Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Aurora Trout in Canada

Logo of COSEWIC

COSEWIC
Executive Summary

Aurora Trout
Salvelinus fontinalis timagamiensis

Description

The Aurora Trout is a subspecies of the Brook Trout (Salvelinus fontinalis Mitchill 1815) that is endemic to two small lakes (Whitepine and Whirligig) located about 110 km north of Sudbury, Ontario. Aurora Trout are distinguished from other Brook Trout mainly in terms of skin colouration: (1) adult Aurora Trout lack the yellow spots and vermiculations that typically occur on the dorsal surface of other Brook Trout; and (2) the numerous red spots surrounded by blue halos characteristically found on the sides of Brook Trout are greatly reduced in number or are absent on Aurora Trout. 

 

Distribution

The native range of the Aurora Trout consists of two small waterbodies, Whirligig Lake and Whitepine Lake, located 110 km north of Sudbury, Ontario. Reproducing populations that were established during the 1990’s in Southeast Campcot Lake and Northeast Campcot near Terrace Bay, Ontario are now extirpated. Currently, 10 other lakes in Northern Ontario contain introduced Aurora Trout populations that are maintained by stocking of hatchery-reared juvenile fish. A captive brood stock is maintained in one provincial fish culture facility near Kirkland Lake, Ontario.

 

Population Sizes and Trends

The two native populations were extirpated by lake acidification during the 1960's. Since then the stock has been maintained by artificial breeding that began in 1958 from a founding population of 6-9 individuals. The captive brood stock currently numbers 500-1000 fish. During the 1990's self-sustaining populations were reestablished in the two native lakes following water quality improvements. The biomass of Aurora Trout in Whirligig Lake quickly increased after stocking to levels comparable to that of Brook Trout populations in unacidified lakes and growth rates of the fish are similar to pre-acidification. Natural reproduction occurred in two non-native lakes (Southeast Campcot Lake, Northeast Campcot Lake) during the 1990’s, but those populations are now extirpated. There is no evidence of successful reproduction in Alexander Lake, the egg source for hatchery brood stock, or in any of the 9 lakes that are used for the limited recreational fishery. 

 

Biology

It appears that the thermal requirements of Aurora Trout are similar to other Brook Trout. Brook Trout generally inhabit water temperatures below 20°C and when temperatures rise above that they seek cooler water by shifting their depth distribution or by inhabiting groundwater springs. At spawning time Aurora Trout, like other Brook Trout inhabiting lakes on the Canadian Shield, will seek areas of groundwater upwelling on which to build redds. A pH of at least 5.0 is required for successful reproduction and maintenance of self-sustaining populations. 

 

Limiting Factors

The native lakes are located within the zone affected by acid deposition from Sudbury metal smelters. Extirpation of the Aurora Trout during the 1960's coincided with acidification of the lakes to about pH 5.0, the threshold for Brook Trout survival. Although water quality improvements have occurred in the two native lakes since 1989 as a result of whole-lake liming and reductions in atmospheric pollution levels, the lakes are poorly buffered and they remain threatened by acidification.  The main source of acid is atmospheric deposition of pollutants, but historically deposited sulphur may also be stored in adjacent wetlands and could contribute to reacidification following drought years when oxidized sulphur is released into the lake.

The spawning sites that have been identified to date are all on groundwater springs. We speculate that the failure of stocked Aurora Trout to reproduce in most non-native lakes is due to the lack of suitable groundwater sites for spawning in the new lakes. The use of groundwater springs for both spawning and as thermal refugia leaves Aurora Trout vulnerable to land use practices (eg. logging) and climatic changes that can affect the quantity and quality of groundwater discharge to lakes. 

 

Special Significance

The Aurora Trout is a unique subspecies of the Brook Trout that is native to only two lakes in the entire world. Valued for its beauty and rarity, it was the only fish stock of hundreds that were extirpated by acidification in Ontario that is now preserved through a captive breeding program.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’omble de fontaine aurora au Canada - Mise à jour

logo du COSEPAC

COSEPAC
Résumé

Omble de fontaine aurora
Salvelinus fontinalis timagamiensis

Description

L’omble de fontaine aurora est une sous-espèce de l’omble de fontaine (Salvelinus fontinalis Mitchill 1815), endémique de deux petits lacs (Whitepine et Whirligig) situés à quelque 110 km au nord de Sudbury, en Ontario. La sous-espèce se distingue surtout par la coloration de sa peau : 1) les taches jaunes et les vermiculations caractéristiques que l’on trouve sur la face dorsale de l’omble de fontaine sont absentes chez les adultes; 2) les nombreux points rouges cernés de halos bleus caractéristiques qui ornent les flancs de l’omble de fontaine sont aussi chez cette sous-espèce beaucoup moins nombreux, sinon totalement absents.

