Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Bog Bird’s-foot Trefoil in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Bog Bird’s-foot Trefoil
Lotus pinnatus

Species Information

Lotus pinnatus (bog bird’s-foot trefoil) is a low-growing, multi-stemmed perennial herb with compound, pinnate leaves. The pea-like, yellow and cream-coloured flowers are borne at the end of a long stalk arising from the angle between the stem and leaf stalk. It is distinguished from other Lotus species by its perennial habit, papery stipules and yellow and white flowers. The umbel stalks are bractless or with a single membranous bract.

Distribution

Lotus pinnatus is restricted to the west coast of North America and ranges from southeastern Vancouver Island, west of the Cascade Mountains and along the Columbia River Gorge from northwestern Washington to central California. This species also occurs sporadically eastward to Idaho.

Habitat

British Columbia populations of Lotus pinnatus occur in moist open meadows along the margins of creeks, in wet ditches or in seepages, where underground water comes to the surface. In all cases, the soils are shallow (< 15 cm), over gently sloping sandstone or conglomerate bedrock with abundant moisture during the growing and blooming period. The most commonly associated species include Mimulus guttatus,Triteleia hyacinthina, Plectritis congestus, Plagiobothrys scouleri, Veronica beccabunga ssp. americana and Montia parvifolia.

Biology

Lotus pinnatus is a perennial plant that sends up several shoots each spring. The flowers emerge in June and mature by early July, before summer moisture deficits reduce the plant’s productivity.  Capsules begin to dehisce by mid-July, dispersing mature seed until August. Flowers likely require cross-pollination to set viable seed, though pollinators have not yet been identified. The seeds have a hard seed coat that may delay the germination of some seed for several months or years.

Population Sizes and Trends

There are seven known populations of Lotus pinnatus in Canada. Historic populations at two other sites could not be relocated and are likely extirpated. The total number of plants in Canada is between 1500 and 2000.

Limiting Factors and Threats

The viability of Lotus pinnatus in Canada is a concern due to the small number of known populations, habitat specificity, isolation from Washington populations, limited seed dispersal and the lack of protection on private land. Alterations to hydrology and erosion arising from intensive recreational use of primary habitat by off-road vehicles and invasive species are the main concerns for British Columbia populations.

Special Significance of the Species

The populations of L. pinnatus in British Columbia are at the northern extent of the geographic range of the species. Isolated peripheral populations are often genetically and morphologically divergent from central populations. The ability of a species to adapt to changing ecological conditions and therefore, its long-term survival, may rest on the conservation of these potentially genetically distinct peripheral populations (Lesica and Allendorf 1995).

Existing Protection or Other Status Designations

Provincially, Lotus pinnatus is red-listed (critically imperiled because of extreme rarity) as designated by the British Columbia Conservation Data Centre. Four occurrences for Lotus pinnatus are located on land that is privately owned; one site is protected within Ecological Reserve #142.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Lotier à feuilles pennées au Canada

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Lotier à feuilles pennées
Lotus pinnatus

Information sur l’espèce

Le Lotus pinnatus (lotier à feuilles pennées) est une plante herbacée vivace basse et multicaule à feuilles composées-pennées. Les fleurs, semblables à des fleurs de pois et de couleur jaune et crème, sont réunies en ombelles à l’extrémité de longs pédoncules axillaires. Le L. pinnatus se distingue des autres espèces de Lotus par son cycle vivace, ses stipules papyracées, ses fleurs jaune et crème ainsi que ses pédoncules floraux dépourvus de bractée ou munis d’une seule bractée, qui est membraneuse.

Répartition

Le Lotus pinnatus est endémique de la côte ouest de l’Amérique du Nord, où il se rencontre dans le sud-est de l’île de Vancouver ainsi qu’à l’ouest des monts Cascades et le long de la gorge du Columbia, depuis le nord-ouest du Washington jusqu’au centre de la Californie. L’espèce est également présente plus à l’est, de façon sporadique, jusqu’en Idaho.

Habitat

Les populations de Lotus pinnatus de Colombie-Britannique poussent dans des prés humides dégagés, au bord de ruisseaux, dans des fossés humides ou dans des terrains suintants; dans ces milieux, les eaux souterraines affleurent, le sol est mince (< 15 cm) et recouvre un substratum de grès ou de conglomérat légèrement incliné, et la plante bénéficie d’une humidité abondante pendant toute la période de croissance et de floraison. Les plantes les plus souvent associées au L. pinnatus sont le Mimulus guttatus,le Triteleia hyacinthina, le Plectritis congestus, le Plagiobothrys scouleri, le Veronica beccabunga ssp. americana et le Montia parvifolia.

Biologie

Le Lotus pinnatus est une plante vivace qui produit plusieurs pousses chaque printemps. Les fleurs apparaissent en juin et s’ouvrent vers le début juillet, avant que le déficit hydrique estival ne réduise la productivité de la plante. Les capsules commencent à s’ouvrir vers la mi-juillet et libèrent des graines mûres jusqu’en août. La pollinisation croisée est normalement nécessaire à la production de graines viables, mais on n’a pas encore identifié les insectes pollinisateurs. Les graines ont un tégument dur qui dans certains cas peut retarder la germination pendant plusieurs mois ou plusieurs années.

Taille et tendances des populations

Au Canada, le Lotus pinnatus compte 7 populations connues. Les populations autrefois signalées dans deux autres localités n’ont pas été retrouvées et ont probablement disparu. Le nombre total d’individus poussant au Canada se situe entre 1 500 et 2 000.

Facteurs limitatifs et menaces

On craint pour la viabilité du Lotus pinnatus au Canada, à cause du petit nombre des populations canadiennes connues, de l’isolement de ces populations par rapport à celles du Washington, des exigences de l’espèce en matière d’habitat, de sa capacité limitée de dissémination et de l’absence de protection sur les terrains privés. Les principaux facteurs qui menacent les populations de Colombie-Britannique sont la modification du régime hydrologique et l’érosion, dues à l’utilisation intensive de véhicules tout-terrain à des fins récréatives dans l’habitat principal, ainsi que la présence d’espèces envahissantes.

Importance de l’espèce

Les populations de Lotus pinnatus de Colombie-Britannique sont situées à la limite nord de la répartition mondiale de l’espèce. Or, on sait que les populations périphériques isolées sont souvent génétiquement et morphologiquement distinctes des populations centrales de l’espèce. Il est donc peut-être essentiel que ces populations périphériques soient conservées pour que l’espèce puisse s’adapter aux changements écologiques et donc survivre à long terme.

Protection actuelle ou autres désignations

À l’échelle de la Colombie-Britannique, le Lotus pinnatus figure sur la Liste rouge, étant très fortement menacé en raison de son extrême rareté, selon la cote attribuée par le Centre de données sur la conservation de cette province. Quatre sites du Lotus pinnatus sont situés sur des terrains privés. Un site est protégé par le fait qu’il se trouve à l’intérieur de la réserve écologique no 142.