Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC assessment and status report on the Bog Bird’s-foot Trefoil in Canada

Biology

General

Lotus pinnatus is a monoclinous (having the stamens and pistils in the same flower), perennial plant, flowering from May to July, and withering over the winter months (Hitchcock et al. 1961). Though little information regarding breeding systems and pollination biology is available on Lotus pinnatus specifically, some of the information about the genus in general may apply to this species.

Zandstra and Grant (1968) studied the biosystematics of native and introduced Lotus species in Canada and reported that although many of the Old World species are polyploids, none of the North American species examined exhibited the same trait. North American Lotus species have a base chromosome number of 6 or 7. Of the species native to Canada, L. pinnatus Hook. and L. formosissimus are considered to be the most closely related, based on morphological, habitat, and cytological characteristics. A chemotaxonomic study using thin-layer chromatography further supported the general relationships among Canadian Lotus species with L. formosissimus and L. pinnatus demonstrating the greatest degree of similarity (Grant and Zandstra 1968). These species differed from other native Canadian species in that both were perennial outcrossers with large flowers on long pedunculate umbels. The other three native species were self-fertile annuals with small flowers. Evolution in angiosperm reproduction has frequently occurred with a decrease in basic chromosome number, a shift from an outcrossing (cross-pollinating) to an inbreeding (self-pollinating) reproductive system and a shift from a perennial to an annual habit (Stebbins, 1957). On this basis, Zandstra and Grant (1968) considered L. pinnatus and L. formosissimus to be more primitive than the annual species.

Lotus pinnatus germinates and begins growth in late winter – early spring as a result of increasing daylength and the warm, moist conditions found at this time of the year. Since the surrounding vegetation, especially grasses, are shorter during this period, the herbs also benefit from greater light levels and space to grow. There is no specific information on the effect of photoperiod on L. pinnatus, but L. corniculatus has been reported to require a minimum daylength of 14.0 to 14.5 h for flowering (Joff 1958, McKee 1963). Vegetative growth in L. pinnatus occurs in early spring and each plant sends up 3 to 6 shoots from its taproot, on average. Though the specific timing of events will depend on local habitat conditions and may vary from year to year, flowering in L. pinnatus generally occurs between May and the end of June. The pea-like, bisexual flowers are borne at the end of a long peduncle arising from the leaf axil, and the umbellate inflorescences are produced sequentially throughout the growing season. As the flowers senesce, some become progressively more reddish (Isely 1981). Fruiting begins before summer moisture deficits reduce the plant’s productivity. Each ramet is likely to have flower buds, flowers, and immature fruits in various stages of development, at any time during the growing season. During July, when drought conditions are prevalent, seed maturation and dispersal begins, followed by die-back of the stems to the rootstock, which is located several centimetres below the soil surface. The plants become senescent and remain dormant until the following year.

Young and Young (1986) reported that seeds of many native North Amercian Lotus species are deeply dormant, with multiple forms of complex dormancy, and require pre-treatment to induce germination. Although a hot water treatment may be used to enhance germination, high germination rates are not expected with this technique (Young and Young 1986). Like other members of the Fabaceae, the seeds of L. pinnatus have a hard seed coat and may require cold stratification as germination occurs mainly in the spring. Although the specific germination requirements of L. pinnatus have not been documented in the literature, Hitchcock et al. (1961) indicated that the three perennial species, Lotus pinnatus, L. crassifolius and L. formosissumus, were easily grown from seed. Zandstra and Grant (1968) reported that they grew L. pinnatus from seed to provide live material for their investigations, although the cultivation methods were not described.

Seeds of Lotus pinnatus, collected from Harewood Plains were used in an applied research program initiated in 1996 to determine the utility of native Vancouver Island grasses and legumes in the restoration of disturbed areas. About 80-90% of untreated seed sown in 1998 at a Seed Increase Nursery in Duncan, B.C., and left to over winter in the greenhouse, germinated early the next spring. Approximately 60 emergent seedlings were transplanted to a test plot during moist conditions in April, 1999. As of July 2003, only 10 plants have survived. Although the addition of legumes to seeding mixtures has the potential to improve soils through fixation of nitrogen, continuous flowering and pod shattering in Lotus pinnatus renders mechanical seed harvesting impractical. Lotus pinnatus was eliminated as a realistic reclamation candidate from a large-scale seeding perspective, as the costs currently associated with production exceed fair market value (Vaartnou, pers. comm., 2003).

