Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Status Report on the Aweme Borer in Canada

Biology

Essentially nothing is known about the biology of the Aweme Borer, and the following information refers to the genus Papaipema in general.


Life Cycle and Reproduction

Adult Aweme Borers are nocturnal and have been collected at lights at night (M. Nielsen, personal communication 2004; D. Schweitzer, personal communication November 2004). The life cycle is undoubtedly like that of all Lepidoptera, consisting of complete metamorphosis, with egg, larva, pupa, and adult stages.

The life cycle takes one full year to complete. Female Papaipema drop eggs loosely in the vicinity of the host plant in the fall and then die. The eggs overwinter and hatch the following spring. Larvae locate and bore into the host plant, where they complete their growth within the roots or stems, usually within a two-month period. Once mature, they pupate either inside or outside the host plant, depending on species or even individuals (Forbes, 1954; Bird, 1934). They remain in the pupal stage for about a month. Adults live for about two weeks, and females appear to be relatively inactive (Bird, 1934).

Collection records for adult Papaipema aweme are from 7-26 August (Table 1), somewhat early for Papaipema species (Schweitzer 1999). Papaipema moths are active late in the night (actually early morning) hours (Schweitzer 1999).

All Papaipema species are endophagous plant borers. They utilize an unusually wide range of plant species as hosts, spread across some 22–25 plant families ranging from ferns to trees to asters and lilies. However, most individual Papaipema species are restricted to only one or a few closely related species or genera of plants (Goldstein 1999, Forbes 1954; Rockburne and Lafontaine 1976). Suggested possible hosts of the Aweme Borer include relatively large native species such as Blazing-star (Liatris sp.) or an endemic thistle (Circium sp.) (J. Troubridge, pers. comm., 2004). The difficulty of identifying the host plant is illustrated by the fact that Dr. Eric Quinter, a borer specialist who has been studying this genus for some time, was unable to identify the host plant of a new species of Papaipema recently discovered on Sable Island, despite spending two weeks on the island searching for it among the very limited plant community present there (J.D. Lafontaine, pers. comm., July 2005).

Adult Papaipema have functional mouthparts and will come to sugar baits (G. Anweiler, personal observation; M. Nielsen, personal communication, November 2004), and likely obtain nectar from one or more species of native plants.


Predation

Major natural enemies of Papaipema include mammals such as rodents and skunks (Hessel 1954, Decker 1930, Schweitzer 1999), woodpeckers (Decker 1930), as well as numerous parasitoids and predatory insects. Larvae of Papaipema may be heavily parasitized by both Hymenoptera and Diptera (Fletcher and Gibson 1907; Bird 1934). A tachinid fly, Masicera senilis Will., and a braconid wasp, Apanteles papaipemae Muesebeck, are probably the most important parasitoids of Papaipema larvae (Decker 1930). Small mammals in some cases can completely eradicate small populations of Papaipema (Hessel 1954).


Physiology

There are no species-specific data.


Dispersal/Migration

Members of the genus Papaipema are not known to migrate, and are usually collected in close proximity to the host plants. Dispersal between isolated food patches separated by up to several kilometres does occur (Schweitzer 1999).


Interspecific Interactions

There are no data. The Aweme Borer is undoubtedly dependent on one or more unknown species of larval host plant.


Adaptability

Most Papaipema species are restricted to, and dependent upon, one or a few related host plants. Papaipema species have demonstrated the ability to reoccupy patches of host plant following fire, so long as there are populations in unburned refugia in the vicinity (Schweitzer 1999).

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le perce-tige d’Aweme au Canada

Biologie

On sait très peu de choses sur la biologie du perce-tige d’Aweme. Ainsi, les renseignements suivants s’appliquent au genre Papaipema en général.


Cycle vital et reproduction

Les perce-tige d’Aweme adultes sont nocturnes et ont été capturés la nuit à l’aide depièges à lumière (M. Nielsen, comm. pers., 2004; D. Schweitzer, comm. pers., novembre 2004).Comme les autres lépidoptères, le perce-tige d’Awemeaurait un cycle vital à métamorphose complète :œuf, chenille, chrysalide et stade adulte.

