Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Aweme Borer in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Aweme Borer
Papaipema aweme
in Canada
2006

Species Information

Name and Classification

Common name:

Aweme Borer Papaipema aweme

French name:

Perce-tige d'Aweme, Jean-François Landry 2004

Order:

Lepidoptera (Moths and Butterflies)

Superfamily:

Noctuoidea

Family:

Noctuidae (Owlet or Cutworm Moths)

Subfamily:

Hadeninae

Tribe:

Apameini (Borers)

Genus:

Papaipema

Species:

aweme (Lyman 1908)

There are no named subspecies (Quinter, in Hodges et al. 1983).

 

Synonyms:

Originally described as Gortyna aweme Lyman

Moths of North America (MONA) Catalogue No.:

9504

Bibliographic Citation

Lyman, H.H. 1908. Recent work among the borers. Can. Ent., 40(8):249-255.

Type Specimen

Holotype female, CAN., MB, Aweme. Deposited in Lyman Entomological Museum, McGill University, Macdonald campus, Montréal.


The genus Papaipema Smith is one of the largest noctuid genera endemic to North America, with at least forty-six described species and five undescribed species known (Goldstein and Quinter 2003). Twenty-six described species occur in Canada (CBIF 2003).Although found throughout most of temperate North America, the genus achieves its greatest diversity in eastern North America (Goldstein and Quinter 2003).

Papaipema aweme appears to have no close relatives (i.e., is not part of a species complex or in a group of sibling species). There is no evidence to suggest it is anything but a “good” species (J.D. Lafontaine, pers. comm.).


Morphological Description

The Aweme Borer is a medium-size (33-37 mm wingspan), robust, noctuoid moth (Figure 1). The forewing colour is described in the original description as “gris-incarnate” (greyish flesh-color) (Lyman 1908). The base of the forewings is light brown, with a slightly darker transverse shade near the base and a more pronounced but somewhat diffuse one arcing across the median area. Both the narrow post-median and subterminal lines are darker than the ground colour; the former curves toward the wing base as it nears the costa and the latter is incomplete. The fringes and adjacent terminal areas of the forewings are darker brown. The orbicular spot and claviform spots are similar in size and shape, or the orbicular may be reduced to a small dark ring and the claviform may be almost obsolete. These spots are darker brown than the ground and stand out, as does the larger hourglass-shaped reniform spot. The hind wings are yellow-white, much paler than, and contrasting with, the forewings and are unmarked or marked with a faint median line and discal mark. The body and in particular the head and thorax, are darker brown (Lyman 1908; Hampson 1910). The adult moth is a rather small, very pale, plain light brown species compared to others in the genus (Schweitzer 1999). Based on published photographs, adults of both sexes are superficially alike. (Rockburne and Lafontaine, 1976; CBIF, 2003).


Figure 1: Adult Male Aweme Borer

Figure 1: Adult male Aweme Borer.

Colour illustrations of the adult are available in Rockburne and Lafontaine 1976 (Fig. 414) and on the web at the Agriculture and Agri-food Canada Moths of Canada website (http://www.cbif.gc.ca/spp_pages/noctuoidea/jpgs/image_e.php?image%5B%5D=109504.jpg%2CPapaipema+aweme).

The early stages (egg, larva and pupa) are unknown. In general Papaipema larvae are dark with dorsal and sub-dorsal white lines; they usually become translucent with the markings becoming very faint or obsolete as they mature (Hessel 1954).

A key to the species of Papaipema, including P. aweme, is available inForbes (1954, p. 191). However, many species of Papaipema are difficult to identify, even with a key, and there are a number of undescribed species not included in the key. The identity of specimens or suspected specimens of Aweme Borer should be confirmed by recognized experts in noctuid moths and in particular in the genus Papaipema. Identification of Papaipema species cannot be guaranteed from a photo of a live specimen, and a voucher specimen should be required for positive identification (Schweitzer 1999).


Genetic Description

There are no genetic data available for the species. Although some gene flow could conceivably occur or have occurred between populations along the Great Lakes shoreline, it is unlikely that any gene flow could occur between populations along the Great Lakes and those approximately 1200 km distant in southwestern Manitoba.


Designatable Units

None. There are too few data to evaluate.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le perce-tige d’Aweme au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur la
Perce-tige d'Aweme
Papaipema aweme
au Canada
2006

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Nom commun :

Perce-tige d’Aweme, Jean-François Landry, 2004 Papaipema aweme

Nom commun anglais :

Aweme Borer

Ordre :

Lépidoptères (papillons diurnes et nocturnes)

Superfamille :

Noctuoidea (Noctuoïdes)

Famille :

Noctuidae (Noctuidés : vers-gris ou légionnaires)

Sous-famille :

Hadeninea (Hadéninés)

Tribu :

Apameini (perce-tiges)

Genre :

Papaipema

Espèce :

aweme (Lyman, 1908)

Il n’y a aucune sous-espèce nommée (Quinter, dans Hodges et al., 1983).

