Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Lake Sturgeon in Canada

Distribution

Global Range

Historically, the North American distribution of lake sturgeon ranged from western Alberta eastward to the St. Lawrence drainage of Quebec, and from the southern Hudson Bay drainage southward to lower Mississippi drainage in northern Mississippi and Alabama (Figures 10-11). Few freshwater fish species had a wider geographic range in North America. Currently, it is presumed to be reduced in distribution and abundance throughout most of its historic range in the United States.


Figure 10: Historic Distribution of Lake Sturgeon in North America

Figure 10: Historic distribution of lake sturgeon in North America.

The Hudson Bay drainage is delineated. American states are shaded according to their NatureServe status.


Figure 11: Historic Lake Sturgeon Distribution in Ontario Indicating the Main River Systems of Northern Ontario

Figure 11: Historic lake sturgeon distribution in Ontarioindicating the main river systems of northern Ontario [adapted from Ferguson and Duckworth (1997)].

Adapted from Ferguson and Duckworth (1997).


Canadian Range

The distribution of lake sturgeon in Canada includes rivers of Hudson Bay, the Great Lakes, and inland lakes and rivers of Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Ontario and Quebec (Figures, 7-12). In the northern part of its Canadian distribution, it ranges (at least) from the Churchill River on the west side of Hudson Bay in the northwest, to the La Grande River on the east side of Hudson Bay in the northeast (Harkness and Dymond 1961; Scott and Crossman (1998). Gruchy and Parker (1978), Scott and Crossman (1998), and Stewart and Watkinson (2004) give the northern distribution limit on the west side of Hudson Bay as the Seal River, based on Harkness and Dymond (1961). However, Harkness and Dymond (1961) provide no evidence of records for the Seal River and there is uncertainty as to its ever being present north of the Churchill River. The Royal Ontario Museum and the Museum of Nature do not possess any lake sturgeon specimens from the Seal River (B. Franzin, Environmental Science Division, Department of Fisheries and Oceans, Freshwater Institute, Winnipeg, MB; D. MacDonell, North/South Consultants, Winnipeg, MB; personal communications).


Figure 12: Historic Lake Sturgeon Distribution in Quebec, Indicating Rivers in Northern Quebec

Figure 12: Historic lake sturgeon distribution in Quebec, indicating rivers in northern Quebec [adapted from Ferguson and Duckworth (1997)].

Adapted from Ferguson and Duckworth (1997).

In the southern part of its Canadian distribution, the species ranges from the South Saskatchewan River in western Alberta (McLeod et al. 1999) to the St. Lawrence River at Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies, about 125 km downstream from Québec City, in the east (Scott and Crossman 1998). The lake sturgeon is also present in the lower sections of the larger rivers draining into the St. Lawrence River west of the salt water (e.g. L’Assomption, Richelieu, Saint-François, Saint-Maurice, Batiscan, Chaudière rivers). Atlantic and lake sturgeon co-occur in the upper part of the St. Lawrence River, from Lake Saint-Pierre to the limits of fresh water.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le esturgeon jaune au Canada – Mise à jour

Répartition

Aire de répartition mondiale

L’aire de répartition historique de l’esturgeon jaune en Amérique du Nord s’étendait depuis l’ouest de l’Alberta jusqu’au bassin hydrographique du Saint-Laurent au Québec, et depuis le bassin hydrographique du sud de la baie d’Hudson jusqu’au bassin du bas Mississippi dans le nord du Mississippi et en Alabama (figures 10 et 11). Peu d’espèces de poissons d’eau douce avaient une distribution géographique aussi étendue en Amérique du Nord. Aujourd’hui, on présume que la répartition et l’abondance de l’espèce ont diminué dans la plupart des parties de son aire de répartition historique aux États-Unis.


Figure 10 : Distribution historique de l’esturgeon jaune en Amérique du Nord

Figure 10 : Distribution historique de l’esturgeon jaune en Amérique du Nord.

Le bassin de la baie d’Hudson est délimité. Les États américains sont colorés en fonction de leur statut selon NatureServe.


Figure 11 : Distribution historique de l’esturgeon jaune en Ontario indiquant les principaux systèmes riverains du nord de la province

Figure 11 : Distribution historique de l’esturgeon jaune en Ontario indiquant les principaux systèmes riverains du nord de la province.

Adapté de Ferguson et Duckworth [1997]).


Aire de répartition canadienne

L’aire de répartition canadienne de l’esturgeon jaune englobe des rivières se jetant dans la baie d’Hudson et les Grands Lacs, ainsi que des lacs et des rivières de l’intérieur des terres en Alberta, en Saskatchewan, au Manitoba, en Ontario et au Québec (figures 7 à 12). La portion nord de l’aire de répartition canadienne s’étend (au moins) de la rivière Churchill, du côté ouest de la baie d’Hudson, au nord‑ouest, jusqu’à la Grande Rivière, du côté est de la baie d’Hudson, au nord-est (Harkness et Dymond, 1961; Scott et Crossman, 1998). Gruchy et Parker (1978), Scott et Crossman (1998), ainsi que Stewart et Watkinson (2004) ont établi, d’après les données de Harkness et Dymond (1961), que la rivière Seal constituait la limite nord de la répartition de l’espèce du côté ouest de la baie d’Hudson. Cependant, Harkness et Dymond (1961) ne fournissent aucune occurrence d’enregistrements dans la rivière Seal, et une incertitude persiste quant à l’existence de l’espèce au nord de la rivière Churchill. Ni le Musée royal de l’Ontario ni le Musée canadien de la nature ne détiennent de spécimen d’esturgeon jaune provenant de la rivière Seal (B. Franzin, Division des sciences de l’environnement, ministère des Pêches et des Océans, Institut des eaux douces, Winnipeg, Manitoba, comm. pers.; D. MacDonell, North/South Consultants, Winnipeg, Manitoba, comm. pers.).

La partie sud de l’aire de répartition canadienne s’étend depuis la rivière Saskatchewan-Sud dans l’ouest de l’Alberta (McLeod et al., 1999) jusqu’au fleuve Saint-Laurent à Saint-Roch-des-Aulnaies, environ 125 km en aval de la ville de Québec (Scott et Crossman, 1998). L’esturgeon jaune est également présent dans le cours inférieur des grandes rivières se jetant dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent, à l’ouest de la limite des eaux salées (p. ex. rivières L’Assomption, Richelieu, Saint-François, Saint-Maurice, Batiscan et Chaudière). L’esturgeon jaune et l’esturgeon noir cohabitent dans le cours supérieur du fleuve Saint-Laurent, entre le lac Saint-Pierre et la limite des eaux salées.


Figure 12 : Distribution historique de l’esturgeon jaune au Québec indiquant les rivières du nord de la province

Figure 12 : Distribution historique de l’esturgeon jaune au Québec indiquant les rivières du nord de la province (adapté de Ferguson et Duckworth [1997]).

Adapté de Ferguson et Duckworth [1997].