Skip booklet index and go to page content

Species at Risk Act

Wildlife Species Listing Process

Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada

Establishment
14. The Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada is hereby established.

Functions

15. (1) The functions of COSEWIC are to

  • (a) assess the status of each wildlife species considered by COSEWIC to be at risk and, as part of the assessment, identify existing and potential threats to the species and

    • classify the species as extinct, extirpated, endangered, threatened or of special concern,

    • indicate that COSEWIC does not have sufficient information to classify the species, or

    • indicate that the species is not currently at risk;

  • (b) determine when wildlife species are to be assessed, with priority given to those more likely to become extinct;

  • (c) conduct a new assessment of the status of species at risk and, if appropriate, reclassify or declassify them;

  • (c.1) indicate in the assessment whether the wildlife species migrates across Canada's boundary or has a range extending across Canada's boundary;

  • (d) develop and periodically review criteria for assessing the status of wildlife species and for classifying them and recommend the criteria to the Minister and the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council; and

  • (e) provide advice to the Minister and the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council and perform any other functions that the Minister, after consultation with that Council, may assign.
Best information and knowledge
(2) COSEWIC must carry out its functions on the basis of the best available information on the biological status of a species, including scientific knowledge, community knowledge and aboriginal traditional knowledge.

Treaties and land claims agreements
(3) COSEWIC must take into account any applicable provisions of treaty and land claims agreements when carrying out its functions.

Composition
16. (1) COSEWIC is to be composed of members appointed by the Minister after consultation with the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council and with any experts and expert bodies, such as the Royal Society of Canada, that the Minister considers to have relevant expertise.

Qualifications of
members
(2) Each member must have expertise drawn from a discipline such as conservation biology, population dynamics, taxonomy, systematics or genetics or from community knowledge or aboriginal traditional knowledge of the conservation of wildlife species.

Term of appointment
(3) The members are to be appointed to hold office for renewable terms of not more than four years.

Not part of the public service of Canada
(4) The members are not, because of being a member, part of the public service of Canada.

Remuneration and expenses
(5) The members may be paid remuneration and expenses for their services in amounts that the Minister may set.

Discretion
(6) Each member of COSEWIC shall exercise his or her discretion in an independent manner.

Regulations and guidelines
17. The Minister may, after consultation with the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council and COSEWIC, establish regulations or guidelines respecting the appointment of members and the carrying out of COSEWIC's functions.

Subcommittees
18. (1) COSEWIC must establish subcommittees of specialists to assist in the preparation and review of status reports on wildlife species considered to be at risk, including subcommittees specializing in groups of wildlife species and a subcommittee specializing in aboriginal traditional knowledge, and it may establish other subcommittees to advise it or to exercise or perform any of its functions.

Membership
(2) Each subcommittee must be presided over by a member of COSEWIC, but the subcommittee may include persons who are not members of COSEWIC.

Aboriginal traditional knowledge subcommittee
(3) Subject to subsection (2), the chairperson and members of the aboriginal traditional knowledge subcommittee must be appointed by the Minister after consultation with any aboriginal organization he or she considers appropriate.

Rules

19. COSEWIC may make rules respecting the holding of meetings and the general conduct of its activities, including rules respecting

  • the selection of persons to chair its meetings; and

  • the meetings and activities of any of its subcommittees.
Staff and facilities
20. The Minister must provide COSEWIC with any professional, technical, secretarial, clerical and other assistance, and any facilities and supplies, that, in his or her opinion, are necessary to carry out its functions.

Status reports
21. (1) COSEWIC's assessment of the status of a wildlife species must be based on a status report on the species that COSEWIC either has had prepared or has received with an application.

Content
(2) The Minister may, after consultation with COSEWIC, the Minister of Canadian Heritage and the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans, make regulations establishing the content of status reports.

Applications
22. (1) Any person may apply to COSEWIC for an assessment of the status of a wildlife species.

Regulations
(2) The Minister may, after consultation with the Minister of Canadian Heritage, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans and the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council, make regulations respecting the making of applications to COSEWIC under subsection (1) and the dealing with of those applications by COSEWIC.

