Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Alkaline Wing-nerved Moss in Canada

Habitat

Habitat Requirements

Pterygoneurum kozlovii is restricted to the edges of open, seasonally wet and alkaline ponds, lakes, sloughs, and seepage slopes, where vegetation remains low and patches of soil are available. In this habitat, it grows on open or litter-covered soil amongst vascular plants, especially salt grass (Distichlis stricta), sedges (most commonly Carex praegracilis), and, sometimes, foxtail barley grass (Hordeum jubatum). It is most often found within a narrow band around the edges of the wetland where the topography is flat to very slightly sloping. It has not been found in alkaline sites where tall rushes and sedges dominate. The alkaline nature of these areas arises from evaporation of water during warmer months over many years, leaving minerals behind.

Alkaline wetlands are relatively common in the south-central portions of the province, along river valleys and adjacent lowlands. They are most common in a relatively large area south and west of Williams Lake, but are also fairly common in relatively narrow bands in the drier portions of the Fraser, Thompson, Nicola, Similkameen, and Okanagan Valleys. Scattered alkaline areas are also present in the Rocky Mountain Trench.

Although alkaline wetlands probably number in the hundreds in British Columbia relatively few appear to have suitable habitat for Pterygoneurum kozlovii. Based on field experience, Terry McIntosh has defined 'potential habitat' for this taxon as:

  1. In seasonally wet alkaline areas where bare soil is available; these alkaline areas are either distinct ponds, pocket complexes comprised of small ponds and seepage areas, or seepage slopes. The species appears to be most common near ponds and least common on seepage slopes.

  2. On a flat to very gentle slope within a low-growing vegetation zone above, but not in, a zone defined by a complete alkaline-deposit crust; the low-growing vegetation is often defined by the presence of two graminoid species: Carex praegracilis and Distichlis stricta. The species has not been found where taller sedges and rushes predominate.

  3. In open areas (no shade) at relatively low elevations in sagebrush, grassland, and open forested (ponderosa pine/Douglas-fir/lodgepole pine, although less commonly with the latter two species)

  4. In areas where erect-growing moss species predominate; P. kozlovii has not been found in sites where creeping moss species, and in particular where Drepanocladus (probably D. aduncus) are present.

Table 1 gives estimates of potential sites, by regions. Potential sites are defined as sites separated by at least .5 km., (but usually much more) and separated by landscapes that do not contain the potential habitats. Based on examinations of maps and through field work, between 93 and 111 distinct sites (geographically isolated ponds, lakes, seepage slopes, or complexes) may provide suitable habitat for this species in the province. Although more work needs to be completed, this species appears to be restricted to those alkaline areas in warmer locations (lower elevation/more southerly latitude). This is supported by the concentration of this species in the Okanagan and Kamloops areas. Alkaline wetlands are found in the Bunchgrass, Ponderosa Pine, and dry Interior Douglas-fir Biogeoclimatic Zones.

Over the past seven years and during his Ph.D. work, T. McIntosh has investigated the edges of probably more than 75% of the alkaline wetlands that have potential habitat for this species in British Columbia (see Table 1), and has confirmed the presence of Pterygoneurum kozlovii at only 13 sites. However, the edges of many of these ponds and the potential habitat for this species are extensive, covering hectares in some sites, and, because of collection time constraints, this species could have been overlooked at some of the sample locations.


Trends

In 1997, T. McIntosh initiated a survey of provincial arid-land areas in order to complement his Ph.D. work (McIntosh 1986) in preparation for a research paper describing and providing keys for the bryophytes of these regions. From 1997 to 2001, some 45 alkaline wetlands of potential habitat for this species were visited at various locations throughout the semi-arid regions of south-central British Columbia (about 20 sites were visited in the Cariboo Region from north of Clinton to west of Williams Lake, and another 25 were visited in the Kamloops/Merritt/Okanagan areas, where this species appears to be more common; these sites were not documented with UTM information). The primary focus of these visits was to look for a number of rare bryophytes, including Pterygoneurum kozlovii. Five new populations were found for this species during this survey. 

