Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards, as per the Policy on Communications and Federal Identity.

Skip booklet index and go to page content

Recovery Strategy for the False Hop Sedge (Carex lupuliformis) in Canada [Proposed]

1. COSEWIC* Species Assessment Information

Date of Assessment: November 2011

Common Name: False Hop Sedge

Scientific Name: Carex lupuliformis

COSEWIC Status: Endangered

Reason for Designation: In Canada, this rare sedge is found in southern Ontario and Quebec where fewer than 250 mature plants have been found.  There have been substantial historical population losses attributed to residential development and other forms of land use.  Continued declines are attributed to late season flooding, land drainage, invasive alien species, recreation, erosion, garbage deposition, water regime regulation, and residential and urban development.  Recovery efforts have included re-introduction at three sites in Quebec.

Canadian Occurrence: Ontario, Quebec

COSEWIC Status History: Designated threatened in April 1997. Status re-examined and designated endangered in May 2000 and November 2011.

* Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada

Top of Page

2. Species Status Information

Less than 1% of the global False Hop Sedge (Carex lupuliformis) population is found in Canada (Labrecque, 1998). The species is listed as endangered[1] on Schedule 1 of SARA (S.C. 2002, c. 29). It is listed as threatened[2] in Quebec under the Act respecting threatened or vulnerable species (R.S.Q. c. E-12.01) and as endangered in Ontario under the Endangered Species Act, 2007 (S.O. 2007, c. 6).

In the most recent NatureServe assessment (dating from 2000), the species was assigned a global conservation status rank of G4 (apparently secure), a national rank of N4 (apparently secure) in the United States and N2 (imperilled) in Canada, and a subnational rank of S1 (critically imperilled) in Ontario and Quebec (NatureServe, 2010; see Appendix A for definitions of ranks).

Top of Page

3. Species Information

3.1 Species Description

Based on COSEWIC (2011) and references cited therein, False Hop Sedge is a perennial herbaceous plant in the Cyperaceae family. This sedge reaches a height between 50 and 130 cm. It grows in tufts comprising 5 to 30 stems arising from a sympodial rhizome[3]. The leaves (i.e., blade) are smooth, erect and 30 to 80 cm long. Flowering begins in late June with an inflorescence[4] 6 to 40 cm across, bearing 1 to 6 elongated spikes. Fruiting occurs from mid-July to late October in Canada. The perigynium (fruit casing) is glossy. The plant’s achenes (one-seeded fruits) are trigonous (have a triangular cross-section). The achenes bear prominent nipple-like knobs, a characteristic that can be used to distinguish False Hop Sedge from Hop Sedge (Carex lupulina), which are otherwise virtually identical during the vegetative stage.

3.2 Population and Distribution

False Hop Sedge is a species with a sporadic distribution in eastern North America and is at the northern limit of its distribution in Canada. Its range in the United States includes all states from Wisconsin, Iowa, Kansas, Oklahoma and Texas eastward to New York. In Canada, it occurs solely in the southernmost part of Ontario and Quebec (Figure 1).

Figure 1: Distribution of False Hop Sedge in North America. Map by Y. Lachance, reproduced with permission of the Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs du Québec (in COSEWIC, 2011).

Figure 1 shows the current distribution of False Hop Sedge in North America (concentrated in south-eastern North America).

According to COSEWIC (2011), the species’ extent of occurrence in Canada is about 23 900 km² (~41 800 km² when including reintroduction sites). This area has declined by about 21 550 km² since the last report (Labrecque, 1998), primarily owing to the extirpation of the populations in the Ottawa River sector in Quebec. When the reintroduction sites are factored in, the reduction is 3 540 km². The species’ current area of occupancy in Canada is less than 0.01 km².

There are 20 populations documented in Canada, 12 of which had naturally-occurring individuals in 2009 or after (Appendix B). In Ontario, all populations are concentrated in Middlesex and Elgin counties. In Quebec, they are located along a 20-km stretch of the Richelieu River, near Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, and along a 10-km stretch of the Ottawa River.