Le cycle vital dure une année entière. Les femelles déposent leurs œufs de façon éparse au voisinage de la plante hôte à l’automne, puis meurent. Les œufs hivernent et éclosent le printemps suivant. Les chenilles trouvent la plante hôte et y creusent un trou; normalement, au cours des deux mois suivants, elles y finissent leur croissance, soit dans les racines ou les tiges. Une fois matures, elles se transforment en chrysalides à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur de la plante hôte, selon l’espèce ou même les individus (Forbes, 1954; Bird, 1934). Ce stade dure environ un mois. Les adultes vivent environ deux semaines, et les femelles semblent peu actives (Bird, 1934).

Les registres de collecte des Papaipema aweme adultes sont datés du 7 au 26 août (annexe 1), ce qui est assez tôt pour les espèces de Papaipema (Schweitzer, 1999).Les papillons Papaipema sont actifs tard la nuit (en fait jusqu’au petit matin) (Schweitzer, 1999).

Toutes les espèces de Papaipema sont des foreurs endophages des plantes. Ensemble, elles utilisent comme hôtes, une gamme exceptionnellement vaste d’espèces végétales, appartenant à quelque 22 à 25 familles végétales allant des fougères aux arbres, en passant par les asters et les liliacées. Individuellement, la plupart des espèces du genre Papaipema utilisent toutefois une seule ou quelques espèces ou genres de plantes étroitement apparentés. (Goldstein, 1999; Forbes, 1954; Rockburne et Lafontaine, 1976). Les hôtes possibles du perce-tige d’Aweme comprennent des espèces indigènes assez grandes comme la liatride (Liatris sp.) ou un chardon indigène (Circium sp.) (J. Troubridge, comm. pers., 2004). La difficulté d’identifier la plante hôte est illustrée par le fait que Éric Quinter, Ph. D., spécialiste de longue date des perce-tige,n’a pu identifier l’hôte d’une nouvelle espèce de Papaipema récemment découverte sur l’île de Sable, même après l’avoir cherché pendant 2 semaines, parmi la communauté végétale pourtant très restreinte de cette île (J. D. Lafontaine, comm. pers., juillet 2005).

Les Papaipema adultes possèdent un rostre fonctionnel et sont attirés par les appâts sucrés (G. Anweiler, obs. pers.; M. Nielsen, comm. pers., novembre 2004), et extraient probablement le nectar d’une ou de plusieurs espèces de plantes indigènes.


Prédateurs

Les principaux ennemis naturels des Papaipema comprennent des mammifères comme les rongeurs et les mouffettes (Hessel, 1954, Decker, 1930, Schweitzer, 1999), les pic (Decker, 1930), ainsi que de nombreux parasitoïdes et insectes prédateurs. La chenille des Papaipema peut être fortement parasitée par les hyménoptères et les diptères (Fletcher et Gibson, 1907; Bird, 1934). Le tachinaire Masicera senilis Will. et le braconide Apanteles papaipemae Muesebeck sont probablement les principaux parasitoïdes de la chenille des Papaipema (Decker, 1930). Dans certains cas, les petits mammifères peuvent complètement éradiquer les petites populations de Papaipema (Hessel, 1954).


Physiologie

Il n’existe aucune donnée propre à l’espèce.


Déplacements et dispersion

On ne croit pas que les membres du genre Papaipema migrent, car ils sont habituellement capturés tout près de leur plante hôte. Une dispersion peut avoir lieu entre des îlots de plantes hôtes séparés par plusieurs kilomètres (Schweitzer, 1999).  


Relations interspécifiques

Il n’y a aucune donnée à ce sujet. Le perce-tige d’Aweme dépend fort probablement d’une ou de plusieurs espèces inconnues de plantes hôtes pour les larves.


Adaptabilité

La plupart des espèces de Papaipema sont confinées à une ou quelques plantes hôtes dont elles dépendent. Les Papaipema ont la capacité de réoccuper les îlots de plantes hôtes après un feu, dans la mesure où une population ait survécu dans des refuges imbrûlés à proximité (Schweitzer, 1999).