Thirteen populations were examined by T. McIntosh in 2002-03 (Table 2; the White Lake population, 25, was confirmed in the field and a collection not made due to paucity of material). Of the nine original populations in British Columbia (field work conducted 1980-83, McIntosh 1986), six may have been extirpated (Sites 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, and 9), four in the Osoyoos area, one west of Kamloops, and one near Riske Creek. The Saskatchewan population and Populations 20 and 24 southwest of Williams Lake were not visited in 2002.

Thirty additional alkaline wetland sites were also visited in the 2002-03 period, including an attempt at relocating the original sites found by McIntosh during field work for his Ph.D. (field work conducted 1980-83, McIntosh 1986). Only two of them were probably relocated (precise location information was not available for these earlier collections, and some sites were probably destroyed). The investigations during this survey were more intense than the earlier survey, and more time was spent at each site. Nine new populations were found.

Table 3 lists habitat condition and trends for each known population, as well as at the Spotted Lake area, although Pterygoneurum kozlovii was not found there in 2002. Habitat notes were made for Populations 20 and 24 south-west of Williams Lake in earlier years. There has been no monitoring of habitat condition trends for this species, since the earlier surveys were not designed to report on these factors. However, some general observations can be made based on the 2002 survey. Eight of the known sites are undisturbed to relatively undisturbed, and eight are moderately to heavily disturbed. Site monitoring is required in order to comment on habitat stability in most sites.

Table 2: Population Information for Pterygoneurum kozlovii
Population #LocationDates visitedConfirmed in 2002
1 (1)Oliver1980/2002no
2 (2)Osoyoos1980/2002population probably extirpated
3 (3)Osoyoos1981/2000/2002population probably extirpated
4 (4)Osoyoos1980/2002population probably extirpated
5 (5, 23)NW of Osoyoos1980/2002yes
6 (6)W. of Kamloops1980/2002population probably extirpated
7 (7)Kaledon1980/2002no
8 (8)Riske Creek1981/1999/2002population possibly extirpated
9 (9)NW of Osoyoos (Spotted Lake)1983/1999/2001/2002population possibly extirpated
10 (10)Saskatchewan1989not visited
11 (11)Oliver2002yes
12 (12)S. of Kamloops1999/2002no
13 (13)S. of Riske Creek2002yes
14 (14)Poison Lake1999/2002yes
15 (15)W. of Kamloops2002yes
16 (16)Cranbrook2002yes
17 (17)Canal Flats2002yes
18 (18)S. of Kamloops2002yes
19 (19)W. of Williams Lake2002yes
20 (20)S.W. of Williams Lake2001not visited
21 (21)S. of Savona2002yes
22 (22)S. of Ashcroft2002yes
23 (24)N.W. of Clinton2000/2002yes
24 (25)S.W. of Williams Lake1997not visited
25White Lake1998/2001/2002yes

Numbers in brackets following population number refer to collections examined; the White Lake population, #25, was confirmed in the field but a collection was not made due to paucity of material.


Protection/Ownership

Most of the extant populations appear to be on provincially owned lands, in particular Crown lands, although ownership needs to be confirmed for some sites (Table 3). Populations 19 and 25 are protected within cattle exclosures. Although Site 20 is in the Churn Creek Protected Area, grazing by cattle occurs there. Site 11, an extensive population in apparently good condition, is in a horse paddock, but horse use of the area appears minimal.

Population 25 is found adjacent to White Lake in the southern Okanagan Valley. In the past, cattle and horses utilized the area around White Lake. However, the Nature Trust (J. Hope, pers. comm. 2002) recently signed a 99 year lease in order to establish a study area on federal lands at White Lake in accordance with their 2000 Biodiversity Ranch Management Plan. As part of this plan, White Lake and the surrounding riparian vegetation, including the known location for Pterygoneurum kozlovii, have been permanently excluded from grazing and other potential large-scale disturbances through the construction and maintenance of a fence. It is expected that the habitat will improve in the riparian area, although data are lacking on how changes will affect the population of this species.