 

Synonyme :

Nommé à l’origine Gortyna aweme Lyman

No de catalogue Moths of North America (MONA) :

9504

Citation bibliographique :

Lyman, H.H. 1908. « Recent work among borers », Can. Ent., 40(8): 249-255.

Spécimen type :

Holotype femelle, Aweme (Manitoba, Canada). Déposé au Musée d’Entomologie Lyman, Université McGill, Campus MacDonald, Montréal.


Le genre Papaipema Smith est l’un des genres les plus abondants de noctuelles endémiques à l’Amérique du Nord, comprenant au moins 46 espèces décrites et 5 espèces connues, mais non décrites (Goldstein et Quinter, 2003). Un total de 26 espèces décrites se trouvent au Canada (SCIB, 2003). Bien qu’ils soient répandus dans la plupart des régions tempérées de l’Amérique du Nord, le genre atteint sa plus grande diversité dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord (Goldstein et Quinter, 2003).

Le Papaipema aweme ne semble pas avoir de proche parent (il ne fait pas partie d’un complexe d’espèces ni d’un groupe d’espèces jumelles). Selon les données, il s’agit fort probablement une espèce distincte (J. D. Lafontaine, comm. pers.).


Description morphologique

Le perce-tige d’Aweme est un papillon nocturne robuste de taille moyenne (envergure de 33 mm à 37 mm) (figure 1). Dans sa description originale, Lyman (1908) a écrit que ses ailes antérieures étaient gris incarnat (gris-rose). La base des ailes antérieures est brun pâle, avec une teinte transverse légèrement plus foncée près de la base et une autre plus prononcée mais assez diffuse, décrivant un arc à travers la zone médiane. Les fines lignes post-médiane et subterminale sont plus foncées que la couleur principale; la ligne post-médiane descend en courbe vers la base de l’aile en se rapprochant de l’espace costal, et la ligne subterminale est incomplète. Les franges et le bout des ailes antérieures sont brun pâle. La taille et la forme de la tache orbiculaire et des taches claviformes sont semblables, ou la tache orbiculaire peut se limiter à un petit anneau foncé, et les taches claviformes peuvent être quasi-invisibles. Ces taches sont d’un brun plus foncé que la couleur principale et ressortent, comme le fait la tache réniforme plus grande en forme de sablier. Les ailes postérieures sont jaune-blanc, beaucoup plus pâles que les ailes antérieures et faisant contraste avec celles-ci; elles sont immaculées ou marquées d’une ligne médiane et d’une marque discale diffuses. Le corps et, en particulier, la tête et le thorax sont brun foncé (Lyman, 1908; Hampson, 1910). Le papillon adulte est une espèce d’assez petite taille, d’un brun très pâle et uni, comparativement aux autres espèces du genre (Schweitzer, 1999). D’après les photographies publiées, les adultes des deux sexes semblent identiques (Rockburne et Lafontaine, 1976; SCIB, 2003).


Figure 1 : Perce-tige d’Aweme mâle adulte

Figure 1 : Perce-tige d’Aweme mâle adulte

Des illustrations en couleur de l’adulte sont montrées dans Rockburne et Lafontaine 1976 (fig. 414) et sur le site Web d’Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada consacré aux papillons nocturnes du Canada (http://www.cbif.gc.ca/spp_pages/ noctuoidea/jpgs/image_f.php?image%5B%5D=109504.jpg%2CPapaipema+aweme).

Les premiers stades (œuf, chenille et chrysalide) sont inconnus. En général, les chenilles du Papaipema sont foncées avec des lignes blanches dorsales et sous-dorsales; elles deviennent généralement translucides, les marques s’estompant ou disparaissant avec le temps (Hessel, 1954).

Une clé d’identification des espèces du genre Papaipema, y compris le P. aweme, est présentée par Forbes (1954, p. 191). Toutefois, de nombreuses espèces de Papaipema sont difficiles à identifier, même avec une clé, et plusieurs espèces non décrites ne sont pas mentionnées dans la clé. L’identification de spécimens ou de présumés spécimens de perce-tige d’Awemedoit être confirmée par des spécialistes reconnus des papillons nocturnes et, en particulier, du genre Papaipema. L’identification, à partir d’une photo, d’un spécimen vivant d’espèces du genre Papaipema ne peut être sûre, et il est nécessaire d’examiner un spécimen de référence pour confirmer l’identification (Schweitzer, 1999).


Description génétique

On ne dispose pas de données génétiques sur l’espèce. Même si un certain flux génétique est possible entre les populations du long du littoral des Grands Lacs, l’existence d’un flux génétique entre les populations des Grands Lacs et celles distantes de 1 200 km dans le sud-ouest du Manitoba est improbable.


Unités désignables

Aucune.Il n’y a pas assez de données pour permettre une évaluation.