Skip booklet index and go to page content

NORTHERN SPOTTED OWL (Strix occidentalis caurina)

Addendum 2

ADOPTION BY ENVIRONMENT CANADA OF THE RECOVERY STRATEGY FOR THE NORTHERN SPOTTED OWL UNDER SECTION 44 OF THE SPECIES AT RISK ACT

 

DECLARATION FROM ENVIRONMENT CANADA

This recovery strategy has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions responsible for the Northern Spotted Owl. Environment Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the Northern Spotted Owl as required under the Species at Risk Act. This recovery strategy also constitutes advice to other jurisdictions and organizationsthat may be involved in recovering the species.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on the best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new findings and revised objectives.

This recovery strategy will be the basis for one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation and recovery of the species. The Minister of the Environment will report on progress within five years.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Environment Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of the Environment invites all responsible jurisdictions and Canadians to join Environment Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the Northern Spotted Owl and Canadian society as a whole.

 

STRATEGIC ENVIRONMENTAL ASSESSMENT

A strategic environmental assessment (SEA) is conducted by Environment Canada on all SARA recovery planning documents, in accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals.  The purpose of a SEA is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of federal public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally sound decision-making. 

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats. The results of SEAs are often incorporated directly into strategies themselves and are also summarized here.

This recovery strategy will benefit the environment by promoting and enabling the recovery of the Northern Spotted Owl and the habitat upon which it depends.  The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species has been considered.  This strategic assessment concludes that this strategy will benefit the environment, including other species depending upon the same environment and will not entail any significant adverse effects.

1.   CONSULTATION

In August of 2006, a Draft Recovery Strategy was posted on the Public Registry for comment.  In addition, Environment Canada invited 26 industry stakeholders, 26 First Nations, 8 non-governmental organizations, and the United States Fish and Wildlife Service to provide comments on the draft recovery strategy.  Three First Nations were extended an offer to meet in person to discuss the recovery strategy. Useful comments were received from a number of individuals and groups, including environmental non-governmental organizations and First Nations.  These comments have been considered in the finalization of this strategy and have been shared with the Government of British Columbia. Since this strategy was drafted in 2003, substantial work on the preparation and implementation of an Action Plan has been undertaken by the Recovery Team and by the Government of British Columbia. The comments received through this consultation process will inform both this action planning process and the final draft Action Plan posted on the Public Registry by Environment Canada. 

2. SOCIO-ECONOMIC CONSIDERATIONS

This recovery strategy contains a section on socio-economic considerations (Section I.13), written by the Canadian Spotted Owl Recovery Team after the majority of the recovery strategy had been prepared.  This preliminary analysis was later superseded by a socio-economic baseline analysis, mentioned in the update letter found at the beginning of the strategy.  As a socio-economic analysis is not required under Section 41(1) of the SARA, section I.13 of the recovery strategy for the Northern Spotted Owl is not considered part of the Minister of Environment's recovery strategy for this species.

3. IDENTIFICATION OF CRITICAL HABITAT FOR NORTHERN SPOTTED OWL UNDER SARA

This recovery strategy, prepared by the Canadian Spotted Owl Recovery Team, recommends that a partial identification of critical habitat be employed.  For the sake of clarity under SARA, Environment Canada is identifying critical habitat for the Spotted Owl as:  all suitable habitat (as defined in Appendix 5 of the recovery strategy) within sites occupied by a Spotted Owl or pair of Spotted Owls during the previous or current year including any newly discovered sites. This identification assumes that well-designed, scientifically defensible inventories are conducted in accordance with the accepted Survey Protocol and Standards for Spotted Owls (Hobbs et al. 2004).  If an adequate survey has not been undertaken in any one year, then critical habitat will be identified as all sites occupied at least once in the last two consecutive years of adequate surveys (“adequate” meaning in adherence to the protocol for assigning vacancy status (Hobbs et al. 2004)) and any newly occupied sites.  This identification is based upon the Recovery Team’s statement that “a partial definition of critical habitat should be employed to approximate the minimal requirements for survival habitat” (p. 17).  Therefore, as adequate surveys have yet to be completed in 2006, critical habitat is: all sites occupied in 2004, 2005 and 2006.

A site is defined as: a Spotted Owl Long Term Activity Centre (LTAC), as established under the BC Spotted Owl Management Plan (SOMIT 1997) and described by the BC Ministry of Environment (see SOMIT 1999 for further information), and any revisions or updates thereto.  If an owl is outside an LTAC, a site is considered to be the territory (approximately 3200 ha).  

Further identification of critical habitat under SARA will be developed by Environment Canada, in cooperation with the Province of British Columbia.

4.  STATEMENT ON ACTION PLANS

Under the Canada – British Columbia Agreement on Species at Risk, the Province of British Columbia is leading the development and implementation of an action plan for the Northern Spotted Owl.  Environment Canada will work cooperatively with the Province of British Columbia and other interested parties and stakeholders to post a  draft action plan for this species on the SARA Public Registry by June 2007.  The draft action plan will include a full identification of critical habitat to the extent possible.