In order to increase the resilience of the species, individuals have been transplanted in four of the extant populations (three in Quebec, one in Ontario) and reintroduced in two of the extirpated populations (both in Quebec). The necessity of such measures became evident following the severe flooding of the Richelieu River in Quebec during spring 2011 after which only two naturally-occurring individuals were found (Stéphanie Pellerin, personal communication). Had this species not benefited from reintroduction efforts and augmentation of its numbers by transplantations since 2006, it would have been nearly extirpated in the Province of Quebec today.

In 2009–2010, there were 361 mature individuals (142, if transplants are excluded) in the extant population.  Population size can fluctuate from year to year, and despite recent monitoring of populations, no clear trend is discernable. A number of factors explain this situation. First, the data available prior to 2005 were primarily estimates and based solely on fruiting individuals which vary as a function of hydrological conditions (Letendre et al., 2007). Second, it is almost impossible to identify vegetative (seedless) individuals of the species. Hence, permanent marking of plants is essential for tracking population trends. This approach has been used since 2005 for individuals in Quebec’s populations where more than 180 individuals have been marked[5], and the fluctuations observed indicate a downward trend (see Appendix B).

3.3 Needs of False Hop Sedge

The False Hop Sedge colonizes a transition zone along the natural shorelines of various types of wetland where the vegetation remains sparse due to periodic short-term flooding or ice scouring (COSEWIC, 2011). These types of habitat favour species that prefer high light and, indeed, the vigour of the False Hop Sedge decreases as the canopy becomes more closed (Letendre et al., 2007). According to COSEWIC (2011), False Hop Sedge appears to be less adaptable to different habitats than most riparian species, which could partly account for its rarity.

In Ontario, wetlands that are currently colonized by False Hop Sedge are vernal pools as well as isolated marshes within wooded swamps that are unconnected to any major streams (Labrecque, 1998; COSEWIC, 2011). The wooded swamps within which these habitats are imbedded likely provide dispersal habitat and support the hydrological processes that maintain them (Eric Snyder, OMNR, personal communication). Although False Hop Sedge is found at locations with limited competition from herbaceous and shrubby plants, the most frequently observed companion species are : Bog Hemp (Boehmeria cylindrica), Rice Cutgrass (Leersia oryzoides), Hop Sedge (Carex lupulina), Clearweed (Pilea pumila), Beggarticks (Bidens spp.), Knotweed (Polygonum persicaria), Cocklebur (Xanthium strumarium) as well as Red Ash (Fraxinus pennsylvanica), Red Maple (Acer rubrum) or Silver Maple (Acer saccharinum) (Labrecque, 1998). The soil is composed of a clay loam (Labrecque, 1998).

In Quebec, False Hop Sedge has only been observed in Silver Maple swamps or shrub swamps in small isolated bays that are sheltered from currents but near a natural shoreline subjected to periodic flooding of short duration. Companion species include Red Ash, Black Willow (Salix nigra), Reed Canary Grass (Phalaris arundinacea), Bog Hemp, Rice Cutgrass, Water Parsnip (Sium suave), Prairie Cordgrass (Spartina pectinata) and Hop Sedge. Except in the case of the Lacolle population, which is located 50 m from a river, the tufts are very close to water (10-15 m) during low flow periods. The soil is composed of a gleysol[6] of recent alluvia ranging from sandy loam to clay loam (Labrecque, 1998) and is poorly drained (COSEWIC, 2011).

The preceeding habitat descriptors and species associations are based on a subset of sites occupied by the species and may not necessarily represent conditions that are optimal for this species that has a very limited distribution in Canada and is at the northern limit of its distribution. The actual distribution of the species could, in certain instances, be the result of historical artifacts related to landscape development.

A persistent seed bank (Templeton and Levin, 1979) plays a crucial role in maintaining False Hop Sedge populations. Aside from the fact that the seeds are dispersed primarily by water, little is known about seed dispersal dynamics. It is nonetheless likely that mature seeds fall into the water and are carried over long distances during flooding, thereby ensuring local dispersal (Labrecque, 1998) and colonization of suitable habitats that become available (COSEWIC, 2011). Despite this, it is assumed that no genetic exchange takes place between the Ontario and Quebec populations since they are hydrologically isolated (COSEWIC, 2011).

