Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Copper Redhorse in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

The copper redhorse is found nowhere in the world except Quebec (Figure 4). Since 1942, all specimens have been found in rivers in the St. Lawrence Plain (southwestern Quebec), namely in the Maskinongé, Mille Îles, Noire, Richelieu, and Yamaska rivers and in a few localized sites in the St. Lawrence River, namely the fast-flowing Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue and Vaudreuil channels, the Lavaltrie-Contrecoeur sector and Lake Saint-Pierre.


Figure 4: Global Distribution of Copper Redhorse

Figure 4: Global distribution of copper redhorse.

Very recently, the identification of a fossilized fragment of copper redhorse pharyngeal apparatus from Indiana confirmed that the species was present there during the Pleistocene, i.e., between 11000 and 1.8 million years ago (R.E. Jenkins, professor at Roanoke College, Virginia, pers. comm.).


Canadian Range

Despite numerous fish surveys conducted since its discovery, the copper redhorse has never been found in any other river (Figure 5, Table 1). Moreover, its range has been contracting over the past few decades. Its extent of occurrence and area of occupancy have declined significantly from roughly 6119 km2 and 555 km2, respectively, in the early 1940s to an estimated 2089 km2 and 69 km2, respectively, today. No specimens were captured during recent systematic sampling programs carried out in various sectors of the St. Lawrence River, including Lake Saint-Pierre (1995, 1997, 2002, 2003) and Lake Saint-Louis (1988 to 1990 and 1997) (Dumont 1996, Fournier et al. 1996, 1998ab, FAPAQ, unpubl. data). However, in 1942 four specimens were captured in the Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue and Vaudreuil channels at the head of Lake Saint-Louis (Ottawa River) by Legendre (1942) and one by Vladykov in Lake Saint-Pierre. Six others have been found in Lake Saint-Pierre, including two in 1944 (Cuerrier et al. 1946), one in 1947, as well as three in 1971 in its archipelago (Sorel and Berthier channels) (Massé and Mongeau 1974). No copper redhorse were reported in sampling programs carried out from 1997 to 1999 in the Ottawa River and some of its tributaries as part of a study on the river redhorse (Campbell 2001).

Rivière des Mille Îles likely supports a remnant population. Since the capture of twelve specimens in 1971 and 1973 (Mongeau and Massé 1976) in the entire river, only three other individuals have been collected there, including one at the head of the river (Grand Moulin rapids) in 1980 (Massé et al. 1981) and two in 1996 near the confluence with Rivière des Prairies, downstream from the dam near Île du Moulin at Terrebonne (FAPAQ, unpubl. data).

The copper redhorse was first surveyed in the Yamaska River by Vladykov in the 1940s. Parts of a specimen, captured by Vladykov on June 19, 1948, near Saint-Césaire, are currently in the Cornell University collection (CU 25512) (R.E. Jenkins, professor at Roanoke College, Virginia, pers. comm.). The species was subsequently found in abundance in the 1960s in the Yamaska (upstream of the Saint-Hyacinthe dam) and Noire rivers (Mongeau et al. 1986, 1992). At that time, these rivers ranked, respectively, second and third in terms of the number of specimens collected (Mongeau et al. 1986). Despite visits made to the sector from 1976 to 1978 (Buth 1978, Harvey 1979), in 1985 (Mongeau et al. 1986), in 1991 (La Violette 1996), in 1992 (Boulet et al. 1995) and in 1995 (La Violette 1999), the presence of the species was reported only once in 1992 in the Yamaska River (Boulet et al. 1995). Given the degradation of the habitats in these rivers, the populations there are most likely almost entirely extirpated.


Figure 5: Historical and Current Range of the Copper Redhorse

Figure 5: Historical and current range of the copper redhorse (Map by Chantal Côté, Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec).

Map by Chantal Côté, Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec.

 

Table 1 (St. Lawrence River System): Main Sampling Programs and Field Work in Southern Quebec Streams Since the 1960s and Records of Copper Redhorse in Each Stream
St. Lawrence River SystemRecord of captureSystematic or large-scale sampling/field work
firstlastYear1Reference
Lac des Deux-Montagnes--1964 to 1966Mongeau and Massé 1976
Lac des Deux-Montagnes--1975-1976Sloterdijk 1977
West of the Island of Montreal

Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue and Vaudreuil channels at the head of Lake Saint-Louis
194219451965 to 1968Mongeau and Massé 1976
West of the Island of Montreal

Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue and Vaudreuil channels at the head of Lake Saint-Louis
194219451975-1976Sloterdijk 1977
West of the Island of Montreal

Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue and Vaudreuil channels at the head of Lake Saint-Louis
194219451988 to 1990Dumont 1996
West of the Island of Montreal

Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue and Vaudreuil channels at the head of Lake Saint-Louis
194219451997Fournier et al. 1998b (RSI)2
Rivière des Mille Îles197119961971, 1973Mongeau and Massé 1976
Rivière des Mille Îles197119961975-1976Sloterdijk 1977
Rivière des Mille Îles197119961980Massé et al. 1981
Rivière des Mille Îles197119961996FAPAQ, unpubl. data
Rivière des Prairies--1971-1972Mongeau and Massé 1976
Rivière des Prairies--1975-1976Sloterdijk 1977
Rivière des Prairies--1982-1983Provost et al. 1982
Provost and Fortin 1984
Rivière des Prairies--1982 to 1985Dumont et al. 1987
Rivière des Prairies--1986 to 1988Gendron 1986, 1987, 1988
Rivière des Prairies--1995 to 1999Fortin et al. 2002 (hydroelectric generating station on the Rivière des Prairies)
South and east of the Island of Montreal

From the Mercier Bridge to Sorel
197320041973, 1977Mongeau and Massé 1976,
Massé and Mongeau 1976,
Mongeau et al. 1980
South and east of the Island of Montreal

From the Mercier Bridge to Sorel
197320041975-1976Sloterdijk 1977
South and east of the Island of Montreal

From the Mercier Bridge to Sorel
197320041991 to 1993Nilo 1996
South and east of the Island of Montreal

From the Mercier Bridge to Sorel
197320042001FAPAQ, unpubl. data (RSI)
South and east of the Island of Montreal

From the Mercier Bridge to Sorel
197320041998 to 2004Vachon and Chagnon 2004, FAPAQ, unpubl. data
Lake Saint-Pierre and its archipelago194419711971-1972Massé and Mongeau 1974
Lake Saint-Pierre and its archipelago194419711975-1976Sloterdijk 1977
Lake Saint-Pierre and its archipelago194419711995, 1997Fournier et al. 1996, 1998a
Lake Saint-Pierre and its archipelago194419712002-2003FAPAQ, unpubl. data (RSI)

 

Table 1 (Tributaries): Main Sampling Programs and Field Work in Southern Quebec Streams Since the 1960s and Records of Copper Redhorse in Each Stream
TributariesRecord of captureSystematic or large-scale sampling/field work
firstlastYear1Reference
Maskinongé197119711963 to 1974Mongeau et al. 1981
Yamaska194819921963-1975Mongeau 1979a
Yamaska194819921976 to 1978Buth 1978, Harvey 1979
Yamaska194819921985Mongeau et al. 1986
Yamaska194819921987FAPAQ, unpubl. Data
Noire196319641991La Violette 1996
Noire196319641992Boulet et al. 1995
Noire196319641995La Violette 1999
Richelieu196520031968 to 1970 and 1995Mongeau 1979b, Saint-Jacques 1998
Richelieu196520031984, 1985, 1990 to 1994, 1996, 1997Studies at Chambly, Saint-Ours and Saint-Marc-sur-Richelieu
Branchaud and Fortin 1998, Branchaud and Gendron 1993, Branchaud et al. 1993, 1995, Boulet et al. 1995, 1996, Dumont et al. 1997, La Haye et al. 1992, 1993, La Haye and Clermont 1997, Mongeau et al. 1986, 1992
Richelieu196520031997 to 1999, 2001Vachon 1999ab, 2002 (juveniles)
Richelieu196520032002 and 2003Monitoring of the fish ladder at Saint-Ours
Fleury and Desrochers 2003, 2004

1 Boldface characters indicate years in which systematic or large-scale sampling was conducted.

2 RSI: Réseau de suivi ichtyologique.

Since 1998, the presence of the copper redhorse in the Lavaltrie-Contrecoeur sector (St. Lawrence River) is once again being recorded every year during spring and autumn thanks to the collaboration of a commercial fisher (Vachon and Chagnon 2004, FAPAQ, unpubl. data) using hoop nets and gill nets. The last records of the species in this section of the St. Lawrence date back to 1973, when four specimens were captured between Verchères and Contrecœur (Massé and Mongeau 1976). It should be noted that, despite a fairly exhaustive coverage of the sector by fishing efforts carried out in the summer and fall at some 97 stations from 1991 to 1993 (Nilo 1996) and a systematic sampling of the Montreal-Sorel section in 2001 during a fish monitoring study (Réseau de suivi ichthyologique) (FAPAQ, unpubl. data), no copper redhorse were captured. Gear used to sample included beach seine and experimental gill nets. Although the discovery of this new group is extremely interesting and specimens showing obvious signs of reproductive activities were found, the presence of a spawning area in the sector could not be demonstrated (Vachon and Chagnon 2004).