The tendency of seed pods to shatter is common to all known varieties of L. corniculatus, and is responsible for substantial seed losses in this widely grown forage crop. Though efforts to reduce shattering through recurrent selection have been unsuccessful, attempts to transfer the indehiscent trait from related indehiscent species via interspecific hybridization and by interspecific somatic hybridization, have shown some promise (Grant 1996, 1999).

A review of the literature indicates that no morphological comparisons or DNA studies have been conducted to address the issue of whether L. pinnatus populations in British Columbia are distinct from those in the southern part of its distribution.


Reproduction

Like other perennial species in genus Lotus, Zandstra and Grant (1968) suggested that the flowers of Lotus pinnatus required cross-pollination to set viable seed. MacDonald (1944) showed that twice as many flowers of L. corniculatus were fertilized with pollen from other plants of the same species as with pollen of the same plant. When pollinators were excluded, no fertilized ovules were produced. Though specific pollinators have not yet been reported in the literature for L. pinnatus, honey bees (Apis melifera), bumblebees (Bombus spp.) (Jones et al. 1986) and leaf-cutting bees (Megachile rotundata) have been described as effective pollinators of the related perennial species, L. corniculatus (Beuselinck and McGraw 1988). It is not clear how frequently pollen is exchanged in Lotus pinnatus and over what distances but Morse (1958) reported that 12 to 15 visits per flower were required for maximum seed set in L. corniculatus.

The Lotus flower is constructed so that the anthers of the longer fused stamens are enclosed within the beak of the keel petals. Pollen is released into the beak of the keel petals prior to flowering. Pressure exerted by visiting insects on the keel causes the five dilated staminal filaments to act as a piston, pushing pollen out of the tip onto the ventral surface of the insect’s thorax (Kirkbride 1999). In L. corniculatus, the protrusion of the pistil beyond the stamens places the pistil in closer contact with pollen deposited on the body of visiting insects than with the pollen of its own flower and is believed to be an adaptation to ensure cross-pollination (Morse 1958).

Given the bright yellow appearance of the flower and the wide keel that serves as a suitable landing platform, flowers of L. pinnatus also appear to be adapted to bee pollination. Although the importance of the bumblebee to the flower (and vice versa) is yet to be specifically determined, bumblebees were observed visiting flowers of L. pinnatus at Harewood Plains during field observations made in 2003 (personal observation). Although bees are capable of dispersing pollen over short distances, cross-pollination between most populations in Canada is unlikely in view of the distances involved.

Asexual reproduction has not been studied in L. pinnatus, but shoots of L. corniculatus have been successfully regenerated from callus or suspension cultures derived from leaves, cotyledons, hypocotyls and roots. Excised root segments cultured on a hormone-free medium also gave rise to shoots with high frequency (Morris et al. 1999).


Survival

There is no documentation of the average life span of an individual genet and survivorship curves have not been developed for this species, but L. pinnatus is a perennial species that may survive for several years, under favorable conditions. The species germinates in the late winter or early spring when soil moisture and temperature conditions are most favorable and seedling survival appears to be dependent on continuous surface moisture. Established populations of L. pinnatus, at most sites, consist of both perennial plants and first year seedlings (personal observation 2003).

Field observations at all sites during in 2003 did not reveal any significant cases of adult mortality from natural causes; however, a patch of plants in a small wetland area at Harewood Plains had been crushed by off-road vehicles entering the wetland and in some areas the soil has been rutted down to the bedrock. This particular wetland is heavily used by off-road vehicles and anecdotal reports suggest that the population of L. pinnatus has declined from about 500 individuals observed in previous years to only 40 plants observed in 2003 (Thurkill pers. comm., 2003).


Movements/Dispersal

The fruits (pods) of L. pinnatus are linear legumes, 3–6 cm in length, derived from a superior ovary, which holds a single carpel. Development of the pod is accompanied by progressive changes in color from a waxy dark green to deep brown (Isely, 1981). In L. corniculatus, the pods mature in approximately three weeks. At maturity, the two valves of the pod twist spirally in a quick snapping motion and the seed is ejected when the pod dehisces along the ventral and dorsal sutures of the carpel margins (Grant 1996).

The glabrous, dark brown seeds in L. pinnatus are oval to spherical and number approximately 332 per gram (Piggott, pers. comm., 2003). In an examination of ten pods, the average number of seeds per pod was ten (personal observation 2003).

