Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Bog Bird’s-foot Trefoil in Canada

COSEWIC Status Report
on the
Bog Bird’s-foot Trefoil
Lotus pinnatus
in Canada
2004

Species Information

Name and Classification

Scientific name:
Lotus pinnatus Hooker
Synonyms:
(from Hitchcock et al. 1961; Scoggan, 1978)
Hosackia bicolor Douglas ex Benth.
Hosackia pinnata (Hook.) Abrams
Lotus bicolor(Douglas ex Benth.) Frye & Rigg
Common names:
bog bird’s-foot trefoil, bog deer-vetch, meadow deer-vetch,meadow bird's-foot trefoil
Family:
Fabaceae; Legume family
Major plant group: 
Angiospermae


During classical times, the Greek word ‘lotos’ was applied to four different plants, including Nymphaea lotus L., the sacred water lily used by the Egyptians as a food source (Kirkbride 1999). In Homer’s Odyssey, the hero Ulysses almost lost his crew when they became intoxicated by the honey-sweet fruit of Zizyphus lotus L. in the land of the Lotus-Eaters. Camarario (1588) was the first to apply the Latin name ‘lotus’ to a trefoil in his “Hortus Medicus”.

Considerable disagreement has existed among systematists about whether North American species of Lotus should be included in the genus Lotus or kept distinct in a separate genus Hosackia. As a result, specimens of North American species have been classified under both genera and may be found under either of these names in many herbaria (Zandstra and Grant 1968).

Lotus pinnatus was first described by Hooker in 1829. Later that same year, with a wealth of new material collected by David Douglas from western North America, Bentham re-described the species as Hosackia bicolor Dougl. In Bentham’s view, L. pinnatus had the habit, inflorescence and fruit of Lotus, but the position of the wings, capitate stigma, foliaceous stipules and pinnate, not ternate, leaves were sufficiently distinct to justify the placement of several North American species, formerly referred to Lotus, in Hosackia. Bentham established a new section, Microlotus Benth - for the New World species of Lotus with single-flowered inflorescences and 3- to 5-foliate leaves without stipules (Bentham 1929).

Subsequently, Torrey and Gray (1838), Gray (1863) and Watson (1876) placed all North American species in Hosackia, though each treatment varied as to the number of sections and the taxonomic position of certain species. Greene (1890) supported the broad and inclusive Linnaean concept of Lotus and transferred all the New World species back to Lotus.  Taubert (1894) and Brand (1898) emphasized different vegetative and floral characteristics in distinguishing Lotus from Hosackia, but both placed all North American species in Hosackia. With the exception of Abrams (1944) who maintained the Pacific northwest species in Hosackia, all subsequent floristic treatments (Pojar, 1999; Polhill, 1981, 1994; Isely, 1981; Hitchock et al. 1961, Callen 1959; Ottley 1923, 1944, 1951) have maintained the North American species in Lotus, sensu lato of Linnaeus, as there were no definitive characters to distinguish them generically from the European species of Lotus.


Description

Bog bird’s-foot trefoil is a low-growing, perennial herb from a thick taproot and short rhizome with many erect to spreading stems, from 15-60 cm long (Figure 1, Pojar 1999). Ottley (1923) and Hitchcock et al. (1961) also provide a detailed description of L. pinnatus with illustrations. The lower stems are often spongy-thickened and whitish. The leaves are 4-8 cm long, alternate, stalked and pinnately compound with 5-9 elliptic, oblong or narrowly egg-shaped leaflets, each 1-2.5 cm long. The stipules are membranous, obovate and 3-10 mm long (Pojar 1999).


Figure 1: Illustration of Lotus pinnatus

Figure 1: Illustration of Lotus pinnatus.

