Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Aurora Trout in Canada

Habitat

The two native Aurora Trout lakes are part of a chain of lakes situated on a ridge in Lady Evelyn Smoothwater Provincial Park. They are some of the highest elevation lakes in Ontario. Whirligig Lake (11 ha surface area; maximum depth 9.1 m; Secchi depth 3.3-6.2 m in 1999; 435 m elevation) flows into Whitepine Lake (77 ha surface area; maximum depth 21.3 m; Secchi depth 3.5-6.0 m in 1999; 430 m elevation). The surrounding terrain is hilly and rough, topography typical of the Precambrian Shield. The lakes are 10 km from the nearest road and accessible only by canoe and trail or by aircraft. Their watersheds have low acid-neutralizing capacities and are vulnerable to acidification.

The native lakes are located within the zone affected by acid deposition from Sudbury metal smelters (Neary et al. 1990). Extirpation of the Aurora Trout during the 1960's coincided with acidification of the lakes to about pH 5.0 (Keller 1978), the threshold for Brook Trout survival (Beggs and Gunn 1986). By 1976 the pH of Whitepine Lake was 4.7. During the 1980's water quality remained unsuitable for Aurora Trout survival in their native lakes (Snucins et al. 1988). Following liming in 1989 the pH of Whirligig Lake increased from 4.8 to about 6.5. The pH has subsequently declined and additional limings were necessary in 1993 and 1995 to increase the pH. However, between 1997 and 1999 the pH remained relatively steady at 5.3-5.6. This is close to the natural pH of the lake, as estimated by paleolimnological analysis of sediment cores (Dixit et al. 1996), and is suitable for Aurora Trout reproduction. Whitepine Lake also exhibited some water quality improvement. It's pH increased from 4.9 in the late 1980's to 5.2 by 1993 and 5.3-5.4 by 1999. The pre-industrial pH of Whitepine Lake was 5.4-5.7 (Dixit et al. 1996). The improvement may be due to input of limed water from Whirligig Lake or atmospheric pollution reductions or both.

The other two lakes that had reproducing populations during the 1990’s, Southeast Campcot Lake (35.6 ha, 43 m maximum depth, 6.8 m Secchi depth) and Northeast Campcot Lake (20.8 ha, 28 m maximum depth, 8.3 m Secchi depth), are located in well-buffered watersheds and are not threatened by acidification.

Spawning by Aurora Trout in Whirligig Lake occurs on groundwater seepages over sand, gravel and rock substrate in water 1.2-4.1 m deep at distances of 2-45 m from shore. The spawning sites in the other lakes have not yet been identified.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’omble de fontaine aurora au Canada - Mise à jour

Habitat

Les deux lacs natals de l’omble de fontaine aurora font partie d’une chaîne de lacs située sur une crête, dans le parc provincial Lady Evelyn Smoothwater. Ils comptent parmi les quelques lacs de haute altitude de la province. Le lac Whirligig (superficie de 11 ha; profondeur maximale de 9,1 m; profondeur de Secchi 3,3-6,2 m en 1999; altitude de 435 m) s’écoule dans le lac Whitepine (superficie de 77 ha; profondeur maximale de 21,3 m; profondeur de Secchi 3,5‑6,0 m en 1999; altitude de 430 m). Le terrain environnant est montagneux et accidenté, topographie typique du bouclier précambrien. Les lacs se trouvent à 10 km de la route la plus proche et ne sont accessibles qu’en canot et à pied ou par avion. Les bassins hydrographiques n’ont qu’une faible capacité de neutralisation des acides et sont vulnérables à l’acidification.

Les lacs natals sont situés dans la zone touchée par les dépôts acides des fonderies de Sudbury (Neary et al., 1990). La disparition de l’omble de fontaine aurora dans les années 1960 a coïncidé avec l’acidification des lacs à un pH d’environ 5,0 (Keller, 1978), qui constitue le seuil de survie pour l’omble de fontaine (Beggs et Gunn, 1986). En 1976, le pH du lac Whitepine était de 4,7. Dans les années 1980, la qualité de l’eau des lacs natals est demeurée impropre pour la survie de l’omble de fontaine aurora (Snucins et al., 1988). À la suite du chaulage effectué en 1989, le pH du lac Whirligig est passé de 4,8 à environ 6,5, mais il a baissé de nouveau et il a fallu rechauler en 1993 et en 1995. Entre 1997 et 1999, il est toutefois demeuré relativement stable à 5,3-5,6, niveau qui se rapproche du pH naturel du lac (tel qu’estimé par des analyses paléolimnologiques de carottes de sédiments; Dixit et al., 1996), et qui convient à la reproduction de la sous-espèce. La qualité de l’eau du lac Whitepine s’est également améliorée quelque peu; son pH est passé de 4,9 à la fin des années 1980 à 5,2 en 1993, et il atteignait 5,3-5,4 en 1999. Le pH pré-industriel du lac Whitepine était de 5,4-5,7 (Dixit et al., 1996). Cette amélioration pourrait être due à l’apport d’eau chaulée du lac Whirligig ou à une réduction de la pollution atmosphérique, ou encore à une combinaison de ces deux facteurs.

Les deux autres lacs qui abritaient des populations reproductrices dans les années 1990, les lacs Campcot sud-est (35,6 ha, profondeur maximale de 43 m, profondeur de Secchi de 6,8 m) et nord-est (20,8 ha, profondeur maximale de 28 m, profondeur de Secchi de 8,3 m), se trouvent dans des bassins à bonne capacité tampon et ne sont aucunement menacés d’acidification.

Dans le lac Whirligig, l’omble de fontaine aurora fraye près des infiltrations d’eau souterraine, sur un substrat de sable, de gravier et de roche, à une profondeur de 1,2‑4,1 m et à une distance de 2‑45 m du rivage. On n’a pas encore réussi à trouver les lieux de fraye dans les autres lacs.