Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Spoon-leaved Moss (Bryoandersonia Illecebra)

Appendix

Jurisdiction responses

1

 

Acknowledgement of Receipt of the

Draft National Recovery Strategy for the Spoon-leaved Moss

(December 2005)

by the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources

on behalf of the Province of Ontario

This draft National Recovery Strategy for the Spoon-leaved Moss has been prepared in cooperation with the members of the Spoon-leaved Moss Recovery Team, Canadian Wildlife Service (CWS) and the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources (OMNR). It represents advice to the OMNR on the recovery goals, approaches and objectives that are recommended to protect and recover the species. It does not necessarily represent the views of all individual members of the recovery team, or the official positions of the organizations with which the individual committee members are associated. The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new findings and revised objectives. Implementation of the plan is subject to appropriations, priorities, and budgetary constraints of the participating jurisdictions and organizations.

Received by:

- original signed by Cameron Mack

Cameron Mack

Director, Fish and Wildlife Branch
Natural Resource Management Division
Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources
On behalf of the Province of Ontario

Date:  February 20, 2006

Species at risk – act today so they have tomorrow


Declaration from Environment Canada

This proposed recovery strategy for the Spoon-leaved Moss has been adopted from the Province of Ontario by Environment Canada, as authorized under Section 44 of the Species at Risk Act. Environment Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the Spoon-leaved Moss as required by the Species at Risk Act.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Environment Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of the Environment invites all Canadians to join Environment Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the Spoon-leaved Moss and Canadian society as a whole. Environment Canada will endeavour to support implementation of this strategy, given available resourcesand varying species at risk conservation priorities. The Minister will report on progress within five years.

This strategy will be complemented by one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation of the species. The Minister will take steps to ensure that, to the extent possible, Canadians directly affected by these measures will be consulted.

 

STRATEGIC ENVIRONMENTAL ASSESSMENT

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals.  The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making. 

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats. The results of the SEA are incorporated directly in the strategy itself, but are also summarized below.

This Recovery Strategy will clearly benefit the environment by promoting the recovery of the Spoon-leaved Moss.  The potential for the Strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered.  The SEA concluded that this Strategy will clearly benefit the environment and will not entail any significant adverse effects.  Refer to the following sections of the document in particular: Description of the species’ needs – ecological role, biological needs, and limiting factors; Effects on other species; and Recommended approach for recovery.

 

RESIDENCE 

SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or

hibernating[SARA S2(1)].

Residencedescriptions , or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry: http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_e.cfm

Page 11

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

L’andersonie charmante (Bryoandersonia illecebra)

Annexe

Réponses de la compétence

1

 

Accusé de réception de la version provisoire du programme

national de rétablissement de l’andersonie charmante

(décembre 2005)

par le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario

au nom de la province de l’Ontario

 

La présente version provisoire du programme national de rétablissement de l’andersonie charmante a été préparée en collaboration avec les membres de l’équipe de rétablissement de l’andersonie charmante, le Service canadien de la faune (SCF) et le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario (MRNO). Elle contient des conseils présentés au MNRO concernant les buts, les approches et les objectifs en matière de rétablissement qui sont recommandés pour la protection et le rétablissement de l’espèce. Elle ne représente pas nécessairement les opinions personnelles de tous les membres de l’équipe de rétablissement, ni les positions officielles des organismes auxquels sont associés les membres individuels du comité. Les buts, les objectifs et les approches en matière de rétablissement énoncés dans le programme sont fondés sur les meilleures connaissances existantes et peuvent être modifiés à la lumière de nouvelles découvertes ou en raison de la modification d’objectifs. La mise en œuvre du plan est soumise aux autorisations, aux priorités et aux contraintes budgétaires des compétences et des organismes participants.

Document reçu par :

- copie originale signée par Cameron Mack

Cameron Mack

Directeur, Direction de la pêche et de la faune
Division de la gestion des richesses naturelles
Ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario
Au nom de la province de l’Ontario

Date : Le 20 février 2006

 

Espèces en péril – Agir aujourd’hui pour qu’elles vivent demain

Déclaration d’Environnement Canada

Le présent programme de rétablissement de l’andersonie charmante proposé a été adopté de la Province de l’Ontario par Environnement Canada, tel qu’autorisé en vertu de l’article 44 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Environnement Canada a examiné le document et l’accepte comme son programme de rétablissement de l’andersonie charmante tel que l’exige la Loi sur les espèces en péril.

Réussir à rétablir l’espèce dépendra de l’engagement et de la collaboration d’un grand nombre de parties concernées qui participeront à la mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer sur Environnement Canada ou sur toute autre compétence seulement. Dans l’esprit de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre de l’Environnement invite toutes les Canadiennes et tous les Canadiens à se joindre à Environnement Canada pour appuyer le programme et le mettre en œuvre, pour le bien de l’andersonie charmante et de l’ensemble de la société canadienne. Environnement Canada s’appliquera à appuyer la mise en œuvre du programme, compte tenu des ressources disponibles et des diverses priorités à l’égard de la conservation des espèces en péril. Le ministre rendra compte des progrès réalisés d’ici cinq ans.

Un ou plusieurs plans d’action détaillant les mesures de rétablissement particulières à prendre pour appuyer la conservation de l’espèce viendront s’ajouter au présent programme. Le ministre mettra en œuvre des moyens pour s’assurer, dans la mesure du possible, que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens directement touchés par ces mesures seront consultés.

 

ÉVALUATION ENVIRONNEMENTALE STRATÉGIQUE

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est effectuée dans le cadre de tous les documents de planification du rétablissement en vertu de la LEP conformément à laDirective du Cabinet de 1999 sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. L’objet de l’EES est d’incorporer les considérations environnementales à l’élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairées du point de vue de l’environnement.

La planification du rétablissement vise à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant reconnu que des stratégies peuvent, par inadvertance, produire des effets environnementaux qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des incidences possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés. Les résultats de l’EES sont directement inclus dans le programme lui-même, mais également résumés ci-dessous.

Le présentprogramme de rétablissement favorisera clairement l’environnement en encourageant le rétablissement de l’andersonie charmante. La possibilité que le programme produise par inadvertance des effets négatifs sur d’autres espèces a été envisagée. L’EES a permis de conclure que le présentprogramme sera clairement favorable à l’environnement et n’entraînera pas d’effets négatifs significatifs. Consultez plus particulièrement les sections suivantes du document : Description des besoins de l'espèce – Rôle écologique, besoins biologique et facteurs limitatifs, Effets sur d'autres espèces, et Méthode recommandée en vue du rétablissement.

 

RÉSIDENCE 

La LEP définit la résidence comme suit : « Gîte -- terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable -- occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage, l’alimentation ou l’hibernation » [LEP, paragr. 2(1)].

Les descriptions de la résidence ou les raisons pour lesquelles le concept de résidence ne s'applique pas à une espèce donnée sont publiées dans le Registre public de la LEP : http://www.registrelep.gc.ca/plans/residence_f.cfm.