Line drawing in Hitchcock et al. 1961 and Douglas et al. 1999.1

The inflorescence is a compact, stalked, axillary umbel of 3 to 12 pea-like flowers. The umbel stalks are bractless or with a single membranous bract. The corollas are from 10-15 mm long with a yellow banner and keel and creamy-white wings. The keel petals are fused along one edge that is elongated into a well-defined beak towards the outside of the inflorescence. The ten stamens are diadelphous with 9 stamens fused into a tube enclosing the ovary and a single free stamen opposite the banner petal. Five stamens, including the free one opposite the banner petal, have slender filaments and their anther is dorsofixed, that is, attached to the filament on the back near the base. They are shorter than, and alternate with, the other five stamens belonging to the fused group. The filament of the longer stamens is dilated below the anther, which is basifixed (attached to the filament at the base). The anther and dilated region of the five longer filaments are enclosed within the beak of the keel petals. Prior to anthesis, pollen is released into the beak of the keel petals (Kirkbride 1999).

The calyx is tubular and 4-8 mm long with triangular-lanceolate teeth that are all much shorter than the tube. The upper two calyx lobes are joined most of their length and are merely notched between them. The lower calyx lobes are awl-shaped. The linear seed pods range from 3-6 cm in length and 1.5-2 mm wide and contain 5-20 glabrous seeds (Pojar 1999). The seeds are cylindrical, glossy, dark brown to black, mottled with olive and about 1.5 mm long. For a technical description of the seed, see Arambarri (1999).

In the field, there are several species that superficially resemble L. pinnatusVicia species are often present in similar habitats, but the leaves are smaller in size than those of L. pinnatus and the terminal leaflet in Vicia spp. (vetches) is represented by a tendril. Lotus formosissimus (seaside bird’s-foot trefoil) looks very similar to L. pinnatus except the wing petals of L. formissimus are pinkish-purple, while those of L. pinnatus are cream-colored. Though a trifoliate bract usually subtends the flowers of L. formosissimus, bracts were sometimes absent in field specimens or only a unifoliate bract was present (Ryan and Douglas 1994). Although L. pinnatus and L. formosissimus could be confused if the plants are immature or not in flower, the two species do not overlap in their distribution in British Columbia. Listed as Endangered by COSEWIC, Lotus formosissimus is known only from the Victoria area and nearby islands where it occurs in various xeric habitats, ranging from open exposed grass-dominated meadows to exposed steep rocky sites with Quercus garryana (Garry oak) (Ryan and Douglas, 1994). Lotus pinnatus is found only in the Nanaimo area on Vancouver Island, where it occurs in moist soil on exposed, coastal lowland areas. Lotus corniculatus (bird's-foot trefoil) occasionally grows in wet places, is an introduced species and is usually found in drier, disturbed sites. Also, L. corniculatus has completely yellow flowers and its leaflets are smaller and more blunt than the other trefoils (Guard 1995).




Footnotes

1 This illustration has been reproduced with permission from University of Washington Press.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Lotier à feuilles pennées au Canada

Rapport de situation du COSEPAC
sur le
lotier à feuilles pennées
Lotus pinnatus
au Canada
2004

Information sur l'espèce

Nom et classification

Nom scientifique :
Lotus pinnatus Hooker
Synonymes :
(d’après Hitchcock et al., 1961, et Scoggan, 1978)
Hosackia bicolor Douglas ex Benth.
Hosackia pinnata (Hook.) Abrams
Lotus bicolor (Douglas ex Benth.) Frye & Rigg
Nom français :
lotier à feuilles pennées
Nom anglais :
bog bird’s-foot trefoil, bog deer-vetch, meadow deer-vetch, meadow bird's-foot trefoil
Famille :
Fabacées (Légumineuses)
Grand groupe végétal :
Dicotylédones


En grec ancien, le mot lotos désignait quatre plantes différentes, dont le Nymphaea lotus L., ou lotus blanc d’Égypte, plante sacrée que les Égyptiens employaient comme source de nourriture (Kirkbride, 1999). Selon l’Odyssée d’Homère, le héros Ulysse faillit perdre son équipage au pays des Lotophages, quand ses hommes furent drogués par le fruit à saveur miellée du Zizyphus lotus L., ou lotus des anciens. Camarario (1588) a été le premier, dans son Hortus Medicus, à appliquer le mot latin lotus à un lotier.