Top of Page


Footnotes

1 Endangered : A species facing imminent extirpation or extinction in Canada.

2 Threatened : A species for which extinction is imminent.

3 Refers to the way the stems develop successively and are joined together along the root.

4 The flowering part of a plant.

5 In Quebec, all naturally-occurring and transplanted individuals are currently marked. For transplanted individuals, stakes are removed after three years of absence whereas stakes are never removed for naturally-occurring individuals (Stéphanie Pellerin, personal communication).

6 [Soils of Canada]

Avertissement Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web.

Contenu archivé

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n'a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique sur les communications et l'image de marque.

Sauter l'index du livret et aller au contenu de la page

Programme de rétablissement du carex faux-lupulina (Carex lupuliformis) au Canada [Proposition]

1. Évaluation de l’espèce par le COSEPAC*

Date de l’évaluation : Novembre 2011

Nom commun : Carex faux-lupulina

Nom scientifique : Carex lupuliformis

Statut selon le COSEPAC : Espèce en voie de disparition

Justification de la désignation : Au Canada, ce carex rare est présent dans le sud de l’Ontario et du Québec où moins de 250 plants matures ont été trouvés. Il y a eu des pertes de populations historiques considérables attribuables à la construction domiciliaire et à d’autres formes d’utilisation des terres. Les déclins que l’on continue d’observer sont attribuables aux inondations tardives, au drainage des terres, aux espèces exotiques envahissantes, aux activités récréatives, à l’érosion, aux dépôts de déchets, à la régulation des régimes hydriques et à l’expansion résidentielle et urbaine. Les efforts de rétablissement ont inclus la réintroduction dans trois sites au Québec.

Présence au Canada : Ontario et Québec

Historique du statut selon le COSEPAC : Espèce désignée « menacée » en avril 1997. Réexamen du statut : l’espèce a été désignée « en voie de disparition » en mai 2000 et en novembre 2011.

* Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada

Haut de la page

2. Information sur la situation de l’espèce

Moins de 1 % de la population mondiale de carex faux-lupulina (Carex lupuliformis) se trouve au Canada (Labrecque, 1998). L’espèce est inscrite à titre d’espèce en voie de disparition[1] à l’annexe 1 de la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEP) (L.C. 2002, ch. 29). De plus, l’espèce a été inscrite « menacée »[2] au Québec en vertu de la Loi sur les espèces menacées ou vulnérables (L.R.Q., ch. E-12.01), et « en voie de disparition » en Ontario aux termes de la Loi de 2007 sur les espèces en voie de disparition (L.O. 2007, ch. 6).

Selon la dernière évaluation effectuée par NatureServe (en 2000), l’espèce s’est vue attribuer les cotes de conservation G4 (apparemment non en péril) à l’échelle mondiale, N4 (apparemment non en péril) à l’échelle des États-Unis, N2 (en péril) à l’échelle du Canada et S1 (gravement en péril) à l’échelle de l’Ontario et du Québec (NatureServe, 2010; voir annexe A pour une définition de ces cotes).

Haut de la page

3. Information sur l’espèce

3.1 Description de l’espèce

Selon le COSEPAC (2011) et les documents qui y sont cités, le carex faux-lupulina est une plante herbacée vivace de la famille des Cypéracées. La plante atteint une hauteur de 50 à 130 cm et forme une touffe de 5 à 30 tiges issues d’un rhizome sympodial[3]. Les feuilles sont lisses et dressées et mesurent 30 à 80 cm de longueur. La floraison débute à la fin juin. L’inflorescence[4] mesure de 6 à 40 cm de diamètre et comporte 1 à 6 épis allongés. Au Canada, la fructification a lieu de la mi-juillet à la fin octobre. Le périgyne (enveloppe du fruit) est luisant. L’akène (fruit renfermant une seule graine) est trigone (sa section transversale est triangulaire) et porte des protubérances saillantes qui permettent de distinguer le carex faux-lupulina du carex houblon (Carex lupulina), dont les parties végétatives sont pratiquement identiques.

