Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the Carmine Shiner (Notropis percobromus) in Canada

Preface

The responsible jurisdiction for the carmine shiner under the Species at Risk Act (SARA) is Fisheries and Oceans Canada.  Section 37 of SARA requires the competent minister to prepare recovery strategies for listed extirpated, endangered or threatened species. The carmine shiner was listed as threatened under SARA in June 2003.  Fisheries and Oceans Canada – Central and Arctic Region co-led the development of this recovery strategy. This strategy meets SARA requirements in terms of content and process (Sections 39-41). It was developed in cooperation or consultation with:

  • The Province of Manitoba
  • The Canadian Sphagnum Peat Moss Association,
  • ManitobaHydro,
  • Tembec Inc.,
  • ManitobaLive Bait Association

Also refer to Appendices B and C for a full record of public consultations.

Declaration

This recovery strategy for the carmine shiner has been prepared in cooperation with the jurisdictions described in the Preface. Fisheries and Oceans Canada has reviewed and accepts this document as its recovery strategy for the carmine shiner as required by the Species at Risk Act (SARA).  This recovery strategy also constitutes advice to other jurisdictions and organizations on the recovery goals, approaches and objectives that are recommended to protect and recover the species.

Success in the recovery of this species depends on the commitment and cooperation of many different constituencies that will be involved in implementing the directions set out in this strategy and will not be achieved by Fisheries and Oceans Canada or any other jurisdiction alone. In the spirit of the National Accord for the Protection of Species at Risk, the Minister of Fisheries and Oceans invites all Canadians to join Fisheries and Oceans Canada in supporting and implementing this strategy for the benefit of the carmine shiner and Canadian society as a whole. Fisheries and Oceans Canada will support implementation of this strategy to the extent possible, given available resources and its overall responsibility for species at risk conservation.  Implementation of the strategy by other participating jurisdictions and organizations is subject to their respective policies, appropriations, priorities and budgetary constraints.

The goals, objectives and recovery approaches identified in the strategy are based on best existing knowledge and are subject to modifications resulting from new findings and revised objectives.  The Minister of Fisheries and Oceans will report on progress within five years.

This strategy will be complemented by one or more action plans that will provide details on specific recovery measures to be taken to support conservation of the species. The Minister will take steps to ensure that, to the extent possible, Canadians interested in or affected by these measures will be consulted.

Responsible Jurisdictions

Under the Species at Risk Act, Fisheries and Oceans Canada is the responsible jurisdiction for the carmine shiner. The Province of Manitoba (Manitoba Water Stewardship) cooperated in the production of this recovery strategy.

Authors

The Carmine Shiner Recovery Strategy was developed by the Carmine Shiner Recovery Team, comprised of the following individuals:

Fred Hnytka (Co-chair)
Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO), Winnipeg, MB

Barb Scaife (Co-chair)
Manitoba Water Stewardship, Winnipeg, MB

Bruce Stewart (Secretariat)
Arctic Biological Consultants, Winnipeg, MB

Neil Fisher
DFO, Winnipeg, MB

Dr Bill Franzin
DFO, Winnipeg, MB

Gerry Hood
Canadian Sphagnum Peat Moss Assoc., St. Albert, AB

Doug Leroux
Manitoba Water Stewardship, Lac du Bonnet, MB

Shelly Matkowski
Manitoba Hydro, Winnipeg, MB

Pat Rakowski
Environment Canada, Winnipeg, MB

Dr Ken Stewart
University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB

Doug Watkinson
DFO, Winnipeg, MB

Acknowledgments

This report was written by D.B. Stewart of Arctic Biological Consultants, Winnipeg, MB, who was secretary to the Recovery Team. Doug Watkinson of DFO in Winnipeg, MB kindly provided the photograph of the carmine shiner and map of its Manitoba distribution. Konrad Schmidt of the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources in St. Paul, MN, John Lyons of the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources in Madison, WI, and Nick Mandrak of DFO in Burlington, ON, provided fish samples for the ongoing studies of carmine shiner morphology and genetics. Ken Stewart of the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg, MB, is conducting the morphological analyses and Chris Wilson of the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources in Peterborough, ON, is conducting the genetics analyses. Many individuals and stakeholder groups provided input into this document, in particular Connie Proceviat (Sun Gro Horticulture), Bud Ewacha (Conserve Native Plants Society Inc.), James Fraser (Tembec), Richard Pelletier (Premier Horticulture), Kris Snydal (MB Live Bait Association), and members of the Northeast Agassiz Watershed Management Association  who met with the team. Becky Cudmore (DFO Burlington), Bruce McCulloch (DFO Edmonton), Karolyne Pickett and Anne Phelps (DFO Ottawa), and Sam Stephenson (DFO Winnipeg) provided constructive comments on the draft document.

The Carmine Shiner Recovery Team extends its sincere appreciation to the individuals and organizations that supported the development of this recovery strategy and to the people who contributed their knowledge and hard work.