Les avis des taxinomistes sont très partagés quant à l’opportunité de classer les espèces nord-américaines de Lotus dans un genre distinct, le genre Hosackia. Par conséquent, les spécimens de ces espèces peuvent être classés sous Lotus ou sous Hosackia, et on les retrouve sous l’un et l’autre nom dans de nombreux herbiers (Zandstra et Grant, 1968).

Le Lotus pinnatus a été décrit pour la première fois par Hooker, en 1829. La même année, Bentham a eu accès à une grande quantité de nouveau matériel récolté par David Douglas dans l’ouest de l’Amérique du Nord et a décrit à nouveau l’espèce, sous le nom Hosackia bicolor. Bentham estimait que le L. pinnatus possède le port, l’inflorescence et le fruit d’un Lotus mais que la position particulière des ailes, le stigmate capité, les stipules foliacées et les feuilles pennées plutôt que trifoliolées sont des caractères suffisamment distinctifs pour justifier le transfert au genre Hosackia de plusieurs espèces nord-américaines auparavant classées dans le genre Lotus. Bentham (1829) a créé la section Microlotus pour les Lotus nord-américains à inflorescences uniflores et à feuilles munies de 3 ou 5 folioles et dépourvues de stipules.

Par la suite, Torrey et Gray (1838), Gray (1863) ainsi que Watson (1876) ont placé l’ensemble des espèces nord-américaines dans le genre Hosackia, mais ils avaient des opinions diverses quant au nombre de sections que devait comporter ce genre et à la position taxinomique de certaines espèces. Greene (1890) préféra conserver au genre Lotus le sens large que lui avait donné Linné et y replaça donc toutes les espèces d’Amérique. Taubert (1894) et Brand (1898) s’appuyèrent sur des caractères végétatifs et floraux différents pour distinguer les genres Lotus et Hosackia, mais l’un et l’autre placèrent toutes les espèces nord-américaines dans le genre Hosackia. Par la suite, Abrams (1944) fut le seul à maintenir les espèces du nord-ouest de l’Amérique du Nord dans le genre Hosackia. Dans toutes les autres synthèses floristiques (Pojar, 1999; Polhill, 1981 et 1994; Isely, 1981; Hitchcock et al. 1961; Callen, 1959; Ottley, 1923, 1944 et 1951), les auteurs ont préféré placer les espèces nord-américaines dans le genre Lotus, au sens large de Linné, car ils ne trouvaient aucun caractère sûr pour leur reconnaître un genre distinct par rapport aux espèces européennes.


Description

Le Lotus pinnatus est une plante herbacée vivace basse à racine pivotante épaisse et à rhizome court produisant de nombreuses tiges dressées à étalées, longues de 15 à 60 cm (figure 1; Pojar, 1999). Ottley (1923) ainsi que Hitchcock et al. (1961) fournissent également une description détaillée de l’espèce, avec illustrations. Le bas des tiges est souvent épaissi par des tissus spongieux blanchâtres. Les feuilles sont alternes, pétiolées, longues de 4 à 8 cm, composées-pennées. Les folioles, au nombre de 5 à 9, sont elliptiques, oblongues ou étroitement ovées et mesurent chacune 1 à 2,5 cm de longueur. Les stipules sont membraneuses, obovées, longues de 3 à 10 mm (Pojar, 1999).


Figure 1 : Morphologie du Lotus pinnatus

Figure 1 : Morphologie du Lotus pinnatus.