The seeds lack any strong adaptations for long-distance dispersal by wind or animal vectors. Most seeds are gravity-dispersed and generally land in the immediate vicinity of the parent plant. The plant’s habitat along stream channels may permit the legumes and seeds to be transferred by water during times of seasonal flooding. However, germination and seedling survival appear to depend upon continuous surface moisture and the species does not appear to be a strong competitor with native shrub species or with invasive exotic plants. The chances of a healthy population returning to Canada if local populations become extirpated are highly unlikely. The nearest population in Washington State, from which collections were made in 1940, is 240 km away in Bremerton. Whether this population is extant is unknown.


Nutrition and Interspecific Interactions

Like many other legumes, L. pinnatus appears to be associated with nitrogen-fixing Rhizobium bacteria that occupy root nodules and provide the plants with a source of reduced nitrogen in exchange for a supply of carbon and other nutrients. Specific strains of Rhizobium bacteria are required for effective nodulation of Lotus species grown as forage crops, such as L. corniculatus and L. tenuis. To maximize establishment in areas that have never produced Lotus, inoculation of seeds with the appropriate rhizobia is necessary (Blumenthal and McGraw 1999).

An examination of root nodules collected from L. pinnatus at Harewood Plains indicated the presence of bacteria, most likely of genus Rhizobium (Berch pers. comm., 2003).

Cyanogenic glucosides are chemical compounds that are widely distributed in legumes. These compounds release hydrogen cyanide (HCN) if the leaf tissues are damaged and are presumed to be a deterrent against herbivory, though many animals possess the ability to detoxify cyanide (Vetter 2000). Though cyanogenic glucosides are commonly found in Old World Lotusspecies, Grant and Sidhu (1967) found the reverse to be true for North American species. Of the fifteen Lotus pinnatus plants that were tested for the presence of hydrogen cyanide, all were negative.


Behaviour/Adaptability

At Harewood Plains, small plants have been observed growing in the moisture retained in tire ruts, suggesting that this species can tolerate some disturbance, provided subsurface drainage and other critical factors are not altered. However, the thin soils where L. pinnatus grows take a long time to form and are highly sensitive to disturbance. All-terrain vehicle use is inappropriate in these habitats as they damage fragile soils and vegetation (McPhee et al. 2000). As Lotus pinnatus does not appear to be a strong competitor, ecological succession following disturbance and invasion by non-native species has the potential to alter the structure and composition of habitats occupied by Lotus pinnatus, possibly preventing their re-establishment.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur le Lotier à feuilles pennées au Canada

Biologie

Généralités

Le Lotus pinnatus est une plante vivace qui produit des fleurs hermaphrodites (possédant à la fois un pistil et des étamines) de mai à juillet et dont les tiges flétrissent durant l’hiver (Hitchcock et al., 1961). On dispose de peu d’information sur la biologie de reproduction et de pollinisation du L. pinnatus en particulier, mais une partie de l’information concernant l’ensemble du genre Lotus devrait s’appliquer à cette espèce.

Zandstra et Grant (1968) ont étudié la biosystématique des espèces indigènes et introduites de Lotus poussant au Canada. Ces auteurs ont constaté qu’aucune des espèces indigènes qu’ils ont étudiées n’est polyploïde, alors que bon nombre des espèces introduites d’Eurasie le sont. Chez les espèces nord-américaines de Lotus, le nombre chromosomique de base est 6 ou 7. Parmi les espèces indigènes du Canada, le L. pinnatus et le L. formosissimus sont celles qui semblent présenter le plus de parenté, si on en juge d’après leurs caractères morphologiques, écologiques et cytologiques. Une étude chimiotaxinomique réalisée par chromatographie en couche mince a confirmé de manière générale les relations existant entre les espèces canadiennes, le L. formosissimus et le L. pinnatus ayant montré le degré le plus élevé de similarité (Grant et Zandstra, 1968). Ces espèces se distinguent des autres espèces canadiennes par le fait qu’elles sont toutes deux des plantes vivaces allogames dont les fleurs sont grandes et réunies en ombelles longuement pédonculées. Les trois autres espèces indigènes sont des annuelles autogames à petites fleurs. De manière générale, l’évolution des Angiospermes a conduit à une réduction de leur nombre chromosomique de base, au remplacement de leur système reproducteur allogame (à pollinisation croisée) par un système autogame (à autopollinisation) et à l’abrègement de leur cycle de vie pluriannuel en un cycle annuel (Stebbins, 1957). C’est pourquoi Zandstra et Grant (1968) estiment que le L. pinnatus et le L. formosissimus sont plus primitifs que les espèces annuelles du genre Lotus.