Table 3 : Habitat and General Characteristics of Known Populations of Pterygoneurum kozlovii in British Columbia (from Table 2)
A
Population
B
Limiting Factors and Threats
C
Habitat Condition and Trend
D
Population Size and Trend
E
Protection and Ownership
1????
2??X?
3??X?
4??X?
5A, CC, CC, ?C?Gp
6??X?
7????
8??X?
9AC, CXP
10????
11(A)A, BA, ?P
12????
13(A)A, BC, ?Gp
14none (protected by fence)A, BA, ?Gp
15A, CC, (C)C, CGp
16BC, CC, C?
17(A)A, BA, ?Gp
18AB, CB, CGp
19none (protected by fence)A, BC, ?Gp
20AB/C, BB, ?Gp (Park)
21?AA, BB, ?Gp
22A, CB, BC, ?Gp
23AB, BC, ??Gp
24none (protected by fence)A, BC, ?Gp
25none (protected by fence)A, BC, ?P

Notes (in all cases, ‘?’ refers to ‘unknown’ or ‘uncertain’, and a letter in brackets refers to ‘minor importance’):

  1. With respect to Column B: Limiting Factors and Threats: A refers to grazing impacts, B refers to human impact, C refers to impact by burrowing animals.
  2. With respect to Column C: Habitat Condition: A refers to relatively undisturbed, B refers to moderately disturbed, C refers to heavily disturbed; Habitat Trend: A refers to possibly improving, B refers to possibly stable, C refers to possibly degrading.
  3. With respect to Column D: Population Size: A means widespread in area surveyed, B means uncommon across site, and C rare across site; Population Trend: A may be improving, B may be stable, C may be degrading, X possibly extirpated.
  4. With respect to Column E: Protection and Ownership: P refers to private ownership and G refers to Government ownership, either municipal (m) or provincial (p, usually Crown land).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation du Ptérygoneure de koslov au Canada

Habitat

Besoins en matière d’habitat

Le Pterygoneurum kozlovii pousse uniquement sur les bords d’étangs, de lacs, de vasières et de pentes suintantes qui sont dégagés et dont le sol est alcalin et demeure mouillé une partie de l’année; la végétation reste basse et parsemée de superficies dénudées. La mousse pousse sur la terre nue ou recouverte de litière, parmi des plantes vasculaires, particulièrement des cypéracées (généralement le Carex praegracilis) et des graminées (le Distichlis stricta et parfois l’Hordeum jubatum). Le P. kozlovii se rencontre le plus souvent dans une étroite bande entourant les milieux humides, en terrain plat ou très peu incliné. L’espèce n’a jamais été trouvée dans des milieux alcalins où dominent les grandes espèces de joncs et de cypéracées. L’alcalinité de l’habitat est due à l’évaporation de l’eau durant les mois les plus chauds, qui laisse des minéraux dans le sol.

Les milieux humides alcalins sont relativement communs dans le centre-sud de la province, le long des vallées fluviales et des terres basses adjacentes. Ils sont particulièrement communs dans une zone assez vaste située au sud et à l’ouest du lac Williams, mais sont également assez fréquents, en bandes relativement étroites, dans les parties les plus sèches des vallées du Fraser, de la Thompson, de la Nicola, de la Similkameen et de l’Okanagan. Il existe également des zones alcalines dans le sillon des Rocheuses, mais elles sont éparpillées.

Bien que les milieux humides alcalins puissent se compter par centaines en Colombie-Britannique, il semble que peu d’entre eux conviennent au Pterygoneurum kozlovii. À partir d’une expérience réalisée sur le terrain, Terry McIntosh a déterminé que « l’habitat potentiel » de l’espèce comprend les milieux suivants :

  1. Milieux alcalins mouillés une partie de l’année, où il reste des superficies dénudées; il peut s’agir d’étangs distincts, de complexes isolés réunissant de petits étangs et des terrains suintants, ou encore de pentes suintantes. L’espèce semble être la plus commune à proximité des étangs et la moins commune sur les pentes suintantes.

  2. Terrains plats ou à pente très douce, situés dans des zones à végétation basse, à l’exclusion des zones caractérisées par une croûte de dépôt alcalin. La végétation basse se caractérise souvent par la présence de deux espèces graminoïdes : le Carex praegracilis et le Distichlis stricta. Le Pterygoneurum kozlovii n’a jamais été observé dans les milieux où dominent les grandes espèces de carex et de cypéracées.

  3. Terrains dégagés (sans ombre), situés à une altitude relativement basse, dans les arbustaies d’armoises, les prairies et les forêts claires (de pins ponderosas ou, plus rarement, de douglas ou de pins tordus latifoliés).

  4. Terrains où dominent les mousses acrocarpes; le Pterygoneurum kozlovii n’a pas été trouvé dans les milieux où poussent des mousses pleurocarpes et notamment un Drepanocladus (probablement le D. aduncus).

Le tableau 1 donne une estimation du nombre d’habitats potentiels présents dans chaque région. Ces habitats doivent être séparés d’au moins 0,5 km (cette distance est habituellement beaucoup plus grande) par des paysages qui ne renferment pas de milieux convenant à l’espèce. Selon des travaux de terrain et des vérifications faites sur des cartes, entre 93 et 111 milieux distincts (étangs, lacs, pentes suintantes ou complexes géographiquement isolés) pourraient constituer un habitat pour l’espèce dans la province. Bien que d’autres travaux restent à terminer, il semble que l’espèce soit limitée aux milieux alcalins situés dans des localités relativement chaudes (dans le sud ou à basse altitude). Ceci est confirmé par la concentration de l’espèce dans les régions de l’Okanagan et de Kamloops. Les milieux humides alcalins se rencontrent dans trois zones biogéoclimatiques : la zone à graminées cespiteuses, la zone à pin ponderosa, et la zone intérieure sèche à douglas.

Au cours des sept dernières années et pendant ses travaux de recherche doctorale, l’auteur a examiné les berges de plus de 75 p. 100 des milieux humides alcalins constituant des habitats potentiels de l’espèce en Colombie-Britannique (voir tableau 1), mais ces travaux intensifs ne lui ont permis de trouver le Pterygoneurum kozlovii que dans 13 de ces milieux. Néanmoins, les berges de la plupart des étangs ainsi que les autres habitats potentiels de l’espèce occupent de grandes superficies, atteignant parfois plusieurs hectares. Donc, étant donné que le temps consacré à la récolte de spécimen a été limité, l’espèce a pu passer inaperçue à certains endroits où ont été effectués les prélèvements.


Tendances

En 1997, T. McIntosh a entrepris un relevé des bryophytes des zones arides de Colombie-Britannique en vue de compléter ses recherches doctorales (McIntosh, 1986) et de rédiger un article décrivant ces plantes et comportant des clés d’identification. Entre 1997 et 2001, il a visité quelque 45 milieux humides alcalins constituant des habitats potentiels pour l’espèce, dans diverses localités de toutes les régions semi-arides du centre-sud de la Colombie-Britannique (une vingtaine de ces localités sont situées dans la région de Cariboo, depuis au nord de Clinton jusqu’à l’ouest du lac Williams, tandis que 25 autres se trouvent dans les régions de Kamloops, de Merritt et de l’Okanagan, où le P. kozlovii semble être plus commun; les coordonnées UTM de ces localités n’ont pas été relevées). Ces travaux visaient avant tout à rechercher certaines bryophytes rares, dont le P. kozlovii. Ils ont permis de trouver cinq nouvelles populations de l’espèce.

