Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Aweme Borer in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Aweme Borer
Papaipema aweme

Species Information

The Aweme Borer is a noctuid (cutworm or owlet) moth belonging to a subgroup known as the borers. It was described from two specimens collected in 1905 at Aweme, Manitoba, in or near present-day Spruce Woods Provincial Park. The genus Papaipema, to which the Aweme Borer belongs, occurs only in North America and is one of the largest noctuid genera, with about fifty describedspecies.

Adult Aweme Borers are medium-size (33-37 mm wingspan), yellowish or pinkish-brown moths with darker brown markings on the forewings. They are difficult to identify by non-experts. There are no described subspecies. The early stages (egg, larva and pupa) are unknown.

 

Distribution

The Aweme Borer is known from only five localities: Aweme, Manitoba; Grand Bend and Manitoulin Island, Ontario; Beaver Island, Michigan; and Rochester, New York. The Manitoba site is in the Prairie Ecological Area and the Ontario sites are within the Great Lakes Plain Ecozone. The area of occupancy (AO) in Canada is estimated at a maximum of about 625 km2.

 

Habitat

The exact locations of the sites where the few specimens were collected in the early 1900s are unknown, and the specific habitat where they occurred is also unknown. Available historical evidence suggests the specimens were associated with sand dune habitats. The only specimen collected in the past 70 years was collected in a remnant oak-prairie fragment. All collection sites are located along former or present shorelines of glacial Lake Agassiz or one of the Great Lakes.

 

Biology

Almost nothing is known regarding the biology of the Aweme Borer. It is nocturnal and at least weakly attracted to light. There is a single annual generation, with the adults flying in August. The larvae of all members of the genus Papaipema bore into, and live within, the stems, roots or branches of the host plant. The larval host plant of the Aweme Borer is not known.

 

Population Sizes and Trends

Aweme Borers are known from only seven specimens collected at five sites in North America. Six of these specimens were collected over a period of 31 years ending in 1936. The most recent specimen was captured almost 70 years later in 2005 in Ontario. 

 

Limiting Factors and Threats

Loss of habitat and particularly loss of colonies of the unknown host plant are the most likely limiting factors for the species. Fire and predation of pupae by small mammals have been identified as particular threats to Papaipema populations in general. A small number of individuals distributed in widely separated and highly fragmented habitat is also known to increase the possibility of extirpation of a species.

 

Special Significance of the Species

The Aweme Borer is an extremely rarely encountered insect. More than half of the known collection sites and two-thirds of the known specimens are Canadian.

 

Existing protection

Both historical Canadian collection sites are probably located within Provincial Parks: Spruce Woods Provincial Park, Manitoba and The Pinery Provincial Park, Ontario. The only recent collection was made on private property.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le perce-tige d’Aweme au Canada

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Perce-tige d'Aweme
Papaipema aweme

Information sur l’espèce

Le perce-tige d’Aweme est une noctuelle (ver-gris ou phalène) appartenant à un sous-groupe des perce-tiges. Il a été décrit d’après deux spécimens capturés en 1905 à Aweme (Manitoba), dans l’actuel parc provincial Spruce Woods ou à proximité. Le genre Papaipema, auquel le perce-tige d’Aweme appartient, n’existe qu’en Amérique du Nord, et est l’un des plus grands genres de noctuelles comptant environ 50 espèces décrites.

Le perce-tige d’Aweme adulte est une noctuelle de taille moyenne (envergure de 33 à 37 mm), jaunâtre ou rose-brun avec des marques brun foncé sur les ailes antérieures. Son identification est difficile pour les non‑spécialistes. Il n’existe pas de sous-espèce décrite. On ne connaît pas ses premiers stades (œuf, chenille et chrysalide).

 

Répartition

Le perce-tige d’Aweme n'est connu que dans 5 emplacements : Aweme (Manitoba); Grand Bend et l’île Manitoulin (Ontario); l’île Beaver (Michigan); Rochester (New York). Le site manitobain se trouve dans la zone écologique des Prairies, tandis que les sites ontariens se situent dans l’écozone des plaines des Grands Lacs. On estime qu’au Canada, la zone d’occupation couvrirait tout au plus 625 km2.

 

Habitat

On ne connaît pas exactement l’emplacement exact des sites où les quelques spécimens ont été capturés au début des années 1900, ni les habitats spécifiques occupés par l’espèce. Les données historiques disponibles suggèrent que les spécimens étaient associés aux habitats de dunes. Le seul spécimen récolté en 70 ans l’a été dans un fragment de prairie-parc de chênes. Tous les sites de collecte sont situés le long du littoral préhistorique du lac glaciaire Agassiz ou les rives actuelles de l’un des Grands Lacs.

 

Biologie

On ne connaît pratiquement rien sur la biologie du perce-tige d’Aweme. Il est nocturne et semble faiblement attiré par la lumière. Il y a une seule génération annuelle qui culmine par le vol des adultes en août. Les chenilles de tous les membres du genre Papaipema font des trous et vivent dans les tiges, les racines ou les branches de la plante hôte. On ne connaît pas la plante hôte de la larve du perce-tige d’Aweme.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

Notre connaissance du perce-tige d’Aweme se limite à 7 spécimens capturés dans 5 sites en Amérique du Nord. Au total, 6 de ces spécimens ont été capturés sur une période de 31 ans se terminant en 1936. Le spécimen le plus récent a été capturé près de 70 ans plus tard, en 2005, en Ontario.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

La perte de l’habitat et, plus particulièrement, la perte de colonies de la plante hôte inconnue sont probablement les principaux facteurs limitatifs de l’espèce. Le feu et les petits mammifères prédateurs des chrysalides représentent une menace pour l’ensemble des populations de Papaipema. La petite taille, l’isolation et la fragmentation des populations augmentent également la possibilité de disparition de l’espèce.

 

Importance de l’espèce

Le perce-tige d’Aweme est un insecte observé extrêmement rarement. Plus de la moitié des sites de collecte connus et les deux tiers des spécimens connus sont canadiens.

 

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations de statut

Les deux sites de collecte historiques au Canada sont probablement situés dans des parcs provinciaux : le parc provincial Spruce Woods (Manitoba) et le parc provincial Pinery (Ontario). La seule collecte récente a été effectuée sur un terrain privé.