Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the American Chestnut in Canada

Population Sizes and Trends

The extent of the distribution does not seem to have changed significantly since the earliest records of 1817 (Moss & Hosking, 1983), even though numbers have been drastically reduced (likely greatly exceeding 50%) from when this species was a dominant species in some areas of southern Ontario (e.g., Duncan, 1993; Morley, 2001). It is and was widespread throughout the Carolinian Zone but more predominant in some townships, such as in portions of Norfolk County and around Hamilton where the species was noted to be most abundant in the 1817 survey (Moss & Hosking, 1983). Duncan (1993) indicates that in the Dundas Valley, in the Hamilton area, American chestnut made up 25 or 30% of the forest. Potential habitat does exist in southern Ontario, but it is limited due to the high level of forest clearing.

Three surveys were conducted between the 1980s and 2001-02. In the most recent survey, selected populations were intensively documented, following a strategy of the American chestnut recovery plan (Boland et al., 2000). The occurrence of reproductive trees and blighted trees is compared in the appendix from the data of the original status report (Ambrose & Aboud, 1986), a survey in the 1990s (Boland et al., 1997) and the recent inventory (Tindall et al., 2004). Data were compiled and analyzed by Brian Husband. Although there are statistically significant differences in reproductive status and the occurrence of blight symptoms among the three surveys in some of the age classes, the different approaches to the three surveys may in part explain the differences, viz., the first survey’s focus was on reproductive trees, the second, chestnut blight and its level of occurrence and virulence, and the third, a general assessment of the status of American chestnut (but dead trees were not recorded). Thus it is inconclusive whether the status of this species has significantly changed since the early 1980s although several large trees have been lost. It should also be noted that the devastation of this species is still within the time frame of a single generation of healthy trees.

In the most recent survey of 2001-2002, 682 individuals of all sizes were inventoried in detail, 85 of them were observed to be reproductive (individuals may have multiple trunks; counts are of individuals not trunks). An additional 13 trees of potential reproductive size and 7 smaller individuals were observed by the author in 2003. Some of these were in previously known sites, but four new sites were found while inventorying 24 county forests (total 1306 acres) in an unrelated project in Norfolk County (Ambrose & Waldron, 2004). Another survey was recently conducted in 16 Long Point Region Conservation Authority forests (Draper, 2002). Of these, chestnut was recorded in 10 forests, 7 being new sites, but with only three trees over 8.5 cm diameter at breast height. This gives an idea of the number of undocumented populations in a core area such as Norfolk County. Nevertheless, we may be losing important individuals as large trees die and do not re-sprout, and many of the small sprouts that eventually die out; there is a continuing concern over the loss of genetic diversity until the blight can be brought under control. In summary, 101 trees of potentially reproductive size are known in 120 sites; it is estimated that there are 120-150 reproductive trees plus 1000 or more smaller, non-reproductive individuals in Ontario. A comparison of sites with information from the first and last inventories is shown in Table 1. This table only includes those sites where a direct comparison can be made over this time period. For an additional estimation of trends, the appendix should be consulted.