Dessin tiré de Hitchcock et al. (1961) ainsi que Douglas et al. (1999).1

L’inflorescence est une ombelle compacte, pédonculée et axillaire réunissant 3 à 12 fleurs semblables à des fleurs de pois. Les rayons de l’ombelle sont dépourvus de bractées ou portent une seule bractée, membraneuse. La corolle de chaque fleur mesure 10 à 15 mm de longueur; l’étendard et la carène sont jaunes, tandis que les ailes sont blanc crème. Les pétales formant la carène sont soudés sur un de leurs bords, et cette suture se prolonge en un bec bien marqué qui pointe vers l’extérieur de l’inflorescence. Les étamines, au nombre de 10, sont diadelphes : 9 d’entre elles sont soudées en un tube entourant l’ovaire, tandis que la dixième est libre et opposée à l’étendard. Cinq des étamines, dont celle qui est libre, sont relativement courtes et possèdent un filet mince et une anthère dorsifixe (fixée au filet par sa partie dorsale, près de la base). Les cinq autres étamines, qui alternent avec les précédentes et appartiennent toutes au groupe des neuf étamines soudées, sont plus longues, ont un filet dilaté au sommet et une anthère basifixe (fixée au filet par sa base). Les anthères de ces cinq étamines ainsi que la partie dilatée de leurs filets sont enveloppées par le bec de la carène. Le pollen est libéré dans ce bec avant l’anthèse (Kirkbride, 1999).

Le calice est tubuleux, long de 4 à 8 mm et terminé par des dents triangulaires-lancéolées, toutes beaucoup plus courtes que le tube. Les deux lobes supérieurs du calice sont soudés sur la plus grande partie de leur longueur et ne sont séparés que par une échancrure. Les lobes inférieurs du calice sont subulés. La gousse, de forme linéaire, mesure 3 à 6 cm de longueur et 1,5 à 2 mm de largeur et renferme 5 à 20 graines (Pojar, 1999). Les graines sont cylindriques, glabres, luisantes, brun foncé à noires, marbrées d’olive et longues d’environ 1,5 mm. On trouvera une description technique des graines dans Arambarri (1999).

Sur le terrain, plusieurs espèces ressemblent superficiellement au Lotus pinnatus. Certaines vesces (genre Vicia) poussent souvent dans des milieux semblables, mais leurs feuilles sont plus petites que celles du L. pinnatus. De plus, chez les vesces, la foliole terminale des feuilles est remplacée par une vrille. Le Lotus formosissimus (lotier élégant) ressemble beaucoup au L. pinnatus, sauf que les ailes de la corolle sont violet rosâtre chez le L. formosissimus, alors qu’elles sont crème chez le L. pinnatus. Normalement, chez le L. formosissimus, une bractée trifoliolée sous-tend chacune des fleurs; cependant, on rencontre sur le terrain des individus chez lesquels cette bractée est absente ou réduite à une seule foliole (Ryan et Douglas, 1994). En théorie, les individus immatures ou sans fleurs du L. pinnatus et du L. formosissimus pourraient être confondus, mais les aires de ces espèces ne se chevauchent pas en Colombie-Britannique. Le L. formosissimus, considéré comme espèce en voie de disparition par le COSEPAC, n’a été signalé que dans la région de Victoria et dans les îles voisines, où il pousse dans divers milieux xériques allant de prés exposés dominés par des graminées à des escarpements rocheux exposés où pousse le chêne de Garry (Quercus garryana) (Ryan et Douglas, 1994). Le L. pinnatus se rencontre uniquement dans la région de Nanaimo, dans l’île de Vancouver, où il pousse en sol humide dans des terrains bas et exposés de la côte. Le lotier corniculé (Lotus corniculatus) pousse aussi à l’occasion dans des milieux humides, mais cette espèce introduite se rencontre normalement dans des terrains perturbés et plutôt secs. De plus, chez le L. corniculatus, les fleurs sont entièrement jaunes, et les folioles sont plus petites et plus obtuses que chez les autres lotiers (Guard, 1995).




Notes de bas de page

1 Illustration reproduite avec la permission de la University of Washington Press.