apicule est également présente sur le dessus de la capsule. Les spores sont grosses (30 à 45 µm), sphériques à légèrement ovoïdes, grossièrement papilleuses. Elles sont libérées avec la décomposition de la capsule. La calyptre recouvre une bonne partie de la moitié supérieure de la capsule.

Des renseignements sont fournis par McIntosh (1986) ainsi que Savicz-Ljubitzkaja et Smirnova (1970, en russe). On trouvera d’autres illustrations de l’espèce dans Vanek (1952) ainsi que McIntosh (1989).