Table 1: Ontario populations of Castanea dentata with comparative data
Comparisons between surveys in 1979-1989 (1980s) and 2001-2003 (2000s)
SurveysSite:
no., name
# by size class (cm dbh)flowersseedsseedlgs.Blightchange, 1980s to 2000s
<10<20<30<4040+
1980s1. Scotland  1     no 
2000sJul 03  dead      lost: tree cut down
1980s1a. Burford Nurs.1   1yesyes no 
2000sCinv: 2    dead    decline: large tree died
1980s2. S. Glen Morris2  1   yes  
2000sJul 03  1  yes?nonodecline: different tree
1980s5. Vienna1   1yes  no 
2000sCinv: 1          
1980s6. Riverbend farm122  yes 6no 
2000sCinv: 3          
1980s8. Springwater  1  yes  no 
2000sCinv: 13          
1980s11. Arner  1 1yesyes3yes 
2000sCinv: 2         decline: large tree with healing canker died; sprouting
1980s15. Walsh 1   yes  yes 
2000sCinv: 9          
1980s16. Smith Tract31   yes  no, yes 
2000sCinv: 1-2          
1980s18. NW of Delhi 1        
2000sJul 03         lost: roadside fencerow removed
1980s21. Wycombe  1?1 yes  no 
2000sJul 03   1 yes  nosame: original trees died and cut down, new tree to NW
1980s22. Backus Woods1172 1yesyes3yes 
2000sCinv: 75          
1980s23. Spring Arbour  2  yesyes no 
2000sJul 03 22   yesyesnogain? original 2 trees died
1980s24. Armstrong Tract  1  yes  no 
2000sCinv: 10          
1980s26. Sassafras Wds.31   yes    
2000sCinv: 1          
1980s27. Mineral Springs   2 yesyes3no 
2000sCinv: 5-7          
1980s28. Copetown 1   yesyes no 
2000sCinv: 2-3          
1980s30. Gartshore  2  yesyes no, yes 
2000sCinv: 3+          
1980s32. Cristie  1  yes  no 
2000sCinv: 1          
1980s33a. Highgatefew 3       
2000sOct 03 [W. Jay]         loss: original 3 trees and sprouts all dead
1980s34. Sunny Glades1 1  no  yes 
2000sCinv: 9          
1980s35. Smit's farm2  11yes 1no 
2000sCinv: 2          
1980s36. Warbler Wds.    1yes  no 
2000sMay 03 [B. Bergsma] 1  cut    decline; tree lost in housing devel.; sprout from cut tree?
1980s37. Mosa Tp.  1  yesyes no 
2000sCinv: 2          
1980s38. Skunks' Misery3003      yes 
2000sCinv: 24         [only part of site re-surveyed]
1980s40. Woodland Sch.    1yes  no 
2000sJul 03    dead    lost: stump where tree had been
1980s42. Clare Cycle  1     no 
2000sCinv: 1          
1980s43. Hillcrest Park1  1 yes  yes 
2000sJul 03 + Cinv: 1   dead     decline: large tree dead, stump remains.
1980s44. Moore Rd.~201   yesyes yes 
2000sCinv: 10          
1980s45. St. Davids Gorge 12  yesyes yes, no 
2000sJul 03         lost: one stump, others not found
1980s46. Short Hills    1yes 2no 
2000sCinv: 2          
1980s47. N. Glen Morris   1 yes  0 
2000sJul 03   dead     lost: tree dead, trunk 34cm dbh

Second line notes (2000s): Cinv: 2001-02 chestnut inventory, numbers only, size and other data not available at this time. Month 03: observations by author or others as noted.

The loss of several large trees documented in Table 1 that were reproductive and healthy in the early 1980s is a concern; whether they are being replaced by recruitment is inconclusive. For an analysis of all the data from the tree surveys, see the appendix.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur la situation de la Châtaignier d’Amérique au Canada – Mise à jour

Taille et tendances des populations

L’aire de répartition canadienne de l’espèce ne semble pas avoir notablement changé depuis les premières mentions, remontant à 1817 (Moss et Hosking, 1983), mais le nombre d’individus a considérablement diminué (vraisemblablement de plus de 50 p. 100) depuis l’époque où le châtaignier d’Amérique était une espèce dominante dans certaines régions du sud de l’Ontario (voir p. ex. Duncan [1993], Morley [2001]). L’espèce était et est encore présente dans pratiquement toute la zone carolinienne, mais davantage dans certains cantons, notamment dans certaines parties du comté de Norfolk et la région de Hamilton, où elle était particulièrement abondante selon l’inventaire de 1817 (Moss et Hosking, 1983). Selon Duncan (1993), dans la vallée Dundas, dans la région de Hamilton, le châtaignier d’Amérique constituait de 25 p. 100 à 30 p. 100 de la forêt. Des milieux favorables à l’espèce existent dans le sud de l’Ontario, mais ils sont limités par l‘intense déboisement.