3.2 Population et répartition

Le carex faux-lupulina a une répartition sporadique dans l’est de l’Amérique du Nord. La limite nord de son aire de répartition se trouve au Canada. Aux États-Unis, sa répartition inclut tous les États depuis le Wisconsin, l’Iowa, le Kansas, l’Oklahoma et le Texas jusqu’à l’État de New York. Au Canada, l’espèce se rencontre uniquement dans l’extrême sud de l’Ontario et du Québec (figure 1).

Au Canada, selon le COSEPAC (2011), la zone d’occurrence de l’espèce est d’environ 23 900 km² (environ 41 800 km² si on inclut les sites de réintroduction). Cette zone a diminué d’environ 21 550 km² depuis le dernier rapport (Labrecque, 1998), principalement en raison de la disparition des populations de la région de la rivière des Outaouais, au Québec. Si on tient compte des sites de réintroduction, la diminution est de 3 540 km². La zone d’occupation actuelle de l’espèce au Canada est de moins de 0,01 km².

Au Canada, 20 populations ont été répertoriées, dont 12 abritaient des individus poussant à l’état naturel en 2009 ou par la suite (annexe B). En Ontario, toutes les populations se trouvent dans les comtés de Middlesex et d’Elgin. Au Québec, les populations sont situées le long d’un tronçon de 20 km de la rivière Richelieu, près de Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, et le long d’un tronçon de 10 km de la rivière des Outaouais.

Figure 1. Aire de répartition du carex faux-lupulina en Amérique du Nord. Carte dressée par Y. Lachance, reproduite avec la permission du ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs du Québec et tirée de COSEPAC (2011).

La figure 1 montre la répartition actuelle du carex faux-lupulina en Amérique du Nord (concentrée dans le sud-est de l'Amérique du Nord).

Afin d’accroître la résilience de l’espèce, on a transplanté des individus dans 4 des populations existantes (3 au Québec, 1 en Ontario), et on a réintroduit l’espèce dans 2 localités où elle avait déjà été présente (les deux au Québec). La nécessité de telles mesures s’est confirmée à la suite de la grave inondation de la rivière Richelieu survenue au Québec au printemps 2011, car seulement deux individus poussant à l’état naturel ont été retrouvés après l’inondation (Stéphanie Pellerin, comm. pers.). Si l’espèce n’avait pas bénéficié des mesures menées depuis 2006 pour la réintroduire et pour accroître ses effectifs par transplantation, elle serait aujourd’hui pratiquement disparue du Québec.

En 2009-2010, l’espèce comptait 361 individus matures au Canada (142 si on exclut les individus transplantés). L’effectif des populations peut fluctuer d’année en année, et aucune tendance nette n’est discernable, malgré le suivi récent des populations. Plusieurs facteurs expliquent cette situation. Premièrement, les données disponibles avant 2005 étaient principalement des estimations et tenaient seulement compte des individus fructifères, alors que le taux de fructification varie en fonction des conditions hydrologiques (Letendre et al., 2007). Deuxièmement, il est presque impossible d’identifier la plante à l’état végétatif (lorsqu’elle ne produit pas de graines). Par conséquent, un marquage permanent des individus est essentiel au suivi des tendances. Cette méthode est appliquée depuis 2005 aux populations du Québec, où plus de 180 individus ont été marqués[5], et les fluctuations observées semblent indiquer une tendance à la baisse (voir annexe B).

3.3 Besoins du carex faux-lupulina

Le carex faux-lupulina colonise la zone de transition constituant le rivage naturel de divers types de milieux humides. Dans cette zone, la végétation demeure clairsemée, en raison de courtes inondations périodiques et de l’abrasion par les glaces (COSEPAC, 2011). Ces types d’habitats favorisent les espèces qui privilégient un fort éclairement. D’ailleurs, la vigueur du carex faux-lupulina diminue à mesure que la végétation devient plus dense (Letendre et al., 2007). Selon le COSEPAC (2011), le carex faux-lupulina semble s’adapter moins facilement aux divers types d’habitats que la plupart des espèces riveraines, ce qui pourrait en partie expliquer sa rareté.

