Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

4. KNOWLEDGE GAPS

4.1 Biology

Very little information is available on some key aspects of the life history and biology of the western silvery minnow.  Studies have not, for example, been conducted to describe the species’ reproductive strategy or overwintering requirements. Because accurate threats assessments and critical habitat identifications depend upon knowledge of the species’ reproductive strategy and its overwintering requirements, such studies should be a priority.  There is also little or no information available on population structure, movements, or early life stages.

4.2 Habitat

The specific habitat needs of the western silvery minnow, particularly for eggs and fry, remain unknown.  Spawning has not been documented in the Milk River, nor has the presence of larval and early juvenile stages.  Overwintering habitats also have not been documented and the relationship between sediment load, turbidity, and the abundance of minnows remains unresolved.

4.3 Abundance

To date, there are no reliable abundance estimates for the western silvery minnow within the Milk River.  As such, it is not yet possible to set a conservation population target size, or to confirm whether changes in abundance have occurred.  The magnitude of natural variability in population size is also unknown, making it difficult to determine if changes in abundance over the short term are related to normal fluctuations or a real change in population status. However, recent studies suggest that abundance of western silvery minnow may be significantly greater than previously assumed (D. Watkinson, pers. comm.).

4.4 Threats

Some potential threats cannot be fully evaluated because detailed information on the stressors and the mechanisms by which they might affect the minnow are not well understood.  To accurately predict the effects of impoundment, for example, requires better knowledge of how changes in the physical conditions of the river, such as an altered flow regime, may interact with the species given its life history and habitat requirements.  Further study of these relationships is warranted.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

4.0 LACUNES DANSLES CONNAISSANCES

4.1 Biologie

On dispose de très peu d’information sur certains aspects importants du cycle biologique et de la biologie du méné d’argent de l’Ouest. Par exemple, on n’a entrepris aucune étude en vue de décrire la stratégie de reproduction de l’espèce ou ses besoins en matière d’hivernage. Étant donné que, pour évaluer les menaces et désigner l’habitat essentiel avec précision, on doit connaître la stratégie de reproduction de l’espèce ou ses besoins en matière d’hivernage, de telles études doivent être une priorité. Par ailleurs, on dispose de peu d’information, voire d’aucune, sur la structure de la population, ses mouvements ou ses stades précoces de développement.

4.2 Habitat

Les besoins particuliers en habitat du méné d’argent de l’Ouest, en particulier des œufs et des alevins, demeurent inconnus. On n’a pas documenté le frai dans la rivière Milk, ni le stade larvaire et le stade précoce des juvéniles. On n’a pas non plus consigné l’emplacement des habitats d’hivernage, et le rapport entre la concentration de sédiments, la turbidité et l’abondance de ménés reste à définir.

4.3 Abondance

Jusqu’à présent, il n’existe aucune estimation fiable de l’abondance du méné d’argent de l’Ouest dans la rivière Milk. Pour cette raison, il n’est pas encore possible d’établir la taille cible de la population à conserver, ni de confirmer si l’abondance a connu des changements. De même, on ignore l’ampleur de la variabilité naturelle de la taille de la population, ce qui fait qu’il est plus difficile de déterminer si les changements à court terme dans l’abondance sont liés à des fluctuations normales ou à un véritable changement de l’état de la population. Cependant, selon les études récentes, il serait possible que l’abondance du méné d’argent de l’Ouest soit sensiblement plus élevée que l’abondance estimée par le passé (D. Watkinson, comm. pers.).

4.4 Menaces

Certaines menaces potentielles ne peuvent être entièrement évaluées parce qu’on comprend mal l’information détaillée concernant les facteurs de perturbation et les mécanismes qui pourraient affecter le méné. La prévision exacte des effets de la retenue d’eau, par exemple, exige une meilleure connaissance de la façon dont les changements apportés aux conditions physiques de la rivière (p. ex. modification du régime d’écoulement) peuvent interagir avec l’espèce étant donné son cycle biologique et ses exigences en matière d’habitat. Il serait donc justifié d’étudier davantage ces rapports.