Time for assessment
23. (1) COSEWIC must assess the status of a wildlife species within one year after it receives a status report on the species, and it must provide reasons for its assessment.

Notification of applicant
(2) If the assessment results from an application, COSEWIC must notify the applicant of the assessment and the reasons.

Reviews and Reports

Review of classifications
24. COSEWIC must review the classification of each species at risk at least once every 10 years, or at any time if it has reason to believe that the status of the species has changed significantly.

Copies to Minister and Council
25. (1) When COSEWIC completes an assessment of the status of a wildlife species, it must provide the Minister and the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council with a copy of the assessment and the reasons for it. A copy of the assessment and the reasons must also be included in the public registry.

COSEWIC list
(2) COSEWIC must annually prepare a complete list of every wildlife species it has assessed since the coming into force of this section and a copy of that list must be included in the public registry.

Report on response
(3) On receiving a copy of an assessment of the status of a wildlife species from COSEWIC under subsection (1), the Minister must, within 90 days, include in the public registry a report on how the Minister intends to respond to the assessment and, to the extent possible, provide time lines for action.

Annual reports
26. COSEWIC must annually provide a report on its activities to the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council and a copy of that report must be included in the public registry.

List of Wildlife Species at Risk

Power to amend List
27. (1) The Governor in Council may, on the recommendation of the Minister, by order amend the List in accordance with subsections (1.1) and (1.2) by adding a wildlife species, by reclassifying a listed wildlife species or by removing a listed wildlife species, and the Minister may, by order, amend the List in a similar fashion in accordance with subsection (3).

Decision in respect of assessment

(1.1) Subject to subsection (3), the Governor in Council, within nine months after receiving an assessment of the status of a species by COSEWIC, may review that assessment and may, on the recommendation of the Minister,

  • accept the assessment and add the species to the List;

  • decide not to add the species to the List;

  • refer the matter back to COSEWIC for further information or consideration.
Statement of reasons
(1.2) Where the Governor in Council takes a course of action under paragraph (1.1)(b) or (c), the Minister shall, after the approval of the Governor in Council, include a statement in the public registry setting out the reasons.

Pre-conditions for recommendation

(2) Before making a recommendation in respect of a wildlife species or a species at risk, the Minister must

  • take into account the assessment of COSEWIC in respect of the species;

  • consult the competent minister or ministers; and

  • if the species is found in an area in respect of which a wildlife management board is authorized by a land claims agreement to perform functions in respect of a wildlife species, consult the wildlife management board.
Amendment of List by Minister
(3) Where the Governor in Council has not taken a course of action under subsection (1.1) within nine months after receiving an assessment of the status of a species by COSEWIC, the Minister shall, by order, amend the List in accordance with COSEWIC's assessment.

Applications for assessment of
imminent threat
28. (1) Any person who considers that there is an imminent threat to the survival of a wildlife species may apply to COSEWIC for an assessment of the threat for the purpose of having the species listed on an emergency basis under subsection 29(1) as an endangered species.

Information to be
included in application
(2) The application must include relevant information indicating that there is an imminent threat to the survival of the species.

Regulations
(3) The Minister may, after consultation with the Minister of Canadian Heritage, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans and the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council, make regulations respecting the making of applications to COSEWIC under subsection (1) and the dealing with of those applications by COSEWIC.

Notice
(4) COSEWIC must provide the applicant, the Minister and the Canadian Endangered Species Conservation Council with a copy of its assessment. A copy of the assessment must be included in the public registry.

Emergency listing
29. (1) If the Minister is of the opinion that there is an imminent threat to the survival of a wildlife species, the Minister must, on an emergency basis, after consultation with every other competent minister, make a recommendation to the Governor in Council that the List be amended to list the species as an endangered species.

Formation of opinion
(2) The Minister may arrive at that opinion on the basis of his or her own information or on the basis of COSEWIC's assessment.