At the present time, the only population for which reproduction is confirmed occurs in the Richelieu River. Since the capture of the first individuals there in 1965, the presence of the species is regularly recorded. The species was found at 30 stations distributed throughout the river from the Chambly Basin as far as the river mouth (Sorel) during a systematic sampling program carried out from 1968 to 1970 (Mongeau 1979b). In 1995, systematic sampling of the Richelieu River, although less intensive than the previous program, resulted in the capture of a single individual (Saint-Jacques 1998). However, numerous studies, conducted locally, have succeeded in capturing spawners and fry at Chambly and at Saint-Ours (Branchaud and Fortin 1998, Branchaud and Gendron 1993, Branchaud et al. 1993, 1995, Boulet et al. 1995, 1996, Dumont et al. 1997, La Haye et al. 1992, 1993, La Haye and Clermont 1997, Mongeau et al. 1986, 1992) and young-of-the-year, particularly in the Saint-Charles-sur-le-Richelieu sector (Boulet et al. 1995, 1996, Vachon 1999a, 1999b, 2002).

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation du chevalier cuivré au Canada – Mise à jour

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

Actuellement, le chevalier cuivré ne se trouve nulle part ailleurs au monde qu’au Québec (figure 5). Depuis 1942, tous les spécimens ont été recensés dans les cours d’eau de la plaine du Saint-Laurent (sud-ouest du Québec), soit dans les rivières Maskinongé, des Mille-Îles, Noire, Richelieu, Yamaska et dans quelques sites localisés du fleuve Saint-Laurent, soit les eaux rapides des chenaux de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue et de Vaudreuil, le secteur Lavaltrie-Contrecœur et le lac Saint-Pierre.

Très récemment, l’identification d’un fragment d’appareil pharyngien fossilisé de chevalier cuivré provenant de l’Indiana a permis de confirmer que l’espèce y était présente au Pléistocène, soit il y a entre 11 000 et 1,8 million d’années (R.E. Jenkins, professeur au Roanoke College, Virginie, comm. pers.).


Aire de répartition canadienne

Malgré de nombreux inventaires ichtyologiques réalisés depuis sa découverte, le chevalier cuivré n’a jamais été recensé dans d’autres cours d’eau (figure 5, tableau 1). En outre, son aire de répartition va en rétrécissant depuis quelques décennies. La diminution des zones d’occurrence et d’occupation de l’espèce est très considérable. Actuellement, leurs superficies sont estimées respectivement à 2 089 km2 et à 69 km2 alors qu’elles étaient approximativement de 6119 km2 et de 555 km2 au début des années 1940. Aucun spécimen n’a été capturé dans le cadre d’échantillonnages systématiques récents faits dans divers secteurs du fleuve Saint-Laurent, dont les lacs Saint-Pierre (1995, 1997, 2002, 2003) et Saint-Louis (de 1988 à 1990 et 1997) (Dumont, 1996; Fournier et al., 1996, 1998ab; FAPAQ, données inédites). Pourtant en 1942, quatre spécimens ont été capturés dans les chenaux de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue et de Vaudreuil à la tête du lac Saint-Louis (rivière des Outaouais) par Legendre (1942), et un par Vladykov au lac Saint-Pierre. Six autres ont été trouvés au lac Saint-Pierre, dont deux en 1944 (Cuerrier et al., 1946), un en 1947 ainsi que trois en 1971 dans son archipel (chenaux de Sorel et de Berthier) (Massé et Mongeau, 1974). Aucun chevalier cuivré n’a été rapporté dans les échantillonnages effectués de 1997 à 1999 dans la rivière des Outaouais et certains de ses tributaires dans le cadre d’une étude portant sur le chevalier de rivière (Campbell, 2001).

La rivière des Mille-Îles abrite probablement un groupement restant. Depuis la capture de douze spécimens en 1971 et en 1973 (Mongeau et Massé, 1976) dans l’ensemble de la rivière, seulement trois autres individus y ont été recensés, dont un à la tête de la rivière (rapides du Grand-Moulin) en 1980 (Massé et al., 1981) et deux en 1996 tout près de sa confluence avec la rivière des Prairies, soit en aval du barrage situé près de l’île du Moulin à Terrebonne (FAPAQ, données inédites).