Trois relevés ont été effectués entre les années 1980 et 2001-2002. Dans le tout dernier, des renseignements détaillés ont été recueillis sur certaines populations, suivant une stratégie du plan de rétablissement du châtaignier d’Amérique (Boland et al., 2000). L’annexe du présent rapport compare les nombres d’arbres reproducteurs et d’arbres attaqués par la brûlure tirés du premier rapport de situation (Ambrose et Aboud, 1986), d’un relevé effectué pendant les années 1990 (Boland et al., 1997) et du dernier inventaire (Tindall et al., 2004). Les données ont été compilées et analysées par Brian Husband. Il existe des différences statistiquement significatives entre les trois relevés pour ce qui est de l’état reproducteur et de l’incidence des symptômes de la brûlure dans certaines classes d’âge, mais les approches différentes adoptées pour les trois relevés expliquent peut-être en partie ces différences, le premier ayant mis l’accent sur les arbres reproducteurs, le second sur la brûlure du châtaignier (incidence et virulence) et le troisième sur une évaluation générale de la situation du châtaignier d’Amérique (les arbres morts n’ayant toutefois pas été consignés). Il n’est donc pas possible de savoir avec certitude si la situation de cette espèce a nettement changé depuis le début des années 1980, bien que plusieurs gros arbres aient été perdus. Il faut aussi faire remarquer que la dévastation de l’espèce ne dépasse pas encore le cadre temporel d’une seule génération d’arbres sains.

Dans le relevé de 2001-2002, on a inventorié en détail 682 individus de toutes tailles, dont 85 reproducteurs (un individu peut compter plusieurs troncs; les chiffres se rapportent aux individus, non aux troncs). En 2003, l’auteur a observé treize autres arbres ayant une taille suffisante pour se reproduire et sept individus plus petits. Certains de ces arbres se trouvaient dans des sites déjà connus, mais quatre nouveaux sites ont été découverts durant l’inventaire de 24 forêts de comté (superficie totale de 1306 acres) effectué dans le cadre d’un projet non relié mené dans le comté de Norfolk (Ambrose et Waldron, 2004). Un autre relevé a été réalisé récemment dans 16 forêts gérées par l’Office de protection de la nature de la région de Long Point (Draper, 2002). Des châtaigniers ont été signalés dans dix de ces forêts, dont sept constituant de nouveaux sites, mais il n’y avait que trois arbres dont le diamètre dépassait 8,5 cm à hauteur de poitrine. Cela donne une idée du nombre de populations non documentées dans des zones principales de l’aire de répartition de l’espèce, comme le comté de Norfolk. Cependant, il est possible que nous perdions des individus importants, de gros arbres mourant sans produire de rejets, sans compter les nombreux petits rejets qui dépérissent. La diversité génétique qui sera perdue d’ici à ce que nous réussissions à maîtriser la brûlure reste un sujet de constante préoccupation. En résumé, on a répertorié 101 arbres ayant atteint une taille suffisante pour se reproduire répartis dans 120 sites; on estime qu’il y a de 120 à 150 arbres reproducteurs et au moins un millier de petits individus non reproducteurs en Ontario. Le tableau 1 présente une comparaison des sites pour lesquels des renseignements ont été recueillis au cours du premier inventaire et du dernier inventaire. Ce tableau ne porte que sur les sites pour lesquels une comparaison directe est possible pour la période considérée. On trouvera à l’annexe une autre estimation des tendances.

