Skip booklet index and go to page content

COSEWIC Assessment and Update Status Report on the Aurora Trout in Canada

Distribution

The native range of the Aurora Trout consists of two small waterbodies, Whirligig Lake and Whitepine Lake, located 110 km north of Sudbury, Ontario, in Lady Evelyn Smoothwater Provincial Park. Although Henn and Rinkenbach (1925) listed a number of other waterbodies with possible occurrences, no authenticated records of indigenous breeding populations exist for any other waterbodies including Aurora Lake and Wilderness Lake, both of which were listed as having indigenous populations by Parker and Brousseau (1988). The population in Wilderness Lake reported as native by Sale (1967) was in fact introduced in 1955 when a few adults were transferred across the portage from Whitepine Lake (C. Elsie and D. Butler, personal communication). The infrequent reports of Aurora Trout in Marina Lake likely represent individuals that emigrated downstream from Whitepine Lake, rather than members of a breeding population in Marina Lake (Sale 1964).

During the 1990's self-sustaining Aurora Trout populations were reestablished in both Whirligig Lake and Whitepine Lake following water quality improvements brought about by whole-lake liming of Whirligig Lake. Hatchery-reared fish stocked in Southeast Campcot Lake and Northeast Campcot near Terrace Bay also reproduced successfully, but those populations were subsequently extirpated. Currently, 10 other lakes in Northern Ontario contain introduced Aurora Trout populations that are maintained by stocking of hatchery-reared juvenile fish (Figure 2): Liberty Lake, Carol Lake, Reed Lake, Pallet Lake, Nayowin Lake, Big Club Lake, Semple #54 Lake, Wynn Lake, Borealis Lake, and Alexander Lake.


Figure 2: Location of lakes with Aurora Trout

Figure 2. Location of lakes with Aurora Trout.

Closed square indicates the two native lakes with self-sustaining populations. Closed triangle indicates the two non-native lakes with reproducing populations that have been extirpated. Open circles indicate the 10 non-native lakes with populations maintained by stocking of hatchery-reared fish.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Évaluation et Rapport de situation du COSEPAC sur l’omble de fontaine aurora au Canada - Mise à jour

Répartition

L’aire de répartition d’origine de l’omble de fontaine aurora consiste en deux petites masses d’eau, le lac Whirligig  et le lac Whitepine, situées à quelque 110 km au nord de Sudbury, en Ontario, dans le parc provincial Lady Evelyn Smoothwater. Bien que Henn et Rinkenbach (1925) aient énuméré un certain nombre d’autres masses d’eau susceptibles d’abriter l’espèce, on ne connaît aucune mention authentifiée de populations reproductrices indigènes pour une quelconque autre masse d’eau, y compris le lac Aurora et le lac Wilderness, qui étaient tous les deux mentionnés comme abritant des populations indigènes par Parker et Brousseau (1988). La population du lac Wilderness, déclarée comme indigène par Sale (1967), y a en fait été introduite en 1955, lorsque quelques poissons adultes ont été transférés par le portage du lac Whitepine (C. Elsie et D. Butler, communication personnelle). Les rares mentions d’omble de fontaine aurora dans le lac Marina désignent probablement des individus qui ont émigré vers l’aval depuis le lac Whitepine, plutôt que des membres d’une population reproductrice propre au lac (Sale, 1964).

Durant les années 1990, on a réussi à rétablir des populations autosuffisantes d’omble de fontaine aurora dans les lacs Whirligig et Whitepine après avoir amélioré la qualité de l’eau par chaulage intégral du lac Whirligig. Des poissons élevés en écloserie et ensemencés dans les lacs Campcot sud-est et nord-est, près de Terrace Bay, se sont aussi reproduits avec succès, mais ces populations ont par la suite disparu. À l’heure actuelle, 10 autres lacs du nord de l’Ontario abritent des populations introduites d’omble de fontaine aurora, qui sont maintenues par ensemencement de juvéniles élevés en écloserie (figure 2) : le lac Liberty, le lac Carol, le lac Reed, le lac Pallet, le lac Nayowin, le lac Big Club, le lac Semple #54, le lac Wynn, le lac Borealis et le lac Alexander.


Figure 2 : Emplacement des lacs fréquentés par l’omble de fontaine aurora

Figure 2 : Emplacement des lacs fréquentés par l’omble de fontaine aurora.

Le carré noir indique les deux lacs natals abritant des populations autosuffisantes. Le triangle noir indique les deux lacs non natals qui abritaient des populations reproductrices aujourd’hui disparues. Les cercles blancs indiquent les 10 lacs non natals abritant des populations maintenues par ensemencement avec des poissons élevés en écloserie.