En 2002 et 2003, T. McIntosh a examiné 13 populations du P. kozlovii (tableau 2; la population du lac White, no 25, a été confirmée sur le terrain, mais aucun spécimen n’a été récolté en raison de la rareté du matériel présent). Parmi les neuf populations originales observées en Colombie-Britannique (travaux effectués sur le terrain de 1980 à 1983; McIntosh, 1986), six sont peut-être disparues (nos 2, 3, 4, 6, 8 et 9) : quatre dans la région d’Osoyoos, une à l’ouest de Kamloops et une près de Riske Creek. La population de Saskatchewan et les populations situées au sud-ouest de Williams Lake (nos 20 et 24) n’ont pas été visitées en 2002.

Trente autres milieux humides alcalins ont été visités en 2002 et 2003, notamment pour chercher à retrouver les sites initialement repérés par McIntosh durant les travaux de terrain qu’il avait effectués pour son doctorat (de 1980 à 1983; McIntosh, 1986). Seulement deux de ces sites ont probablement été retrouvés (il n’y avait aucune information précise sur le lieu des premières récoltes, et certains sites ont probablement été détruits). Le relevé récent a donné lieu à des recherches plus poussées, et plus de temps a été consacré à chaque localité, ce qui a permis de repérer neuf nouvelles populations.

Le tableau 3 indique l’état et les tendances de l’habitat de chaque population connue ainsi que du milieu propice observé dans la région du lac Spotted, bien qu’on n’y ait trouvé aucun Pterygoneurum kozlovii en 2002. Lors des relevés précédents, des notes avaient été prises sur l’habitat des populations situées au sud-ouest de Williams Lake (nos 20 et 24). Aucune surveillance n’a été réalisée en ce qui concerne les tendances de l’habitat, puisque les premiers relevés n’étaient pas conçus de façon à permettre l’observation de telles tendances. Il est toutefois possible de faire des observations générales à la lumière du relevé réalisé en 2002. Huit des sites connus n’ont pas été perturbés ou l’ont été peu, tandis que huit autres ont été modérément à fortement perturbés. Seule une surveillance des sites permettrait de préciser la stabilité de l’habitat dans la plupart des sites.


Protection et propriété des terrains

La plupart des populations existantes semblent se trouver sur des terres provinciales et notamment sur des terres de la Couronne, mais certaines se trouvent sur des terres dont la propriété reste à confirmer (voir le tableau 3). Les populations nos 19 et 25 sont protégées du bétail par des exclos. La population no 20 se trouve dans l’aire protégée de Churn Creek, mais on y trouve quand même des animaux qui broutent. La population no 11, étendue et apparemment en bon état, pousse dans un enclos pour chevaux, mais celui-ci ne semble pas très utilisé.

La population no 25 se trouve près du lac White, dans le sud de la vallée de l’Okanagan. Des bovins et des chevaux étaient autrefois présents aux environs du lac White. L’organisme The Nature Trust (J. Hope, 2002, comm. pers.) a toutefois récemment signé un bail de 99 ans dans le but de créer une zone d’étude sur des terres fédérales du lac White, dans le cadre d’un plan d’aménagement des ranches visant à favoriser la biodiversité, le 2000 Biodiversity Ranch Management Plan. Ce plan prévoit la construction et l’entretien d’une clôture protégeant en permanence le lac White et la végétation riveraine environnante, y compris le site connu du Pterygoneurum kozlovii, contre le broutage et les autres perturbations importantes éventuelles. On s’attend à une amélioration de l’habitat dans la zone riveraine, bien qu’on ne possède pas de données sur la façon dont les changements influeront sur la population de P.  kozlovii.

