Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Canadian Species at Risk (November 2003)

COSEWIC Assessment Results

The tables that follow (Tables 6-8) are organized by status category and then by taxonomic group. An explanation of the symbols and abbreviations is provided below. For each species, the information provided includes the common name, scientific name, population name, and range of occurrence in Canada (by province, territory or ocean). The most recent date of assessment by COSEWIC is shown, and symbols provide information on the outcome of status re-assessments (e.g., uplisting, downlisting) and the basis of re-assessment for species evaluated against the new quantitative criteria. For birds, range of occurrence includes the Canadian breeding and wintering distribution.

The first COSEWIC "Endangered Species List" was issued in 1978. In 1990, it was decided that all species considered by COSEWIC should be included in this document even if the species were Not at Risk or Data Deficient. Therefore, this document is divided into three separate sections. The first section (Table 6) includes species assessed and designated as Extinct, Extirpated, Endangered, Threatened or Special Concern. The second section (Table 7) includes species assessed and found to be in the Not at Risk category. The third section (Table 8) includes species assessed and found to be in the Data Deficient category because of insufficient scientific information. All three sections include the geographical occurrence and most recent date of assessment.

Explanation of Symbols

Re-assessments and new assessments

↑     Species placed in a higher risk category (uplisted) after re-assessment on the date shown.

↓     Species placed in a lower risk category (downlisted) after re-assessment on the date shown.

Species stays in the same risk category (no change) after re-assessment on the date shown.

Species moved to the Not at Risk category from a risk category (de-listed) on the date shown.

R Species moved to the Data Deficient category from a risk category, or to a risk category from the Data Deficient category (changed), on the date shown. (no arrow) New species assessed on the date shown.

Evaluation with COSEWIC's new quantitative criteria

COSEWIC has recently begun using quantitative criteria to assess species' risk of extinction. These criteria were adapted from the criteria used by the World Conservation Union (IUCN) and have been used by COSEWIC since October 1999.

1 or 1+  Assessment based on a new status report or an update status report. A plus sign (+) indicates the report has an addendum or that the report has been modified.

2 or 2+ Species re-assessed using an existing status report. A plus sign (+) indicates the report has an addendum or that the report has been modified.

Geographical occurrence abbreviations

AB     Alberta

NS      Nova Scotia

QC      Québec

BC      British Columbia

NT     Northwest Territories

SK      Saskatchewan

MB      Manitoba

NU      Nunavut

YT     Yukon Territory

NB      New Brunswick

ON      Ontario

NL      Newfoundland and Labrador

PE     Prince Edward Island

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Espèces canadiennes en péril (Novembre 2003)

Résultats des évaluations du COSEPAC

Les tableaux qui suivent (tableaux 6 à 8) sont organisés par catégorie de statut et par groupe taxinomique. Les symboles et les abréviations sont expliqués ci-dessous. Les renseignements fournis pour chacune des espèces comprennent le nom commun, le nom scientifique, le nom de la population et l'aire d’occurrence au Canada (par province, territoire ou océan). La date la plus récente de l’évaluation mené par le COSEPAC est indiquée, et les symboles offrent de l'information sur les résultats obtenus de la réévaluation du statut (par exemple, détérioration ou amélioration) et sur les fondements de la réévaluation des espèces selon les nouveaux critères quantitatifs. Pour les oiseaux, l’aire d’occurrence inclut les aires canadiennes de reproduction et d'hivernage.

La première liste des espèces en péril du COSEPAC a été publiée en 1978. En 1990, il a été décidé que toutes les espèces étudiées par le COSEPAC devraient être incluses dans la présente publication, même si elles reçoivent la désignation « non en péril » ou « données insuffisantes ». Par conséquent, la publication est divisée en trois sections distinctes. La première section (tableau 6) comprend les espèces évaluées et désignées comme étant « disparues », « disparues du pays », « en voie de disparition », « menacées » ou « préoccupantes ». La deuxième section (tableau 7) comprend les espèces évaluées et classées dans la catégorie « non en péril ». La troisième section (tableau 8) comprend les espèces évaluées et classées dans la catégorie « données insuffisantes » en raison d'une insuffisance de données scientifiques. Les trois sections comprennent la répartition géographique et la plus récente date d'évaluation.

 

Explication des symboles

Réévaluations et nouvelles évaluations

   L'espèce est inscrite à une catégorie de risque plus élevée (détérioration) après la réévaluation à la date indiquée.

   L'espèce est inscrite à une catégorie de moindre risque (amélioration) après la réévaluation à la date indiquée.

L'espèce demeure dans la même catégorie de risque (aucune modification) après la réévaluation à la date indiquée.

L'espèce est passée d'une catégorie de risque (retrait) à la catégorie « non en péril » à la date indiquée.

R L'espèce est passée d'une catégorie de risque à la catégorie « données insuffisantes » ou vice-versa

(modification) à la date indiquée. (aucune flèche) Nouvelle espèce évaluée à la date indiquée.

Évaluation selon les nouveaux critères quantitatifs du COSEPAC

Le COSEPAC a récemment commencé à utiliser des critères quantitatifs pour évaluer le risque de disparition des espèces. Ces critères s'inspirent des critères utilisés par l'Union mondiale pour la nature (UICN) et sont utilisés par le COSEPAC depuis octobre 1999.

1 ou 1+ L’évaluation est fondée sur un nouveau rapport de situation ou un rapport de situation mis à jour. Un signe plus (+) indique que le rapport comporte un addenda ou que le rapport a été modifié.

2 ou 2+ Espèce réévaluée à l'aide d'un rapport de situation existant. Un signe plus (+) indique que le rapport comporte un addenda ou que le rapport a été modifié.

Abréviations liées aux lieux géographiques

AB              Alberta

NS              Nouvelle-Écosse

QC              Québec

BC              Colombie-Britannique

NT              Territoires du Nord-Ouest

SK              Saskatchewan

MB              Manitoba

NU              Nunavut

YT              Territoire du Yukon

NB               Nouveau-Brunswick

ON              Ontario

PE              Île-du-Prince-Édouard

NL              Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador