Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the American Chestnut in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

American Chestnut
Castanea Dentata

Species Information

American chestnut is a member of the beech family. It is the only species of chestnut native to Canada. It has elongate leaves tapered at both ends and large teeth along the margins. Flowers are arranged in catkins with numerous tiny male flowers and a cluster of several female flowers at the base of some of the catkins. When cross-pollinated with another chestnut tree by an insect pollinator, the female flowers develop into spiny bur-like fruits enclosing one to several chestnuts. This species once was a dominant tree in many areas of the eastern deciduous forests of North America, but has been greatly reduced by the introduction of the chestnut blight disease a century ago.

 

Distribution

This species occurs throughout eastern North America from southern Maine to southern Ontario and Michigan, south to Georgia to Mississippi. Remnants of once large populations of this tree still survive across most of its historical range in southern Ontario as well as most of the states within its range to the south.

 

Habitat

The typical habitat is upland deciduous forests on sandy acidic soils, occurring with red oak, black cherry, sugar maple and beech.

 

Biology

This species is a shade-tolerant forest tree needing a canopy cover for effective seedling establishment. It produces both male and female flowers on the same tree in late spring to early summer. It is insect pollinated and requires cross-pollination for seed set. Nuts are produced in the fall of the same year and are sought after by squirrels, chipmunks and large birds that also disperse the seeds beyond the parent trees.

 

Population Sizes and Trends

Remnant populations are rarely very large, typically single trees or small groups. It is estimated that there are currently 120-150 mature trees and 1000 or more smaller, non-reproductive individuals in Canada. It is inconclusive if the status has significantly changed since the mid-1980s.

 

Limiting Factors and Threats

The introduction of the chestnut blight fungus in about 1904 devastated populations of this species throughout its natural range, including its Canadian distribution in southern Ontario. Most individuals are stump sprouts that never reach fruiting size. Recovery planning has identified possible hybridization with Asian species in native stands as another potential threat.

 

Special Significance of the Species

American chestnut had a wide spectrum of uses by native peoples, from treatment of ailments to a staple food, to material for building and dyeing. Early settlers soon realized what an important tree this was and used it in similar ways. Its abundant production of nourishing nuts also was an important food for various mammals and birds of the forest.

 

Existing Protection

It is ranked by the Natural Heritage Information Centre (Ontario) as S2 (imperiled), but has not yet been given official provincial status.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation de la Châtaignier d’Amérique au Canada – Mise à jour

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Châtaignier d’Amérique
Castanea dentata

Information sur l’espèce

Le châtaignier d’Amérique fait partie de la famille des Fagacées. C’est la seule espèce de châtaignier indigène au Canada. Les bords de ses feuilles allongées et longuement atténuées aux deux extrémités sont ornés de grosses dents. Les fleurs forment des chatons constitués de nombreuses fleurs mâles minuscules; une grappe de plusieurs fleurs femelles se trouve à la base de certains chatons. Lorsqu’un insecte pollinisateur les féconde avec le pollen d’un autre châtaignier, les fleurs femelles forment des fruits à bogue épineuse renfermant une ou plusieurs châtaignes. Cette espèce était autrefois dominante dans de nombreuses régions des forêts de feuillus de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord, mais l’introduction de la brûlure du châtaignier il y a un siècle a beaucoup réduit ses populations.

 

Répartition

Cette espèce pousse dans tout l’est de l’Amérique du Nord, du sud du Maine jusque dans le Michigan en passant par le sud de l’Ontario, et vers le sud jusque dans la Géorgie et le Mississippi. Des vestiges de populations autrefois nombreuses survivent encore dans la plus grande partie de l’aire de répartition historique du châtaignier dans le sud de l’Ontario ainsi que dans la plupart des États américains se trouvant dans son aire de répartition.

 

Habitat

L’habitat habituel de l’espèce est la forêt de feuillus de terrain élevé sur sol acide sablonneux, pouvant renfermer des chênes rouges, des cerisiers tardifs, des érables à sucre et des hêtres.

 

Biologie

Il s’agit d’une espèce forestière tolérant l’ombre dont les semis ont besoin du couvert d’autres arbres pour bien s’établir. Le même arbre produit à la fois des fleurs mâles et des fleurs femelles depuis la fin du printemps jusqu’au début de l’été. Il est pollinisé par des insectes et la pollinisation croisée est nécessaire pour la production de graines. Les fruits sont produits à l’automne de la même année et sont recherchés par les écureuils, les tamias et de gros oiseaux, qui favorisent la dispersion des graines loin des arbres parents.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

Les populations restantes sont rarement très importantes, étant formées en général d’un seul arbre ou d’un petit groupe d’arbres. On estime qu’il y a à l’heure actuelle de 120 à 150 arbres parvenus à maturité et au moins un millier de petits individus non reproductifs au Canada. On ne sait pas si la situation a notablement changé depuis le milieu des années 1980.

 

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

L’introduction de la brûlure du châtaignier vers 1904 a dévasté les populations de cette espèce dans toute son aire de répartition naturelle, y compris au Canada dans le sud de l’Ontario. La plupart des individus sont des rejets de souche qui n’atteignent jamais la taille de la fructification. Le croisement possible des châtaigniers indigènes avec des espèces asiatiques découvert pendant les activités de planification du rétablissement pourrait aussi constituer une menace.

 

Importance de l’espèce

Le châtaignier d’Amérique avait des usages diversifiés chez les peuples autochtones : remèdes, aliment de base, matériau de construction, teinture. Les premiers colons se sont vite rendus compte à quel point cet arbre était précieux et s’en sont servi de façons semblables. Son abondante production de fruits nutritifs contribuait aussi largement à l’alimentation de divers mammifères et oiseaux forestiers.

 

Protection actuelle

Cette espèce classée S2 (en péril) par le Centre d’information sur le patrimoine naturel de l’Ontario, mais elle n’a pas encore reçu de statut provincial officiel.