Exemption
(3) If a recommendation is made under subsection (1), subsection 27(2) does not apply to any order that is made under subsection 27(1) on the basis of that recommendation, and the order is exempt from the application of section 3 of the Statutory Instruments Act.

Review

30. (1) As soon as possible after an order is made on the basis of a recommendation referred to in subsection 29(1), COSEWIC must have a status report on the wildlife species prepared and, within one year after the making of the order, COSEWIC must, in a report in writing to the Minister,

  • confirm the classification of the species;

  • recommend to the Minister that the species be reclassified; or

  • recommend to the Minister that the species be removed from the List.
Copy of report
(2) Within 30 days after the report is received by the Minister, a copy of the report must be included in the public registry.

Recommendation to amend List
31. If COSEWIC makes a recommendation under paragraph 30(1)(b) or (c), the Minister may make a recommendation to the Governor in Council with respect to amending the List.

Table of Contents

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Loi sur les espèces en péril

Processus d'inscription des espèces sauvages

Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada

Constitution
14. Est constitué le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada.

Mission

15. (1) Le COSEPAC a pour mission :

  • a) d'évaluer la situation de toute espèce sauvage qu'il estime en péril ainsi que, dans le cadre de l'évaluation, de signaler les menaces réelles ou potentielles à son égard et d'établir, selon le cas :

    • que l'espèce est disparue, disparue du pays, en voie de disparition, menacée ou préoccupante,

    • qu'il ne dispose pas de l'information voulue pour la classifier,

    • que l'espèce n'est pas actuellement en péril;

  • b) de déterminer le moment auquel doit être effectuée l'évaluation des espèces sauvages, la priorité étant donnée à celles dont la probabilité d'extinction est la plus grande;

  • c) d'évaluer de nouveau la situation des espèces en péril et, au besoin, de les reclassifier ou de les déclassifier;

  • c.1) de mentionner dans l'évaluation le fait que l'espèce sauvage traverse la frontière du Canada au moment de sa migration ou que son aire de répartition chevauche cette frontière, le cas échéant;

  • d) d'établir des critères, qu'il révise périodiquement, en vue d'évaluer la situation des espèces sauvages et d'effectuer leur classification, ainsi que de recommander ces critères au ministre et au Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril;

  • e) de fournir des conseils au ministre et au Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril et d'exercer les autres fonctions que le ministre, après consultation du conseil, peut lui confier.
Critères
(2) Il exécute sa mission en se fondant sur la meilleure information accessible sur la situation biologique de l'espèce en question notamment les données scientifiques ainsi que les connaissances des collectivités et les connaissances traditionnelles des peuples autochtones.

Traités et accords sur
des revendications territoriales
(3) Pour l'exécution de sa mission, il prend en compte les dispositions applicables des traités et des accords sur des revendications territoriales.

Composition
16. (1) Le COSEPAC se compose de membres nommés par le ministre après consultation du Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril et des experts et organismes d'experts - telle la Société royale du Canada - qui, de l'avis du ministre, possèdent l'expertise appropriée.

Critères d'admission
(2) Chaque membre du COSEPAC possède une expertise liée soit à une discipline telle que la biologie de la conservation, la dynamique des populations, la taxinomie, la systématique ou la génétique, soit aux connaissances des collectivités ou aux connaissances traditionnelles des peuples autochtones en matière de conservation des espèces sauvages.

Mandat
(3) Les membres sont nommés pour des mandats renouvelables d'au plus quatre ans.

Statut
(4) Ils ne font pas, en cette qualité, partie de l'administration publique fédérale.

Rémunération et indemnités
(5) Ils peuvent recevoir la rémunération et les indemnités que fixe le ministre.

Fonctions
(6) Chaque membre du COSEPAC exerce ses fonctions de façon indépendante.

Règlement et directives
17. Après consultation du Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril et du COSEPAC, le ministre peut prendre des règlements et élaborer des directives en ce qui concerne la nomination des membres et l'exécution de la mission du COSEPAC.