Chez le Lotus pinnatus, la germination des graines et le début de la croissance surviennent à la fin de l’hiver ou au début du printemps, étant déclenchés par l’allongement des jours et l’arrivée du temps chaud et humide. De plus, comme la végétation environnante (dominée par les graminées) est encore plutôt basse durant cette période, les plantes ont accès à plus de lumière et d’espace pour croître. On ne connaît pas l’effet de la photopériode sur le L. pinnatus en particulier, mais Joff (1958) ainsi que McKee (1963) ont constaté que le L. corniculatus a besoin d’au moins 14,0 à 14,5 heures de lumière pour fleurir. Chez le L. pinnatus, la croissance végétative a lieu au début du printemps, et chaque rhizome produit en moyenne 3 à 6 tiges. La date exacte de chaque stade de développement dépend des conditions locales du milieu et peut varier d’une année à l’autre, mais la plante fleurit généralement entre mai et la fin juin. Les fleurs sont hermaphrodites et ont un aspect semblable à celles du pois. Le long pédoncule de chaque ombelle prend naissance à l’aisselle d’une feuille, et les ombelles apparaissent successivement durant la saison de végétation. À mesure que les fleurs vieillissent, certaines prennent progressivement une teinte rougeâtre (Isely, 1981). La fructification commence avant que le déficit hydrique estival ne réduise la productivité de la plante. À tout moment de la saison, il est probable que chaque tige possède à la fois des boutons floraux, des fleurs et des fruits immatures à divers stades de développement. En juillet, lorsque les conditions de sécheresse dominent, la maturation et la dispersion des graines débutent, suivies par le flétrissement des tiges jusqu’au rhizome, qui est situé à plusieurs centimètres sous la surface du sol. La plante entre alors en dormance et le demeure jusqu’à l’année suivante.

Chez de nombreuses espèces de Lotus indigènes d’Amérique du Nord, la dormance des graines est profonde, complexe et multiforme, et il faut un traitement préalable pour faire germer les graines (Young et Young, 1986). Un traitement à l’eau chaude peut aider, mais il ne permet pas d’obtenir un taux de germination élevé (Young et Young, 1986). Comme les graines des autres Légumineuses, celles du L. pinnatus ont un tégument dur et exigent sans doute une stratification froide, puisque la germination a lieu surtout au printemps. Rien n’a été publié sur les exigences de germination particulières du L. pinnatus, mais Hitchcock et al. (1961) ont constaté que les trois espèces vivaces (L. pinnatus, L. crassifolius et L. formosissimus) sont faciles à cultiver à partir de graines. Zandstra et Grant (1968) mentionnent qu’ils ont cultivé des L. pinnatus à partir de graines pour obtenir du matériel pour leurs recherches, mais ils ne décrivent pas les méthodes qu’ils ont employées.

Des graines de Lotus pinnatus recueillies dans les plaines Harewood ont été utilisées dans le cadre d’un programme de recherche appliquée entrepris en 1996, qui visait à évaluer l’utilité des graminées et légumineuses indigènes de l’île de Vancouver pour la remise en état des terrains perturbés. En 1998, les graines ont été semées sans traitement préalable, dans une pépinière de multiplication semencière de Duncan, en Colombie-Britannique. Les graines ont ainsi passé l’hiver en serre, et 80 à 90 p.100 ont germé au début du printemps suivant. En avril 1999, une soixantaine de semis à peine levés ont été repiqués dans une parcelle d’essai. En juillet 2003, seulement 10 de ces semis avaient survécu. On sait que l’ajout de légumineuses aux mélanges de graines peut améliorer les sols, parce que ces plantes peuvent fixer l’azote atmosphérique. Cependant, dans le cas du L. pinnatus, comme la floraison est continue et que les gousses s’égrainent sur pied, la récolte mécanique des graines est difficilement réalisable. Le coût de production de ces semences s’est ainsi avéré supérieur à leur juste valeur sur le marché, et le L. pinnatus a été rayé de la liste des espèces prometteuses pour la remise en état par ensemencement à grande échelle (Vaartnou, comm. pers., 2003).

La tendance à l’égrenage sur pied est fréquente chez toutes les variétés connues du Lotus corniculatus et provoque des pertes de semences importantes chez cette plante largement cultivée comme fourrage. Jusqu’à présent, la sélection récurrente n’a pas permis de contrer le problème, mais l’hybridation classique ou somatique avec des espèces apparentées à gousse indéhiscente devrait permettre d’introduire chez le L. corniculatus le gène qui leur confère ce caractère (Grant, 1996 et 1999).