Tableau 1 : Populations ontariennes du Castanea dentata pour lesquelles il existe des données comparatives
Comparaisons entre les relevés de 1979 à 1989 (1980s) et de 2001 à 2003 (2000s)
RelevésSite:
no, nom
Nbre par classe de taille (dhp en cm)fleursgrainessemisBrûlureChangement des années 1980 aux années 2000
<10<20<30<4040+
1980s1. Scotland  1     non 
2000sJuill. 2003  mort      perte : arbre coupé
1980s1a. Pépinière de Burford1   1ouioui non 
2000sInvch : 2    mort    déclin : le gros arbre est mort
1980s2. Sud de Glen Morris2  1   oui  
2000sJuill. 2003  1  oui?nonnondéclin : arbre différent
1980s5. Vienna1   1oui  non 
2000sInvch : 1          
1980s6. Ferme Riverbend122  oui 6non 
2000sInvch : 3          
1980s8. Springwater  1  oui  non 
2000sInvch : 13          
1980s11. Arner  1 1ouioui3oui 
2000sInvch : 2         déclin : le gros arbre, qui présentait des chancres qui se cicatrisaient, est mort; rejets
1980s15. Walsh 1   oui  oui 
2000sInvch : 9          
1980s16. Parcelle Smith31   oui  non, oui 
2000sInvch : 1-2          
1980s18. N.-O. de Delhi 1        
2000sJuill. 2003         perte : haie enlevée en bord de chemin
1980s21. Wycombe  1?1 oui  non 
2000sJuill. 2003   1 oui  nonsituation similaire : anciens arbres morts et coupés; nouvel arbre au N.-O.
1980s22. Forêt Backus1172 1ouioui3oui 
2000sInvch : 75          
1980s23. Spring Arbour  2  ouioui non 
2000sJuill. 2003 22   ouiouinongain? : les 2 anciens arbres sont morts
1980s24. Parcelle Armstrong  1  oui  non 
2000sInvch : 10          
1980s26. Forêt Sassafras31   oui    
2000sInvch : 1          
1980s27. Mineral Springs   2 ouioui3non 
2000sInvch : de 5-7          
1980s28. Copetown 1   ouioui non 
2000sInvch : de 2-3          
1980s30. Gartshore  2  ouioui non, oui 
2000sInvch : 3+          
1980s32. Cristie  1  oui  non 
2000sInvch : 1          
1980s33a. Highgatepeu 3       
2000sOct. 2003 [W. Jay]         perte : les 3 anciens arbres et les rejets sont morts
1980s34. Sunny Glades1 1  non  oui 
2000sInvch : 9          
1980s35. Ferme Smit2  11oui 1non 
2000sInvch : 2          
1980s36. Warbler Wds.    1oui  non 
2000sMai 2003 [B. Bergsma] 1  coupé    déclin : arbre perdu à cause d’un ensemble résidentiel; rejets issus de l’arbre coupé?
1980s37. Canton de Mosa  1  ouioui non 
2000sInvch : 2          
1980s38. Skunks' Misery3003      oui 
2000sInvch : 24         [inventaire refait dans seulement une partie du site]
1980s40. École Woodland    1oui  non 
2000sJuill. 2003    mort    perte : il ne reste que la souche de l’arbre
1980s42. Clare Cycle  1     non 
2000sInvch : 1          
1980s43. Parc Hillcrest1  1 oui  oui 
2000sJuill. 2003 + Invch : 1   mort     déclin : le gros arbre est mort; reste la souche
1980s44. Moore Rd.~201   ouioui oui 
2000sInvch : 10          
1980s45. Gorge de St. Davids 12  ouioui oui, non 
2000sJuill. 2003         perte : une souche trouvée; autres arbres non trouvés
1980s46. Short Hills    1oui 2non 
2000sInvch : 2          
1980s47. Nord de Glen Morris   1 oui  0 
2000sJuill. 2003   mort     perte : arbre mort, dhp de 34 cm

Notes en deuxième ligne (2000s) : Invch : inventaire des châtaigniers de 2001-2002; nombres seulement; données sur la taille et autres caractéristiques non disponibles pour le moment. Mois 2003 : observations par l’auteur ou les personnes indiquées.

La perte, indiquée au tableau 1, de plusieurs gros arbres qui étaient reproducteurs et sains au début des années 1980 est préoccupante; on ne sait pas avec certitude s’ils sont remplacés par recrutement. On trouvera à l’annexe une analyse de toutes les données des inventaires.