Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Lake Sturgeon in Canada

Special Significance

The lake sturgeon is a fascinating species. It, like all sturgeons, is a living fossil, and retains the cartilaginous skeleton and shark-like caudal fin of its ancestors of the Devonian period (Harkness and Dymond 1961). It is the largest freshwater fish species in Canada (Scott and Crossman 1998). Sturgeons have been utilized by humans throughout history and were gourmet items in ancient Rome and medieval Europe (Ono et al. 1983). In North America, lake sturgeon were scorned by the early settlers as a nuisance species, but commercial markets for smoked, dried, and fresh fish quickly developed after 1860. As a result, intensive fisheries commenced and peaked in 1900 when over 1 million kg were harvested from the Great Lakes. This, in turn, led to drastic declines from which most populations have never recovered (Houston 1987). In addition to their value as food, including caviar, lake sturgeon were a source of oil, leather and isinglass (Harkness and Dymond 1961). Even today, the quality of Canadian lake sturgeon caviar is judged by many to be second only to Caspian Sea caviar derived from beluga, and retails at over $200/kg, while the flesh retails at about $40/kg.

Lake sturgeon always have been of special significance to Native peoples. The historic relationship of sturgeon to Aboriginal communities includes local or indigenous knowledge such as rare phenotypes, ecological and genetic uniqueness of sub-populations, and declines in abundance. Lake sturgeon have been important to Aboriginal groups since at least 500 BC, if not before, and are still important to many First Nations communities today (Prince 1905; Holzkamm and Wilson 1988; Kelly 1998; Dick and Macbeth 2003). Elders report that sturgeon were a primary food source and were used in their entirety (Kelly 1998). Five kinds of meat were obtained as well as other important products such as containers made from skins, glue from swim bladders, paint binding agents (Prince 1905; Tough 1996), scrapers from scutes, and arrowheads from tail bones (Harkness and Dymond 1961). Sturgeon also were closely connected to Aboriginal spirituality (Holzkamm and Wilson 1988; Dick and Macbeth 2003). Kelly (1998) remembered that the sturgeon was a sacred animal to be given offerings and acknowledged in special ceremonies. In Ojibway mythology, the great sturgeon, Numae, was associated with the spiritual power controlling fishes and fisheries (Holzkamm and Wilson 1988; Kelly 1998). Numae also was the guardian of the Sturgeon Clan, a distinguished Ojibway family (Tough 1996; Kelly 1998). To the Aboriginal groups of the eastern forests, the nutritional, material and spiritual significance of the sturgeon was analogous to the relationship between bison and tribes of the western plains (Ono et al. 1983; Tough 1996).

In some parts of its distribution lake sturgeon is still of high economic importance. Along the Quebec part of the St. Lawrence River, the income of more than 70 commercial fishermen fully or partly depends on lake sturgeon harvest. For many, this is a family business that as been handed on from one generation to the other for more than 100 years.

The lake sturgeon also has special significance relating to watershed health. It is long-lived and has strong site fidelity for spawning and additional habitat requirements, such as specific food items at particular stages of the life history.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le esturgeon jaune au Canada – Mise à jour

Importance de l'espèce

L’esturgeon jaune est un poisson fascinant. Comme les autres esturgeons, il s’agit d’un fossile vivant qui a conservé le squelette cartilagineux et la nageoire caudale de requin de ses ancêtres du Dévonien (Harkness et Dymond, 1961). C’est le plus grand poisson d’eau douce du Canada (Scott et Crossman, 1998). Les esturgeons ont été utilisés par des humains à toutes les époques et constituaient un mets de choix dans la Rome antique et l’Europe médiévale (Ono et al., 1983). En Amérique du Nord, l’esturgeon jaune était considéré par les premiers colons comme une espèce nuisible, mais la commercialisation de sa viande fumée, séchée et fraîche, s’est développée rapidement après 1860. Une pêche intensive s’en est suivie et a atteint un sommet en 1900, année pendant laquelle plus d’un million de kg d’esturgeons jaunes ont été récoltés dans les Grands Lacs. Cette pêche a causé un grave déclin dont la plupart des populations ne se sont jamais remises (Houston, 1987). En plus de leur valeur alimentaire, y compris le caviar, les esturgeons jaunes étaient une source d’huile, de cuir et de colle de poisson (Harkness et Dymond, 1961). Aujourd’hui encore, le caviar d’esturgeon jaune du Canada n’est surpassé, de l’avis de plusieurs, que par le caviar de grand esturgeon de la mer Caspienne. Son prix de détail dépasse 200 $/kg, tandis que la viande se vend environ 40 $/kg.

L’esturgeon jaune a toujours revêtu une importance particulière pour les peuples autochtones. Les collectivités autochtones entretiennent une relation historique avec l’espèce, par laquelle ils ont accumulé des connaissances sur les phénotypes rares, la spécificité écologique et génétique de sous-populations et les déclins démographiques. L’esturgeon jaune est important pour des groupes autochtones depuis au moins 500 av. J.-C., sinon plus tôt, et l’est encore aujourd’hui pour plusieurs collectivités des Premières nations (Prince, 1905; Holzkamm et Wilson, 1988; Kelly, 1998; Dick et Macbeth, 2003). Les Aînés rapportent que les esturgeons étaient une source privilégiée de nourriture et que l’animal était entièrement consommé (Kelly, 1998). On tirait cinq types de viande de l’animal, ainsi que d’autres produits importants tels que des récipients faits de cuir, de la colle extraite de la vessie natatoire, des agents liants pour la peinture (Prince, 1905; Tough, 1996), des grattoirs faits avec les plaques osseuses et des pointes de flèche faites avec les os de la queue (Harkness et Dymond, 1961). L’esturgeon était également intimement lié à la spiritualité autochtone (Holzkamm et Wilson, 1988; Dick et Macbeth, 2003). Kelly (1998) rapporte que l’esturgeon était un animal sacré devant faire l’objet d’offrandes et de louanges lors de rituels spéciaux. Dans la mythologie des Ojibways, le grand esturgeon, Numae, était associé au pouvoir spirituel qui assurait la maîtrise des poissons et de la pêche (Holzkamm et Wilson, 1988; Kelly, 1998). Numae était également le gardien du clan Sturgeon, une famille ojibway respectée (Tough, 1996; Kelly, 1998). L’importance nutritive, matérielle et spirituelle de l’esturgeon pour les peuples autochtones des forêts de l’est se compare à celle du bison pour les tribus des plaines de l’ouest (Ono et al., 1983; Tough, 1996).

L’esturgeon jaune revêt encore une grande importance économique dans certaines parties de son aire de répartition. Dans la partie québécoise du fleuve Saint-Laurent, le revenu de plus de 70 pêcheurs commerciaux repose en entier ou en partie sur la pêche de l’esturgeon jaune. Pour plusieurs, il s’agit d’une entreprise familiale transmise de génération en génération depuis plus de 100 ans.

L’esturgeon jaune est également important pour la santé des bassins versants. L’espèce vit très longtemps et manifeste une grande fidélité à ses frayères, en plus d’avoir d’autres besoins en matière d’habitat, tels que des aliments propres à différentes étapes du cycle vital.