Strategic Environmental Assessment Statement

In accordance with the Cabinet Directive on the Environmental Assessment of Policy, Plan and Program Proposals, the purpose of a Strategic Environmental Assessment (SEA) is to incorporate environmental considerations into the development of public policies, plans, and program proposals to support environmentally-sound decision making.

Recovery planning is intended to benefit species at risk and biodiversity in general. However, it is recognized that strategies may also inadvertently lead to environmental effects beyond the intended benefits. The recovery planning process based on national guidelines directly incorporates consideration of all environmental effects, with a particular focus on possible impacts on non-target species or habitats.

This recovery strategy describes a number of research, management and public education approaches required for the conservation and recovery of the carmine shiner.  Aside from the acquisition of further knowledge, the recovery strategy focuses on eliminating or mitigating threats to the species including overexploitation, species introductions, habitat loss or degradation, and pollution. In addition to generally improving environmental conditions, the reduction or elimination of these threats may benefit other co-occurring species (see Section 5.6). The recovery strategy also recommends the rationalization of existing or proposed stocking programs; potential impacts of any changes will be considered within the rationalization process.  The potential for the strategy to inadvertently lead to adverse effects on other species was considered. The SEA concluded that this strategy will clearly benefit the environment and will not have significant adverse effects.

Residence

SARA defines residence as: “a dwelling-place, such as a den, nest or other similar area or place, that is occupied or habitually occupied by one or more individuals during all or part of their life cycles, including breeding, rearing, staging, wintering, feeding or hibernating” [SARA S2(1)].

Residence descriptions, or the rationale for why the residence concept does not apply to a given species, are posted on the SARA public registry:

http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_e.cfm

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement de la tête carmin (Notropis percobromus) au Canada

Préface

L’administration responsable de la tête carmin en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) est Pêches et Océans Canada. Conformément à l’article 37 de la LEP, le ministre compétent doit préparer des programmes de rétablissement pour les espèces qui ont été désignées comme étant disparues du pays, menacées ou en voie de disparition. La tête carmin a été désignée comme étant menacée en vertu de la LEP en juin 2003. Pêches et Océans Canada – Région du Centre et de l’Arctique a codirigé l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement. Celui-ci satisfait aux exigences de la LEP quant au contenu et au processus (articles 39 à 41). Il a été préparé soit en collaboration, soit en consultation avec :

  • la province du Manitoba;
  • l’Association canadienne de la tourbe de sphaigne;
  • ManitobaHydro;
  • Tembec Inc.;
  • la Manitoba Live Bait Association.

Voir également les annexes B et C pour le détail des consultations publiques.

Déclaration

Le présent programme de rétablissement de la tête carmin a été élaboré en collaboration avec les entités responsables décrites dans la préface. Pêches et Océans Canada a passé en revue ce document et l’accepte en tant que programme de rétablissement pour la tête carmin, conformément aux exigences de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP).Ce programme de rétablissement constitue également un avis à l’intention d’autres entités et organismes en regard du but, des méthodes et des objectifs qui sont recommandés pour protéger et rétablir l’espèce.

La réussite du rétablissement de cette espèce dépendra de l’engagement et de la collaboration d’un grand nombre de parties qui participent à la mise en œuvre des orientations formulées dans le présent programme. Cette réussite ne pourra reposer sur Pêches et Océans Canada ou sur une autre instance seulement. Dans l’esprit de l’Accord national pour la protection des espèces en péril, le ministre des Pêches et des Océans invite tous les Canadiens à se joindre à Pêches et Océans Canada pour appuyer le présent programme et le mettre en œuvre au profit de la tête carmin et de l’ensemble de la société canadienne. Pêches et Océans Canada s’appliquera à soutenir, dans la mesure du possible, l’exécution de ce programme avec les ressources disponibles et compte tenu de sa responsabilité générale à l’égard de la conservation des espèces en péril. La mise en œuvre du présent programme par d’autres entités responsables et organismes participants est soumise à leurs politiques respectives, à leurs crédits disponibles, à leurs priorités et à leurs contraintes budgétaires.

Le but, les méthodes et les objectifs de rétablissement relevés dans le programme reposent sur les meilleures connaissances disponibles et peuvent changer à la lumière de nouvelles observations et d’objectifs révisés. Le ministre rendra compte des progrès réalisés d’ici cinq ans.

Un ou plusieurs plans d’action détaillant les mesures de rétablissement qu’il faudra prendre pour appuyer la conservation de l’espèce viendront s’ajouter au présent programme. Le ministre fera le nécessaire pour s’assurer, dans la mesure du possible, que les Canadiens intéressés à ces mesures ou touchés par celles-ci soient consultés.

Autorités responsables

Conformément à la Loi sur les espèces en péril, Pêches et Océans Canada est l’autorité responsable de la tête carmin. La province du Manitoba (Gestion des ressources hydriques Manitoba) a collaboré à la production du présent programme de rétablissement.

Auteurs

Le programme de rétablissement de la tête carmin a été élaboré par l’Équipe de rétablissement de la tête carmin, qui comprend les personnes suivantes :

Fred Hnytka (co-président)
Ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO, Winnipeg, Man.)

Barb Scaife (co-présidente)
Gestion des ressources hydriques Manitoba, Winnipeg (Man.)