5.   REFERENCES

Hobbs, J., I. Blackburn and A. Harestad.  2004. Survey Protocols and Standards for the Northern Spotted Owl (Strix occidentalis caurina) in British Columbia.  Unpublished BC Ministry of Environment Report prepared for Resource Inventory Standards Committee.

Environment Canada, Fisheries and Oceans Canada, and Parks Canada Agency. November 2004. Species at Risk Act Program Guidance: A guide to the critical habitat provisions of the Species at Risk Act. Draft. 46pp.

Spotted Owl Management Inter-Agency Team. (SOMIT).1999. Spotted Owl Management Plan: Resource Management Plans. B.C. Minist. Environment Lands and Parks and B.C. Minist. Forests, Victoria, BC, available through ftp://ftpsry.env.gov.bc.ca/pub/outgoing/Wildlife/Spotted_Owl/1999_Spotted_Owl_RMP/.

Spotted Owl Management Inter-Agency Team (SOMIT). 1997. Spotted Owl Management Plan: Strategic Component. Ministry of  Environment, Lands & Parks/Ministry of Forests. 81pp.

Page 30

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

CHOUETTE TACHETÉE DU NORD (Strix occidentalis caurina)

Addenda 2

ADOPTION PAR ENVIRONNEMENT CANADA DU

PROGRAMME DE RÉTABLISSEMENT

DE LA CHOUETTE TACHETÉE

EN VERTU DE L’ARTICLE 44

DE LA LOI SUR LES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL

 

DÉCLARATION D’ENVIRONNEMENT CANADA

Le présent programme de rétablissement a été préparé en collaboration avec les compétences responsables de la Chouette tachetée du Nord. Environnement Canada a revu le document et l’accepte comme son programme de rétablissement dela Chouette tachetée du Nord tel que l’exige la Loi sur les espèces en péril. Ce programme de rétablissement représente également un avis à l’intention des autres compétences et organisations qui pourraient participer au rétablissement de l’espèce.

Les buts, objectifs et approches de rétablissement présentés dans ce programme sont fondés sur les meilleures connaissances existantes et peuvent faire l’objet de modifications découlant de nouveaux résultats et d’objectifs révisés.

Le présent programme de rétablissement constituera la base d’un ou plusieurs plans d’action qui présenteront en détail les mesures de rétablissement précises qui doivent être prises pour appuyer la conservation et le rétablissement de l’espèce. Le ministre de l’Environnement rendra compte des progrès réalisés d’ici cinq ans.

La réussite du rétablissement de l’espèce dépendra de l’engagement et de la collaboration d’un grand nombre de parties concernées qui participeront à la mise en œuvre des recommandations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer seulement sur Environnement Canada ou toute autre compétence. Dans l’esprit de l’Accord pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre de l’Environnement invite toutes les compétences responsables ainsi que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens à se joindre à Environnement Canada pour appuyer le programme et le mettre en œuvre, pour le bien de la Chouette tachetée du Nord et de l’ensemble de la société canadienne.

 

ÉVALUATION ENVIRONNEMENTALE STRATÉGIQUE

Une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) est effectuée par Environnement Canada dans le cadre de tous les documents de planification du rétablissement en vertu de la LEP conformément à la Directive du Cabinet de 1999 sur l'évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes. L’objet de l’EES est d’incorporer les considérations environnementales à l’élaboration des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics pour appuyer une prise de décisions éclairées du point de vue de l’environnement.

La planification du rétablissement vise à favoriser les espèces en péril et la biodiversité en général. Il est cependant reconnu que des programmes peuvent, par inadvertance, produire des effets environnementaux qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des incidences possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés. Les résultats de l’EES sont directement inclus dans le programme lui-même, mais également résumés ci-dessous.

Le présent programme de rétablissement favorisera clairement l’environnement en encourageant et en permettant le rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée du Nord et de l’habitat duquel elle dépend. La possibilité que le programme produise par inadvertance des effets négatifs sur d’autres espèces a été considérée. L’EES a permis de conclure que le présent programme sera clairement favorable à l’environnement, incluant d’autres espèces dépendant du même milieu, et n’entraînera pas d’effets négatifs significatifs. 

1.   CONSULTATION

En août 2006, une ébauche de programme de rétablissement a été affichée dans le Registre public en vue de recueillir des commentaires. En outre, Environnement Canada a invité 26 intervenants de l’industrie, 26 Premières nations, huit organisations non gouvernementales ainsi que le United States Fish and Wildlife Service à formuler des commentaires sur le programme de rétablissement provisoire. Trois Premières nations ont également participé à une rencontre afin d’en discuter en personne. Bon nombre d’individus et de groupes, dont des organisations non gouvernementales écologiques et des Premières nations, ont fourni de précieux commentaires, qui ont été considérés dans la mise au point du programme et qui ont été partagés avec le gouvernement de la Colombie‑Britannique. Puisque l’ébauche du programme de rétablissement a été effectuée en 2003, d’importantes activités de préparation et de mise en œuvre d’un plan d’action ont déjà été entreprises par l’équipe de rétablissement et le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique. Les commentaires reçus au cours du processus de consultation guideront le processus de planification des mesures et la version finale du plan d’action provisoire qui sera affiché dans le Registre public par Environnement Canada.

