Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Aurora Trout in Canada

General Biology

Reproductive Capability

Aurora Trout spawn in late October and early November when lake water temperatures are below 8°C. Sexual maturity is reached at age 2+ to 4+ years. The maximum known lifespan is 9 years. Spawning is thought to occur annually after sexual maturity is reached. The number of eggs produced by mature female Brook Trout is dependent on size. Ripe females in the native lakes ranged in size from 335 mm to 458 mm fork length. Brook Trout of that size typically produce 1000 (325 mm fork length) to 3000 (470 mm fork length) eggs (Vladykov 1956). 


Species Movement

It appears that the thermal requirements of Aurora Trout are similar to other Brook Trout (eg. Sale 1962). Brook Trout generally inhabit water temperatures below 20°C and when temperatures rise above that they seek cooler water by shifting their depth distribution or by inhabiting groundwater springs (Scott and Crossman 1973; Power 1980). At spawning time Aurora Trout will seek areas of groundwater upwelling on which to excavate redds.


Behaviour/Adaptability

A pH of at least 5.0 is required for successful reproduction and maintenance of self-sustaining populations (Beggs and Gunn 1986). Aurora Trout stocked into Whirligig Lake during the late 1980's when it was still quite acidic (pH 4.8) survived in small numbers, but they were physiologically stressed, could not reproduce and had shortened lifespans.

The spawning sites that have been identified to date are all on groundwater springs which is typical of Brook Trout on the Canadian Shield (Noakes and Curry 1995). We speculate that the failure of stocked Aurora Trout to reproduce in most non-native lakes is due to the unavailability of suitable groundwater sites for spawning in those lakes.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’omble de fontaine aurora au Canada - Mise à jour

Biologie

Potentiel reproductif

L’omble de fontaine aurora fraye à la fin octobre et au début novembre, lorsque la température de l’eau est inférieure à 8 °C. L’espèce atteint la maturité sexuelle entre 2+ et 4+ ans. La longévité maximale connue est de 9 ans. La fraye aurait lieu chaque année après que les poissons ont atteint la maturité sexuelle. Le nombre d’œufs produits par l’omble de fontaine femelle mature dépend de la taille. La taille des femelles matures dans les lacs natals variait entre 335 et 458 mm (longueur à la fourche). Un omble de fontaine femelle de cette taille produit habituellement entre 1 000 œufs (325 mm de longueur à la fourche) et 3 000 œufs (470 mm de longueur à la fourche) (Vladykov, 1956).


Déplacements de l’espèce

Les besoins thermiques de l’omble de fontaine aurora seraient semblables à ceux des autres ombles de fontaine (voir par exemple Sale, 1962). Ces derniers vivent généralement dans des eaux dont la température est inférieure à 20 °C; lorsque la température monte, ils cherchent les zones d’eau plus froide en modifiant leur distribution verticale ou en occupant des sources d’eau souterraine (Scott et Crossman, 1973; Power, 1980). Au moment de la fraye, l’omble de fontaine aurora recherche les zones de remontée d’eau souterraine pour y creuser son nid.


Comportement et adaptabilité

Il faut un pH d’au moins 5,0 pour assurer le succès de la reproduction et le maintien de populations autosuffisantes (Beggs et Gunn, 1986). Un petit nombre des ombles de fontaine aurora ensemencés dans le lac Whirligig à la fin des années 1980, alors que le lac était encore très acide (pH de 4,8), ont survécu; ils ont cependant subi un stress physiologique, n’ont pas réussi à se reproduire et ont vu leur longévité abrégée.

Les lieux de fraye identifiés à ce jour se trouvent tous sur des sources d’eau souterraine, ce qui est typique de l’omble de fontaine du Bouclier canadien (Noakes et Curry, 1995). Selon nous, l’échec de la reproduction des ombles de fontaine aurora ensemencés dans la plupart de lacs non natals serait dû à l’absence de sources d’eau souterraine convenables pour la fraye dans ces lacs.