Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Copper Redhorse in Canada

Special Significance of the Species

The copper redhorse is a Canadian endemic of great scientific and ecological importance. The degree of specialization of its pharyngeal apparatus constitutes an evolutionary peak (Legendre 1964, Jenkins 1970, Eastman 1977, Mongeau et al. 1986, 1992). A lithophilous spawner and specialist benthivore which feeds almost exclusively on molluscs, the copper redhorse presents characteristics similar to those of other species known to be most affected by habitat degradation, especially by siltation (Vachon 2003b). The species appears to be a genuine indicator of the impacts of human activities on the ecosystem.

Because it is rare, not widely known, and currently without great economic value from a sport and commercial fishing perspective, the species is not sought after. Its meat, although appreciated at one time, is no longer sought after. Only certain ethnic communities (Eastern Europeans, Asians) use the congeners of the copper redhorse for food (Pierre Dumont, biologist with the Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec, pers. comm.). As the values of our society have evolved, the species has more recently been the focus of study, aimed at assigning it an economic value as a threatened species, by a professor and researcher specializing in human and industrial ecology as well as in environmental management, accounting, auditing and ethics at the Université du Québec à Montréal. Although this figure is approximate and should be considered a minimum, the value of the copper redhorse has been estimated at $25 million (Clapin-Pépin 1997).

At one time considered a simple bottom fish without great value, the negative perceptions of it have over the years gradually given way to a more positive image. The copper redhorse is the poster child for biodiversity in Quebec and is a test case for raising public awareness to the cause of threatened species. A proposed mini hydroelectric generating station in the Chambly rapids was abandoned in 1994 following the interventions of the Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec (Dumont et al. 1997). Members of the public, municipalities, governmental and non-governmental organizations as well as public institutions have made sustained and concerted efforts to mobilize and implement concrete actions aimed at ensuring the species’ survival and raising public awareness. To date, these initiatives have taken several forms: construction of the Vianney-Legendre fish ladder at Saint-Ours, agreements for the creation of the Pierre-Étienne-Fortin wildlife refuge in the Chambly rapids, various collaborations to facilitate field work as well as projects involving maintaining and rearing the species in captivity, the production of educational brochures, the introduction of a beer, La Rescousse of which a portion of the proceeds from sales is earmarked for threatened species, the presentation of plays for children (Super cuivré) and adults (Moxostoma), and even the publication of a history book for children,L’animal secret (Simard 2001), whose main character is a copper redhorse.

According to the literature, the copper redhorse, like its congeners, were fished and consumed by Aboriginal people and, at least up until the early 19th century, by our predecessors (Mongeau et al. 1986, Branchaud and Jenkins 1999, Courtemanche 2003). Today, the copper redhorse is not sufficiently abundant to be commercially harvested. Moreover, its harvesting has been prohibited in order to protect the species. According to our information, the species is not fished for subsistence and is not used for traditional purposes by Aboriginal communities. There have never been any records of copper redhorse near Aboriginal reserves located in or near its historic range, namely Kanesatake (Lake of Two Mountains), Akwasasne (Lake Saint-François), Kahnawake (St. Lawrence River, Lachine Rapids) and Odanak (Saint-François River) (Pierre Dumont, biologist with the Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec, pers. comm.).

Over the past 20 years, much has been learned about the species and, along with the increase in knowledge, there has been a concern to share the expertise developed and to keep the public informed. The copper redhorse has been the subject of many television and radio reports. Articles in various local newspapers and magazines have been devoted to it. Members of the public do not hesitate to contact the Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec if they believe they have caught a copper redhorse. Public interest is not only sustained but growing.

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation du chevalier cuivré au Canada – Mise à jour

Importance de l'espèce

Le chevalier cuivré revêt une grande importance sur les plans scientifique et écologique. Le niveau de spécialisation de son appareil pharyngien constitue un sommet évolutif (Legendre, 1964; Jenkins, 1970; Eastman, 1977; Mongeau et al., 1986, 1992). Reproducteur lithophile, benthophage spécialiste dont l’alimentation est basée presque exclusivement sur les mollusques, le chevalier cuivré présente des caractéristiques similaires à celles d’autres espèces qui sont connues pour être les plus touchées par la détérioration de l’habitat, notamment par l’envasement (Vachon, 2003b). L’espèce est, en quelque sorte, un véritable indicateur des impacts des activités anthropiques sur l’écosystème.