Sous-comités
18. (1) Le COSEPAC est tenu de constituer des sous-comités de spécialistes chargés de l'assister dans l'élaboration et l'examen des rapports de situation portant sur des espèces sauvages qu'on estime être en péril - notamment des sous-comités compétents à l'égard de catégories d'espèces sauvages et un sous-comité compétent en matière de connaissances traditionnelles des peuples autochtones - et de le conseiller ou d'exercer telle de ses fonctions.

Membres
(2) Les sous-comités sont présidés par un membre du COSEPAC et peuvent être composés de personnes qui n'en sont pas membres.

Sous-comité compétent en matière de connaissances traditionnelles des peuples autochtones
(3) Sous réserve du paragraphe (2), le président et les membres du sous-comité compétent en matière de connaissances traditionnelles des peuples autochtones sont nommés par le ministre après consultation de toute organisation autochtone qu'il estime indiquée.

Règles

19. Le COSEPAC peut établir des règles régissant la tenue de ses réunions et la conduite de ses activités en général, notamment :

  • le choix des personnes devant présider ses réunions;

  • le déroulement des réunions et les activités de ses sous-comités.
Personnel et
installations
20. Le ministre fournit au COSEPAC le personnel - professionnels, techniciens, secrétaires, commis et autres personnes - et les installations et fournitures qu'il estime nécessaires à l'exécution de sa mission.

Rapport de situation
21. (1) L'évaluation de la situation d'une espèce sauvage par le COSEPAC se fonde obligatoirement sur le rapport de situation relatif à l'espèce qu'il a soit fait rédiger, soit reçu à l'appui d'une demande.

Contenu
(2) Le ministre peut, par règlement pris après consultation du COSEPAC, du ministre du Patrimoine canadien et du ministre des Pêches et des Océans, prévoir le contenu des rapports de situation.

Demandes du public
22. (1) Toute personne peut présenter au COSEPAC une demande d'évaluation de la situation d'une espèce sauvage.

Règlements
(2) Après consultation du ministre du Patrimoine canadien, du ministre des Pêches et des Océans et du Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril, le ministre peut prendre des règlements concernant la présentation des demandes au COSEPAC en vertu du paragraphe (1) et le traitement des demandes par celui-ci.

Délai d'évaluation
23. (1) Le COSEPAC évalue, motifs à l'appui, la situation d'une espèce sauvage dans l'année suivant la réception du rapport de situation qui la concerne.

Communication au demandeur
(2) Si l'évaluation fait suite à une demande, le COSEPAC la communique, motifs à l'appui, à l'auteur de la demande.

Révision et rapports

Révision de la classification
24. Le COSEPAC révise la classification de chaque espèce en péril s'il a des motifs de croire que sa situation a changé de façon significative, mais en tout état de cause au moins une fois tous les dix ans.

Rapport au ministre
et au Conseil
25. (1) Dès qu'il termine l'évaluation de la situation d'une espèce sauvage, le COSEPAC en fournit une copie, motifs à l'appui, au ministre et au Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril. Une copie en est mise dans le registre.

Liste du COSEPAC
(2) Le COSEPAC établit annuellement une liste complète des espèces sauvages dont la situation a été évaluée depuis l'entrée en vigueur du présent article. Une copie en est mise dans le registre.

Réponse du ministre
(3) Dans les quatre-vingt-dix jours suivant la réception de l'évaluation visée au paragraphe (1), le ministre est tenu de mettre dans le registre une déclaration énonçant comment il se propose de réagir à l'évaluation et, dans la mesure du possible, selon quel échéancier.

Rapport annuel
26. Le COSEPAC présente annuellement au Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril un rapport sur ses activités. Une copie en est mise dans le registre.

Liste des espèces en péril

Modification de la liste
27. (1) Sur recommandation du ministre, le gouverneur en conseil peut, par décret, modifier la liste conformément aux paragraphes (1.1) et (1.2) soit par l'inscription d'une espèce sauvage, soit par la reclassification ou la radiation d'une espèce sauvage inscrite et le ministre peut, par arrêté, modifier la liste conformément au paragraphe (3) de la même façon.

Gouverneur en conseil

(1.1) Sous réserve du paragraphe (3), dans les neuf mois suivant la réception de l'évaluation de la situation d'une espèce faite par le COSEPAC, le gouverneur en conseil peut examiner l'évaluation et, sur recommandation du ministre :

  • confirmer l'évaluation et inscrire l'espèce sur la liste;

  • décider de ne pas inscrire l'espèce sur la liste;

  • renvoyer la question au COSEPAC pour renseignements supplémentaires ou pour réexamen.
Ministre
(1.2) Si le gouverneur en conseil prend des mesures en application des alinéas (1.1)b) ou c), le ministre est tenu, avec l'agrément du gouverneur en conseil, de mettre dans le registre une déclaration énonçant les motifs de la prise des mesures.

Conditions préalables
à la recommandation

(2) Avant de faire une recommandation à l'égard d'une espèce sauvage ou d'une espèce en péril, le ministre :

  • prend en compte l'évaluation de la situation de l'espèce faite par le COSEPAC;

  • consulte tout ministre compétent;

  • si l'espèce se trouve dans une aire à l'égard de laquelle un conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques est habilité par un accord sur des revendications territoriales à exercer des attributions à l'égard d'espèces sauvages, consulte le conseil.
Modification de la liste
(3) Si, dans les neuf mois après avoir reçu l'évaluation de la situation de l'espèce faite par le COSEPAC, le gouverneur en conseil n'a pas pris de mesures aux termes du paragraphe (1.1), le ministre modifie, par arrêté, la liste en conformité avec cette évaluation.

Demandes
d'évaluation :
menace imminente
28. (1) Toute personne estimant que la survie d'une espèce sauvage est menacée de façon imminente peut demander au COSEPAC d'évaluer la menace en vue de faire inscrire d'urgence l'espèce comme espèce en voie de disparition en application du paragraphe 29(1).

Renseignements joints
à la demande
(2) La demande doit comporter les renseignements pertinents indiquant que la survie de l'espèce est menacée de façon imminente.

Règlements
(3) Le ministre, après consultation du ministre du Patrimoine canadien, du ministre des Pêches et des Océans et du Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril, peut prendre des règlements concernant la présentation des demandes au COSEPAC en vertu du paragraphe (1) et le traitement des demandes par celui-ci.

Notification
(4) Le COSEPAC remet une copie de l'évaluation à l'auteur de la demande, au ministre et au Conseil canadien pour la conservation des espèces en péril. Une copie de cette évaluation est mise dans le registre.

Inscription d'urgence
29. (1) Si le ministre est d'avis que la survie d'une espèce sauvage est menacée de façon imminente, il est tenu, après consultation de tout autre ministre compétent, de recommander d'urgence au gouverneur en conseil de modifier la liste pour y inscrire l'espèce comme espèce en voie de disparition.

Fondement de l'arrêté
(2) Le ministre peut fonder son avis soit sur l'information à laquelle il a accès, soit sur l'évaluation du COSEPAC.

Exclusion
(3) Le décret pris en vertu du paragraphe 27(1) sur le fondement de la recommandation visée au paragraphe (1) est soustrait à l'application du paragraphe 27(2) et de l'article 3 de la Loi sur les textes réglementaires.

Révision

30. (1) Dès que possible après la prise d'un décret sur le fondement de la recommandation visée au paragraphe 29(1), le COSEPAC fait préparer un rapport de situation concernant l'espèce sauvage et, au plus tard un an après la prise du décret, présente au ministre un rapport écrit comportant une des énonciations suivantes :

  • la classification de l'espèce est confirmée;

  • sa reclassification est recommandée au ministre;

  • sa radiation de la liste est recommandée au ministre.
Copie du rapport
(2) Dans les trente jours suivant la réception du rapport par le ministre, une copie en est mise dans le registre.

Modification de la liste
31. Si le COSEPAC fait la recommandation visée aux alinéas 30(1)b) ou c), le ministre peut faire une recommandation au gouverneur en conseil concernant la modification de la liste.

Table des matières