Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Lake Chubsucker

Preface

The responsible jurisdiction for the lake chubsucker under the Species at Risk Act (SARA) is Fisheries and Oceans Canada. Section 37 of SARA requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species. The lake chubsucker was listed as Threatened under SARA in June 2003.  Fisheries and Oceans Canada – Central and Arctic Region, led the development of this recovery strategy. The proposed strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39-41). It was developed in cooperation or consultation with (see Appendix II for full record of consultations), as appropriate:

  • Jurisdictions - Province of Ontario, Parks Canada Agency;
  • Environmental non-government groups – Essex Region Conservation Authority, Trent University, Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority, Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority, Old Ausable Channel Management Committee.

Declaration

The recovery strategy for the lake chubsucker has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions described in the Preface.  Fisheries and Oceans Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the lake chubsucker as required under the Species at Risk Act (SARA).  This recovery strategy also constitutes advice to other jurisdictions and organizations on the recovery goals, approaches and objectives that are recommended to protect and recover the species.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Fisheries and Oceans Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the National Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans invites all Canadians to join Fisheries and Oceans Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the species and Canadian society as a whole. Fisheries and Oceans Canada will support implementation of this strategy to the extent possible, given available resources and its overall responsibility for species at risk conservation. Implementation of the strategy by other participating jurisdictions and organizations is subject to their respective policies, appropriations, priorities, and budgetary constraints.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new information. The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans will report on progress within five years.

This strategy will be complemented by one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation of the species. The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans will take steps to ensure that, to the extent possible, Canadians interested in or affected by these measures will be consulted.

Responsible Jurisdictions

Under the Species at Risk Act, Fisheries and Oceans Canada is the responsible jurisdiction for the lake chubsucker.  The province of Ontario also cooperated in the production of this recovery strategy.

Authors

This document was prepared by Kara L. Vlasman and Shawn K. Staton on behalf of the Ontario Freshwater Fish Recovery Team.

Acknowledgments

The Ontario Freshwater Fish Recovery Team would like to thank the following organizations for their support in the development of the lake chubsucker recovery strategy:  Fisheries and Oceans Canada, Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, Essex Region Conservation Authority, Trent University, Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority, Old Ausable Channel Management Committee, Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority and the Niagara Parks Commission.  Mapping was produced by Graham Krall (DFO).

Strategic Environmental Assessmentstatement

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals, the purpose of a Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats.

This recovery strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the lake chubsucker.  The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered. The SEA concluded that this strategy will clearly benefit the environment and will not entail any significant adverse effects. Refer to the following sections of the document in particular: Description of the species’ habitat and biological needs, ecological role, and limiting factors; Effects on other species; and the recommended approaches to meet recovery objectives.

Residence

SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or

hibernating ” [SARA S2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry: http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_e.cfm

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du Sucet de Lac

Préface

Le sucet de lac est un poisson d’eau douce qui relève du gouvernement fédéral. Conformément à la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP, article 37), le ministre compétent doit préparer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces qui ont été désignées comme étant disparues du pays, menacées ou en voie de disparition. Le sucet de lac a été inscrit à la liste des espèces menacées sous le régime de la LEP en juin 2003. Pêches et Océans Canada – Région du Centre et de l’Arctique, a dirigé l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement. Celui‑ci satisfait aux exigences de la LEP quant au contenu et au processus (articles 39 à 41). Il a été élaboré, selon le cas, en collaboration ou en consultation avec (voir la liste complète des consultations à l’annexe II) :

  • instances– gouvernement de l’Ontario, Agence Parcs Canada;
  • des groupes écologistes non gouvernementaux – Essex Region Conservation Authority, Université Trent, Niagara Peninsula Conservation Authority, Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority, Old Ausable Channel Management Committee.

Déclaration

Le programme de rétablissement du sucet de lac a été préparé en collaboration avec les instances mentionnées dans la Préface.Pêches et Océans Canada a passé en revue ce document et l’accepte en tant que programme de rétablissement du sucet de lac, conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur les espèces en péril.Le présent programme de rétablissement constitue également un avis à l’intention d’autres instances et organismes en regard des buts, des approches et des objectifs de rétablissement qui sont recommandés pour la protection et le rétablissement de l’espèce.

La réussite du rétablissement de cette espèce dépendra de l’engagement et de la collaboration d’un grand nombre de parties qui participent à la mise en œuvre des orientations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer sur Pêches et Océans Canada ou sur une autre instance seulement. Dans l’esprit de l’Accord national pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans invite tous les Canadiens à se joindre à Pêches et Océans Canada pour appuyer le présent programme et le mettre en œuvre au profit de l’espèce et de l’ensemble de la société canadienne. Pêches et Océans Canada s’appliquera à soutenir, dans la mesure du possible, l’exécution du présent programme avec les ressources disponibles et compte tenu de sa responsabilité générale à l’égard de la conservation des espèces en péril. L’exécution du programme par d’autres instances responsables et organismes participants est soumise à leurs politiques respectives, à leurs crédits disponibles, à leurs priorités et à leurs contraintes budgétaires.

Les buts, approches et objectifs de rétablissement présentés dans le programme sont fondés sur les meilleures connaissances actuelles et peuvent changer à la lumière de nouvelles observations. Le ministre rendra compte des progrès réalisés d’ici cinq ans.

Un ou plusieurs plans d’action détaillant les mesures de rétablissement qu’il faudra prendre pour appuyer la conservation de cette espèce viendront s’ajouter au présent programme. Le ministre mettra en œuvre des moyens pour s’assurer, dans la mesure du possible, que les Canadiens intéressés à ces mesures ou touchés par celles-ci soient consultés.

Autorités responsables

Selon la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Pêches et Océans Canada est l’autorité responsable du sucet de lac. Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a également collaboré à la production du présent programme de rétablissement.

Auteurs

Le présent document a été préparé par Kara L. Vlasman et Shawn K. Staton pour le compte de l’équipe de rétablissement du poisson d’eau douce de l’Ontario.

Évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, le but de l’évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est d’intégrer les considérations environnementales dans l’élaboration de projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairée du point de vue environnemental.

La planification du rétablissement profitera aux espèces en péril et à la biodiversité en général. Il est toutefois reconnu que des programmes peuvent produire, sans que cela ne soit voulu, des effets environnementaux négatifs qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des impacts possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés.

Le présent programme de rétablissement favorisera clairement l’environnement en soutenant le rétablissement du sucet de lac. On a envisagé la possibilité que le programme produise des effets négatifs non prévus sur d’autres espèces. Toutefois, l’EES a permis de conclure qu’il est clair que le présent programme sera bénéfique pour l’environnement et n’entraînera pas d’effets négatifs importants. Consulter plus particulièrement les sections suivantes du document : Besoins biologiques et besoins en matière d’habitat, Rôle écologique et Facteurs limitatifs; Effets sur d’autres espèces; Approches recommandées pour atteindre les objectifs de rétablissement.

Résidence

Dans la LEP, la « résidence » est définie comme suit : « Gîte - terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable – occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage, l’alimentation ou l’hibernation. » [paragraphe 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s’applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP : http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/plans/residence_f.cfm.