Le chevalier cuivré a été recensé pour la première fois dans la rivière Yamaska au cours des années 1940 par Vladykov. Certaines parties d’un spécimen, capturé par Vladykov le 19 juin 1948 près de Saint-Césaire, sont actuellement en collection à la Cornell University (CU 25512) (R. E. Jenkins, professeur au Roanoke College, Virginie, comm. pers.). L’espèce a par la suite été trouvée en abondance durant les années 1960 dans les rivières Yamaska (en amont du barrage de Saint-Hyacinthe) et Noire (Mongeau et al., 1986, 1992). À l’époque, ces rivières se classaient, dans l’ordre, au second et au troisième rang quant au nombre de spécimens recensés (Mongeau et al., 1986). Aujourd’hui, malgré des visites dans le secteur effectuées de 1976 à 1978 (Buth, 1978; Harvey, 1979), en 1985 (Mongeau et al., 1986), en 1991 (La Violette, 1996), en 1992 (Boulet et al., 1995) et en 1995 (La Violette, 1999), seule une nouvelle mention a été rapportée en 1992 dans la rivière Yamaska (Boulet et al., 1995). Compte tenu de la détérioration des habitats dans ces rivières, les populations y sont vraisemblablement presque éteintes.


Figure 4 : Répartition mondiale du chevalier cuivré

Figure 4 : Répartition mondiale du chevalier cuivré.


Figure 5 : Aire de répartition historique et actuelle du chevalier cuivré

Figure 5 : Aire de répartition historique et actuelle du chevalier cuivré (carte réalisée par Chantal Côté, Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec).

Carte réalisée par Chantal Côté, Société de la faune et des parcs du Québec.

Depuis 1998, la présence du chevalier cuivré dans le secteur Lavaltrie-Contrecœur (fleuve Saint-Laurent) est à nouveau enregistrée chaque année (au printemps et à l’automne) grâce à la collaboration d’un pêcheur commercial qui pêche au verveux et au filet maillant (Vachon et Chagnon, 2004; FAPAQ, données inédites). Les dernières mentions de l’espèce dans ce tronçon du fleuve remontaient à 1973 alors que quatre spécimens avaient été capturés entre Verchères et Contrecœur (Massé et Mongeau, 1976). Soulignons que, malgré une couverture assez exhaustive du secteur par des pêches réalisées à l’été et à l’automne à quelque 97 sites de 1991 à 1993 (Nilo, 1996) et un échantillonnage systématique du tronçon Montréal-Sorel en 2001 dans le cadre du RSI (Réseau de suivi ichtyologique) (FAPAQ, données inédites), aucun chevalier cuivré n’a été capturé. L’échantillonnage avait été réalisé à la senne de plage et avec des filets maillants expérimentaux. Même si la découverte de ce nouveau groupement est extrêmement intéressante et que des spécimens présentant des signes évidents d’activités de reproduction y ont été trouvés, la présence d’une frayère dans le secteur n’a pu être démontrée (Vachon et Chagnon, 2004).

À l’heure actuelle, le seul groupement dont la reproduction est confirmée se trouve dans la rivière Richelieu. Depuis que les premiers individus y ont été recensés en 1965, les mentions surviennent régulièrement. L’espèce a été trouvée à 30 sites répartis dans l’ensemble de la rivière à partir du bassin de Chambly jusqu’à son embouchure (Sorel) dans le cadre d’un échantillonnage systématique effectué de 1968 à 1970 (Mongeau, 1979b). En 1995, un autre échantillonnage systématique de la rivière Richelieu, bien que moins intensif que le précédent, a conduit à la capture d’un seul individu (Saint-Jacques, 1998). De nombreuses études, réalisées localement, ont toutefois permis de capturer des géniteurs et du frai à Chambly et à Saint-Ours (Branchaud et Fortin, 1998; Branchaud et Gendron, 1993; Branchaud et al., 1993, 1995; Boulet et al., 1995, 1996; Dumont et al., 1997; La Haye et al., 1992, 1993; La Haye et Clermont, 1997; Mongeau et al., 1986, 1992) et des jeunes de l’année, particulièrement dans le secteur de Saint-Charles-sur-le-Richelieu (Boulet et al., 1995, 1996; Vachon, 1999ab, 2002).