 

Répartition

L’aire de répartition d’origine de l’omble de fontaine aurora consiste en deux petites masses d’eau, le lac Whirligig et le lac Whitepine, situées à quelque 110 km au nord de Sudbury, en Ontario. Les populations reproductrices établies dans les années 1990 dans les lacs Campcot sud-est et nord-est, près de Terrace Bay, en Ontario, ont aujourd’hui disparu. À l’heure actuelle, 10 autres lacs du nord de l’Ontario abritent des populations introduites d’omble de fontaine aurora, que l’on maintient par ensemencement avec des juvéniles d’élevage. On garde un stock de géniteurs en captivité dans une installation piscicole provinciale près de Kirkland Lake, en Ontario.

 

Taille et tendances des populations

Les deux populations indigènes ont disparu par suite de l’acidification des lacs, dans les années 1960. Depuis, on a maintenu le stock grâce à la reproduction artificielle, amorcée en 1958 à partir d’une population fondatrice composée de 6 à 9 individus. Le stock de géniteurs en captivité compte actuellement de 500 à 1 000 poissons. Pendant les années 1990, on a réussi à rétablir des populations autosuffisantes dans les deux lacs natals après avoir amélioré la qualité de l’eau. La biomasse d’omble de fontaine aurora dans le lac Whirligig a rapidement augmenté après l’ensemencement, pour atteindre des niveaux comparables à ceux des populations d’omble de fontaine dans les lacs non acidifiés, et les taux de croissance sont semblables à ce qu’ils étaient avant l’acidification. Des populations qui avaient réussi à se reproduire en milieu naturel dans deux lacs non natals (les lacs Campcot sud-est et nord-est) pendant les années 1990 ont aujourd’hui disparu. Rien n’indique qu’il y ait reproduction réussie dans le lac Alexander (dont les poissons servent de source d’œufs pour le stock de géniteurs d’élevage) ni dans aucun des 9 autres lacs qui font l’objet d’une pêche sportive limitée.

 

Biologie

L’omble de fontaine aurora aurait des besoins thermiques semblables à ceux de l’omble de fontaine. Ce dernier vit généralement dans des eaux dont la température est inférieure à 20 oC; lorsque la température monte, il cherche les zones d’eau plus froide en modifiant sa distribution verticale ou en occupant des sources d’eau souterraine. Au moment de la fraye, l’omble de fontaine aurora, comme les autres ombles de fontaine qui habitent les lacs du Bouclier canadien, recherche les zones de remontée d’eau souterraine pour y aménager son nid. Il faut un pH d’au moins 5,0 pour assurer le succès de la reproduction et le maintien de populations autosuffisantes.

 

Facteurs limitatifs

Les lacs natals sont situés dans une zone affectée par les dépôts acides des fonderies de Sudbury. La disparition de l’omble de fontaine aurora dans les années 1960 a coïncidé avec l’acidification des lacs à un pH d’environ 5,0, soit le seuil de survie pour l’omble de fontaine. Bien qu’on ait amélioré la qualité de l’eau dans les deux lacs natals depuis 1989 grâce au chaulage intégral et à la réduction des concentrations de polluants atmosphériques, ces lacs ont une faible capacité tampon et sont toujours menacés d’acidification. La principale source d’acide provient du dépôt atmosphérique de polluants, mais d’anciens dépôts de soufre pourraient également être stockés dans les milieux humides adjacents et contribuer à la réacidification lors des années de sécheresse, lorsque le soufre oxydé est libéré dans les lacs.

Les lieux de fraye qui ont été identifiés à ce jour sont tous situés sur des sources d’eau souterraine. Selon nous, l’échec de la reproduction des ombles de fontaine aurora ensemencés dans la plupart des lacs non natals serait attribuable à l’absence de telles sources dans ces nouveaux lacs. L’utilisation des sources d’eau souterraine pour la fraye et comme refuge thermique rend l’omble de fontaine aurora vulnérable aux diverses pratiques d’utilisation des sols (p. ex. l’exploitation forestière) et aux changements climatiques, qui peuvent modifier la quantité et la qualité des infiltrations d’eau souterraines dans les lacs.

 

Importance de l’espèce

L’omble de fontaine aurora est une sous-espèce unique de l’omble de fontaine, indigène de deux lacs seulement à l’échelle mondiale. Valorisé pour sa beauté et sa rareté, c’est le seul stock de poisson, sur les centaines qui ont disparu à cause de l’acidification de l’Ontario, qui soit encore préservé aujourd’hui grâce à un programme d’élevage en captivité.