En Ontario, les milieux humides actuellement colonisés par le carex faux-lupulina sont des mares printanières ainsi que des marais isolés à l’intérieur de marécages boisés qui ne sont pas connectés à de grands cours d’eau (Labrecque, 1998; COSEPAC, 2011). Il est probable que ces marécages boisés procurent à l’espèce un habitat de dispersion et soutiennent les processus hydrologiques assurant l’existence des marais où elle pousse (Eric Snyder, MRNO, comm. pers.). Le carex faux-lupulina pousse dans des milieux peu exposés à la compétition de plantes herbacées et arbustives, mais il pousse en compagnie d’autres espèces, dont les plus fréquemment observées sont le bœhméria cylindrique (Boehmeria cylindrica), la léersie faux-riz (Leersia oryzoides), le carex houblon (Carex lupulina), le piléa nain (Pilea pumila), les bidents (Bidens spp.), la renouée persicaire (Polygonum persicaria), la lampourde glouteron (Xanthium strumarium) ainsi que le frêne rouge (Fraxinus pennsylvanica), l’érable rouge (Acer rubrum) ou l’érable argenté (Acer saccharinum) (Labrecque, 1998). Le sol est de type loam argileux (Labrecque, 1998).

Au Québec, le carex faux-lupulina n’a été observé que dans des marécages à érable argenté et des marécages arbustifs situés dans de petites baies isolées et protégées des courants, mais à proximité d’un rivage naturel soumis à des crues périodiques de courte durée. Les espèces compagnes sont le frêne rouge, le saule noir (Salix nigra), l’alpiste roseau (Phalaris arundinacea), le bœhméria cylindrique, la léersie faux-riz, la berle douce (Sium suave), la spartine pectinée (Spartina pectinata) et le carex houblon. À l’exception de la population de Lacolle, située à 50 m d’une rivière, les touffes sont situées à une faible distance de l’eau (10 à 15 m) durant les périodes d’étiage. Le sol est un gleysol[6]sur alluvions récentes, à texture allant d’un loam sableux à un loam argileux (Labrecque, 1998). Le drainage est médiocre (COSEPAC, 2011).

Les descripteurs d’habitat et les espèces compagnes mentionnés ci-dessus sont fondés sur un nombre limité de sites occupés par l’espèce et ne représentent pas nécessairement les conditions optimales pour l’espèce, qui a une répartition très limitée au Canada et s’y trouve à la limite nord de son aire. La répartition réelle de l’espèce pourrait, dans certains cas, résulter de phénomènes historiques reliés à l’aménagement du paysage.

Le réservoir de semences du sol demeure longtemps viable (Templeton et Levin, 1979) et est essentiel au maintien des populations de carex faux-lupulina. Outre le fait que les graines sont principalement dispersées par l’eau, on sait peu de choses sur leur dynamique de dispersion. Toutefois, il est probable qu’une fois mûres elles peuvent tomber à l’eau et flotter sur de longues distances durant les crues, assurant ainsi la dispersion locale de l’espèce (Labrecque, 1998) ainsi que la colonisation d’habitat convenable qui devient disponible (COSEPAC, 2011). Quoi qu’il en soit, on peut supposer qu’il n’existe aucun échange génétique entre les populations de l’Ontario et celles du Québec, car elles sont isolées les unes des autres sur le plan hydrologique (COSEPAC, 2011).

Haut de la page


Notes

1 Espèce en voie de disparition : Espèce sauvage qui, de façon imminente, risque de disparaître du pays ou de la planète.

2 Espèce menacée : Espèce dont la disparition est appréhendée.

3 Rhizome produisant des tiges aériennes de façon successive, lesquelles demeurent réunies par le rhizome.

4 Partie florifère de la plante.

5 Au Québec, tous les individus poussant à l’état naturel ou résultant d’une transplantation sont actuellement marqués. Dans le cas des individus transplantés, les piquets sont enlevés au bout de trois années d’absence; dans le cas des individus poussant à l’état naturel, les piquets ne sont jamais enlevés (Stéphanie Pellerin, comm. pers.).

6 [Soils of Canada (en anglais seulement).]