Tableau 1 (Système fleuve Saint-Laurent) : Principaux échantillonnages et travaux de terrain dans les cours d’eau du sud du Québec depuis les années 1960 et mentions du chevalier cuivré dans chacun des plans d’eau.
Système fleuve Saint-LaurentMention de captureÉchantillonnage systématique ou de grande envergure/travaux de terrain
premièredernièreAn1Référence
Lac des Deux-Montagnes--1964 à 1966Mongeau et Massé, 1976
Lac des Deux-Montagnes--1975-1976Sloterdijk, 1977
Ouest de l’île de Montréal

Chenaux de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue et de Vaudreuil à la tête du lac Saint-Louis
194219451965 à 1968Mongeau et Massé, 1976
Ouest de l’île de Montréal

Chenaux de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue et de Vaudreuil à la tête du lac Saint-Louis
194219451975-1976Sloterdijk, 1977
Ouest de l’île de Montréal

Chenaux de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue et de Vaudreuil à la tête du lac Saint-Louis
194219451988 à 1990Dumont, 1996
Ouest de l’île de Montréal

Chenaux de Sainte-Anne-de-Bellevue et de Vaudreuil à la tête du lac Saint-Louis
194219451997Fournier et al., 1998b (RSI) 2
Rivière des Mille-Îles197119961971, 1973Mongeau et Massé, 1976
Rivière des Mille-Îles197119961975-1976Sloterdijk, 1977
Rivière des Mille-Îles197119961980Massé et al., 1981
Rivière des Mille-Îles197119961996FAPAQ, données inédites
Rivière des Prairies--1971-1972Mongeau et Massé, 1976
Rivière des Prairies--1975-1976Sloterdijk, 1977
Rivière des Prairies--1982-1983Provost et al., 1982; Provost et Fortin, 1984
Rivière des Prairies--1982 à 1985Dumont et al., 1987
Rivière des Prairies--1986 à 1988Gendron, 1986, 1987, 1988
Rivière des Prairies--1995 à 1999Fortin et al., 2002 (Centrale hydroélectrique de la rivière des Prairies)
Sud et est de l’île de Montréal

Du pont Mercier à Sorel
197320041973, 1977Mongeau et Massé, 1976;
Massé et Mongeau,1976;
Mongeau et al., 1980
Sud et est de l’île de Montréal

Du pont Mercier à Sorel
197320041975-1976Sloterdijk, 1977
Sud et est de l’île de Montréal

Du pont Mercier à Sorel
197320041991 à 1993Nilo, 1996
Sud et est de l’île de Montréal

Du pont Mercier à Sorel
197320042001FAPAQ, données inédites (RSI)
Sud et est de l’île de Montréal

Du pont Mercier à Sorel
197320041998 à 2004Vachon et Chagnon, 2004; FAPAQ, données inédites
Lac Saint-Pierre et son archipel194419711971-1972Massé et Mongeau, 1974
Lac Saint-Pierre et son archipel194419711975-1976Sloterdijk, 1977
Lac Saint-Pierre et son archipel194419711995, 1997Fournier et al., 1996, 1998a
Lac Saint-Pierre et son archipel194419712002-2003FAPAQ, données inédites (RSI)

 

Tableau 1 (Tributaires) : Principaux échantillonnages et travaux de terrain dans les cours d’eau du sud du Québec depuis les années 1960 et mentions du chevalier cuivré dans chacun des plans d’eau.
TributairesMention de captureÉchantillonnage systématique ou de grande envergure/travaux de terrain
premièredernièreAn1Référence
Maskinongé197119711963 à 1974Mongeau et al., 1981
Yamaska194819921963-1975Mongeau, 1979a
Yamaska194819921976 à 1978Buth, 1978; Harvey, 1979
Yamaska194819921985Mongeau et al., 1986
Yamaska194819921987FAPAQ, données inédites
Noire196319641991La Violette, 1996
Noire196319641992Boulet et al., 1995
Noire196319641995La Violette, 1999
Richelieu196520031968 à 1970 et 1995Mongeau, 1979b; Saint-Jacques, 1998
Richelieu196520031984, 1985, 1990 à 1994, 1996, 1997Travaux à Chambly, Saint-Ours et Saint-Marc-sur-Richelieu

Branchaud et Fortin, 1998; Branchaud et Gendron, 1993; Branchaud et al., 1993, 1995; Boulet et al., 1995, 1996, Dumont et al., 1997; La Haye et al., 1992, 1993; La Haye et Clermont, 1997; Mongeau et al., 1986, 1992
Richelieu196520031997 à 1999, 2001Vachon, 1999ab, 2002 (juvéniles)
Richelieu196520032002 et 2003Suivi de la passe migratoire à Saint-Ours
Fleury et Desrochers, 2003, 2004

1 Le caractère gras indique les années où des échantillonnages systématiques ou de grande envergure ont été faits.
2 RSI : Réseau de suivi ichtyologique.