Bruce Stewart (secrétaire)
Arctic Biological Consultants, Winnipeg (Man.)

Neil Fisher
MPO, Winnipeg (Man.)

Dr Bill Franzin
MPO, Winnipeg (Man.)

Gerry Hood
Association canadienne de la tourbe de sphaigne, St. Albert (Alb.)

Doug Leroux
Gestion des ressources hydriques Manitoba, Lac du Bonnet (Man.)

Shelly Matkowski
Manitoba Hydro, Winnipeg (Man.)

Pat Rakowski
Environnement Canada, Winnipeg (Man.)

Dr Ken Stewart
Université du Manitoba, Winnipeg (Man.)

Doug Watkinson
MPO, Winnipeg (Man.)

Remerciements

Le présent rapport a été rédigé par D.B. Stewart, Arctic Biological Consultants (Winnipeg, Man.), également secrétaire de l’Équipe de rétablissement. Doug Watkinson (MPO, Winnipeg, Man.) nous a fourni la photographie de la tête carmin et la carte de sa répartition au Manitoba. Konrad Schmidt (Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, St. Paul, Minnesota), John Lyons (Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Madison, Wisconsin) et Nick Mandrak (MPO, Burlington, Ont.) nous ont fourni des échantillons de poissons pour les études en cours sur les caractéristiques morphologiques et génétiques de la tête carmin. Ken Stewart (Université du Manitoba, Winnipeg, Man.) est responsable des analyses morphologiques et Chris Wilson (ministère des Richesses naturelles de l’Ontario, Peterborough, Ont.), des analyses génétiques. De nombreux particuliers et groupes d’intervenants ont participé à l’élaboration du présent document, dont Connie Proceviat (Sun Gro Horticulture), Bud Ewacha (Conserve Native Plants Society Inc.), James Fraser (Tembec), Richard Pelletier (ministre de l’Horticulture), Kris Snydal (Manitoba Live Bait Association) et les membres de la Northeast Agassiz Watershed Management Association qui ont rencontré l’Équipe de rétablissement. Enfin, Becky Cudmore (MPO, Burlington), Bruce McCulloch (MPO, Edmonton), Karolyne Pickett et Anne Phelps (MPO, Ottawa) ainsi que Sam Stephenson (MPO, Winnipeg) ont fourni des commentaires constructifs sur l’ébauche du présent document.

L’Équipe de rétablissement de la tête carmin aimerait sincèrement remercier les particuliers et les organismes qui ont soutenu l’élaboration du présent programme de rétablissement et les personnes qui y ont contribué par leurs connaissances et leur dur travail.

Énoncé relatif à l’évaluation environnementale stratégique

Conformément à la Directive du Cabinet sur l’évaluation environnementale des projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes, une évaluation environnementale stratégique (EES) doit intégrer des considérations environnementales à l’élaboration de projets de politiques, de plans et de programmes publics afin de soutenir la prise de décisions éclairées sur le plan environnemental.

La planification du rétablissement profitera aux espèces en péril et à la biodiversité en général. Il est toutefois reconnu que des programmes peuvent produire, sans que cela ne soit voulu, des effets environnementaux négatifs qui dépassent les avantages prévus. Le processus de planification du rétablissement fondé sur des lignes directrices nationales tient directement compte de tous les effets environnementaux, notamment des impacts possibles sur les espèces ou les habitats non ciblés.

Le présent programme de rétablissement décrit un certain nombre de voies de recherches, de gestion et d’éducation publique nécessaires à la conservation et au rétablissement de la tête carmin. Hormis l’acquisition de connaissances plus poussées, le programme de rétablissement se concentre sur l’élimination ou l’atténuation des menaces pour l’espèce comme la surexploitation, l’introduction d’espèces, la perte ou la dégradation de l’habitat ainsi que la pollution. En plus d’améliorer en général les conditions environnementales, la réduction ou l’élimination de ces menaces peut bénéficier à d’autres espèces concurrentes (voir la section 5.6). Le programme de rétablissement recommande également la rationalisation des programmes d’ensemencement actuels ou proposés, et les effets possibles de tous les changements seront considérés dans le processus de rationalisation.On a envisagé la possibilité que le programme produise des effets négatifs non prévus sur d’autres espèces. Toutefois, l’EES a permis de conclure qu’il est clair que le présent programme sera bénéfique pour l’environnement et n’entraînera pas d’effets négatifs importants.

Résidence

Dans la LEP, la « résidence » est définie comme suit : Gîte – terrier, nid ou autre aire ou lieu semblable – occupé ou habituellement occupé par un ou plusieurs individus pendant tout ou partie de leur vie, notamment pendant la reproduction, l’élevage, les haltes migratoires, l’hivernage, l’alimentation ou l’hibernation. » [paragraphe 2(1) de la LEP].

Les descriptions de la résidence, ou le raisonnement selon lequel le concept de résidence ne s’applique pas à une espèce donnée, figurent dans le Registre public de la LEP : http://www.sararegistry.gc.ca/plans/residence_f.cfm.