2.  CONSIDÉRATIONS SOCIOÉCONOMIQUES

Le programme de rétablissement contient une section sur les considérations socioéconomiques (section I.13), rédigée par l’équipe canadienne de rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée après la préparation de la majeure partie du programme. Cette analyse préliminaire a été par la suite remplacée par une analyse socioéconomique de référence, dont fait mention la lettre de mise à jour qui se trouve au début du programme. L’analyse socioéconomique n’étant pas obligatoire en vertu du paragraphe 41(1) de la LEP, la section I.13 du programme de rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée du Nord n’est pas considérée comme faisant partie du programme de rétablissement du ministre de l’Environnement visant cette espèce.

3.   DÉSIGNATION DE L’HABITAT ESSENTIEL DE LA CHOUETTE TACHETÉE DU NORD EN VERTU DE LA LOI SUR LES ESPÈCES EN PÉRIL

Le présent programme de rétablissement préparé par l’équipe canadienne de rétablissement de la Chouette tachetée recommande qu’une désignation partielle de l’habitat essentiel soit utilisée. Dans un souci de clarté dans le cadre de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP), Environnement Canada désigne l’habitat essentiel de la Chouette tachetée comme suit : tout l'habitat convenable (tel que défini dans l’annexe 5 du programme de rétablissement) dans les limites des sites occupés par une Chouette tachetée ou un couple de Chouettes tachetées pendant l’année précédente ou en cours, y compris tout site nouvellement découvert. Cette désignation suppose la tenue d’inventaires bien conçus et défendables sur le plan scientifique, conformément au protocole et aux normes acceptés en matière d’inventaires de la Chouette tachetée (Hobbs et al., 2004). Si un relevé adéquat n’a pas été effectué pour une année quelconque, l’habitat essentiel sera alors désigné comme étant tous les sites occupés au moins une fois au cours des deux dernières années consécutives de relevés adéquats (« adéquat » signifie conformément au protocole pour l'attribution du statut de vacant [Hobbs et al., 2004]) et tout site nouvellement occupé. Cette désignation est fondée sur l’énoncé de l’équipe de rétablissement selon lequel « une définition partielle de l’habitat essentiel devait être utilisée pour se rapprocher des exigences minimales de l'habitat de survie » (p. 19) [traduction]. Par conséquent, comme des relevés adéquats en 2006 restent à être complétés, l’habitat essentiel est le suivant: tous les sites occupés en 2004, en 2005 et en 2006.

Un site se définit comme suit : un centre d’activités à long terme de la Chouette tachetée (Spotted Owl Long Term Activity Centre), tel qu’établi sous le régime du plan de gestion de la Chouette tachetée de la Colombie‑Britannique (SOMIT, 1997) et tel que décrit par le Ministry of Environment de la Colombie‑Britannique (pour obtenir plus d'information, voir SOMIT, 1999), et toute révision ou mise à jour à cet égard. Si une chouette se trouve à l’extérieur d’un centre d’activités à long terme, un site est considéré comme étant le territoire (environ 3 200 ha).

Une désignation approfondie de l’habitat essentiel en vertu de la LEP sera élaborée par Environnement Canada, en collaboration avec la Province de la Colombie-Britannique.

4.    ÉNONCÉ SUR LES PLANS D’ACTION

En vertu de l'accord sur les espèces en péril conclu entre le Canada et la Colombie-Britannique, la Province de la Colombie-Britannique est responsable de l’élaboration et de la mise en oeuvre d’un plan d’action pour la Chouette tachetée du Nord. Environnement Canada travaillera en coopération avec la Province de la Colombie-Britannique et avec d’autres parties intéressées et intervenants afin d’afficher un plan d’action provisoire pour la présente espèce dans le Registre public de la LEP, d’ici juin 2007. Le plan d'action provisoire inclura, dans la mesure du possible, une désignation complète de l'habitat essentiel.

5.  RÉFÉRENCES

Hobbs , J., I. Blackburn et A. Harestad. 2004. Survey Protocols and Standards for the Northern Spotted Owl (Strix occidentalis caurina) in British Columbia, rapport inédit du Ministry of Environment de la Colombie-Britannique préparé pour le Resource Inventory Standards Committee.

Environnement Canada, Pêches et Océans Canada, et l’Agence Parcs Canada. Novembre 2004. Species at Risk Act Program Guidance: A guide to the critical habitat provisions of the Species at Risk Act, ébauche, 46 p.

Spotted Owl Management Inter-Agency Team. (SOMIT). 1999. Spotted Owl Management Plan: Resource Management Plans, Minist. Environment Lands and Parks de la Colombie-Britannique et Minist. Forests de la Colombie-Britannique, Victoria (Colombie-Britannique), disponible à l’adresse ftp://ftpsry.env.gov.bc.ca/pub/outgoing/Wildlife/Spotted_Owl/1999_Spotted_Owl_RMP/

Spotted Owl Management Inter-Agency Team (SOMIT). 1997. Spotted Owl Management Plan: Strategic Component, Ministry of Environment, Lands & Parks/Ministry of Forests, 81 p.