Un survol des publications permet de constater qu’aucune étude d’ADN ni aucune comparaison morphologique n’ont été faites en vue de déterminer si les populations de Lotus pinnatus de Colombie-Britannique sont distinctes de celles des États-Unis.


Reproduction

Chez le Lotus pinnatus, comme chez les autres espèces vivaces de Lotus, la pollinisation croisée est nécessaire pour que la plante produise des graines viables (Zandstra et Grant, 1968). MacDonald (1944) a établi que deux fois plus de fleurs du L. corniculatus sont fécondées par le pollen provenant d’autres individus de cette espèce que par celui provenant du même individu. En l’absence de pollinisateurs, aucun ovule n’est fertilisé. Aucune publication ne précise quels sont les pollinisateurs spécifiques du L. pinnatus. Cependant, dans le cas d’une espèce vivace apparentée, le L. corniculatus, on a mentionné comme pollinisateurs efficaces l’abeille domestique (Apis mellifera) et les bourdons (Bombus spp.) (Jones et al., 1986) ainsi qu’une abeille coupeuse de feuilles, le Megachile rotundata (Beuselinck et McGraw, 1988). On ne connaît pas exactement la fréquence et la distance des échanges de pollen chez le L. pinnatus, mais Morse (1958) a constaté qu’il fallait 12 à 15 visites d’insecte par fleur pour obtenir une production maximale de graines chez le L. corniculatus.

Chez les espèces du genre Lotus, les anthères des 5 étamines longues, dont les filets sont dilatés et soudés, sont enveloppées par le bec de la carène et y libèrent leur pollen avant la floraison. Lorsqu’un insecte vient butiner la fleur, la pression exercée sur la carène fait agir les cinq filets dilatés comme un piston qui expulse le pollen, par le sommet de la carène, sur la face ventrale du thorax de l’insecte (Kirkbride, 1999). Chez le L. corniculatus, le pistil, plus long que les étamines, est donc en contact plus étroit avec le pollen déjà présent sur le corps de l’insecte qu’avec le pollen de sa propre fleur, et on croit qu’il s’agit d’une adaptation assurant la pollinisation croisée (Morse, 1958).

Les fleurs du Lotus pinnatus semblent adaptées à la pollinisation par les abeilles (y compris les bourdons), étant donné leur couleur jaune vif et leur large carène qui constitue une bonne plate-forme pour l’atterrissage de ces insectes. Les avantages que présentent les fleurs du L. pinnatus pour les bourdons, et vice-versa, n’ont pas encore été établis de façon précise, mais nous avons observé des bourdons en train de butiner ces fleurs dans les plaines Harewood, en 2003 (M. Donovan, obs. pers.). Les bourdons peuvent transporter le pollen à faible distance, mais il est peu probable qu’il y ait pollinisation croisée entre la plupart des populations canadiennes, étant donné la distance qui les sépare.

La reproduction asexuée n’a pas été étudiée chez le Lotus pinnatus. Cependant, on est parvenu à régénérer des pousses de L. corniculatus à partir de cals ou de cultures cellulaires en suspension issues de feuilles, de cotylédons, d’hypocotyles et de racines. Morris et al. (1999) ont obtenu une fréquence élevée de pousses en cultivant des segments de racine dans un milieu sans hormone.


Survie

On ne dispose d’aucune information sur la durée de vie moyenne des genets (individus génétiques) du Lotus pinnatus, et aucune courbe de survie n’a été calculée pour cette espèce. On sait cependant que le L. pinnatus est une espèce vivace qui peut vivre plusieurs années si les conditions lui sont favorables. La germination a lieu à la fin de l’hiver ou au début du printemps, alors que la température et l’humidité du sol sont le plus favorables, et la survie des semis semble exiger la présence continue d’humidité en surface. Dans la plupart des sites, les populations établies de L. pinnatus comprennent à la fois des semis de l’année et des individus plus âgés (Donovan, obs. pers., 2003).

Les observations faites en 2003 dans tous les sites n’ont permis de relever aucun cas de mortalité importante des adultes qui soit dû à des facteurs naturels, mais un groupe de plantes poussant dans une petite zone humide des plaines Harewood avait été écrasée par des véhicules tout-terrain circulant dans la zone (voir figure 4); à certains endroits, le sol avait été arraché jusqu’à la roche en place. Cette zone humide fait l’objet d’une circulation particulièrement intense de véhicules tout-terrain, et certaines observations semblent indiquer que la population de Lotus pinnatus y aurait décliné, puisque seulement 40 individus ont été observés en 2003, alors qu’environ 500 avaient été observés au cours d’années antérieures (Thurkill, comm. pers., 2003).