Tableau 2 : Information sur les populations de Pterygoneurum kozlovii
No de la populationLocalitéDates de visiteConfirmation en 2002
1 (1)Oliver1980 et 2002non
2 (2)Osoyoos1980 et 2002population probablement disparue
3 (3)Osoyoos1981, 2000 et 2002population probablement disparue
4 (4)Osoyoos1980 et 2002population probablement disparue
5 (5, 23)N.-O. d’Osoyoos1980 et 2002oui
6 (6)O. de Kamloops1980 et 2002population probablement disparue
7 (7)Kaledon1980 et 2002non
8 (8)Riske Creek1981, 1999 et 2002population probablement disparue
9 (9)N.-O. d’Osoyoos (lac Spotted)1983, 1999, 2001 et 2002population probablement disparue
10 (10)Saskatchewan1989aucune visite en 2002
11 (11)Oliver2002oui
12 (12)S. de Kamloops1999 et 2002non
13 (13)S. de Riske Creek2002oui
14 (14)Lac Poison1999 et 2002oui
15 (15)O. de Kamloops2002oui
16 (16)Cranbrook2002oui
17 (17)Canal Flats2002oui
18 (18)S. de Kamloops2002oui
19 (19)O. de Williams Lake2002oui
20 (20)S.-O. de Williams Lake2001aucune visite en 2002
21 (21)S. de Savona2002oui
22 (22)S. d’Ashcroft2002oui
23 (24)N.-O. de Clinton2000 et 2002oui
24 (25)S.-O. de Williams Lake1997aucune visite en 2002
25Lac White1998, 2001 et 2002oui

Les numéros entre parenthèses suivant les numéros de population renvoient aux spécimens examinés; la population du lac White, no 25, a été confirmée sur le terrain, mais aucun spécimen n’a été récolté en raison de la rareté du matériel présent.

 

Tableau 3 : Habitat et caractéristiques générales des populations connues de Pterygoneurum kozlovii en Colombie-Britannique (du tableau 2).
A
Population
B
Facteurs limitatifs et menaces
C
État et tendance de l’habitat
D
Taille et tendances des populations
E
Protection et propriété des terrains
1????
2??X?
3??X?
4??X?
5A, CC, CC, ?C?Gp
6??X?
7????
8??X?
9AC, CXP
10????
11(A)A, BA, ?P
12????
13(A)A, BC, ?Gp
14aucun (protégée par une clôture)A, BA, ?Gp
15A, CC, (C)C, CGp
16BC, CC, C?
17(A)A, BA, ?Gp
18AB, CB, CGp
19aucun (protégée par une clôture)A, BC, ?Gp
20AB/C, BB, ?Gp (parc)
21?AA, BB, ?Gp
22A, CB, BC, ?Gp
23AB, BC, ??Gp
24aucun (protégée par une clôture)A, BC, ?Gp
25aucun (protégée par une clôture)A, BC, ?P

Remarques (dans tous les cas, le « ? » signifie « inconnu » ou « incertain », et les lettres mises entre parenthèses désignent des facteurs « d’importance mineure ») :

  1. Dans la colonne B : La lettre A renvoie aux effets du broutage, la lettre B, aux effets anthropiques, et la lettre C, aux effets des animaux fouisseurs.
  2. Dans la colonne C : En ce qui concerne l’état de l’habitat, la lettre A signifie peu perturbé, la lettre B, modérément perturbé, et la lettre C, fortement perturbé; en ce qui concerne la tendance de l’habitat, la lettre A signifie qu’une amélioration est possible, la lettre B, qu’une stabilité est possible, et la lettre C, qu’une détérioration est possible.
  3. Dans la colonne D : En ce qui concerne la taille des populations, la lettre A signifie que l’espèce est répandue dans la zone étudiée, la lettre B, qu’elle est peu commune dans le site, et la lettre C, qu’elle y est rare; en ce qui concerne les tendances des populations, la lettre A signifie qu’une amélioration est possible, la lettre B, qu’une stabilité est possible, la lettre C, qu’un déclin est possible, et la lettre X, que la population est peut-être disparue.
  4. Quatre ans la colonne E : La lettre P renvoie à une propriété privée et la lettre G, à une propriété du gouvernement soit municipal (m), soit provincial (p, habituellement une terre de la Couronne).