Rare, méconnue, actuellement sans grande valeur économique sur le plan de la pêche sportive et commerciale, l’espèce est très peu recherchée. Sa chair, autrefois appréciée, n’est plus prisée. Seuls les membres de certaines communautés ethniques (Européens de l’est, Asiatiques) utilisent les congénères du chevalier cuivré pour leur alimentation (Pierre Dumont, biologiste à la Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec, comm. pers.). Les valeurs de notre société évoluant, l’espèce a fait l’objet, plus récemment, d’une étude en vue de lui attribuer une valeur économique en tant qu’espèce menacée; cette étude a été réalisée par un professeur-chercheur spécialisé en écologie humaine et industrielle ainsi qu’en gestion, en comptabilité, en vérification et en éthique environnementales de l’Université du Québec à Montréal. Bien qu’approximative et devant être considérée comme un montant-plancher, la valeur du chevalier cuivré a été estimée à 25 millions de dollars (Clapin-Pépin, 1997).

Les préjugés dont faisait l’objet le chevalier cuivré, autrefois considéré comme un simple poisson de fond sans grande valeur, ont fait place au fil des ans à la faveur du public. Le chevalier cuivré est le porte-étendard de la biodiversité au Québec et fait office de symbole pour la sensibilisation à la cause des espèces menacées. Un projet de mini-centrale hydro-électrique dans les rapides de Chambly a été abandonné en 1994 suite aux interventions de la Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec (Dumont et al., 1997). Citoyens, municipalités, organismes gouvernementaux et non gouvernementaux ainsi que des institutions publiques n’hésitent pas à se mobiliser et à se concerter pour mettre en oeuvre des actions concrètes visant à assurer sa survie et à sensibiliser la population. À ce jour, ces implications ont pris plusieurs formes : la réalisation de la passe migratoire Vianney-Legendre à Saint-Ours, la mise en place de protocoles d’entente pour la création du refuge faunique Pierre-Étienne-Fortin dans les rapides de Chambly, des collaborations diverses pour faciliter les travaux de terrain ainsi que la garde en captivité et l’élevage, la production de dépliants éducatifs, le lancement d’une bière, La Rescousse, dont une partie des profits est versée aux espèces menacées, la présentation de pièces de théâtre pour enfants (Super cuivré) et adultes (Moxostoma) et même la publication d’un livre d’histoire pour enfants, L’animal secret (Simard, 2001), dont le personnage principal est un chevalier cuivré.

Des écrits nous révèlent que le chevalier cuivré, tout comme ses congénères, était pêché et consommé par les peuples autochtones et, au moins jusqu’au début du 19e siècle, par nos prédécesseurs (Mongeau et al., 1986; Branchaud et Jenkins, 1999; Courtemanche, 2003). Aujourd’hui, le chevalier cuivré est trop peu abondant pour être exploité commercialement, et cette activité est d’ailleurs interdite en vue de le protéger. D’après les renseignements dont nous disposons, l’espèce ne fait pas l’objet d’une pêche de subsistance et n’est pas utilisée à des fins traditionnelles par les communautés autochtones. D’autre part, aucune mention de chevalier cuivré n’a été enregistrée près des réserves autochtones localisées dans ou à proximité de sa zone d’occurrence historique, soit celles de Kanesatake (lac des Deux-Montagnes), d’Akwasasne (lac Saint-François), de Kahnawake (fleuve Saint-Laurent, rapides de Lachine) et d’Odanak (rivière Saint-François) (Pierre Dumont, biologiste à la Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec, comm. pers.).

Depuis 20 ans, la somme de connaissances qui s’accumule au sujet de l’espèce est considérable, et les chercheurs sont soucieux de partager les expertises qu’ils ont développées et de tenir le public informé. Le chevalier cuivré a fait l’objet de nombreux reportages télévisés et radiophoniques. Des articles dans différentes revues et différents journaux locaux lui ont été consacrés. Des citoyens n’hésitent pas à contacter la Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec s’ils croient avoir capturé le chevalier cuivré. L’intérêt du public est non seulement soutenu mais grandissant.