Dispersion

Le fruit du Lotus pinnatus est une gousse linéaire longue de 3 à 6 cm, issue d’un ovaire supère à carpelle unique. Le développement de la gousse s’accompagne d’un changement progressif de sa couleur, qui passe d’un vert foncé cireux à un brun foncé (Isely, 1981). Chez le L. corniculatus, la gousse mûrit en trois semaines environ. À maturité, la gousse se fend le long de ses sutures ventrale et dorsale, et les deux valves s’entortillent soudainement en spirale, ce qui éjecte les graines (Grant, 1996).

Les graines du Lotus pinnatus sont brun foncé, glabres, ovoïdes à sphériques, et on en compte environ 332 par gramme (Piggott, comm. pers., 2003). Les dix gousses que nous avons examinées renfermaient chacune 10 graines en moyenne (Donovan, obs. pers., 2003).

Les graines ne présentent aucune adaptation marquée pour la dispersion à grande distance par le vent ou les animaux. La plupart sont dispersées par gravité et tombent généralement à proximité de la plante. Comme l’espèce pousse près de cours d’eau, il se peut que les gousses et les graines soient transportées par l’eau pendant la crue. Cependant, la germination des graines et la survie des semis semblent exiger une humidité superficielle continue, et l’espèce ne semble pas capable de concurrencer efficacement les arbustes indigènes et les plantes exotiques envahissantes. Si les populations canadiennes venaient à disparaître, il serait très improbable qu’une nouvelle population stable puisse s’établir au pays. En effet, la population la plus proche, connue par des spécimens récoltés en 1940, est située à une distance de 240 km, à Bremerton, au Washington, et on ne sait même pas si elle existe encore.


Nutrition et relations interspécifiques

Comme bien d’autres légumineuses, le Lotus pinnatus semble être associé à des bactéries du genre Rhizobium capables de fixer l’azote atmosphérique. Ces bactéries, présentes dans les nodosités des racines, fournissent de l’azote assimilable à la plante et reçoivent de celle-ci du carbone et d’autres éléments nutritifs. Des souches précises de Rhizobium doivent être présentes pour que les nodosités se forment en quantité suffisante chez les espèces fourragères de Lotus, comme le L. corniculatus et le L. tenuis. Pour obtenir un établissement maximal de la plante dans des terrains où ces espèces n’ont jamais été cultivées, il faut inoculer ces souches de Rhizobium aux semences (Blumenthal et McGraw, 1999).

Berch (comm. pers., 2003) a examiné les nodosités racinaires du Lotus pinnatus dans les plaines Harewood et y a relevé la présence de bactéries appartenant très probablement au genre Rhizobium.

Les glycosides cyanogènes sont des composés très répandus chez les légumineuses. Ces substances libèrent du cyanure d’hydrogène (HCN) lorsque les tissus foliaires sont endommagés, et on croit que cela peut avoir un effet répulsif sur les herbivores, bien que de nombreux animaux soient capables de détoxifier le cyanure (Vetter, 2000). Les glycosides cyanogènes se rencontrent communément chez les espèces eurasiatiques de Lotus, mais Grant et Sidhu (1967) ont constaté qu’il en est tout autrement des espèces nord-américaines. Sur quinze individus de L. pinnatus analysés quant à la présence de cyanure d’hydrogène, aucun n’en renfermait.


Comportement et adaptabilité

Dans les plaines Harewood, on a observé de petits individus poussant dans les ornières humides laissées par le passage des pneus, ce qui semble indiquer que l’espèce peut tolérer une certaine perturbation, à condition que le drainage sub-superficiel et les autres facteurs critiques ne soient pas altérés. Cependant, les sols minces où pousse le Lotus pinnatus prennent du temps à se former et sont très sensibles à la perturbation. L’utilisation de véhicules tout-terrain dans ces milieux est à déconseiller, car elle y endommage les sols et la végétation, qui sont fragiles (McPhee et al., 2000). Comme le L. pinnatus ne semble pas doté d’une forte capacité de compétition, la succession végétale faisant suite à une perturbation ainsi que l’envahissement par des espèces exotiques risquent de modifier la structure et la composition des communautés végétales où pousse le L. pinnatus et même d’empêcher le rétablissement de cette espèce.